Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 3 baths, sleeps 10

TRULY ONE OF A KIND, FABULOUS WATERFRONT PROPERTY - 4 BR/3BA - 3 BR/2BA home plus an attached 1 bedroom/1bath cottage. Includes your own wonderfully secluded private salt water tidal lagoon with fish, lobster, and all sorts of plants, and aquatic life !

New swimming pool with infinity edge and poolside Tiki hut just added December 2014. Heating and Chilling available.

Come relax in this very private and peaceful amazing water front property on the Gulf, with fantastic views of the water from the living room, dining room, kitchen, and screened porch. Boat dock for boats to 40 feet. Parking for your trailer and extra vehicles on adjacent lot. Four Kayaks for your enjoyment. PLR2011-00266.

The House: The main house includes 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Two master bedrooms provide a much needed respite from the busy life that you have come to the Keys to escape from. The private master bedroom and bath are located on one side of the living room, and the remaining 2 bedrooms and bathroom are accessed from the opposite side of the living room. The second spacious master bedroom and bath is attached to the main house, separated by a car port for additional privacy. The kitchen is open and comfortable to cook in with stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, stainless steel range, dishwasher, and a large picture window with pass through to the large, enclosed patio. This gulf front home comes with all the amenities you would need or want, including a generous flat screen HD television in the living room, an outdoor gas grill, cable television and high speed wireless internet.

The Property: Easing out to the backyard through the expansive French doors, you will find a very coveted, one of a kind private 13 to 15 foot deep saltwater tidal lagoon, where you can snorkel and swim in the privacy of your own backyard. Please do not intimidate or catch the fish and lobster, they are our pets. Or you can relax on the generous screened porch, as you watch the kaleidoscope of colors dancing in the magnificent sunsets. The 50 foot dock will accommodate most boats, or jump off the end of the dock for a swim or snorkel in the gulf. 4 Kayaks are available for your enjoyment. Paddle on out to the deserted island for an adventure. An additional lot separates the house from the other houses on the street and can be used for parking your boat trailer, or extra vehicles. An abundance of landscape lighting around the backyard provides an amazing ambiance at night for a private swim in the lagoon.

The lagoon: There is no other body of water like this in the Keys. If you are familar with the TV show 'Flipper', you might be amused to learn that the dolphin Flipper once swam in our lagoon. The lagoon is a healthy aquatic habitat, which is healthy for your skin; unlike a chlorinated body of water such as a swimming pool. Chlorine is toxic to plants and fish, and also to humans. Because the lagoon is not treated with any chemicals (which would harm the fish and plant life) and is connected to the gulf via an aqueduct, the visibility and conditions in the lagoon are dependent on the conditions in the gulf. As the gulf water warms, the warm water provides more nutrients for plant life and plants become more abundant. Since lobsters eat plants and algae, expect to see more lobster off the dock by the jetty to the south, when the water warms. Be sure to get your lobster license though, if you wish to savor the taste of these delicate creatures. Fines are steep for poaching. Please do NOT catch the lobsters in the lagoon, as they are our pets, and help control the plant life. With a small aqueduct connecting the lagoon to the gulf, the water level will rise and lower about 2 feet with the changing tide, when the ocean ebbs and flows. Come with your mask and snorkel and adventurous attitude as you explore the marvels of the lagoon and the gulf. If you are squeamish about walking in the gulf or lagoon, remember to bring your water shoes ! If you desire a pristine, sandy beach, rather than an aquatic habitat, the renowned Sombrero beach is about one mile from the property. Of course, there will be no privacy, and you will have to compete with all the other tourists that have no access to water from their property. The water depth in the gulf by the dock varies from about 4 feet to 6 feet. If you venture out to the bay, the water level may be as shallow as 3 foot or as deep as 10 feet. Life jackets are provided.

We hope you enjoy your stay. And please, call us immediately when you arrive, if everything is not to your satisfaction.

PLR #2011-00266

More Details

Mark Benton
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

We certainly enjoyed our time in the Fabulous Home in Marathon Keys

Dining in and out was spectacular... the Kitchen is nicely stocked, and the Grill worked great

our favorite was breakfast on the porch......and the Palapa

Dinner out on the town was excellent... left some brochures for others

Loved our day at the Crane Point Reserve...and Sombrero Beach
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 2


Marathon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Additional outdoor fresh water shower on the dock.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • Separate one bedroom guest house has king bed and private bath.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • 10 garden chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • In Ground Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • reefs
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Please call/email if you have any questions !!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
average rating of 4.84 based on 52 reviews

Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

As soon as you walk in the door, you fall in love with the outside! This property is stunning and we had the best time staying at this home. We enjoyed watching all the fish in the lagoon and spent hours in the pool or sitting under the tiki hut. The house is very clean and well appointed with just about everything you need. There is garage space for all your gear and a wide variety of household items available for use. The Seven Mile bridge is a 15 minute boat ride, the kids had a blast fishing off the dock, and we enjoyed watching the sun go down in the adirondack chairs. We lunched multiple times at Keys Fisheries, had awesome sushi at Castaway Cafe, snorkeled at Sombrero reef with Captain Pips and caught our limit of dolphin fish on a charter through Captain Hook's Marina (ask for Destin & Silent Hunter Charters!).

Mark was very easy to communicate with and quick to respond. There was an issue with one of the kayaks and a new one showed up the next day. I highly recommend you book this property and tell all of your friends. One of the best vacations we've had!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your review brings a smile for us. Your experience is what we strive for, and we thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. We try to stock the kitchen with all the utensils, mixers, serving dishes, etc. you would want. We look forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great property

  • 5 of 5

The place was fabulous. We spent a week 4 adults and 3 kid could have been any better

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Facility - Wonderful Week

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 9 adults had an awesome week on our first visit to the Florida Keys. This property was perfect for us as we all had private areas at night and wonderful gathering areas for meals, games and activities during the day. The location is also convenient for trips to the other Keys. We have great memories of our week at this special property.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Truely a unique property!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in Marathon. The house was perfect for our group (young kids and adults). The house was equipt with lots of pool/beach toys which was a plus! We had a few questions for Mark and he responded quite promptly.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome House

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at this house from Nov. 4 - 11, 2017 with 8 others, just two months after the hurricane. We weren't sure what to expect but were surprised to see very little damage here. The only damage to the property was that the lights in the lagoon didn't work. Without the lights, the algae was pretty bad, so we couldn't really enjoy the lagoon, but considering the damage to other homes in the area, we couldn't complain. There was also a mountain of seaweed all around the dock so we couldn't get into the Gulf, but that's not anyone's fault. So we never used the kayaks, but they were there. The house itself was great. Full of amenities, especially the kitchen. Lots of plates, cups, utensils, and cookware. The beds were clean and comfortable and there were a ton of bath towels and beach towels. Loved the pool and the tiki hut. The pool was a little dirty, but we called and they came right away to clean it. We also had a problem with one of the air conditioners, but again, we called and the owner was there within a couple hours and fixed the problem. The owners were very responsive and quick to take action, which was much appreciated. Overall, we had a great vacation. We very much enjoyed the home and would highly recommend this home to others.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The issue with the water quality in the lagoon was not related to to the lights being out. Due to the hurricane and a windy week the water in the gulf was dirty. The lagoon always has the same water quality as the gulf water as it changes with the tide twice a day.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Paradise Marathon style

  • 5 of 5

What a gorgeous place! With views like this we didn't want to leave. We had the whole family down in The Keys for mini season and with ages 2 - 55 we had plenty to keep us all occupied. Several loved kayaking in the lagoon, others enjoyed the pool, and the fishermen loved being right on the Gulf just minutes from fishing and lobstering. Mark & Lynne were a pleasure to deal with and addressed any concerns we had immediately. Thanks to their gorgeous home and their wonderful attention to our comfort, we will be returning and hope to make this an annual family event.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Key West
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
US 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Sombraro Beach
Car: recommended




Additional information about rental rates

Pool Heat/Chill Optional $200
Cleaning $350
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 15.5%

Optional Pool Heat Fee : $200 per week
Optional Pool Cooling Fee: $200 per week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.