Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Saturna Art Retreat;private hot tub

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

Rejuvenate your mind, body and soul in your own private outdoor hot tub with sweeping views over the valley. Ideal for your romantic escape.

Relax by the glass fronted slow-combustion heater with local wine after preparing dinner using the kitchen equipped with a full range of modern appliances (full fridge, microwave, electric oven).

Saturna is a mudbrick and timber masterpiece and is a design based on passive solar heated principles (eco-friendly). It is built with eclectic architecture, sculptural and artisan finishes at the fore.

The large light filled main bedroom is on the mezzanine level with views to the Wombat state forest. It comfortably contains a Queen size sleigh bed and has a wall mounted flat screen TV.

Saturna's second Queen bedroom is located off the living/kitchen area. A set of french doors opens from the room onto a private deck and garden area. The second bedroom has a flat screen TV and DVD player.

For dining, Saturna has 3 large tables for entertaining. There is a large 12 seat handcrafted table next to the BBQ area and another large 8 seat table under cover on the main deck. The dining room table inside is a 6 seater.

There is a large bathroom with a shower over a half bath.

For heating, the slow-combustion fireplace takes care of all your needs if you desire.

Saturna also has split system heating and air conditioning.

Saturna can be combined with Salt Spring to provide an accommodation for five couples with five large bedrooms, two inside bathrooms, two kitchens, large living area, one outside bath/shower, extensive outside sitting and dining areas and a private hot tub on the main deck joined by stairway access between both properties.

Complimentary wine upon arrival for multiple night stays.

We accept two night stays only on weekends.

One night stays may be possible during the week.

More Details

Property Manager
Dave and Cherie Dando/Evans
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018


Daylesford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Saturna Art Retreat;private hot tub
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
Lara Melbourne

Heaven again and again

  • 5 of 5

Third time stay and I will be back again, After almost 30 yrs of Daylesford stays this is the Nirvana so why look any further?

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Heaven in the Hills

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for creating this amazing place. I have been coming to the region for over 20 yrs and this is the best. Relaxed, beautiful so wonderfully appointed but not uptight.The stimulating artwork and garden art at every turn was wonderful. Squee moments everywhere. ;) Great location too! I have one thing to request.......could you put a little book of the history of this house and the amazing artists for a read along with the guest book as I really would love to read on my next stay by the fire. Thank you for a wonderful place.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Absolutely gorgeous.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was amazing.

Bed was super comfy, loved the fire and of course the spa... and being on perfeft temp when we arrived was glorious.

Such a great location... seems so out of town, yet only 2mins from the centre.

Thank you very much Cherie and Dave, we will be back.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers of your experience! And thank you for staying with us, it's an absolute pleasure reading the experiences yourself and others have at our place. we look forward to hearing from you in the future All the best! Cherie and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Very Cosy - but..................

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay in this quaint and cosy little cabin. Our time on the deck and in the spa were great fun!! The one short coming of the property is it's location, and this is not mentioned anywhere in the description. It sit right above the main road and is quite nosy. If this is of no concern you will thoroughly you your time here, if it does.............

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ron, We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Without wanting to negate your experience the locale of the midland highway is not quite as close as you have reported nor is the traffic noise excessive. We are on a plateau(TableHill) above the highway but our property is setback about 100 metres from the road. We built and then lived in Saturna for many years and raised our children there. At no stage did the traffic noise disturb them. In the house you cant hear it all and on the decks the occasional vehicle is barely noticeable. We note that most houses in Daylesford have roads in their proximity and especially those that are close to town such as ours. Our house is different in that your only neighbors are kangaroos and other denizens of the forest! We feel the manner in which we advertise our property is fair and accurate. Please see trip adviser for more reviews. kind regards Dave and Cherie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia


  • 3 of 5

Place is a little dark not all lights work . Bed is terrible . Sinks in the middle

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Frances, We're sorry for the late reply. Stayz is new to guest reviews and doesn't notify us when reviews are published. We're sorry you found Saturna's bed uncomfortable. We do not wish to negate your experience but we slept in it quite recently and found it as we have remembered it. Quite comfortable verging on luxuriousness. It is not firm but it has a pillow top on it for extra comfort. It definitely doesn't sag. People ask us where to get the mattress in question constantly. Saturna has a lot of light switches due to the multiple levels. Sometimes when one switch is off the upstairs or outside light may not turn on in regards to the outside lght. Our manager Sally test lights before all bookings and leaves them on for guests. We're fairly certain that generally speaking all our lights are checked and replaced. kind regards Dave and Cherie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St Kilda East, Victoria, Australia

Perfect. Absolutely Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Stop looking around Stayz - you need to stay here.

Beautiful house, beautiful location, accommodating hosts and a jacuzzi overlooking a small pond and valley. Perfect weekend retreat.

This is it. You've found it. Book now.

Thanks so much for having us :)

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund