check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Roselyn Drake and Matthew Simon

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Bright and Sunny Decorated Suite with Decks and Ocean View

18 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Governor's Harbour, The Bahamas Apartment Rental Photos and Description

One Bedrom, 1 and 1/2 Baths

This sunny suite on landscaped grounds is located on the hilltop above Governors Harbour, in a small community of homes called Governor’s Estate. Stroll down the hill to the shops and restaurants of town, or buy fresh fish and lobster from the town dock. An 8-minute walk in the other direction takes you to French Leave Beach, the most beautiful beach on the island. Walk for miles along this sandy shore, snorkel in the gin-clear waters, and enjoy a meal or a cocktail at the beachside Beach House restaurant. If you prefer, stay at home at Peach House and sunbathe on your expansive deck with views of the ocean.

Peach House has a bright and sunny, open-plan living and dining area with French doors to a large deck. The spacious master bedroom, which also has French doors to a deck, has a king bed and en suite bathroom with walk-in shower. There is an additional half-bath off the living room.

The kitchen is fully equipped and supplied. Kitchen appliances include a glass-topped electric range and oven, full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, and blender.

The apartment has access a laundry room with washer and dryer, shared with the downstairs apartment. Peach House is fully air-conditioned and equipped with IPOD docks, WIFI, and satellite TV with DVD.

French Leave Beach, walking distance from the house, is an idyllic, mile-long, crescent-shaped, pink-sand beach. There are only half a dozen houses on the entire length of this spectacular beach, among the most famous in the Bahamas. The surf is very mild, protected by a large reef system that parallels the shore. The water on French Leave Beach is literally crystal clear: with no rivers or streams on the island, Eleuthera’s seas are free of sediment and among the clearest in the world.

The town of Governors Harbour, at the bottom of the hill, has a charming collection of 19th century homes and churches overlooking its historic harbor. The recently restored Haynes Library, which dates from 1897, hosts a weekly coffee hour for foreign residents and tourists. Governors Harbour has grocery stores, restaurants, liquor stores, two banks with ATMs, a bakery, gift shops, a dive shop, and a medical clinic. Friday Night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour, a street/beach party that brings together all the tourists and locals with food, drink, and dancing in the street, is not to be missed.

Eleuthera is famous for its 100 miles of spectacular, deserted beaches. The island, home to just 8000 residents, is completely safe any time of the day or night. Enjoy the rare experience of picking up hitch-hikers and leaving your keys in the car wherever you go. The snorkeling, diving, and fishing on the island are world class. Boating, surfing, and other water sports are also popular. You can rent power boats, sailboats, sea kayaks, bikes. You can have a charter captain take you out for excursions of various types. There is excellent sightseeing as well. Eleuthera has vast caves, cliffs, a bottomless ocean hole, many unique beaches, historic churches and 19th century homes, and small villages to explore. We hope you will enjoy Peach House, and experience all our island has to offer.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Roselyn Drake and Matthew Simon (Property Manager)
-
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

we had a great time on Eleuthera and we loved Kathy and Bob place, we felt like at home, nothing missing, everything practical and clean, so nice and comfortable, the deck all around the apartment is great we could spend a lot of time outside because we could choose the sunniest spot or the less windy.... she really thought about everything for her tenants....

We think that their location on top of the hill at Governor Harbor is the best after exploring the all island... we loved it there!

They gave us very good tips at the beginning of our vacation to find grocery stores, restaurants and the best beaches.... they were there for us!
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Bright and Sunny Decorated Suite with Decks and Ocean View
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
5

Lovely Cottage in a Lovely Location

  • 5 of 5

The Upper Peach House was a great choice. It fulfilled our expectations and more. The house was so clean and very bright with plenty of room for two people. The grounds are maintained beautifully. The location is central to the island, which is helpful for anyone who wants to see the whole island, as we did. We could break up the driving by going south one day and then north another. The owner, Kathy Coleman, is an absolute delight. We really enjoyed talking with her and she is warm and friendly, ready to help in any way. Very thoughtful to provide a cell phone for emergencies, welcome food & beverage and eager to accommodate. We will gladly rent from her again. Everyone at Eleuthera Vacation Rentals was very helpful and eager to be sure we were happy in getting our reservation in place. Eleuthera is beautiful. Very quiet and relaxing. Not many dining options, but enough to take care of us for the week. Our favorite restaurant was 1648, which happens to be very close to the property. Tippy's is fun for drinks & catch the live music if you can as it is only once a week. Skye Beach is fun for a day of beach with a pool & drinks. Lighthouse Beach is quite a drive, but worth it. Stunning views from on top of the rocks. We use Turnquest Car Rentals and Arthur was great! Would use his service again. Extremely casual island, don't bother packing anything very fancy. A wonderful island to just chill.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Peach house was very cute! We had the upstairs unit. Very good value for the property! The unit was modern and very cozy. The view isn't as great as a beach front property and you will need to drive to get to the nearest beach, but it is in a good location, and we had a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5

The upstairs Peach house rental was perfect. You can sit on the outside deck and enjoy a distant view of the water and the most beautiful beach is a 10 minute walk or quick car ride. The apartment was tastefully decorated and filled with everything that you could possibly need. The owner Kathy lives right next door and is always available for advice. I would rent again in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home on Eleuthera

  • 5 of 5

Kathy, Bob and Joe the dog made our stay a perfect one! Everything we possibly could have needed for our stay was provided by the warmest people. Not once did we feel alone or left to fend for ourselves.

Highlights:

- being welcomed with a quick rundown of what to do, what to eat, and the best lasagne we've ever tasted after a long day of flying

- the bright lighting during the day and spotlessly clean design of the house

- views from every window and balcony that somehow manage to still feel private due to the landscaping -- which has a garden you can use!

- a land line so that anyone calling from the island doesn't need to use long distance

- several amenities you'd have at your own home, so you don't need to buy several things you can't bring on planes when you get there

- central location with easy access to shops, banks, great restaurants and the best beaches

- being greeted by Joe the dog each night we came home, one night Joe decided to take a nap in the livingroom with my husband :) Joe's great to hang with, especially when you miss your own pet!

We plan to come again with a larger group so we can try the other houses! All of them are designed with impeccable taste. They are perfect against the backdrop of the beauty and colours of Eleuthera.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

Kathy and Bob were fantastic! We stayed at the upstairs apartment of the Peach House and fell in love. The house has everything you need for a great vacation and the location is perfect. You can explore the island and visit all the amazing beaches Eleuthera has to offer. We hope to make it back to the island again someday and we will definitely stay with Kathy & Bob.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful week in Governor's Harbour

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Peach House. The apartment was exactly as described, and Kathy was very attentive and did everything to make our stay comfortable. The location is ideal, with access to shops, businesses and restaurants just down the hill. Kathy put us in touch with Elliot ("Biggie") who rented us a 4WD vehicle in good shape, and we tooled around the island with no issues. If we return to Eleuthera, we will want to stay at Peach House again!

Tom and Lynn Horsky, Boxborough, MA

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Governors Harbour Airport (GHB)
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
The Buccanneer
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
The Buccanneer
Nearest Beach
800 Metres
French Leave Beach

The town of Governors Harbour has a charming collection of 19th century homes and churches overlooking its historic harbor. The recently restored Haynes Library, which dates from 1897, hosts a weekly coffee hour for foreign residents and tourists. Governors Harbour has grocery stores, restaurants, liquor stores, two banks with ATMs, a bakery, gift shops, a dive shop, and a medical clinic. Buy fresh fish, conch, and lobster daily at the dock from the local fisherman. Friday Night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour, a street/beach party that brings together all the tourists and locals with food, drink, and dancing in the street, is not to be missed.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Governor's Harbour, The Bahamas Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate 2016
Jan 4 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,495
 
 
Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,950
 
 
Base Rate 2017
Jan 4 2017 - Dec 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,495
 
 
Holiday
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Rate for 6 nights: $1385
Rate for 5 nights: $1245
Rate for 4 nights: $1035
Rate for 3 nights: $795
Security deposit: $500

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Governor's Harbour, The Bahamas Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • MP3 Dock
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving ...
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties