check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Chris

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Best location - new UPSCALE unit SoCo Area - bikes included, 1 Elec. Bike rental

42 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Austin Apartment Rental Photos and Description

All new in 2015, 1 bedroom, 1 bath, full kitchen, private balcony, grill, bikes

A completely new upper level (over garage) unit in an excellent South Congress location. Located just 4 blocks from the great shopping and restaurants on Congress Avenue and one block from Stacy Park. A free public pool is located at the south end of Stacy Park and only 5 blocks away. A smaller kids pool is located at the north end of Stacy Park along with tennis courts!

The location is a close drive to I-35 and only a few miles from the University of Texas.

New in 2015: The unit is completely new with hardwood and tile floors throughout, one bedroom (with laundry), one bath with shower, and a combined kitchen / living room. A wood balcony on the back of the unit has a patio set to enjoy in the pleasant mornings and evenings and a stainless infra-red gas grill is available also. Two bicycles are also provided with bike locks. There is a computer available for use as well as wireless internet and a printer. A two unit mini-split HVAC system provides excellent heating and cooling year round.

Included Amenities: Towels (full size, hand towels, wash cloths), linens, shampoo, conditioner, body soap, dish soap, hand soap, dishwasher with detergent, laundry with detergent and dryer sheets, two bicycles with locks , Keurig coffee maker (with sweeteners, creamer), all kitchen necessities (utensils, microwave, toaster, grill tools, pots and pans, more),

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Chris (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Chris

I grew up in NW Indiana outside of Chicago where I retired young and now spend a lot of time in Austin. I do most of the construction work myself and I'm very detail oriented. My wife is excellent with design and decorating and I do the application (what I'm told to do.) At the end of the day we have someone that knows what to do and someone that knows how to do it.

Chris purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Chris chose Austin

The location is perfect! We are close enough to walk, yet far enough that parking isn't a problem due to the traffic visiting Congress Avenue. I include bicycles at no extra charge. I strive to make your experience enjoyable enough to want to stay again on your next visit to Austin.

What makes this apartment unique

Upscale is the best one word to describe this unit. The private outdoor picnic area is a unique bonus available at our property. You will find yourself feeling very comfortable in our apartment.

Reviews

4.9
based on 42 traveler reviews

Best location - new UPSCALE unit SoCo Area - bikes included, 1 Elec. Bike rental
average rating of 4.8809524 based on 42 reviews
Baton Rouge, La
5

Great apartment and wonderful owner

  • 5 of 5

We throroughly enjoyed our stay at this apartment for a long weekend in Austin. The apartment was clean, modern, well decorated and in a great location. Chris was very easy to work with. The deck was very nice for having our morning coffee. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Randolph, NJ
5

Very nice place. Well appointed and very comfy.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in this unit. The location was great and it was very well appointed and comfy to hang out in. Having the deck and outdoor area was nice and the location was great. We highly recommend it. Chris was great to deal with and very responsive.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This property was great for our stay in Austin.

  • 5 of 5

We have always been happy with every VRBO experience, and this one is right up there on the happiness scale. The unit is very well organized with everything one might need for cooking, the bed is really comfortable and everything is so well maintained in this compact little gem. Upscale is an accurate term and so is "best location." Chris is a great property manager, quickly responsive to any questions or concerns and he is just a solidly nice person. He also had great suggestions for dining and entertainment. The location is lovely, with great restaurants, shopping and entertainment within walking distance to South Congress. The people of Austin are so friendly. When visiting again, this will be our go-to for lodging. Thanks Chris, for a great place to stay and your sincere hospitality. We have already recommended this property to friends!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place - Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is a real gem hidden just off of South Congress. You are in easy walking distance of all that SoCo has to offer and away from the noise and crowds when you're finished for the day. The unit is in the owner's back yard, but guests have their own private little oasis.

The property is immaculately maintained.

The owner has gone to great lengths to make sure that you have everything you need for your stay - and so much more! Very well appointed kitchen, gas grill, use of 2 bikes, wireless speakers - so bring your music along - even a lap top and printer so you can print your boarding passes on the way to the airport. It's obvious that they take a lot of pride in their property and keeping their guests happy.

Kristina & Tom

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport Beach, CA
5

South Congress nest!

  • 5 of 5

Great stay in a great apartment in a great location! Thanks for creating a very comfortable space!

This is our fourth time visiting this property and it is never a disappointment. We will return.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Modesto, California
1

Watch your head (and your deposit)

  • 1 of 5

This was our 10th visit to Austin in the last eight years, but our first (and last) visit to this unit. PLUSES: Cute. Great neighborhood, close to South Congress action. It's also a cute place with a separate entrance that lends an air of privacy. MINUSES: The unit is upstairs in a converted garage, and the sloping ceilings were a huge hazard to my 6 ft tall husband. I bumped my head pretty good a few times, too, but he almost knocked himself out on two separate occasions since drawers and counter space are located beneath slope. Super slow internet. To owner's credit, when we complained he came right over and did some rewiring, but the truth is we couldn't stream movies and even standard tasks like making reservations were hampered by the intermittent reception. The real issue was this: The owner took half or our hefty pre-paid deposit. We have been using VRBO 2-3 times a year since it was founded, plus are property owners ourselves. We have never, ever had any of our deposit kept. We are educators in our 50s: we don't party. We were in a state of disbelief when we informed of the charge. First the owner said it was because we had left food debris on the floor, the microwave was food-spattered, and he thought we smoked in the house. Yes the microwave & floor needed cleaning. When we do Austin, we do barbecue. And stumbling home from the Continental Club at 2am, we have been known to enjoy a feast of leftover brisket. So we ensured the dishwasher was loaded and linens piled as requested, but we did not even CONSIDER cleaning the microwave or floor. Why? Because our rental fee included a charge for cleaning! Why on earth would we clean when we are paying someone else to clean? I had enjoyed my "vacation clove cigarettes" outside on the deck (per house rules and common decency). Our visit was punctuated by rain, so we brought our ashtray in each night and set it on the counter. Apparently, although the owner didn't smell smoke, he saw some ashes on the counter and assumed we had smoked. So I explained our philosophy about cleaning ("if you want us to clean, don't make us pay for cleaning") as well as the clove situation. He then reversed himself & claimed we damaged the floor. We are mystified. We don't even wear shoes indoors. We have hardwood floors at home that have withstood our "abuse" for 20 years. Bottom line: Buyer beware. There are plenty of nice places in this area that know how cleaning fees work and won't pawn off standard repairs on guests.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Damage was found on my hardwood floor that I had to repair. The place was disgusting when they left. This review is obvious retaliation for keeping a portion of their deposit (hefty???). I considered keeping the entire deposit but decided a portion was fair. I am glad to see that they won't be staying with me again. I wasn't planning to allow it anyway! Everyone else that has stayed has loved it. One bad review should be chalked up to the retaliation. There's a limited amount of space and we used every bit of it for the best use possible. I appreciate the condition every other guest has left our unit. These people were slobs and I wish other owners could be warned before renting to them.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Austin Bergstrom International
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Austin Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
ACL 1 2016
Sep 29 2016 - Oct 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
ACL 2 2016
Oct 6 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
Formula 1 2016
Oct 20 2016 - Oct 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
$249
 
 
SXSW 2017
Mar 10 2017 - Mar 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
$899
$2,499
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $70 + Tax
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Austin Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Ducted Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Platform bed with flat panel TV. Ceiling fan, storage drawers, desk, washer / dryer.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
Notes:
Wifi key provided for laptop and tablet users. No smoking except outside on the patio.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties