Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Valla Beach Retreat House

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property


The house is close to the beach in a quiet cul-de-sac. It's a short walk through bush-land to the surf beach and lagoon. You’ll love it because of the cool and breezy deck with tree views; just sit back and listen to the birds and the breaking waves.

The home has 4 bedrooms: 1 x queen with en-suite, 1 x double, 2 x 2 singles. It has another full family bathroom, a separate third toilet, and a laundry. The large open plan kitchen - living - dining opens onto a wide covered deck looking into the adjoining bush reserve. There is a second covered outdoor area with a BBQ. Off street parking and rollover kerbside parking spaces accommodate up to 4 cars.

The entire home is exclusively available for up to 6 guests.


We are happy to offer assistance during your stay, but most likely by phone or email. Onsite management is possible at certain times, and should be confirmed before booking.

What to bring

Please bring bed sheets, bath towels, and toiletries. All other bedding is provided.

A few basics may be available via our honour system (replace something if you finish it, or make a non-perishable contribution).

About the area

Valla Beach is a relaxed place, and for more than 100 years holiday makers have sought it out because of its beautiful coastline with white sandy surf beaches, rocky outcrops, rock pools, and fishing spots.

South Valla Beach, where this house is located, has a surf beach with life guards in summer school holidays, an amenities block, and BBQs. It also has a surf free lagoon/estuary that is good for small children to play in, and for paddle boarding, canoeing, and fishing.

The local tavern serves family meals starting at $7, and there are two cafes with delicious menus and a small selection of grocery basics, a butcher, and a pharmacy. Supermarkets, cinema, and more eating options are just 10 minutes away.

Getting there

Travel to Valla Beach is by car. It is 20 minutes drive from Coffs Harbour airport if you are flying, and hire cars are readily available at the airport.

Getting around

The surf beach and lagoon are about 300 m walk through the bush. The cafe, pharmacy, butcher and tavern are 1 km via a paved foot path, or a minute in the car.

More Details

Paul Adams
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 26, 2018


Valla Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 3 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Valla Beach Retreat House
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews

Family-friendly and close to the beach

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our four children during the summer holidays and had a fantastic time. Having stayed in a few different spots in Valla and Urunga over the years, we appreciated how special it was to be able to walk through a shady forest to the beach and back, instead of piling everyone into the car every time or toiling up a hot road.

The house is clean, simple and comfortable. It does get stuffy in the lounge room on a hot day but we found it cooled off well in the evenings. It's a very private spot and we didn't hear a whisper of sound from the neighbours. A special commendation must be made for the kitchen too which is very well equipped with platters, pots... you name it, they've got it in there.

We will be returning next year. There's plenty of room for our large brood, the location is excellent, the owners are friendly and responsive, and it's good value for money. Thanks for having us!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
QLD, Australia

Great Space

  • 4 of 5

Thanks Belinda. We had a great stay. And thanks for accomodating our booking mistake! We loved being able to walk to the beach and the house was plenty big enough to fit 6 guests.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Belinda and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Perfect Beach House!

  • 5 of 5

Best holiday rental in Valla Beach! More than enough space for our family of six, tastefully decorated in neutral tones and very well equiped. We loved the private bush outlook and short stroll to the beautiful beach with safe swimming lagoon for the kids. We'll be back every year!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you again in future. Kind regards, Belinda and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Picton, New South Wales, Australia

Perfect beach stay

  • 5 of 5

Loved our short break. Spacious, relaxing, comfy beds, huge undercover deck, 5 min stroll through a track to the lagoon, cute cafe a bit further on. 3 toilets, ensuite to main, ceiling fans (was hot). Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Australian Capital Territory, Australia

soooo relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Loved being here.

Being on the back deck immediately brought deep ease.

The house is set down a slope so as you walk in you enter a private tropical oasis.

The interior was simple but functional - no complaints. All quiet and comfortable.

But the bush at the rear and bush walk to the river and beach were great - and deserted...What a find!

Perfect holiday at this time of year.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful location, but not clean!

  • 2 of 5

The location is gorgeous, close to beautiful beach and river, lots of fun for the kids.

The problem is that the house was very dirty. There was mould on the toilet and dust everywhere through the house, on decorations, floors, behind and underneath all beds, chairs, bedroom table and the couch in the living room. We found toys underneath the couch in the living room in clouds of dust, from previous families, even a used band aid, dirty tissues and floss sticks. Also the house is invested with ants. Every day we would find an other room covered in them, bathroom, toilet, kitchen, living room. I have never spend so much time cleaning in a holiday rental as in this house and never killed so many ants in two weeks. And we still needed to pay $100.00 for cleaning costs. I complained with the real estate lady during our holiday and she came over and agreed. But when I asked to have the cleaning costs repaid she said that dust wasn't dirty....... I would highly recommend the area, but not this house.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed. Usually the house is spotless, and we want to maintain this standard at all times. Our efforts prior to this visit included a top to bottom spring clean in early November, and an extra clean due to a busy holiday season, just the day before this stay. It is the right thing to do to call the agent when not happy. The agent reported the house as clean – just a little fluff behind the bedside tables, but following the feedback we have completely reviewed our cleaning policy to ensure any hidden or overlooked areas of dust are cleaned. There would never be a refund on the cleaning for a future departure, but if the agent decides the clean prior to a stay was not good enough, the cleaner will be recalled to complete the job. Also, it was unfortunate about the ants – no problems before. To ensure there are no further ant visits, a safe environmentally friendly treatment has been applied externally. This has been monitored for 10 months now and no ants are present. We encourage your return to find the house meets the highest standards. Kind regards, the owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Beach and creek


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties