Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fabulous Oceanfront Beach Hide-Away - Romantic & Serene Residence Condo

Bedrooms 1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 nights


About the property

1 BEDROOM, 1 BATH, Most Comfortable KING SIZE BED


What makes this property unique is that it's on probably the most beautiful beach on Oahu! All sand, and it's NEVER crowded. Facing full WEST, the sunset is never out of sight. If you look down from the lanai, this condo sits RIGHT IN THE SAND! (see pictures) Unbelievable! Shopping and Sightseeing available but most people just stick close to home, de-stress and enjoy the peace and serenity that is yours.

Condo is FULLY STOCKED with the basics. There's even shampoos, conditioner, sun block, aloe vera, & moisture lotion to use till you get to buy some. There's towels, linens and even big beach towels... so just bring your swim suit, a few clothes, personal toiletries, and then go shopping for your favorite foods to cook. Dishes, glassware, flatware, even new pots & pans! A blender, coffee pot, coffee grinder, toaster, spices, etc... everything you need to cook, eat, drink & enjoy! There's 2 big chairs at the dining table + 2 tall outdoor chairs on the lanai you can pull up to the rolling utility table that can be used for dining anytime. Also there's 4 STURDY TV Tables for casual use.

ENTERTAINMENT: There is a new LED Flat Screen TV with a SONY BLU-RAY DVD Player in Living Room my DVD collection in the 'RED' case near TV. I have Hi-Speed Internet with WIFI. A cordless land line in Living Room and Bedroom with FREE calls to all states & CANADA.

SLEEPING AREA: AN AWESOME KING SIZE BED in the Oceanfront Bedroom. The sound of the ocean will lull you to sleep every night! A full size pull-out Futon Sofa is in the living room (mountain side of condo) where the 3rd guest (if there is one) can sleep. There's beautiful valley views and the country roosters may even awake you now and then.

This is NOT your usual, bare-bones, rental unit. I have

2 original ocean scene oil paintings, a unique one-of-a-kind tropical craft hanging, large double-door refrigerator freezer, with ice-maker, and a smooth flat-top stove, with a full oven. In the living room there is a DUAL RECLINER that is so comfy and cozy for the 2 of you... You can even recline to the 'snoozing' position!

ACTIVITIES: Walking, hiking, bike riding, kayaking, body surfing, snorkeling, We have 2 boogie boards and 2 comfy Tommy Bahama beach chairs, a cooler and a beach umbrella to use. Surf Boards, Paddle Boards, Snorkels, Fins, even bicycles can be rented nearby. Also, there's the Fishing Marina & Dock where you can maybe catch a boat to go fishing. Just ask the locals, pay them a fee and go for it! (Much cheaper than taking a fishing charter from Waikiki)

If you golf, there's the Makaha East Course and the Makaha Resort Course, both within a half mile or so, but nicer yet is the Ko' Olina course about 10 miles up the road to the south.

The brand new Disney Hawaiian Themed Time Share Resort, The Aulani, is located in Ko' Olina about 10 miles up the road to the south. Ko Olina, is a beautiful resort area with a few big hotels and some nice FINE DINING. There's Roy's (on the golf course), The Mariott Beach Club, The Ihilani Hotel, and the new Disney 'Aulani'.

Also at Ko' Olina are multiple public ocean lagoons with calm waters for non-swimmers.

There's so much more to say, but for now... just book your time, flight & come!

Truly a country BEACH HIDEAWAY that's going to be your home away from home...

More Details

Eileen Hines
Member since: 2011
Speaks: spanish, italian
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Eileen Hines

I live in Honolulu and this condo was just to get away and relax. I do travel a lot, family & business, and it just made sense to rent once in a while to vacationers who want, like me, to get away from the craziness and crowded tourist area. I will be honest and tell you that I prefer to rent to non-smoking, clean, and responsible couples. Especially if you're celebrating an anniversary or even a second honeymoon !!! Aloha...

Eileen Hines purchased this condo in 2000

Why Eileen Hines chose Oahu

I chose this property because it was located in the BEST position on the BEST BEACH.

What makes this condo unique

FULL unobstructed view, no shutter supports, or hanging items to take away from this awesome view. Able to see the sun set every day of the year !!!

Very private lanai so others cannot look into yours, and high enough (8th floor) so beachgoers can't see in.


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Honolulu International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Makaha Resort Hotel
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Makaha East Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Makaha Resort Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Turtle Beach Cove
Car: recommended

A pristine sandy beach awaits you in this secluded area of Oahu. Makaha is a 30 mile drive from the airport and about 40-45 minutes from the congestion and noise of Waikiki. If you've been there, done that, this is now the place for you. Tranquil as can be, yet only 20-40 minutes to the action! A car is recommended to get around, however, "The Bus" has been continuously ranked one of the best transportation systems in the USA... and it stops right near the front. The 7-11 mini-store is a 1 min. drive or a 6 min. walk. The local mall is a 6 min. drive. There you'll find a Tamura Supermarket, Longs Drug Store, Starbucks, Jamba Juice and other local places to eat, etc., rent a bike, kayak, snorkel gear, surfboard, etc. Many other attractions nearby; the Water Park, the new Disney Resort and swimming lagoons at Ko-Olina, 2 golf courses in Makaha, 1 at Ko-Olina, & 1 in Kapolei & more island wide plus Pearl Harbor, Aloha Stadium Swap Meet, Polynesian Cultural Center, Ala Moana Mall & much more!

Other Activities: Hiking, Kayaking, Group Ukulele Playing, Karaoke, Dancing, Board Game Playing, Card Playing etc/

Golf: Hawaii is a golfer's paradise. 2 courses right in Makaha 5 minutes from the condo, another in Ko-Olina which is only 15 minutes away, and another in Kapolei 20 minutes faway from your oceanfront condo. Other courses: the famed Kahala Resort (home of the Sony Open), plus many others, including great military courses all over the island (NavyMarine, Hickam, Kaneohe, etc.)

I DO NOT USE THE VRBO CALENDAR, PLEASE CONTACT ME BY TEXT FOR AVAILABLE DATES at eight zero eight seven eight zero five thousand.

eTHANK YOU. Eileen


Mākaha Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 8
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • All Tiled Shower with Movable Hand European style shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • The Bedroom is on the ocean side and the other sleeping area is in the living room on the valley side.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • limited accessibility
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • disco club
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • water sports
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Basic toiletries provided if you forgot to bring, but please buy your own for continued use. Thank you.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
Fabulous Oceanfront Beach Hide-Away - Romantic & Serene Residence Condo
average rating of 3.9 based on 10 reviews
kamloops bc

Nothing Like the title states - poor conditon - full of junk - needs TLC

  • 1 of 5

We rented this condo for 2 weeks in Mid Jan 2015... We left this condo after 6 nights... This condo is nothing as the title states (complete false advertising - although beachfront - its no romantic hideway and definitely not beautiful or serene - far from it) We have rented 11 times off VRBO and this was the poorest condition condo we have ever stayed in.. The carpets were stained, had far too much stuff in... Had a large file cabinet & grandfather clock in the living room that did not work and a note "Broken - do not try to fix", Had so much extra food in the cupboards that there was no room for ours - and most of it old.. The fridge had condiments in (which we like)... pretty much all expired.

The owner refunded part of our money for leaving for leaving - but completely stuck it to us with every charge including charging more a night than we agreed upon in the contract and extra charges because we broke the contract early - with no consideration that owner was not truthful about the property.

Pro - there was a few

Comfortable bed, ocean front, beach fantastic, fantastic view, property grounds nice, decently stocked with boogie boards, snorkel gear and the bathroom was acceptable, owner had lots of towels, sheets etc), free wifi and free calling to Canada and USA, nice new TV.

Cons - there are many

Way to much stuff in condo, closets were full, too much furniture, get rid of clock and filing cabinet in living room. plates and cups were all bought a garage sales (cause nothing matched), bedroom stuffed full could hardly move, carpets all needed replacing, place needs a good paint job, bedroom bedspread look 30 years old, expired food in cupboards and fridge, even on deck the "table" was a baker rack on wheels with a placemat and another odd side table (un-useable with nothing on it taking up room)

Believe it or not... I am not a complainer but do expect decent value for my hard earned dollars.. This condo in its current shape, I would expect to pay half of what the owner is asking... We have travelled to Hawaii 10 times but this time we got stuck with a bad property.. The owner did respond and refund a portion of our $$$ but not what she should have...

Also this property is a long way from anything (we were looking to "get away") but be aware you are in a poor residential area.. nothing but a 7-11 within walking distance and in a area that we would not walk in after dark...


  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 2

Wow, what a great low key place to stay!!!!!

  • 4 of 5

This condo home was such an excellent low key place to stay. We're very low maintenance people so this was perfect! We wanted to treat this place like it was ours. The homeowner keeps it nice and cozy. She has some of personal effects there, which for us, was fine and we respected that. She had many amenities ready for guest (us) so it was like home away from home! We did not mind that she had some food stocks and spices as it helped until we could go to one of the supermarkets close by.

Even though not far from Honolulu (35 miles), because of the freeway system and speed limits, it takes about 45 minutes to an hour and half to go either back of forth. But, since I am familiar with the island, it's worth it!!! We loved the solitude and being out of the shark smorgasbord cattle ranch called Waikiki. We had our own "private beach" with enough fish and turtles to keep us entertained for hours. There is no need to go snorkeling anywhere else on the island. Even though it rained off and on all day throughout the island, it never rained in Makaha. There's good surfing just west over at Makaha Beach. For me, if there were windsurfers supplied, I would have been in heaven! But, that is for casual sailing. If you want the wind, then head over to the Kailua side.

We liked being based out Makaha. It is a bit of a rougher neighborhood but just use your streets smarts if you have any, lol. We had no need to go anywhere in the evenings expect to this awesome Private Idaho! Although the military base divides Farrington Hwy, we didn't mind going around the mountain range to hit North Shore. I have family and friends back towards town so we drove back and forth everyday and just kept it island mellow!

Our first night, as we entered the condo, my fiance was about to turn on the lights. Knowing what to expect, I said, "wait" and guided her through to the lanai. We had the cliche full moon with it's light reflection on the water and sand, waves lapping on the beach... She was breathless and said, "how romantic!" In the evenings, the winds kept the place cool from front to back and during the day from back to front, at least during the month we were there.

Easy to get to. Keys are very accessible and there is a guard on duty. It's nice to have secured parking and the wireless was great. We will look forward to coming out again. We've contemplated even buying a unit in this building. Even for a local, this is a great getaway!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Gentle waves, spectacular sunsets/moonlight!

  • 4 of 5

We (a couple w/toddler) stayed from 9/10 - 9/17/2013 and really, really enjoyed our visit. The owner was spot on in her description of the property, information on how to get there and rental conditions. All in all, very straightforward and easy rental.

We chose this location (after a thorough search of alternatives) and found the owner very accomodating and friendly. She is a former airline industry professional. We rented a car (highly recommend, btw) and for a week, drove every other day to other parts of Oahu to see the primary tourist sights outside Honolulu. Her condo became our sanctuary afterwards and was perfect. Her place had all the creature comforts and was quite adequate and we usually ate breakfast & dinner there. A large supermarket is within 5-10 minute drive.

We especially enjoyed the early mornings and evenings on the lanai. Very relaxing to listen to wave action as it lulled you to sleep too! Hard to imagine a condo building getting any closer to the water either because the base is sitting in sand and the waves are within about 30'.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very comfortable and well-appointed condo

  • 5 of 5

This was our third condo rental in this same building over a five year period and this time, my wife and I stayed for over six weeks in this unit. We appreciate this location for the un-crowded sandy beach and the quality and affordability of the accommodations, all of this far enough from Waikiki for a more relaxed vacation, with all essential services available in the vicinity.

The listing description was accurate and the property is clean and well maintained. The view from the lanai is breathtaking and during most of our stay, we were lucky enough to observe many turtles, dolphins, whales and awesome sunsets. The surf was quite high sometimes, but we were comfortable for swimming and snorkeling almost every day, right in front of the condo.

The owner was very helpful and dedicated to make our stay enjoyable. All the amenities provided are of great quality and the list is very complete. The wi-fi internet connection, cable TV, long distance phone service provided were all thoughtful attentions. The leather recliners in the living room and the king size bed are high quality furniture and very comfortable.

We were very satisfied with our stay in this condo and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
San Francisco

Hawaii the way it used to be...Beautiful beach without the crowds.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I came here to get away from the crowds of Waikiki (Been there, done that) and had the best vacation ever! We woke up to sound of the ocean and the fresh sea breezes which helped the stress melt away. We made fresh mango smoothies while we watched the turtles swim back and forth along the beach. This side of Oahu is so beautiful and much less crowded than in Waikiki and worth the extra time to drive here.(30 min) The beach is semi-private, wide open and seems rarely used for its beauty, no fighting over where to place your towels or umbrella. After spending a few days on the beach in front of the condo, we decided to drive to Ko' Olina, around 10 miles down to road to go swimming in the calm lagoons.(4 different ones) This is where Disney just built their new "Aulani" hotel. Ko' Olina is a nice change of pace in that it provides a little more excitement without the crowds of Waikiki. There are great restaurants to enjoy and the grounds around the hotels are nice to take an after dinner stroll.

It took a day or two to get into the groove and get our bearings, but after that we were veterans and had our routine down. 1. Picked fresh Plumeria in the neighborhood for the balcony vase. 2. Bought fresh fish to grill on the BBQ at sunset. 3. Made fresh ground Kona coffee and mango smoothies to start our day. 4. Made sure to catch the Sunset every night from the balcony. I know you will find your own rhythm but feel free to use mine. Just in case you wanted to check in on reality, there is free Wi-Fi access, but I tried my best to avoid it, we were on vacation after all! :)

Thanks Eileen! It was a great place and we have wonderful memories.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Salem Oregon

Fun in the Sun

  • 4 of 5

This was out first time on Oahu and the beach and water are beautiful, even better than Maui. Weather was perfect. The owner (Eileen) was extremely helpful with any of our needs. The kitchen was small ,but was stocked with more essentials (incuding some food) than any place we have ever stayed. We really enjoyed being lulled to sleep by the surf on the beach. We always slept with the door to the Lanai open. Security is outstanding.

It was nice being away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We only went once. Traffic was awful.

Mahalo Eileen. We had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bob, so glad you enjoyed your stay in the condo and on this fabulous beach. And... that you liked it more than Maui says a lot! Mahalo nui loa! ...\Eileen
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $250

Fees quoted are for couples, $10-$20 per night additional fee for 3rd person
I DO NOT USE THE HOMEAWAY CALENDAR... PLEASE SEND ME A TEXT OR EMAIL ME AT FROM your own DIRECT EMAIL address. My phone is 808-780-5000 and I accept text messages anytime. THANK YOU.

50% due at booking, balance 60 days prior to arrival
5% Handling fee on cc's, no fee on certified check directly deposited.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties