Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private guesthouse with private swimming pool, spa and custom pool table.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom, 1 bath, queen sleeper sofa, sleeps 4 or more.

The Cabana is a private cottage with more amenities than a 5 star hotel! Enjoy your own private swimming pool and spa and a custom pool table just to name a few.

A one bedroom, one bath private guesthouse with a fully stocked kitchen decorated in chic brown and blue.

Inside the entertainment begins with a custom made pool table, large screen TV, DVD/VCR player, CD player, movies and games galore. Wireless internet.

A wall of French doors leads to your own private oasis. A relaxing hot tub waterfalls into a cool sparkling swimming pool. Outdoor gas grill and patio dining is perfect for your outdoor enjoyment.

Propose to your loved one or simply enjoy a picnic on the beautiful gazebo set among 100 year old oak trees on extensive landscaped grounds.

You can enjoy birds, squirrels, and an abundance of deer that meander onto the 4 acres.

Leave the hustle and bustle behind and escape to the Cabana Guesthouse where you can lose yourself in the serenity of the surroundings

Need to bring your pet?: The Cabana guesthouse is a pet friendly property!

The Cabana is centrally located which is great for day trips. Only about 45 minutes to San Marcos for Outlet shopping or New Braunfels for a waterpark. One hour from Austin, San Antonio or Victoria and 2 hours from Houston. Great location for day trips if you are traveling from out of state or out of the country and want to explore!

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

Map

Car: not necessary

Gonzales is a very historical town filled with museums, old jail, Pioneer Village, Palmetto State Park, historical homes driving tour, golf course, JB Wells arena, plus the Guadalupe River. Enjoy the quiet serene atmosphere of a small town! Yet only 45 mintues away for day trips to outlet shopping mall, Schliterban Water Park, etc. Want to get away from the city for some R & R - Cabana Guesthouse is the place to be! Enjoy your own private cottage with private swimming pool and spa. Inside you'll find a fully stocked kitchen, custom pool table, TV and DVD player with tons of movies!

Other Activities: museums, state park, historical home tours

Amenities

Gonzales Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleeper
  • Guesthouse has a queen air mattress with pillows, linens, and blankets so could sleep 2 additional.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Smoking allowed outdoors only. Children allowed 8 years and older or with owner approval. Small pets or with owner approval.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private guesthouse with private swimming pool, spa and custom pool table.
average rating of 4.935484 based on 31 reviews
Bertinoro, italy
5

Un angolo di paradiso!

  • 5 of 5

Abbiamo passato qui l'ultima parte del nostro viaggio di nozze on the road, per rilassarci un po': non avremmo potuto fare scelta migliore!...le foto erano stupende e mi sembrava impossibile che fosse tutto come descritto...in realtà era anche meglio! La Cabana è un sogno...spaziosa e ben arredata, con una cucina completa di tutto, moderna, pulita...perfetta! E cosa dire del giardino con barbecue, idromassaggio e piscina privata??! Mi sembrava di essere in paradiso! Debbie è stata carinissima: ha rispettato la nostra privacy, ci ha fatto trovare dolci in frigo, succhi, merendine, ci ha fatto la lavatrice, è venuta a sistemare il giardino...e tutto questo sempre senza disturbarci! È stato tutto perfetto!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alice, I am honored that you chose the Cabana Guesthouse for your honeymoon all the way from Italy!! I am so happy you enjoyed the gardens, the pool, getting to barbecue and most of all the privacy! We make sure all our guests experience the ultimate private experience!! I hope someday you guys can return for an anniversary stay! Wishing you many, many years of married bliss!!! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a wonderful guesthouse!!!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cabana Guesthouse! Everything about it was top notch. It was clean, well appointed, plenty of towels and kitchen items. The bed was comfortable, the pool table fun and the pool and hot tub a blast! And, the delicious treats that were left for us were a wonderful surprise!! We will definitely be returning :-)

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the Cabana Guesthouse! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you recognizing the cleanliness as that is why we clean our own guesthouses as it is very important to us to make sure they are clean! The private pool, pool table and hot tub are always a fun addition and glad you were able to enjoy all those amenities that are a rare find for a guesthouse! You were a pleasure to have as our guests and we will look forward to a return visit! Creating memories, Debbie & Ronnie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The pool was wonderful and very relaxing stay!

  • 5 of 5

The Cabana was very clean and we enjoyed the pool table and pool. The only downfall is the queen bed but you know that when you book it. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ken for staying at the Cabana! I am so glad you guys enjoyed your stay and enjoyed swimming in the pool and playing some games of pool on the pool table. I would love to put a king bed in there but I just don't think it would fit. :-) I appreciate your comment about "you know your getting a queen bed when you book". One of our guests from Aqua Bella commented one time about the queen bed there and the next month we changed it to a king! It is a very large bedroom though. When I realize something is important to a guest I really try to change things if I can to make every guests' stay the best I can. I appreciate you letting me know the importance of a king bed and even though I don't think it will fit in the Cabana it let's me know the importance to you as a guest and I will keep that in mind for future guest houses in Wimberley!! :-) Thank you again for your continued business and I hope someday maybe you will visit Aqua Bella in Canyon Lake!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Perfect! Except for the Wasps

  • 3 of 5

The Cabana is the perfect mix of country living with modern amenities. In addition, Ronnie & Debbie are very welcoming hosts. Myself, my two adult daughters, along with my mom and her two chihuahuas stayed here for the weekend. We were surprised to see that Debbie had left us chocolate covered strawberries & kolaches as well as water and juices in the fridge.

The only reason why I did not give the Cabana a five-star rating is because we were not able to enjoy the beautiful pool area during our stay because of the wasps swarming around everywhere. There were wasps swarming around the pool and inside of the water while myself and my daughters were in the pool and my daughters were scared of them. I searched the property and found that there were several hornet nests in and around the beautiful gazebo that is pictured in the photos; I literally sprayed down 10 or more wasp nests that were in and outside of the gazebo. (The owners left 3-4 cans of hornet spray which makes me think that they are aware of the wasp problem?) Unfortunately, this made the wasps swarm even more and we wound up having to spend the majority of our time inside of the house.

The house is beautiful, the accommodations were perfect for myself and family. I am so disappointed that we were not able to fully enjoy our stay at the Cabana especially since the pool was what attracted us to come here in the first place - we traveled 4 hours from the DFW area. I am by no means an expert on wasps but if something can be done to treat the property and get rid of the wasps then I would love to come back and stay again. I have reported this issue to the owners and am currently waiting on a response.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Geneva, I am so happy that you found the house to be beautiful and enjoyed the breakfast goodies as well as the other surprises. I am so very sad that you didn't enjoy the pool. I know you called Ronnie twice about the pool being too full of water and something else and I am disappointed you never mentioned that there was a problem with wasps as he would have been out there in a flash and taken care of the problem for you. Right before your visit we had honeymooners from Italy for 12 days and they spent almost every day out at the pool and said it was like "paradise" and never once did they mention any problem with wasps. The guests after you also highly raved about their stay and never mentioned any problem with wasps. In fact we have never had a guest mention a problem with wasps. We have 9 guesthouses in Wimberley and a guesthouse on Canyon Lake and we always keep numerous cans of ant and flying insect spray at every single house for the guests as they are all in the country and you never know. The Cabana has almost 5 acres around it and even though we are lucky enough to be in city limits, we are the last house in city limits and it is all country behind us all the way to the river. I know your stay was right before the hurricane and we were in a drought and maybe wasps were coming to the pool for water. Again, if you would have mentioned them to Ronnie he would have been more than happy to search out the problem and take care of it. We do not use the pool for personal use so if someone doesn't bring a problem to our attention it is hard to take care of it. I know you thought just because we left more than one can of spray that we knew there was a problem but we would never not take care of a simple problem as spraying some wasps nest if we were aware that there was a problem. They are very simple to spray and then knock them down. Again, I am so disappointed that we were not notified of the problem while you were here so we could have made your stay a much better and enjoyable stay for you, your family, and the puppies! Thank you for letting us know after your stay so we can keep an eye on the gazebo!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect relaxing weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time relaxing by the pool all weekend. Accommodations were superb! Would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great time!!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

This property was so beautiful. It was exactly the type of getaway the husband and I needed. The pool was spectacular as well as the fireflies at night. We'll be booking again soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dino, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Cabana Guesthouse! Glad you got to enjoy the beautiful pool on these warm summer days! We would love to have you back as our guests in the near future! Thanks again for choosing the Cabana Guesthouse!! Debbie & Ronnie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

2 night minimum for WEEKENDS or the rate goes up to $200 for one night for a Friday or Saturday night only. Rates are $150/night for up to 2 persons spending 2 or more nights. Each additional person is $25/night. Sunday through Thursday: stay 2 or more nights & receive a discounted rate of $125 per night for up to 2 persons & $20 each additional person/night.
$850 per week (7 consecutive nights) up to 2 guests. $15 each additional person/night staying for 7 consecutive nights.
Call for discounted rates for extended stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties