check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Large Studio safe, clean, near airport & beaches.Hi-Speed Internet,Water Cistern

15 Reviews
Bedrooms Studio
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 nights


Sabana Abajo Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Large Studio apt,sleeps 3 people, near airport and beaches (10 min) by auto.

Large studio. Rustic.clean w/ Queen bed. Twin & large couch. Great location about 9 minutes from the international airport & 11minutes by car to Isla Verde hotels and beaches, 45 minutes from Rain-Forest , 20 minutes from Old San Juan. Has everything except food. Air conditioning and hi-speed internet available and cool in the evenings if your exploring all day. Back porch are for sun bathing or picking your own bananas, when ripe. Minimum stay for this price is 4 nights or we can accommodate shorter stays with price adjustments. Please email us for info. Perfect place for seeing the island. . Great for nature lovers. Yes we do have parking off the street. See you soon..........Monty

Short term-Monthly rates are available for this apt and others, but plan ahead to see availablity. We do have another studio apt. with air-conditioning also..& have a large 2bd apt also for sleeping 6 people with loads of space. thanks

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

James Monty Smith
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016

About James Monty Smith

I have been in Puerto Rico with my own businesses since 1970. I have been in the sports industry. We bought this location in a quiet residencial neighborhood near the hotels and beachs only 9-11 minutes away by car.

James Monty Smith purchased this apartment in 1999

Why James Monty Smith chose Puerto Rico

Located in a quiet safe neighborhood thats great for walking and your family. Plus near the hotels and ocean only 10 minutes away by auto.

What makes this apartment unique

Quiet and safe and only 10 minutes by auto from the Crazyness of the Hotels and beaches..... Walk to grocery stores or fruit markets.


based on 15 traveler reviews

Large Studio safe, clean, near airport & beaches.Hi-Speed Internet,Water Cistern
average rating of 4.0 based on 15 reviews

Perfect location, minutes from airport

  • 3 of 5

The location was perfect in a quiet neighborhood, close to stores, supermarket, and pharmacy. Place was decent for the price. the only complaint is that the room had no cable and we couldn't use the TV . We wasted a day waiting for the cable tech to come and make repair and they never show up. I enjoy my stayed we make friends with the next door neighbor. I recommend this place !

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to sleep!

  • 5 of 5

I frequently visit Puerto Rico and this time stayed in the Studio next to the apartment I rented previously. I had a great experience with the property managers and only needed a place to sleep. For the price, it's more than worth it. Obviously this isn't a resort, this is a comfortable place to sleep, which is what I needed it for since I'm always doing something on the island and it suited my needs perfectly, which is why I'm giving it 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, thanks for the great write up on our studio. We always try to help and keep our clients happy. Its not first class but comfortable and down to earth. Quiet neighborhood and much better than Isla Verde Hotel noise and parking problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay. A+++

  • 5 of 5

Super great place to stay. The owner is very friendly and keeps a nice residence for travelers. Clean, very conveniently located, and very affordable. I would highly recommend this place. Quiet neighborhood with easy access to downtown San Juan less than 10 minutes away.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great client also. we enjoyed the talks and was a great place for him during this time and for us. thanks Jess. Monty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good accommodations

  • 4 of 5

It was a pleasent stay at this guesthouse. It was clean, quite, and save. I found it easy to go to places I was interested in. I will return here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alan, was great. Quiet clean and lots of great friends. Thanks for staying again in our studio apt.. Monty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall good experience

  • 4 of 5

The description was accurate. Close to airport. Place was clean and Monty was kind. Exactly what we needed.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We try hard to describe exactly what we have for our customers. thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Located in a convenient, nice quiet neighborhood, BUT Renters beware

