Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076


Bedrooms 1
Space 10 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Its right on the river and just a short stroll to the beach, shops and cafes. Self contained 'couples accommodation'. Your Aireys Inlet cottage is competitively priced with private courtyard and an excellent outlook.

The accommodation includes:




*queen bedroom

*portable air conditioner

* electric heating



*outdoor furniture


*corner spa bath

*all linen and towels provided

The cottage has recently received an upgrade with new carpet in the bedroom, outdoor setting on the deck and rear courtyard, brand new full size fridge, additional coffee table and a few new items for the kitchen.


Enjoy the newly opened lighthouse, bush, beach and cliff top walks, paddle on the river, horse riding and mountain biking at your fingertips. Its a beautiful part of nature here and such a great part of the Great Ocean Rd. Nearby is the town of Lorne famous for its waterfalls and cafe strip.

Why this retreat was built and how to get there.

Owner/manager of A River Bed, Wendy, holidayed in the area as a child and,

loving the memories, moved here in 1997. While working in the Tourism/Accommodation industry for many years, saw a need for modern self contained 'couple' accommodation. So created A River Bed for 2.


Take the Princes Highway from Melbourne, through Geelong and follow the signs to the Great Ocean Road. Drive through Anglesea and continue on to Aireys Inlet. Aireys is a tranquil seaside resort on the beautiful southern coast of Victoria.

When you enter the town of Aireys Inlet, drive past the shops on the left and the hotel on the right. Down the hill and, at the bottom, turn right into Bambra Road then left into River Road, left again into River Reserve Road. Second on the left, you'll see your carport on the left.

Location and what's nearby

A River Bed is close to Lorne, Anglesea, Torquay and the Otways but right on the Great Ocean Road and Surfcoast. Its so handy for day trips and a perfect base for your holiday or simply a weekend or overnight getaway.

More Details

Wendy Lowes
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2018


Fairhaven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 10 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

48% Complete
44% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.36 based on 25 reviews

Pictures are deceiving.

  • 2 of 5

Spa - the spa had not been maintained properly, there was hair stuck in the jets, hair on the base and dust around the base aswell.

Hot water - there was just enough hot water for 1 spa with nothing left over for a shower, despite the owner saying otherwise. Was informed of a booster switch to press in the event of requiring hot water immediately, we press the booster switch which took 3 hours to make the water room temperature meaning there was little to nothing for a shower afterwards.

Heating - there was an extra heater supplied which was too small for even the bedroom, let alone the cottage. Both heaters combined all day made the cottage 'cosy'.

Toilet - the toilet base had a light seam of mold where water was bubbling and leaking at a constant rate when the spa was being drained. There was dust all around the sides of the toilet and the toilet made a continues splashing noise which could be heard from the main room.

Misc - the shower head was continuously dripping, 1x heat light blown and hanging down with dust all over the light unit, ceiling fan was dislodged from the roof, 1 light glob not working in the main room and the apparent dishwasher that was shown in the photos was not there.

Contact with owner was very good but care factor for the cottage is very minimal. It needs a lot of maintenance and even more cleaning to be done.

Would not come back.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. I have addressed these issues with my cleaner and plumber. The heating units in lounge and bedroom are enough for most guests if doors and windows closed however there is another portable unit in the laundry if required. Unfortunately there is not a dishwasher. I do not have this selected as an inclusion in the property facilities.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somers, Victoria, Australia

Excellent stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at a River Bed Cottage. It was so incredibly relaxing looking out at the river. Shops were within easy walking distance along the river and we enjoyed fishing straight across the road. The cottage was comfortable with everything we needed and Wendy was a responsive, friendly host. Our little dog enjoyed the neat garden and close access to lovely beaches. We hope to return some day!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, Australia

Good pet friendy property!

  • 3 of 5

it was a great stay with our little dog. It was not so bad not so good. House had everything we needed. Spa was the best out of all. But cleanliness of house could have been better. i suppose so because it was a "pet friendly"??

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I dont understand this review. Why would a pet friendly property not be clean? All surfaces are wiped down, floors vacuumed and mopped, bathroom and kitchen scrubbed prior to any guest. Wendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Sunny winter break

  • 4 of 5

great location, excellent for our little dog and the dog door made her so independent. unfortunate that the dishwasher wasn't working, it would be helpful to have a dish drainer if the dishwasher wont be fixed. the couches were so comfortable and the sunny aspect combined with the excellent weather that Aireys turned on made for a great mid winter break.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Amanda, Im pleased you all enjoyed your stay. New purchases are being considered so thanks for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent location

  • 4 of 5

Our stay here was a quick winter weekend away. Quiet location just a short walk to the shops. There was everything we needed. Spa bath was very relaxing. Perfect for summer, but may I recommend another heater for winter.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sally for your wonderful review. Did you use the portable heater located in he laundry? It usually works a treat and combined with the electric is toasty?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Beautiful weekend at River Bed

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend at River Bed Cottage. The accommodation was clean, well-appointed, perfectly positioned and with a wonderful view out the living and bed room over the river. During our stay we were treated to a golden sunset out the window after a lovely afternoon stroll up the river. For dinner, we walked the couple-of-hundred metres to the small group of shops and had beautiful pizza. Communication with owners was also top notch. Will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad Mikk that you found my cottage so that you could share your wonderful experience. I look forward to having you stay again soon. Wendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary
Other Activities:

Fishing, Beach and walking


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties