Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Blue Haven @ Red Rock

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

This is a family friendly holiday cottage with 3 bedrooms and a small but well equipped kitchen.

Kitchen, lounge and dining are open plan with lovely view of the park, the estuary and boat ramp. The master bedroom features a queen bed and spacious cabinet with views of the park and river and is joining the living room. We have a double bed in the second bedroom and 2 single beds in the third. There is a bathroom with a toilet, shower and vanity and a separate toilet and sink.. The covered verandah faces park, boat ramp and estuary. The BBQ area is out the back.(gas bbq has wheels, can be taken to front verandah if preferred)

The yard is fully fenced. Well behaved pets are welcome. Pet owners are asked to clean up after their pets if needed. If you intend to bring a pet please let us know.

Please give us at least 48 hours notice if you intend to stay.

Red Rock

. Red Rock is a lovely quiet village in a very picturesque setting. There are two beaches, the 'Big Beach' with a bit of a surf for the more adventurous or the'Little Beach' with a pool at low tide for the little ones and lovely shaded spots protected from southerlies to enjoy and relax. The beaches are patrolled at weekends and in school holidays (observe signs at beach)

The estuary is great for kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, swimming.....

If fishing is your passion you can choose from fishing off the rocks at the headland, fishing on the beach, along the broad walk in the river or from a boat in the estuary or the ocean.

Along the river is a park with a children's playground, electric BBQs and tables and a great local store for essentials and great take-aways. Kayak hire etc. is also available from the shop.

Red Rock is a bird watcher's dream with a lot of rare birds to be spotted along the river or in the heath. In spring the flowers in the heath are worthwhile a visit.

From July to November the headland is a great place for whale watching.

There is a bowling green and tennis courts. The bowling green has a bar and a chinese restaurant for those who want to eat out. A bit further away (6km's) is the Amble Inn in Corindi. A pub with a great atmosphere and a very good restaurant. The Amble Inn has a courtesy bus that services Red Rock.

Surrounding area

To the north Red Rock adjoins Yuraygir National Park with beautiful pristine beaches and rock pools.

Red Rock is situated in the Solitary Island Marine Park, there are very good dive sites at the nearby islands where divers can enjoy encounters with mantas, eagle rays, grey nurse sharks etc. and a multitude of fish.

The closest dive operators are situated in Mullaway (10 min. drive) and Coffs Harbour (30 min drive).

Woolgoolga (15 min drive) is the closest town. It has a large Sikh Punjabi community and the pure white Guru Nanak Sikh Temple is an outstanding feature of the town. There are supermarkets, lovely coffee shops, vegetable and spice shops, curry restaurants, a lively pub and markets near the beach once a month and several festivals throughout the year.

Another 15 min down the road you get to Coffs Harbour, a large town with shopping centres, cinemas, a theatre, lots of pubs, hotels, tourist attractions etc.

Further afield along the waterfall Way are Bellingen, a trendy and touristy town with lots of music events, coffee shops etc. and Dorrigo with a 'skywalk' in the National Park, waterfalls, etc.

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2017

Amenities

Red Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
30% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Blue Haven @ Red Rock
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 26 reviews
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1

Over priced!

  • 1 of 5

I"ll start with a positive, the queen sized bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately that's about the best I can say. There are large gaps in between floor boards which allow mosquitoes in as well as numerous holes in the fly screen which obviously does the same. There's a large gap under the front door where small creatures could obviously fit under. We found a rusty old fish hook in the mat in the main bedroom and the house has a lot of cob webs and dust throughout. Not impressed for the money we paid.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Paula, Of 26 reviews 25 rated the location 5 out of 5, you rate it 1 out of 5. You obviously didn’t like the view over the park with the mouth of the estuary in the back ground or being in walking distance to everything Red Rock has to offer. The rest of your review also stands out as being out of line with the other reviews I received. You find $ 135.- p/n during school holidays for a beach house that accommodates 6 with linen included and no cleaning fee over priced. I would like to know where you expect to find better value. We have slept in the house numerous times and never had a mosquito problem. Also none of our guests has ever complained about mosquitoes. I suspect you left the doors open at dusk and let the mosquitoes in that way. I doubt your story about the fish hook as I vacuumed the carpet very thoroughly before you moved in because the couple who stayed in the house before you had 3 dogs with them. Is it likely that I left a hook behind but no dog hair? If there was a hook it would have to have been well and truly embedded in the carpet and no threat to anyone. To keep costs down I give my guests the option to ‘leave the house the way they found it’ and not pay a cleaning fee. The other option is to ask us to do the cleaning and we charge at $ 20.- p/h. You did not pay for us to do the cleaning, I didn’t even charge you a refundable cleaning deposit because I trusted you would do the right thing. But when you left you made absolutely no attempt to leave the house the way you found it. The floors were covered in sand and some sticky substance, the bathroom wasn’t cleaned, even flushing the toilet was too much trouble. The dishes were washed but not put away, surfaces not wiped down etc. When we arrived some of the linen was missing because you had lent it to someone else in another house. I spent 3 hours just getting the house in order again. You betrayed my trust by leaving the house filthy and to add insult to injury you complain about dust and cobwebs. If they were a problem wouldn’t someone else have mentioned them in their review?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Unwelcoming neighbours!!

  • 3 of 5

The property was lovely but the neighbours were quite rude and made us feel very un welcomed. The first day we stayed a neighbour complained about our dogs and children for being too loud who were barking

and playing around together because they were excited about our holiday. We were also asked how long till we leave which made us very unwelcomed and ruined our holiday.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Jayden, I am astounded to read your public complaint about our neighbours. We quite often have guests with children and dogs and so far neither guests nor neighbours voiced a problem. What I would have hoped for from you is a private apology and offer of compensation for the children ripping pages out of books and losing pieces of the board games and the dogs gnawing and scratching doors and carpets.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at this cottage, warm and welcoming. Our dog has a great time as well so we will definitely come back again

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Please accept my apology for not replying sooner. Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and you are certainly welcome to visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Caves Beach, New South Wales, Australia
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5

Had a great two nights, beautiful spot and very dog friendly. Thanks for sharing you lovely cottage!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pottsville, New South Wales, Australia
5

Great Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

This little beach shack is more than it looks from the outside. The house was rustic and traditional of a beach house hidden away. The bed was super comfy with warm snuggly blankets. The living room was also comfy and there was a wonderful enclosed backyard for our dogs. It was even better that the boys were allowed in the house. A wonderful deck out front for those morning coffees and peace and quiet. A great place to get away from it all. A big park and the estuary across the street for lots of running and chasing balls. The house was a home away from home and filled with character and uniqueness. The price was comparable and amenities were more than ample. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer, but will definitely be back for a longer and chill out stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Laura, I am really glad that you liked the house. Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Avalon Beach, New South Wales, Australia
3

Great spot!

  • 3 of 5

A simple but great little house in the perfect spot. Have lots of bits and pieces so is really well equipped but has a jigsaw puzzle that is way too hard!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

beach, boatramp,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 6 guests. Property has 4 beds and can sleep a maximum 6 guests

You might like these similar properties