  • 1 of 5

Upon arriving, we were greeted by Sergio and Monty. Monty briefly oriented us to the apartment and at that point informed us that there may be days when we would be without water due to the drought. We understand that Monty had no control over the shortage of water; however this information should have been shared with us prior to our arrival so that we could either prepare ourselves or decide whether or not to rent out the apartment. Monty informed us that the previous family staying in the apartment had wasted too much water, however that we should have enough water to bathe that night. Well…that was not the case. We dropped our luggage off and went to the supermarket to grab some essentials and when we came back (30 minutes later) there was no water. Monty stopped by after our supermarket run with a 5 gallon bucket of water for us to bathe, use the bathroom, etc. This was not nearly enough for 4 people, especially since water did not return 2 days later. During our 10 day stay we had water a maximum of 2-3 days. We ended up buying gallons of water to bathe, use the bathroom, wash dishes, clean, etc. On our last day there, a few hours before our departure, Monty tells us that he just had a cistern installed and the system had some leaks that he didn't know about, which cause the apartment not to have water on most days, but that the leaks were finally resolved. This was obviously too late for us since the issue was addressed when our stay was coming to an end. (Along with the deposit, he did reimburse us partially, $25, for the gallons of water we bought throughout our stay.) Although we weren’t expecting a 5 star luxurious stay here, we expected a semi-decent apartment for the price we paid. Most pots/pans had rust, which resulted in us purchasing most of our lunches and dinners outside. There were two small refrigerators, one of which needed to be closed with an elastic cord hook so that it wouldn’t remain ajar. It would have been more convenient to have a regular size refrigerator or even a compact one. The dining table chairs were broken so we had to sit on the sofas or bed to eat. The apartment in itself could have been more maintained. The TV cable apparently has a splitter because there were times when we had no control over what we could watch, especially in the evening hours. One of the days, it said we could not change the TV because it was recording of “Miami Vice”. (3) there should have been a binder/guide of some sort with detailed info

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have notified all customers before arrival about the water problems. We had just installed a water cistern. We have a on site caretaker to fix or solve any problems that might come up. Chairs TV or so on. Let us know. We were never made aware of any problems by the client while they were there, except for the water problem.. PLEASE FEEL FREE To LET OUR ON SITE CARETAKER. Solve any problems... All items noted in review have been taken care of, thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
San Juan International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Bodegon Resturant
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Farjado to Culebra & Vieques
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Several golf courses
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy #26
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Chinese Restaurant
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Isla Verde Beachs
Car: recommended

The location is near airport and 10 min.from the beaches. Great for nature lovers. Nice mellow neighborhood. Plaza Carolina mall only 10 minutes by car. Surfing, Beaches & snorkeling only minutes away. The rain-forest and Farjado boat trips about 40 minutes. Lots to do from here. Isla Verde Hotels and fun about 10 minutes by car also. Not luxury,Rustic but clean and safe. Wi-fi and off street parking. Rental is with air-conditioning and Hi speed internet

Golf: Golf courses as close as 20 minutes from apt.


Rates & Availability

Sabana Abajo Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Christmas Holidays
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $75
Cleaning fee $60

Review rental policies and terms
Please take a moment to review all the unique policies of this rental.

Cancellation Policy - Bookings canceled at least 14 days before the start of the stay will receive a 50% refund. Bookings canceled at least 30 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund. Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund. Cancellations must be made by 12:00 PM CST (Central Standard Time) on the appropriate day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Sabana Abajo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 420 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • We have a self contained water heater in shower to warm up the water. Hot hot water not to be expected. We keep the basics to save energy and help the environment. We do have some vegetables to pick or eat in our own garden in back yard. Bananas and coconuts soon papayas lots of them in the back yard.
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Large studio, includes large Full bed and twin bed. other sleeping mats available. Front and back yard. Cable TV and hi-speed wifi for super good internet connections. The kitchen with stove and Frigidaire. All you need is food. We try to keep a change of sheets available for you in the apt also. There is a back yard for yourself with bananas and other fruits and vegetables also. You can lay in the back yard and get a sun tan or go to the beach only 10 minutes by car.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Yard
  • 3 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
The rental rate does include air-conditioning. & high speed internet. We request that your not using air conditioner day and night. Be reasonable use when needed. thanks

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties