Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

River Beach House (FREE WIFI + FOXTEL)

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

PLEASE NOTE: No booking enquiries from prospective tenants under the age of 21. We are aimed at families and groups of friends, not parties. We are ideally suited to 2-3 couples with children.

River Beach House is a Beach Holiday Houses property. We are well known for providing family friendly holiday lets in great locations. Our property in Ocean Grove is only 450m from the nearest beach access point, which has a cafe on the way.

Directly opposite a park, playground and football oval, there is plenty to do in the immediate area, and of course even more within 10 minutes drive including Adventure Park, Amaz'n'Things and all that Geelong has to offer.

Our property is a 5 bedroom home, with a lounge room and separate rumpus/lounge and bar area that has its own pool table. There is also a large outdoor entertaining area including barbecue.

PLEASE NOTE: BEDDING AND LINEN NOT INCLUDED. Our beds only have mattress protectors. Bedding/Linen displayed is for demonstration/display purposes of our property only. We do however supply bathmats, tea towels and hand towels to the Kitchen and Bathrooms. We endeavour to keep pricing low, but linen and bedding packages are available, please enquire.

Our guests appreciate that we offer a full cleaning service following your departure...we simply ask that guests treat the house like they would their own, leaving it neat and tidy and the kitchen clean.

Our Property - River Beach House (Ocean Grove)

River Beach House is a 4 bedroom, plus loft conversion, plus study home with two large living areas. It's set on a quiet close with very little through traffic, close to the beach, great coffee, hotel/bistro and of course the main shops within Ocean Grove. We're located at 13 Minerva Close, Ocean Grove.

We're often told that we've thought of everything, and we agree. Excluding linen, you should be able to find all that you need for a great Beach House getaway. This includes a fully appointed kitchen, plenty of toys and games to ensure you have plenty to do, year round. We have heating and air conditioning in the lounges for year round comfort.

Entry to the property is through the kitchen which has a large dining table and is fully equipped with all everything you need to cater for your family/group. Immediately off of the kitchen/dining area is a great study area, perfect if you need to do get some work done over a long weekend.

The first bedroom has a double bed. The second bedroom opposite has two bunk beds, perfect for a kids room or multiple sleeping room. Between them is a family bathroom with shower and bath. The toilet is separate which is great for large groups, directly through the laundry. We have a washing machine for guest use and provide powder for your first wash.

The first living room has couches, chairs and stools to accomodate a cosy night watching movies. We have Foxtel installed in this room with all of the sports, kids and movie channels (90+ channels!).

The master bedroom has a double bed and ensuite. We have a permanent cot and mattress available in this room in case you have a small guest with you. The fourth bedroom has a queen bed and room for a portacot if required. We also have a loft conversion upstairs that has its own single bed available for your use.

The Playroom/Rumpus room has a large pool table and bar area, as well as a separate living room with television and stereo.

Outside we have a large private entertaining area, complete with barbecue and outdoor undercover dining. There is a bar area next to the undercover barbecue with television for outside entertaining (DVD Only). We also have a swing set that has 4 different swings (suitable for all ages) and a small flying fox.

Inside we have two bathrooms, two toilets and supply the bathmats, tea towels and hand towels for your stay. You will need to bring along your bedding, linen, bath towels and pillows. We have a laundry with a top loading washing machine (washing powder provided for your first wash), clothes horse and washing line outside.

We have parking in the driveway for three cars, and being a quiet street there is room out front for boat and/or caravan parking. You can also lock your boat or other toys in the backyard with easy double gate access. This off street parking also has power and water if required for caravans, camping or boats.

Our Location - A little bit about Ocean Grove

The bustling commercial and holiday centre of Ocean Grove is situated on the southern coast of the Bellarine Peninsula, separated by by the Barwon River from its twin coastal town of Barwon Heads.

Being the largest town outside of Geelong on the Bellarine Peninsula, Ocean Grove offers a wide selection of shopping facilities including major supermarkets, restaurants, cafes and speciality shops, spread between the main shopping strip near the coast along The Terrace and the Ocean Grove Marketplace shopping centre to the north on Shell Road.

Coastal attractions include the surf beaches which front Bass Strait and several walking tracks that offer good views along the beach. The focal point on Ocean Grove's main surf beach is the Dunes Cafe & Bar, next to the Surf Life Saving Club, which is surrounded by lawns, native gardens and bollards carved and painted into people depicting the life and times of the area. The Barwon River, near the river mouth, offers safe and sheltered swimming along its sandy shoreline, while further upstream is a jetty and boat ramp.

Why Stay With Us?


Whether you are bringing the kids, or the pets, we allow for both. Each of our properties have plenty of room and pet friendly areas on the outside, and inside we have a large number of toys, books, games and more to keep all entertained for the duration of your stay. We simply ask that any mess or damage is repaired before your departure.


We aim to deliver an affordable holiday option for everyone. We only require a minimum 2 night stay throughout the year (minimum 3 nights over long weekends). Our rates are fixed (for up to 11 guests) meaning our homes are very economical for multiple families or groups.


We aimed to ensure that almost everything you will need is onsite and available at each of our properties. The kitchens are fully equiped, there are plenty of toys, books and games to keep you entertained no matter the weather. We have Foxtel and Free Wifi Internet. That's 90+ Channels including Movies, Sports, Fox Footy and Kids Television.

1. River Beach House

Where we are based, at 13 Minerva Close, Ocean Grove.

2. Playground & Oval

Directly opposite our property is the Collendina Reserve, which has a football oval, picnic tables and a large kids playground with swings.

3. Local Cafe

The local cafe was recently renovated under new management and has great coffee and breakfast options only a short 6 minute walk away .

4. Ocean Grove Hotel

The Ocean Grove Hotel is open 7 days from 12 noon until late. They serve great value meals in a family friendly bistro that features indoor and outdoor dining areas. Their relaxed Surfside Bar is equipped with a Pool Table, Large Screen TVs, Jukebox and the latest video games machines. They also have a spacious beer garden, which is home to the famous OGH trampolines that make their play area one that will entertain children of all ages!

5. Nearest Beach Access

A short 6 minute walk from our property finds you at the nearest beach entry. There is plenty of parking, showers and toilets.

6. Shopping Centre

Safeway, petrol, takeaway and a variety of shops can be found at the local shopping centre 5 minutes drive.

7. Main Street & Restaurants

The Ocean Grove main street has a number of shops, including restautants, cafes, fashion and more. It's a 30 minute walk or only a short 5 minute drive.

8. Surf Life Saving Club

The Ocean Grove Surf Life Saving CLub is a short 7 minute drive away from our property. This beach has easy access and parking, and is patrolled in all peak periods.

9. Barwon River Mouth

The Barwon River divides Ocean Grove and sister town Barwon Heads. The river mouth, and back up towards the boat ramp and jetty, offers safe and sheltered swimming along its sandy shoreline.

10. Nearest Boat Ramp

The Ocean Grove Boat Ramp is in a local reserve, located on the edge of the pristine Barwon River with boat ramp facilities, public toilets and a playground.

More Details


Ocean Grove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 4 queen
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
20% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
River Beach House (FREE WIFI + FOXTEL)
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 24 reviews

Good location to stay with dog

  • 1 of 5

Foxtel, playing room entertained us a lot. Walking distance to dog beach was great.

However living area, kitchen and bathroom cleanness are way under expectations.

Bedbugs in some bed rooms. Maybe it caused from the cool weather, bad smell like sewage suffered us. And we were unlucky enough to meet the party of next door that last until 5:00 in the morning.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tomo, I am confused by your review. At no time during your stay did we hear from you with any concerns. We have services on hand to address any concerns as we are made aware, and would have done if you had contacted us. We have a cleaner go in prior to your stay and the carpets were cleaned only a few weeks ago. If you had legitimate issues during your stay we would have been happy to address them. We have never had bed bugs...perhaps bites were from sand flies or fleas from your dog? Very disappointed that this is the first we are hearing from you, and that you have rated us for a party next door which is out of our control. We do not believe this review represents our property
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful House

  • 5 of 5

Our 2nd visit to this wonderful house and it does not disappoint...4 families accommodated easily with everything you could ask for provided.

One of the best holiday rentals in Ocean Grove and for the price...unbeatable!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review, Vicki. We hope to hear from you again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Great place with plenty of room

  • 5 of 5

Great location close to the beach and great coffee just up the road

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for posting David, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eaglemont, Victoria, Australia

Good sized property for families

  • 3 of 5

Overall, we were happy with our stay at River Beach House. It is within walking distance to the beach, there were plenty of toys to keep the kids entertained, and they loved the novelty of the pool table. However, the standard on cleanliness was below average. Some examples include dirty/stained mattress protectors on the beds, old food/rubbish on the floor near the couch and under the bunk beds, and dirty utensils in the kitchen drawers. We just felt as though the house could do with some more love.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Melanie, Thanks for posting. I'm glad you enjoyed the facilities and location of the house. I'm so sorry to hear the cleaning was not up to scratch. We employ a cleaner between stays and are disappointed to hear that it was not up to scratch. If there is an issue we are always more than happy to attend to it ASAP if we are notified.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love love LOVE it!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time our large family of 10 have stayed at the River Beach House and we absolutely love it! Very family friendly with lots of toys and entertainment for the kids to keep themselves amused. Lots of space for us all to spread out and have some down time when not at the beautiful beach that is only a 5 minute walk away.. not to mention the playground and recreation reserve that is just across the road! It's also very close to all the shops in Ocean Grove!

It's perfect for us! Which is why we will be returning for a third time next year, already booked in for it so we don't miss out on this gem!

Thank you Stephanie and Justin!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review Lana! Our aim is to make the house as family friendly as possible and are very glad that it works for you. We look forward to your return :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The house needs a good makeover and spring clean,knobs loose on doors curtains wouldnt go up in poolroom,dirty under cushions in poolroom area.Great location but just needs a good clean.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Stephanie Davey
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018


Other Activities:

The Beach


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties