Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Toccoa Riverfront Cabin, Hot Tub! National Forest 2 sides; March Specials

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 9) PRIVATE AND SECLUDED

Come to the beautiful North GA mountains to experience the natural beauty of Suches, the highest elevation in Georgia with the Chattahoochee National Forest all around!

Please note: The computer generated response rate is not accurate because it only accounts for responding through this website. Calls and direct emails aren't accounted for. I respond within a few hours and usually right away.

Contact Information: 404-472-6274


March Special: Rent 3 nights and receive a 4th night free

Paradise River Retreat is the perfect destination! The cabin is at the end of a winding, one lane forest service road and is surrounded by Chattahoochee National Forest creating a magical tranquil setting.. This unique property features a cozy cabin that is just a few feet from the water's edge of the pristine Toccoa River! The river views are spectacular and the sounds of the rushing water are sublime. The cabin features a large screened porch with dining, comfortable sitting and a futon for those who want to sleep closer to nature. There are 2 attached covered decks; one with Hot Springs hot tub, overlooking the river, the other with , dining set, gas grill and lounge chairs to enjoy the great outdoors. Hammock and Firepit at river's edge.

The interior features massive leather sofa and reclining chairs, a stone fireplace, high-speed wireless internet, satellite TV, free long distance calls, antique claw foot tub in master bath and a fully equipped kitchen.

Drive 1.8 miles down a winding one land forest service road to the end and arrive at Paradise River Retreat. With National forest across the river and forest or either side of the cabin, your views are all natural and awe inspiring! Large screen plasma TV with dish tv. Hi speed wireless internet.

All Linens Provided Sleeps 9

Hiking Trails form the Cabin offer beautiful scenery, serenity and opportunities for wildlife viewing.

Toccoa River is trout stocked and is reknown as a premier trout fishing river!

Location! Location! Location! Not all riverfront properties are the same. Paradise River Retreat offers flat easy access to the water with the cabin on the water's edge (you no longer can build this close to the water!)

National forest borders on 2 sides and a babbling stream with several cascades is on the other side.



See current specials below or call for multi-night discounts! All special rates are for up to 4 guests. Extra guests fees, taxes and cleaning fee are not included. Notes dates listed are for actual full nights; check-out date is not listed.






Call 404-472-6274 to book this special

More Details

Laura Terrell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

Why Laura Terrell chose North Georgia Mountains

I purchased this wonderful property December 22nd in 2005, culminating a year of searching the North GA Mountains for our own “paradise”. I visited the cabin in the morning and submitted a contract that afternoon of the first day the property was on the market for sale! After a year of looking, I knew I had to act fast to get this amazing property! My home is a two-hour drive south, in Marietta (just north of Atlanta). Even though I love to visit my paradise property, life circumstances permit only sporadic visits. Allowing others to visit and enjoy this unique property, when I am not here, brings me joy and certainly helps with keeping the expenses manageable. I take great pride in the cabin and hope you find it comfortable and welcoming.

What makes this cabin unique


Fish year-round; no license required to fish on our property.

Trout Fishing capital of Georgia; stocked by DNR

Suches is the highest elevation in Georgia

Private and Secluded with national forest on 2 sides

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for making my first cabin experience amazing!! Moving from south Florida to Chattanooga TN was a rough experience in itself, but finally getting to enjoy all the things TN & GA have to offer , such as spending a weekend in a gorgeous cabin makes the move all worth it.

Thank you again!!!
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 52


Suches Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • River ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 -
    Full 2 -
  • Master bath has antique clawfoot tub and shower surround.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • In addition to the 3 bedrooms, there is a loft with a queen sleeper sofa.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 10 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Firepit at river Hammock at river


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Toccoa Riverfront Cabin, Hot Tub! National Forest 2 sides; March Specials
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 70 reviews

Unreasonable owner. Avoid the headache.

  • 1 of 5

The cabin itself is quite simple and pleasant for a weekend stay. I can't recommend that you stay there, though. Not because the water heater is very small and won't be able to fill the claw foot tub with enough water for a bath. And not even because the gas fireplace wasn't working and when we tried to call to find out how to work it on Friday night she never called us back all weekend.

No, the reason I can't recommend staying here is because the owner of this cabin will ask you for your cc info outside of homeaway/vrbo and then charge your card for unsubstantiated fees with no opportunity to dispute it. We gave her our cc info bc we had a last minute addition in # of ppl (well under house limit). She should have charged us through the website, but instead demanded it over the phone. Short of canceling our trip, we saw no other option than to give it to her. She then KEPT our CC info and later used it charged us a large, unsubstantiated, unauthorized fee.

She claims that her cleaning lady told her we "checked out late." What really happened was that we were sitting in our car at 11:00 with the house locked and the key in the lockbox. The cleaning person pulled up a few minutes later. We were downloading area maps and planning our route because there is no cell service in the area and we were worried about getting lost. We never stepped out of the car and we definitely never re-entered the house. The cleaning lady sat in her car for the entire time that we were in our car. We thought it was strange that she was sitting there, but maybe she was doing something before she started cleaning. Once we finished, we pulled out of the driveway and drove away.

Then, the following Tuesday night. We get an email--not a phone call asking us what happened--but an email letting us know that her cleaning lady told her that we weren't out of the house until noon and therefore we owed her money for "late check out." We were given no opportunity to respond, she simply told us that we needed to pay--nearly the price of a third night! She was completely unreasonable when we called to discuss it.

We refused to pay the charge because we followed every checkout procedure on the long list. But she had kept our credit card info and made an unauthorized charge on our card anyway!! We have had to change our cards to secure those accounts again. Save yourself the headache and rent somewhere else!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review has many untrue statements. Unfortunately as a property owner on occasion you have to deal with people who are unreasonable. The guest contacted me as he was leaving for the cabin, to notify me that he was having extra guests. He gave me his credit card to make the extra charges.There were no demands by me or hesitation on his part. The account given concerning the late check out is inaccurate. When the cleaner arrived after the check out time, she stopped at the gate because cars were still there.Out of respect for the guests, she waited at the entrance to the property. If she were to enter the cabin and guests were not dressed,that would be an offense she prefers not to risk. Ironically, I was reading reviews for a condo where I wanted to stay last year and there were numerous angry reviews from guests who acknowledged they were "only" 10 or 15 minutes past check-out time, when the owner would enter and tell them to leave and they were quite offended. My cleaner reported observing that some of the guests left in the first vehicle about 15 minutes after the check out time. The other vehicle remained for another half hour. If, as stated, he was sitting in his vehicle and saw her waiting, it was his responsibility to let her know why he was still present and that there was no one still in the cabin. He was on premise beyond his time to be there and it was his responsibility to ask her if he could remain while she cleaned, rather than make her wait. She assumed that someone was in the cabin, especially since the other group had left late. The guest responded to my email about checking out late via email and did NOT call me as stated. I have the emails and reviewed them carefully. The guest responded stating that the cleaner lied and the "cleaning person chose not to clean then then chose to blame it on us" .His response was very demeaning to an individual who had patiently waited on her own time out of respect for him. He continues to deny his responsibility for his actions. His final statement in his email was "We do not wish to discuss this any further.". Adhering to check out time is crucial when there is limited time to clean for the next guest. Charging a fee for staying beyond that time is the way we have to deter frequent occurrence. It is something I would prefer not to have to do, but must.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Most relaxing vacation ever!!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is in the most perfect location!! It is almost like you can reach out and touch the river. That is how close it is!! And we walked downriver and never once saw a person or another cabin. It was the perfect place to unwind without any interruptions from the outside world. The hot tub and the fire pit were awesome also. Couldn't have asked for more!! Thanks for sharing your family home! We are already making plans for spring! I also want to give gift cards to my parents so they can enjoy this cabin! VRBO, do you have gift certificates??

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Amy, You were a delight to have as a guest! I really appreciate that in this busy season, you took the time to write such a nice review. A return visit is the greatest compliment! I'm so pleased you had a relaxing visit. Happy 2017. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Remarkably relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was exactly as described and we couldn’t have been more pleased! How lucky we were when a last minute cancellation allowed us the opportunity to stay here. My daughter was discharged from a lengthy hospital stay the day before Thanksgiving and this cabin provided us the peace and serenity we needed to start healing as a family. The cabin was stocked well enough for me to prepare a full Thanksgiving meal with all the trimmings; including homemade pies. I appreciated the thoughtfulness that went into making our stay welcoming. What one reviewer mentioned as clutter, I thought made the cabin more interesting and the microwave has been moved onto a cart so it is no longer too high for anyone to reach. I loved having access to a movie collection, gaming system, books, board games and we played numerous rounds of checkers. In addition fishing poles were available that we put to use. I felt like we showed up with our suitcase and groceries and everything else was provided. In addition it was nice for my teens to have a newer flat screen TV and wifi so they still felt connected while in a secluded hideaway. The master bed was extremely comfortable and the kids had no complaints about their beds either. This is not a sparkling, chic resort. If you are looking for granite counters, stainless appliances and high end finishes, this cabin is not for you. It did however, have enough modern amenities and plenty of space that we were able to spread out while enjoying our time together. It had a true cabin feel and the surroundings outdoors were remarkable. We hiked, fished, sat in the hot tub, explored water falls, sat by the fire, made s’mores, got in the river (which is steps from the back door) and enjoyed the sweet sounds of nature. The screened porches are wonderful! It was everything we needed and more than we had hoped for! Laura was very accommodating and her attention to detail was seen throughout the cabin. Thanks for a holiday, weekend retreat that we will never forget!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Julie and Daniel for taking the time to write this kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday. I am happy the cancellation worked out for your family to have a nice getaway. I wish you and your family all the best and healing and strength for your daughter. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Marietta, GA

Exceeded expectations!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin and surroundings exceeded our expectations. We were looking for privacy, hiking out the door and riverfront. We do not fish and did not use the hot tub but it didn't matter, everything else put it over the top for us! The cabin itself was very interesting and spotless. There are so many neat things to look at and had a true cabin feel to it. We had not one complaint and already are wanting to book for another season. You cannot put a price on the setting, we are very fortunate that the owner makes it available for others to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I'm am always happy to hear my guests have enjoyed their time at the cabin. When it comes to enjoying nature and the great outdoors, you really get IT! Thanks, Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

Cosy, comfortable, relaxing

  • 5 of 5

I scoured the internet for days, looking for the perfect place for me and my three friends to stay for a weekend retreat. I wanted it to be close to some water, be private, out in the woods, maybe a fireplace. I came upon this property and knew from the pictures it would be awesome. Then I read the reviews. It had many exceptional reviews, but the most recent one was not at all favorable. I was really disappointed. I know everyone is different, with different expectations, but I had never seen the place or talked with the owner, and I hesitated to spend money on something I wasn't sure of. I really liked the owner's response to the negative review: she was gracious and didn't get defensive. I decided to call her, even though I was embarrassed to bring it up. She addressed everything to my satisfaction without throwing the previous reviewer under the bus, so I made the reservation. I just got home yesterday and I don't see how it could have been any better. It had everything I wanted, but without a doubt the river and surrounding forest is the draw. The cabin is within feet of the river, and the sound of the water is a backdrop to every activity, especially sleeping with the window open. We had a fire in the firepit every morning with our coffee, and dinner on the screened in porch. We all slept comfortably and well in the 3 bedrooms. Before bed we took a few minutes in the hot tub, then sat on the plush sofas near the fireplace reading and talking. It was absolutely wonderful.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and especially for addressing the issues from the previous review. Wonderful guests like you make owners want to try even harder to provide a perfect vacation paradise!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Let's have an HONEST review

  • 1 of 5

With fishing poles and GA fishing licenses in hand, we were looking forward to a week of fishing, grilling, and lazing by the Toccoa in a pleasantly appointed cabin. I can't tell you how disappointed we were. The cabin and grounds were desperate for attention. Upon entering the cabin, the very worn porch was surrounded by lazy susans that were becoming choked with weeds. The porch was littered with what we assumed was sawdust from carpenter ants or carpenter bees. The cabin was dank, dark and smelled of mildew and dust. While the kitchen had all the appliances and equipment you would need, the counters (the WHOLE cabin, really) were covered with so many oddities and knickknacks that making food was difficult. The stove was dirty and a microwave was set high above the gas stove that not only was I susceptible to open flame but so high over my head that I could not see the readiness of my food. I got burned when the plate I used in the microwave got too hot and I couldn't see where to put my stove mitt and I certainly could have been even more badly hurt if the liquid in my food had poured atop my head as I reached over my head to retrieve my dish. When I used the microwave while running the air conditioners in the living run, I blew a circuit and had to reset the breaker. The floors were gritty and dirty upon arrival. I always go barefooted and it was distasteful to be walking on the dirt left behind by other tenants. The bedrooms were dark, dank, and over-cluttered with stuff that had a thick layer of dust and grime, especially on the décor that was made of fabric. The linens were old and believe it or not, they were flannel sheets and pillow cases in JULY! They were obviously very old and well used. The most troubling was the pillows themselves. I removed pillow cases one day to wash them and OMG the bed pillows were all stained yellow and brown with old sweat and spittle from other visitors. The blankets and quilts smelled unwashed and damp. The futon and upholstered deck furniture was filthy and the decorative pillows were smelly and dirty.

I had safety issues, too. The whole cabin is supplied with numerous surge protectors and multi-plug sockets that overload the electric system. I did not see any smoke detectors or fire alarms in the cabin. There was no easy or good way to get out of the second floor bedroom or loft except by way of very narrow and very slick steep stairs.

I'd go on but I've run out of space.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to read your impressions of the cabin in this format. We spoke a number of times prior to your visit. So, I don't understand why I didn't hear from you the entire week you were there. All our literature and check in information provides you with an opportunity to contact me immediately with anything with which you are unhappy or have concerns. If you had contacted me, I would have endeavored to address your concerns or offered you a refund and an opportunity to go to a different environment which might have been better suited to your desires. Since the cabin is rented with regular frequency, we rely on feedback from our guests and provide a form for that purpose. We often have guests comment on the cleanliness of the cabin. We also have many returning guests. Obviously, this sort of rental was not well matched to your expectations. It is not a commercial building requiring exits on each floor; however,we do have fire extinguishers and smoke alarms. I am sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations and chose this route to address it, rather than contact me immediately. However, it is my hope that those who read this will process it in light of the spirit that it was written which was obviously deleterious. Finally be assured, that as the owner, I will look closely at every word written and address anything that might be construed as unclean, unkept or unsafe. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2


Car: necessary

We are very close to the Fish Hatchery, Rock Creek, Cooper's Creek And Deep Hole Recreation area. Whitewater rafting; Appalachian Trail nearby.

The cabin is at the end of a one lane gravel forest service road. The last 1/8 of a mile is steep and rough. While 4 wheel drive is NOT required, it is rough and you must go slowly. Vehicles with very low clearance such as sports cars might not be a good match.


Rates & Availability

Suches Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High 2017
Mar 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
Flat fee
High II
Aug 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Thanksgiving 4 night minimumn
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 23 2017
1 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Christmas 5 night minimum
Dec 25 2017 - Dec 25 2017
1 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

2017 Holidays
July 4th : June 30-July 4 (5 nights) $100 Labor day: September 1-3 (3 nights) $625 Thanksgiving: 4 night minimum $200 per night Christmas: 5 night minimum $200 per night New Year's Eve: 4 night minimum $175 per night
A $350.00 damage deposit hold is put on your credit card one day before check in. If there is no damage or excess cleaning fees, then the hold is released after you check out. ***********$135.00 rate does not apply to holidays and there is a 3 night minimum required for holidays**************
Flat Rate Specials are based on 4 guests; add $10.00 per night, per additional guests.
No weekly discounted rates given for Saturday check-ins. Friday or Sunday check-ins are encouraged to receive the discounted weekly rate.
Cancellation Policy: Reservations cancelled more than 30 days prior to reserved date will receive a full refund less a $50 administrative fee. Cancellations more than 14 days but less than 30 days will result in a loss of the deposit. Cancellations less than 14 days require payment in full.
Rescheduling Fee: Reservations may be rescheduled without penalty if more than 30 days from reserved date. Less than 30 days, but more than 14, guest may reschedule with a rescheduling fee of $75. Less than 14 days, guest may not reschedule and is subject to cancellation policy.

50% is required with reservation, The remaining 50% is due one month prior to check-in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties