check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ana

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Thai

Big Sur Beautiful Ocean View Private Stone House Estate

36 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Big Sur House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Library, 3.5+ Baths (Sleeps 4)

We wanted to pass along a happy update on the Soberanes fire. 

This morning our local news source reported that the fire is now 90% contained. They are now winding down their coverage of it.

Although we were fortunate on our coastal shelf here in having not been affected by the fire we are happy to see that life returns all along the coast, and in the inland forests, to its timeless beauty and peace.

Fall is a favorite season here; the raking light of October gives the mountains and the mountains and the shore a wonderful and special golden glow.

RATES: The rate is based on the number of guests and length of stay. Rates are subject to change, rates shown based on two guests. Online calendar may not accurate; please check with us on availability.

Maximum number of guests is four individuals. The damage deposit is fully refundable. When making inquires please include a contact phone, email, the number of guests, and length of stay.

Big Sur Stone House is a fully sustainable ocean view home in the center of a wide marine terrace with uninterrupted views of the Pacific coast to each far horizon.

One can hear the waves and watch the surf from seven rooms of the house.

The gardens and grounds of the forty acre property adjoining the protected lands of the Los Padres National Forest create a completely private and secure enclave above the Pacific Coast Highway. Sole access is by private gated road. Guests at the house often say that this is the most beautiful spot they have ever found in round the world travels..

The off-grid, three-bedroom stone-built home was designed by an architect who specializes in sustainable architecture. The house is built in three closely connected but separate wings for the maximum amount of quiet and privacy, each with full direct views of the ocean. The Cottage Wing includes the kitchen, dining area, laundry, bedroom and full bath. The Studio Wing includes a large library and media room with a half bath; the adjacent Master Bedroom and Master Bath has single spa tub. A few feet away wholly separate stone walled Sunset Room has a magnificent view of the ocean waves and the moon and stars at night from the queen bed.

There are also ocean views from the Sunset room bath and shower.

The house complex has a fully stocked library, including a complete collection of music CDs, phonograph records of many genres, an extensive DVD film collection. The house has wireless WIFI and HDTV with full DirecTV premium satellite service.

The house has radiant floor heating throughout with tile and maple floors. The bathrooms and kitchen are served by both conventional and reverse osmosis water systems and have granite and onyx counter-tops.

Hiking trails for the Los Padres National Forest begin at the entrance to the private driveway.

The undeveloped beaches and coastal meadow of Pacific Valley below the house is an easy walk to the beach with a picnic lunch and a fine bottle of Pinot Noir. A popular public surfing beach, San Dollar State Beach, is 1.3 miles south of Big Sur Stone House and can be reached by biking or by car. Para-gliding the ocean thermals above the property is also a popular local sport.

Big Sur Stone House is 31 miles from the small shops and stores of Big Sur, the Post Ranch Inn, the Ventana Inn and Spa, and Nepenthe Restaurant. The house is 40 miles north from Cambria, California. It is approximately one and one half hours from Paso Robles Wine country (29.6 miles); three and half hours north of Santa Barbara (179 miles), and approximately four and a half hours north of Los Angeles (273 miles).

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only
Ana (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Thai

Guestbook comments from the owner

My GF booked a few nights here to celebrate her birthday. It is Beautiful! The Stunning view of the Pacific Coast and setting sun are available from every room, The house sits. There are beautiful gardens and several places outside to relax and enjoy the view. The accommodations were well thought out. Despite being completely off grid. There was no compromise on comfort. There was an interesting assortment of CD's, records, books and movies. The house was peaceful and welcoming. There are many sights in the area we combed the beaches and brought back s Sandollars and Jade. We picked fresh lemons and herbs, The kitchen was nice we cooked every night. I highly recommend it. We all loved staying there and did not want to leave. We felt at home as soon as i got there....
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 13

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

Big Sur Beautiful Ocean View Private Stone House Estate
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 49 reviews
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5

Talk about a perfect getaway! This house has been designed and built sustainably, and One can see the attention to detail in every square inch of the property. Don't expect to be connected (via electronic devices). You won't need them. Thank you both for allowing us the privelage of the experience, and enabling us to truly relax.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy to know you appreciated our efforts here and found so many things to enjoy here. I can see how it can be comforting at times to be immune to cell phone reception. I trust the wireless internet and the HDTV satellite reception here (as well the sunsets and ocean waves) were sufficient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A gem of a proprety

  • 5 of 5

We did a lot of research before we settled on the stone house for our stay in the Big Sur area. Even before we signed the contract Ana was superb in answering questions, providing details and generally making us feel comfortable with our decision. Upon arriving at the property we immediately knew we had made the correct decision. The photos on the vrbo website are a true and accurate representation of the actual property. My family throughly enjoyed the uniqueness of the house, the spectacular views and all the amenities on the property. The pride Ana takes in her house was evident in the attention to detail, cleanliness and hospitality she showed us. I would definitely rent this property again in a future visit.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NoHo
5

Literally - Edge of Earth

  • 5 of 5

Wow, all I could say was Wow the whole time I was there! If I was a religious person I would say is last stop before heaven, I felt like you have to spend some days here so when you move onto heven you've had an opportunity to transition from regular life on earth.

Even the woman who made the preparations and introductions was like an angel that eliminated any apprehension or confusion of being in a new place, or in this case dimension/element... I don't know if she actually owns the place or was casted for the role, but the entire experience was like a dream or fairy tail. Endulge yourself, escape reality for a few days, stay here, be enlightened, expand your sense of tranquility and beauty....

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix, AZ
5

Meet me where the sky touches the sea!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were married at this breathtaking property on April 29th, 2016. We stumbled upon Big Sur and we were sold immediately. We had never been there and would not visit prior to our wedding. We originally chose another property but it didn't work out because our guest count had grown (we're sooooo happy it didn't work out). We researched a few properties in the area and saw some outrageous prices. Ana's pricing structure is straight forward and in my opinion, a great value. From the moment I contacted Ana her hospitality was out of this world. She responded promptly to every email I had. I even asked her to take photos from different angles on the property and she happily obliged. I had an endless barrage of questions and she was always there with a quick answer. We arrived in California a week prior to our wedding because we were doing some exploring up and down the coast. Ana allowed us to stop by the property prior to our wedding to tour the property with my family. She gave us a tour of the whole house, showed us where to find everything, showed us the garden and gave us permission to pick from it if we wanted. She has a TON of vases on the property and she allowed us to use them. Not only that but on the day of the wedding she came to help my Mom, Aunt and Grandmother clean them up and ready the arrangements. My Mother & Father in-law offered to pay for us to stay on the property the night prior to our wedding and the night of. We are so so so happy that we did this. Our rentals were arriving the day prior to our wedding but we were in Pebble Beach for our rehearsal dinner. Ana offered to sign for and accept our rentals on our behalf. She even called to ask me where I wanted them to place the tables because they were heavy and she didn't want us to have to move them. The property is broken up in three parts. We opted to stay in the bedroom furthest from the driveway because you can lay in the bed and see the ocean below your feet. There honestly is no better sight or sound to wake up to than the ocean. Our wedding day was purely magical. All of our guest told us it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. My husband and I still can't believe we were lucky to be one of the few to say they were married at this property. If you are on the fence about this property, I promise you will not regret it. You don't find properties like this every day and more importantly, you do not find hosts like Ana.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Truly Special!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the Big Sur Stone House to host a rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding. To quote one of my guests, I've seen places like this in movies and in magazines, but I never expected to be at one! The house and the property are gorgeous, and Ana is a most gracious host. She waited patiently for our arrival, though we were a couple of hours later than we expected, and gave a thorough tour of the property, pointing out special plants, giving suggestions for how we might best utilize the property for our event, and ensuring we were aware of where the light switches were, how things operated, where the nearest options were for things like groceries, medical assistance, etc. She made herself available to help us in any way we would possibly need help, not just for our stay but also with our event, and was generous in allowing us to move furniture to suit our needs for the party. I cannot say how beautifully our event turned out. The patios were perfect for setting out long dining tables, we were able to light pathways and stone walls with candles, the natural beauty of the landscape contributed lush nasturtium vines and beautiful California poppys, lovely lavender and rosemary bushes. You're literally in the middle of nowhere here, so there are no worries about music playing too loudly or the noise of the party bothering neighbors. Even when you know where this house is, you cannot see it from the road because it is so artfully built into the hillside and landscape.

It's sad to me that one reviewer wrote of Ana charging an inappropriate event fee and security cameras everywhere. These things are simply not true--we didn't see any security cameras on the property. Ana was so kind and generous that it's hard to fathom where someone would find fault with her or the policies of her rental agreement. It made me worried when I read that review, but there is no need to be concerned about any of it. This is a special place, Ana a special person, and you will have a special stay at Big Sur Stone House!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Awesome Wedding Venue

  • 5 of 5

My son was recently married on this property and the setup and the natural beauty of the ocean and surrounding hills was awesome! It was a small and intimate wedding of around 25 guests. The house was perfect for the private preparations of the bride and groom, immediate family and the bridal party prior to the ceremony. Pictures just don't do this property justice. It is more awesome in person! Ana, the property owner and host was exceptional in helping with wedding preparations and was soo accommodating the entire day. I highly recommend this property to everyone that wants to "really" experience the Big Sur area, the Pacific Coast Highway and all of it's surrounding beauty.

It is also an exceptional spot for a wedding venue. I can't wait to see all the incredible photo's taken during the wedding celebration. This property has been used numerous times for weddings, small and large. The weekend after our son's wedding, Ana was hosting a wedding for 150 people.

I highly recommend this property for all NATURE LOVERS!

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words about Big Sur Stone House and our efforts here. I was delighted to work with you and your family. You all are the most wonderful people on earth. It was an honor to be part of your very special day. We are so glad to know you appreciated our efforts and found so many things to enjoy at Big Sur Stone House. We look forward to seeing you again soon. I wanted to add a small clarification; although we have had small weddings, and large weddings (of almost one hundred), thus far we have not planned to book weddings of one hundred and fifty guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
31 Miles
Nepenthe Restaurant
Nearest Restaurant
4.3 Miles
Treebones resort
Nearest Beach
1.3 Miles
Sand Dollar Beach
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Windsurfing,Wildlife Viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Sur House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$720
 

Additional information about rental rates

We wanted to pass along a happy update on the Soberanes fire. 
This morning our local news source reported that the fire is now 90% contained. They are now winding down their coverage of it.
Although we were fortunate on our coastal shelf here in having not been affected by the fire we are happy to see that life returns all along the coast, and in the inland forests, to its timeless beauty and peace.
Fall is a favorite season here; the raking light of October gives the mountains and the mountains and the shore a wonderful and special golden glow.

RATES: The rate is based on the number of guests and length of stay. Rates are subject to change, rates shown based on two guests. Online calendar may not accurate; please check with us on availability.
Maximum number of guests is six individuals. When making inquires please include a contact phone, email, the number of guests, and length of stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Big Sur House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Mountain
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Hydronic Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Safe
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Solar Hot Water
  • Solar Panels
  • Study Room
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Workshop
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Half 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , with ocean view
  • In addition to the two full bathrooms and half bath in the main house there is a separate freestanding stone bathroom outside near the Thai Garden.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Ocean view
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Courtyard
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor tub in stone surround with full view of ocean.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties