Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

The Love Shack Waterfront

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Relax in this gorgeous fully renovated cottage on the shores of St Georges Basin. You are that close to the water that you could almost fish from the verandah. A fantastic private jetty right at your doorstep that you share with the owner, that makes the perfect setting to chill out and have a fish whilst watching some of the most spectacular sunsets you will see over water on the east coast of Australia. The cottage is fully renovated for that lovely romantic weekend away, with new fully appointed kitchen, including a dishwasher, a new bathroom and laundry, and a lovely covered verandah to sit back and have a refreshing drink whilst watching all the water sports on the bay.

St Georges Basin is a wonderful place for all kinds of water sports, including fishing, swimming, sailing, waterskiing or just cruising the fore shores in a boat.

Carport is not included, however plenty of room to park on the driveway or grass.

A boat ramp is right next to the cottage, so you can launch your boat from the backyard.

Situated just a short 10min drive to the magnificent world renowned Jervis Bay, where you can snorkel, go for a whale watching or dolphin watch cruise, or just relax on the brilliant white sands.

Close to pubs, supermarkets, cafés, doctors, newsagent, service station, etc

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

Amenities

Saint Georges Basin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
The Love Shack Waterfront
average rating of 4.214286 based on 14 reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
3

Excellent location - poor maintenance

  • 3 of 5

Location is great and facilities are generally good. If you want to cook the gas oven doesn't work, the BarBQ had not been cleaned and the cheap non-stick cookware were scratched and not clean. Some light globes needed replacing and there was no dishwashing detergent so we had to use the dishwasher for the two plates. The two gas lighters in the cutlery drawer were empty and the back door would not close without being locked. The three security gates are also a little annoying.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Greg I wish you had contacted me or the owners if you had any issues as we had said prior to and on arrival, as most of the issues you have brought up are incorrect and we could have easily rectified them and any other concerns. We have replaced the frypan that had a scratch on it and the lighter, even though it is not a requirement to supply you with a lighter as all our gas appliances have ignition switches. I was unable to work out what you were referring to with the back door as we had no problem closing it without locking the door and all down lights were working in the cottage and I could only think that maybe you weren't using the right switch. I will however label them for you to make it easier next time. The BBQ had been cleaned as it does after each stay, however i cleaned all the drip trays etc for you as well. The oven works perfectly well, however there is 1 nob for a hot plate that recently broke and we have been trying to source but having difficulties at the moment. This still leaves several other hot plates to work with. We have replaced the dishwashing detergent as that was an oversight but were glad you realised you had a dishwasher that you were able to use. We take pride in our cleanliness and standard of accommodation and could have easily fixed any of your issues if you had mentioned them earlier but are sorry that we didn't get to sort it out for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane City, Queensland, Australia
4

Beautiful location, secluded and peaceful

  • 4 of 5

A beautiful, quiet and relaxing spot, right on the waters edge. Walking distance to a nice restaurant and short trip by automobile to Jervis Bay NP, Huskinsson etc

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, it truly is a special spot, and we are so glad you got to appreciate it. We hope you get to return again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NSW, Australia
2

Lovely place, disappointing customer care

  • 2 of 5

My fiancé and I stayed here for an anniversary. The Shack was lovely. It was cosy and clean, with beautiful waterfront views. However, unfortunately, my partner and I felt as though we were a nuisance to the owner. We had arranged to have whale watching cruise tickets waiting for us, however these were not left for us we needed to chase them down. This is fairly minor and understandable, however we were disappointed on the last day when we received an accusatory text from the manager, stating that the owner believed that we had extra people staying in the accommodation. There had been no one there other than my fiance and I. It was quite unpleasant to receive the text, given that we had been nothing but respectful of the property and the owner's wishes. I believe the accusation may have been due to us having a second car in the drive way at one stage. We did this because my car battery had died and we needed to use my partner's car to restart my battery. It would have been much nicer for the owner to simply ask, rather than accuse. In general, in future it would be nice for the manager and owner to help make guests feel more welcome if indeed they are welcome there. Another couple of minor issues - deckchairs on the verandah were broken and there was no dishwashing detergent in the kitchen.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you got to appreciate how lovely The Love Shack is. I apologise if you felt that we were accusing you of having additional guests when there was an extra car there on the 2nd night, I was merely asking if there was. I will ensure the dish washing detergent gets replaced and the chair is fixed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

lovely cottage with priceless sunsets

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this cottage for 2 nights and we loved it. We got there just in time for the sunset, we went to the jetty with a glass of wine and we enjoyed the spectacular sunset. The candles were beautiful, we lighted them on and the atmosphere was super romantic. I will only suggest to have a covered car space (we had to park in the boat ramp). I will definitely go back to this cottage to enjoy those incredible sunsets.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: I am so glad you arrived in time to get to experience the spectacular sunsets this gorgeous cottage offers, and that you had such a lovely stay. The cottage has a covered carport adjacent to it for your car to be housed in. We look forward to you returning soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2

Very Cosy

  • 2 of 5

We loved this place.

From the moment we enquired about this place it, was a breeze.

Prompt response, easy to deal with, Jane was wonderful help.

The house is great, it has amazing sunrise through the big window and beautiful sunsets.

It has everything you need for your stay, and the candles are very thoughtful. One small thing was we only had 1 drinking glass cup but thats very minor.

This place is very well thought out by the owners and we kept saying to one another, they really thought about what their guest would want.

We would come back, its tidy and in a great spot.

Good for the keen fisherman and boat lovers too.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeremy and Thi for your lovely feedback, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The large window in the lounge room overlooking the water does make it special to watch the sunsets. I will ensure the glasses that must have broken will be replaced before your next stay. We look forward to your return soon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
5

The Love Shack

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful spot. Went for a wedding, I think we were the only people happy with our accommodation in this area. The views are sensational. I would recommend this place for people looking for views, tranquility and relaxation.

It doesn't deserve any Downsides, but:

The 3 electronic security gates over 100m drive are not user friendly or suitable for a rental property and caused problems.

The owner didn't know we had booked so didn't act happy to see us from the get go. Change the cheap nasty towels for some decent quality ones. Clean the BBQ .

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at The Love Shack Waterfront. I'm so glad you appreciated the incredibly unique and beautiful location of The Love Shack and after comparing with your friends realised just how special it is. We have taken on board your suggestions, and will ensure you have lovely fluffy towels for your next stay, and apologise for the BBQ, however we will continue to try to ensure the security and privacy for our guests with the electronic gates. We look forward to you staying again and thank you for your recommendation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Fish from your back door

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 1 beds and can sleep a maximum 2 guests

    Mandatory Costs
    Bond Deposit: $200 per stay
    Booking Fee: $30 per stay
    Cleaning : $100 per stay

You might like these similar properties