check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cozy Secluded Toccoa Riverfront Hot Tub! National Forest 2 sides; Private

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Suches Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 9)

Come to the beautiful North GA mountains to experience the natural beauty of Suches, the highest elevation in Georgia with the Chattahoochee National Forest all around!

Paradise River Retreat is the perfect destination! The cabin is at the end of a winding, one lane forest service road and is surrounded by Chattahoochee National Forest creating a magical tranquil setting.. This unique property features a cozy cabin that is just a few feet from the water's edge of the pristine Toccoa River! The river views are spectacular and the sounds of the rushing water are sublime. The cabin features a large screened porch with dining, comfortable sitting and a futon for those who want to sleep closer to nature. There are 2 attached covered decks; one with Hot Springs hot tub, overlooking the river, the other with , dining set, gas grill and lounge chairs to enjoy the great outdoors. Hammock and Firepit at river's edge.

The interior features massive leather sofa and reclining chairs, a stone fireplace, high-speed wireless internet, satellite TV, free long distance calls, antique claw foot tub in master bath and a fully equipped kitchen.

Drive 1.8 miles down a winding one land forest service road to the end and arrive at Paradise River Retreat. With National forest across the river and forest or either side of the cabin, your views are all natural and awe inspiring! Large screen plasma TV with dish tv. Hi speed wireless internet.

All Linens Provided Sleeps 9

Hiking Trails form the Cabin offer beautiful scenery, serenity and opportunities for wildlife viewing.

Toccoa River is trout stocked and is reknown as a premier trout fishing river!

Location! Location! Location! Not all riverfront properties are the same. Paradise River Retreat offers flat easy access to the water with the cabin on the water's edge (you no longer can build this close to the water!)

National forest borders on 2 sides and a babbling stream with several cascades is on the other side.

HOT TUB ON COVERED DECK OVERLOOKING THE RIVER OFFERS AMAZING RIVER VIEWS!

RIVERSIDE FIREPIT OVERLOOKS THE WHITEWATER RAPIDS

See current specials below or call for multi-night discounts! All special rates are for up to 4 guests. Extra guests fees, taxes and cleaning fee are not included. Notes dates listed are for actual full nights; check-out date is not listed.

404-472-6274

3 NIGHT MINIMUM FOR HOLIDAYS

ALL HOLIDAYS ARE CHARGED AT THE HIGH SEASON RATE YEAR-ROUND.

CURRENT SPECIALS:

Dec.20,21,22 $350

Dec. 26, 27 $250

plus tax and cleaning . *SAVE*

For December and January:

RENT 3 NIGHTS AND GET THE 4TH FREE

Call to book this special

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Laura Witmondt
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Owner

Why Laura Witmondt chose North Georgia Mountains

Rich and I purchased this wonderful property December 22nd in 2005, culminating a year of searching the North GA Mountains for our own “paradise”. We visited the cabin in the morning and submitted a contract that afternoon of the first day the property was on the market for sale! After a year of looking, we knew we had to act fast to get this amazing property! Our home is a two-hour drive south, in Marietta (just north of Atlanta). Even though we love to visit our paradise property, life circumstances permit only sporadic visits. Allowing others to visit and enjoy this unique property, when we are not here, brings us joy and certainly helps with keeping the expenses manageable. We take great pride in our cabin and hope you find it comfortable and welcoming.

What makes this cabin unique

2 RIVERFRONT LOTS.

Fish year-round; no license required to fish on our property.

Trout Fishing capital of Georgia; stocked by DNR

Suches is the highest elevation in Georgia

Private and Secluded with national forest on 2 sides

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for making my first cabin experience amazing!! Moving from south Florida to Chattanooga TN was a rough experience in itself, but finally getting to enjoy all the things TN & GA have to offer , such as spending a weekend in a gorgeous cabin makes the move all worth it.

Thank you again!!!
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 52

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Cozy Secluded Toccoa Riverfront Hot Tub! National Forest 2 sides; Private
average rating of 4.75 based on 68 reviews
5

Remarkably relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was exactly as described and we couldn’t have been more pleased! How lucky we were when a last minute cancellation allowed us the opportunity to stay here. My daughter was discharged from a lengthy hospital stay the day before Thanksgiving and this cabin provided us the peace and serenity we needed to start healing as a family. The cabin was stocked well enough for me to prepare a full Thanksgiving meal with all the trimmings; including homemade pies. I appreciated the thoughtfulness that went into making our stay welcoming. What one reviewer mentioned as clutter, I thought made the cabin more interesting and the microwave has been moved onto a cart so it is no longer too high for anyone to reach. I loved having access to a movie collection, gaming system, books, board games and we played numerous rounds of checkers. In addition fishing poles were available that we put to use. I felt like we showed up with our suitcase and groceries and everything else was provided. In addition it was nice for my teens to have a newer flat screen TV and wifi so they still felt connected while in a secluded hideaway. The master bed was extremely comfortable and the kids had no complaints about their beds either. This is not a sparkling, chic resort. If you are looking for granite counters, stainless appliances and high end finishes, this cabin is not for you. It did however, have enough modern amenities and plenty of space that we were able to spread out while enjoying our time together. It had a true cabin feel and the surroundings outdoors were remarkable. We hiked, fished, sat in the hot tub, explored water falls, sat by the fire, made s’mores, got in the river (which is steps from the back door) and enjoyed the sweet sounds of nature. The screened porches are wonderful! It was everything we needed and more than we had hoped for! Laura was very accommodating and her attention to detail was seen throughout the cabin. Thanks for a holiday, weekend retreat that we will never forget!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Julie and Daniel for taking the time to write this kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday. I am happy the cancellation worked out for your family to have a nice getaway. I wish you and your family all the best and healing and strength for your daughter. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marietta, GA
5

Exceeded expectations!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin and surroundings exceeded our expectations. We were looking for privacy, hiking out the door and riverfront. We do not fish and did not use the hot tub but it didn't matter, everything else put it over the top for us! The cabin itself was very interesting and spotless. There are so many neat things to look at and had a true cabin feel to it. We had not one complaint and already are wanting to book for another season. You cannot put a price on the setting, we are very fortunate that the owner makes it available for others to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I'm am always happy to hear my guests have enjoyed their time at the cabin. When it comes to enjoying nature and the great outdoors, you really get IT! Thanks, Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Cosy, comfortable, relaxing

  • 5 of 5

I scoured the internet for days, looking for the perfect place for me and my three friends to stay for a weekend retreat. I wanted it to be close to some water, be private, out in the woods, maybe a fireplace. I came upon this property and knew from the pictures it would be awesome. Then I read the reviews. It had many exceptional reviews, but the most recent one was not at all favorable. I was really disappointed. I know everyone is different, with different expectations, but I had never seen the place or talked with the owner, and I hesitated to spend money on something I wasn't sure of. I really liked the owner's response to the negative review: she was gracious and didn't get defensive. I decided to call her, even though I was embarrassed to bring it up. She addressed everything to my satisfaction without throwing the previous reviewer under the bus, so I made the reservation. I just got home yesterday and I don't see how it could have been any better. It had everything I wanted, but without a doubt the river and surrounding forest is the draw. The cabin is within feet of the river, and the sound of the water is a backdrop to every activity, especially sleeping with the window open. We had a fire in the firepit every morning with our coffee, and dinner on the screened in porch. We all slept comfortably and well in the 3 bedrooms. Before bed we took a few minutes in the hot tub, then sat on the plush sofas near the fireplace reading and talking. It was absolutely wonderful.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and especially for addressing the issues from the previous review. Wonderful guests like you make owners want to try even harder to provide a perfect vacation paradise!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Let's have an HONEST review

  • 1 of 5

With fishing poles and GA fishing licenses in hand, we were looking forward to a week of fishing, grilling, and lazing by the Toccoa in a pleasantly appointed cabin. I can't tell you how disappointed we were. The cabin and grounds were desperate for attention. Upon entering the cabin, the very worn porch was surrounded by lazy susans that were becoming choked with weeds. The porch was littered with what we assumed was sawdust from carpenter ants or carpenter bees. The cabin was dank, dark and smelled of mildew and dust. While the kitchen had all the appliances and equipment you would need, the counters (the WHOLE cabin, really) were covered with so many oddities and knickknacks that making food was difficult. The stove was dirty and a microwave was set high above the gas stove that not only was I susceptible to open flame but so high over my head that I could not see the readiness of my food. I got burned when the plate I used in the microwave got too hot and I couldn't see where to put my stove mitt and I certainly could have been even more badly hurt if the liquid in my food had poured atop my head as I reached over my head to retrieve my dish. When I used the microwave while running the air conditioners in the living run, I blew a circuit and had to reset the breaker. The floors were gritty and dirty upon arrival. I always go barefooted and it was distasteful to be walking on the dirt left behind by other tenants. The bedrooms were dark, dank, and over-cluttered with stuff that had a thick layer of dust and grime, especially on the décor that was made of fabric. The linens were old and believe it or not, they were flannel sheets and pillow cases in JULY! They were obviously very old and well used. The most troubling was the pillows themselves. I removed pillow cases one day to wash them and OMG the bed pillows were all stained yellow and brown with old sweat and spittle from other visitors. The blankets and quilts smelled unwashed and damp. The futon and upholstered deck furniture was filthy and the decorative pillows were smelly and dirty.

I had safety issues, too. The whole cabin is supplied with numerous surge protectors and multi-plug sockets that overload the electric system. I did not see any smoke detectors or fire alarms in the cabin. There was no easy or good way to get out of the second floor bedroom or loft except by way of very narrow and very slick steep stairs.

I'd go on but I've run out of space.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to read your impressions of the cabin in this format. We spoke a number of times prior to your visit. So, I don't understand why I didn't hear from you the entire week you were there. All our literature and check in information provides you with an opportunity to contact me immediately with anything with which you are unhappy or have concerns. If you had contacted me, I would have endeavored to address your concerns or offered you a refund and an opportunity to go to a different environment which might have been better suited to your desires. Since the cabin is rented with regular frequency, we rely on feedback from our guests and provide a form for that purpose. We often have guests comment on the cleanliness of the cabin. We also have many returning guests. Obviously, this sort of rental was not well matched to your expectations. It is not a commercial building requiring exits on each floor; however,we do have fire extinguishers and smoke alarms. I am sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations and chose this route to address it, rather than contact me immediately. However, it is my hope that those who read this will process it in light of the spirit that it was written which was obviously deleterious. Finally be assured, that as the owner, I will look closely at every word written and address anything that might be construed as unclean, unkept or unsafe. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

Peaceful Riverfront Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a few nights recently and enjoyed this little cabin so much. It has such a personality in the way it is decorated (each room had a different theme). The owner had very specific directions, so we were able to find it without any problems and had instructions on how to work, use, and find everything which made our stay very simple. The cabin was equipped with everything we needed and wifi and cable never gave us any problems. We picked up our groceries before we got there, so we never left the cabin throughout our stay. The river was the best thing about this place. You can hear it as you drive up and it is directly outside. It was so peaceful to go out there and fish as well. We enjoyed the fire pit immensely and grilled out. The only thing we didn't get to take advantage of was the hot tub, but it was in the perfect location with a river view. The fireplace was a great source of entertainment for our son to watch and kept us nice and warm. There are hiking trails around as well. The weather was beautiful and we took so many pictures of the leaves and trees around us. I highly recommend this property and am already thinking about booking again for next year. Side note, this owner is also very prompt about getting back to you which meant a lot to me as we booked this place with very little notice.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. It always means so much to hear from guests and know they enjoyed their visit. Considering a return visit is the greatest compliment one can hope for! We look forward to having you visit again. Warmest wishes to you and your family. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Cozy Cabin with a great location on the River!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed right after Christmas for our first vacation over 2 nights in over 7 years. We loved that it was still decorated for Christmas since we left home on Christmas night and we have a 4 year old daughter she loved the tree and it still felt like the holidays! The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed (except a thermometer since my daughter caught a cold while we were there) It would be nice to have a good first aid kit there just in case We all 3 stayed in the bear room and the bed was super comfortable and big! The fireplace was so nice and kept the cabin nice and warm. I also really liked that when we got there the fireplace was on low and there was a small heater that was turned on so it was very welcoming. We did some hiking around the property which was really nice and beautiful, also tried to fish but didnt see any fish while we were there at the cabin or other places we tried (maybe it was to cold?) We loved the fact that the cabin in directly on the river and we really enjoyed the hot tub. We will definitely keep this cabin in mind for any future trips to this area. I think it would be a great spot to go to during the summer as well to tube and fish in the river.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

We are very close to the Fish Hatchery, Rock Creek, Cooper's Creek And Deep Hole Recreation area. Whitewater rafting; Appalachian Trail nearby.

The cabin is at the end of a one lane gravel forest service road. The last 1/8 of a mile is steep and rough. While 4 wheel drive is NOT required, it is rough and you must go slowly. Vehicles with very low clearance such as sports cars might not be a good match.

Rates & Availability

Suches Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
LOW
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
holiday
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,075
 
 
Low continued
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
$800
 
 
High 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,075
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

A $350.00 damage deposit hold is put on your credit card one day before check in. If there is no damage or excess cleaning fees, then the hold is released after you check out. ***********$135.00 rate does not apply to holidays and there is a 3 night minimum required for holidays**************
Flat Rate Specials are based on 4 guests; add $10.00 per night, per additional guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Suches Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • River
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 -
    Full 2 -
  • Master bath has antique clawfoot tub and shower surround.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • In addition to the 3 bedrooms, there is a loft with a queen sleeper sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Firepit at river Hammock at river

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties