Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Luxurious Historic Home in the Heart of Grafton Village!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Grafton is a very special place and West Corner is a very special historic home. We welcome you to enjoy our vacation home and the Grafton community. You will be hard pressed to find a more authentic Vermont village experience; where time appears to remain standstill, history is alive around every corner and where man's creation and nature's beauty are in perfect harmony. The village is home to some of the most beautiful examples of early new england architecture, and the entire village is in the National Register of Historic Places. Named one of the 10 most beautiful places in America by USA Today and one of 1000 Places To See Before You Die by leading Travel Guides.

Built circa 1840, our home, called the West Corner, is nestled in the west end of the village center, providing unusual privacy for an in village home. It is very private, yet only a minute's walk to the main street, village park, Grafton Tavern, the general store and churches.

The home is in superb condition, maintaining much of its original character yet providing all the comforts and conveniences you would expect from today's dwellings - thanks to the meticulous update undertaken last winter.

A steeple high attached barn, which once served as the grain room and firewood storage, welcomes you into the home, and also serves as our mudroom and Gallery. The high ceiling and rustic barnwood interiors are classic farmhouse style.

Next to the grain room is our richly appointed library cum bar, with floor to ceiling wood panels, comfortable leather seating and, just a great setting to relax in, day or night. The antique rumford fireplace is not for use (there is a bigger fireplace in the living room)

Oversized wall to wall window lets plenty of sunlight to stream in, making it a great place to read.

The huge living cum dining room offers a fireplace and plenty of space of relaxation, dining or for enjoying a good fire. Attached to the living room is the sunroom, with its own breakfast nook table for four and a seating area. This space is excellent for enjoying summers and is fully wire-meshed for protection from bugs.

The home offers two bedrooms and two full baths, plus another half bath. The large master bedroom with a king bed and new Casper mattress offers a beautiful sitting area by the window to enjoy a morning coffee or to simply relax on the rocking chair and watch the village life go by from a distance. The guest bedroom has a beautiful primitive full bed with curtains. The home provides a sophisticated and country elegant living atmosphere with plenty of formal and casual living spaces. While the home is designed for four people, an extra air mattress, which can be used in the master bedroom or in the den, allows for occasional additional guests.

The fully renovated country kitchen comes complete with brand new appliances, all cookware, most basic ingredients and a refrigerator stocked with essentials in order to make your arrival comfortable. You will find a wide sele tion of teas, gourmet coffee, maple syrup, pancake mix, spices, condiments, etc etc. Silver flatware, antique knives, antique china and primitive cast iron dishes are carefully hand selected, completing an authentic country kitchen feel. It is fully equipped and we warn you that it will tempt you to go gourmet.

Throughout the home you will find plenty of books, great vintage stereo systems painstakingly put together by us over the years, and hundreds of CDs, records and cassettes from our personal collection. You will be able to connect your ipod to this system as well.

More Details

Owner
Sonali Patnaik
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 15, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your house is a dream. We were in heaven here.We had a lovely stay in your home. It was clean, stylish and comfortable. You were easy to reach and responsive. It was very welcoming to have fresh eggs, milk, butter and cheese provided upon our arrival in addition to the basic condiments one needs in order to cook. That was very helpful. Also, I defy anyone to find a more charming New England town anywhere. I would definitely like to rent your home again.
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Grafton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2350 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Minimum Age Limit for Renters.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Luxurious Historic Home in the Heart of Grafton Village!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 31 reviews
5

Amazing, perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just got back from a relaxing getaway. The house was stunningly decorated. We had everything we could have needed, and any last minute items were a short drive away. The welcome package was thorough and detailed, we didn't have any issues or questions. Sonali was beyond communicative and helpful with everything we needed.

We loved spending time in the beautiful bar room. While TV and wifi was provided, we took advantage to disconnect from the world and enjoy quality time together. Grafton is a short drive away to the ski mountains, we took a day and explored the craft breweries and cheese farms. Highly recommended, we will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Charming and Authentic

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at West Corner and all the important factors were perfect. Instructions for finding the house & keys were ideal; everything was left as described. WIFI worked well. The authentic New England vernacular architecture, all on one level, is quirky and fun to explore. The home furnishings are lovely and comfortable. Everything was very clean. The housekeeper had nudged the temperature up so it was a very welcoming home when we arrived. The location feels 'in town' and quiet at the same time. The kitchen is well-equipped, easy to prepare a meal, cocktails or snacks.

Here are my very minor suggestions or comments for future visitors: the 2nd bedroom and 2nd full bath are quite small. Totally functional, but for long-stays not ideal. The owners should replace the existing fridge with a new one that will match the other high-end appliances and which has a door that opens to the left. Right now the fridge swings wide open from gravity and slams back while you struggle to hold all you are removing, close the door and squeeze by it on your way to the kitchen counter. It's easily remedied and I'm sure it will be one day. The LR fireplace is prone to being smoky, even with the flue wide open. Both the powder room and bathroom with the standing shower would benefit from a wall mounted shelf and/or wall hooks since they don't have flat dry surfaces on which to set toiletries and there aren't enough places to hang robes, fresh clothes, towel or whatever. The door to the powder room must be a little swollen and the door lock didn't function. Since this is such a convenient location, it was popular during our stay and a functional door lock would have been preferred. If there was a light to illuminate the driveway and walk, we never found it. Since it gets dark at 4:30PM this time of year, several times we were wishing the house has a motion-sensored outdoor walk light but none of us lost our footing so I guess it was okay. The welcome instructions should be printed out in a bullet-pointed list, laminated, and left conspicuously on the dining table or desk so that each visitor can refer to it. I coordinated the stay but had not pre-printed the instructions. We left first and so our friends needed the instructions to know how to close up. Printer had a connection error; wouldn't print.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay, slept well, loved the house, took pretty walks, laughed, spent a great time with our friends, and would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great feedback - and for letting us know about the small things that we would otherwise not notice. We will make sure to take care of most of these. Do come to Grafton again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Pittsboro, NC
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

This rental is steps away from the charming little village of Grafton.

The pub at the Grafton Inn is open seven nights and serves very good food. The general store is an upscale small grocer and deli. We had a great BLT there.

There are numerous outdoor activities available.

As to the house, there are many shortcomings and we cannot recommend it. It was like living in somebody’s house with no room for enjoying your own space. There was though a large collection of dvds and vintage records which we did not use.

There is no cell phone coverage in Grafton. When we arrived the land line phone was not working and no internet password was provided. Luckily, the person renting the apartment over the garage remembered the password. WiFi was good.

We brought with us a lot of grocery items so we could use the “gourmet kitchen”.The refrigerator is not in the kitchen but in an adjacent hallway. The refig. and freezer were full of stuff leaving no room to store our goods, and it was filthy. I spent the better part of an hour cleaning it and tossing stuff. There were no empty cabinets to store our nonperishable goods.

There were no hair dryers. No clocks in bedrooms.

There were two bureaus in the Master Bedroom. The drawers on one were locked, as was one drawer of the second. My wife found enough drawers for her clothes in the one dresser, but I had to live out of my suitcases. Only one closet with a few hangers. The retro pants hangers do not suit today’s travelers.

Floors are slippery. You need to wear footwear with good traction. Not the house slippers they provided which were covered with grass and dirt sitting on a dirty tray. We still kept our footwear clean in the home.

The baths are not ensuite. The guest bedroom has a half bath near it, but to take a shower our guests had to use another bath at the far end of the house. This bath had a cracked and mended toilet seat. There was no counter surface for personal items. It was not the bath we expected to offer our guests.

Ovens needed cleaning. We used the cleanest one. Couldn’t find dishes to use in the microwave. Fry pans were cast iron with caked on grease and aluminum with nonstick finishes wearing off.

Baths and shower enclosure were filled with all kinds of bath products. No room for personal grooming supplies.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Over 6 years we have rarely ever had a negative renting experience so our apologies for the inconveniences you faced. Some of the issues like fridge and oven clearly had to do with a new housekeeper, after our regular housekeeper of several years stopped working. Reliable help is a huge problem in rural Vermont, especially for out of state owners like us. We have since found a new housekeeper. We have also been able to fix the other small things that were pointed out, where it made sense. That said, we also find several comments in this review to be very personal views and rather ridiculous. You are renting a home not a hotel room, and a home built in 1800s with some antique furniture that tend to expand during the summer so much that they get stuck - the 1900s dresser was not locked, it was probably stuck. The fridge is 2 steps away from the gas, and this individual calls it a 'Hallway". We feel our home is fantastic, luxurious, one of a kind and we are proud to be able to share it with many many great people over the years who keep coming back....
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

All we hoped for and more

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this beautiful home for a week in early October, 2015. It was a perfect, warm, inviting home. The owners have created a very relaxing vacation home with beautiful antiques and original charm. The owners were readily available when we wanted to visit with them and stocked the home with necessities. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A lovely restoration that I would not rent again

  • 3 of 5

POSITIVES:

~ A handsome, historic home with an uncommon linear floor plan.

~ Close to Grafton Inn

NEGATIVES from MY experience..... your results may vary.....

~ Wedding rentals are discouraged

~ Delayed communication from the owner due to her travel

~ Rental Agreement is 8 pages long, which I revised to protect myself. (Fortunately, the owner was OK with all of my revisions.) I eliminated the indemnity clause, rewrote the cancellation-refund verbiage to conform with other Grafton VRBOs, clarified the terms of the refund of my security deposit, and dropped the *allowable* A/C temp from 72 down to 67 for the Bride's dressing comfort.

~ After I reminded the owner to sign and return the Rental Agreement to me, she did.

~ Two weeks after our check-out, I had heard NOTHING about my security deposit refund, so I emailed the owners. Finally the refund check was mailed out 18 days after our departure, arriving 24 days after our departure.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: With due respect: - it is our house and we choose who we rent to. We are selective around wedding rentals owing to bad experiences in the past. This is not a basis for rating a home - we were on vacation in Thailand and some delays in communication were inevitable. We are just normal people doing normal things. - Our agreement is a standard 3 page agreement downloaded from Homeaway, it appears to be 8 pages because older guests prefer larger font. We are owners of a loving home, not litigation lawyers. We are not into splitting hairs on fine prints and of course we accepted your suggested changes. - Our apologies for slight delay in the deposit refund By the way we responded to you from Thailand and kept you posted of the delay and you had expressed your appreciation and understanding, so we are really surprised by this review. We have been renting for several years, and on rare occasions we have seen difficult and unreasonable renters, who will clearly be unwelcome to our home in the future, so its great that you do not plan to return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

magnificent home; very scenic area

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the home of Sonali and Pataik for the month of July. It was more lovely than we had imagined. It was clean and well-stocked. It was clear to us that a lot of love had gone into their home. We cooked a lot on the grill in the backyard. My wife loved the sunroom, where she could curl up with a book on the occasional rainy day.

Grafton is a small quaint hamlet such as dots the Vermont landscape. There are swimming ponds, good restaurants

and a lot of great sightseeing to be found.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

2 minutes walk from Grafton Inn.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Grafton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Jan 5 - Apr 15
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 
 
holiday weekends Xmas /NY week
Dec 20 - Jan 4
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Security deposit $0
Cleaning $50
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties