Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Whisperingsand-The Beach House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

WhisperingSand Beach House is located in the seaside village of Kilcunda, just ~10km from Phillip Island/San Remo, ~14km from Wonthaggi on the stunning Bass Coast, and only 1.5 hours from Melbourne's CBD. It is the hidden gem of the Bass Coast and a great holiday base for the region. There are many activities you can do around the area, surfing, fishing, paragliding, hand gliding coastal walking, riding/cycling...just name a few. Of cause, beautiful beaches, BBQ, picnics and children's play ground, rock pools, good food/drinks are also among the list of things you can do.

The WhsiperingSand Beach house is just 300m to the beaches,100m to coastal walking/cycling tracks and Pub, located in a quite street behind the Kilcunda Pub (Ocean View Hotel) which is famous for not only a fabulous view of the coastline from the front deck, but also great food and hospitality.

Standing on the balcony of the WhisperingSand beach house, the spectacular ocean view of Shelly beach just right in front of you, looking the waves rolling to the beach and listening the sound of waves pounding the rocks. During the summer months, you can also see the amazing sunsets over the ocean even sitting in the living room.

The Shelly beach, which have nice rock pool for kids to play, is right in front of the beach house, with only <100m walking distance. The Kilcunda surfing beach is also within walking distance.

The re-developed George Coastal walking track is right on top of the ocean cliff with spectacular view the Bass coast including Philip island and Cape Paterson.

The old Bass Coast Rail Trail (Anderson to Wonthaggi, ~16km) has also been re-developed into a nice cycling/walking track passing many historical mining sites with fantastic scenery.

Short drive to San Remo (~8-10min), you can enjoy the Sunday market there, or to Philip islands where lots of fun and activities for family and kids.

Also a short drive (10-12min) to the mining town center of Wonthaggi, where large department stores and services are available.

Comfortable living

The 2 story beach house are fully fenced with a big yard, and contain 2 separate living quarters (upstairs and downstairs) fully equipped small kitchen and 2 bathrooms with showers and separate toilets. Ideal for multiple families holiday together. It has four bedrooms (2 upstairs and 2 downstairs) with 2 queen size beds and 2 single beds and 1 king-single bed (BYO linen, or can be provided with a small charges).

Late "Check-out" if available

The standard "check-out" time on the departure day is 12pm. However, later "check-out" (up to 4pm) is possible if available, so guests can enjoy their last day at the beach house without the rush. Also an early "check-in" may be possible for the day. Please contact us a couple of days prior to your arrival to check the possibility.

Strictly No Smoking Allowed inside of the house and No Pets Allowed.

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

Amenities

Kilcunda House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

3.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

18% Complete
63% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
18% Complete
Whisperingsand-The Beach House
average rating of 3.6363637 based on 11 reviews
1

Property had not been cleaned properly

  • 1 of 5

We did not enjoy our stay.

Property had not been cleaned properly.

Empty bottle of alcohol found next to the couch, obvious someone had slept on the couch, sand on the couch and pillows untidy.

Used bathmat and toilet mat left, toilet not clean.

Kitchen sink, bin lid tidy - etc.....Crumbs in cupboards. Unclean.

I would never stay again. Grass not mowed, and BBQ need half hour clean before use. I took photos, and sent to owner , very disappointed.

The Owner said the neighbour had checked the property

I do not like the fact that the Owner relies on the previous guest to clean for the next guest. They should hire a cleaner to ensure the property is spotless for the next paying guest. We paid $300 per night for three nights.

We travelled a long distance to find we needed to clean before we could stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Dear Ellen, I am very sorry that you have experienced a very out-of-ordinary situation, and understood your disappointment. As you recall, I was also surprised when you sent me the photos. I can ensure you that the property was checked and cleaned the day before your arrival. It was a mystery to all of us why the house condition changed suddenly. We have taken extra measures to ensure that this will not happen again. Again I am very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay. The outdoor BBQ hasn’t been used throughout the winter. It must have some rust which we will get it polished. The garden grass is mowed regularly (every 2-3 weeks) by a contracted service, and was just mowed after your departure. I will try to get it mowed more frequently during the summer season. We are trying to accommodate all the needs from various guests with different tastes and our prices have been very competitive in the area, particularly for a large group of guests like your group. Your comments are important to us, and we will try to do our best to ensure our guests to have a pleasant stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wollert, Victoria, Australia
4

Excellent location

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at Wispering Sands - Great location!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
4

Happy to recomend

  • 4 of 5

The property is conveniently located close to phillip Island and surrounding attractions. It was easy to find and provided a convenient stay for our family.

The facilities are not 5 star but we were not looking for that! We were after a safe, dry place to stay as an alternate from camping, and we are very glad we did given the weather we had during our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aberglasslyn, New South Wales, Australia
1

Disappointing property

  • 1 of 5

We were disappointed with the product

Not quite what we were expecting

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Dear Paula, I think that you are well aware my responses to your comments over our many communications during your stay. Again, we are sincerely sorry that our beach house didn’t suit your tastes and your specific desire, and the weather were wet and cold, terrible season for holiday wmakers. Nevertheless, as listed in our description, the WhisperingSand beach house is a classic country cottage with a great sea view, but it is not a 5-start Hilton Hotel style. We provide accommodation and adequate amenities for holiday makers, and there is no misleading information on our website on Stayz. We regret that our facilities/fittings were not up to your expectations, and appreciate your feedback. We will try to make a few changes in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
4

Great value accommodation

  • 4 of 5

Very nice house to use as a base for exploring the Bass Coast. Upstairs is a comfortable living area, kitchen and bathroom (with shower) as well as two comfortable bedrooms, an efficient a/c unit and a small viewing deck from which to watch the ocean. Downstairs has two more bedrooms, a sitting area, another bathroom (with a second shower) and the laundry facilities. Loads of space for one family although two families would be rather cramped. There is also a good sized yard all set out as a lawn. This was well kept and cut once a week (not by me!) while I was staying.

I stayed for two weeks while on a local work placement and Whispering Sands quickly became a home from home, providing peaceful surroundings to work in and relax later. The location provided me with easy access to all the Bass Coast has to offer and I would happily stay here next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
4

Great Views!

  • 4 of 5

This was a lovely place to stay for a holiday. It was spacious and comfortable. We greatly enjoyed the ocean view form the balcony. You can also view the ocean from the main bedroom.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

fishing, surfing, walking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 4 guests. Property has 5 beds and can sleep a maximum 8 guests

    Mandatory Costs
    Bond Deposit: $300 per stay

    Optional Costs
    Linen: $20 per person

    * Ask the owner to arrange these

You might like these similar properties