Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Paradise Peaks - Breathtaking Year Round Panoramic Views

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Nestled in the heart and soul of the Western North Carolina mountains, Paradise Peaks will lull you into total relaxation. This property is located just 30-35 minutes,13 miles from Downtown Asheville and all Asheville has to offer, including The Biltmore Estate. Some local Vineyards that are very close, Addison Farms Vineyard, Fontaine Vineyards. There are plenty of local venues for weddings or ceremonies to include, Franny's Farm, Yesterday Spaces, The Crest. The Blue Ridge Parkway, French Broad Rafting & Ziplines, Asheville Outdoor Center for paddleboarding, kayaking and tubing. Adventure Center of Asheville for ropes course. Kolo Bike Park, Navitat Canopy Tours. Cataloochee Ski Resort (Maggie Valley) and Wolf Ridge Skiing.

This 4 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom 2400 sq ft mountaintop home sits on 10.2 acres and butts up to a 2600 acre nature preserve/game lands. Quiet, private and rural yet close enough to town. With recent renovations and updates, this home has lots of extras for a carefree vacation to include a fully equipped open kitchen, including convection oven, with extra bar top space, washer & dryer, outdoor fire pit. There's DirecTV, Wi-Fi, and a wood burning fireplace. A patio deck with gas grill offers to you the opportunity to cook your evening meals while watching the incredible panoramic sunset. Imagine yourself swaying in the hammock or sitting on the deck chairs listening to nature at its best. There is an abundance of wildlife that roams the property and the skies above.

This pet-friendly home, (please, no cats) features a separate living room and den along with a master suite on the main level with a private double vanity, walk-in shower with a new king size, Sealy I Comfort mattress. There is another half bathroom on the main level. The second level has three bedrooms the first with a king size bed, another bedroom with a queen bed and a small room with a queen size futon. The futon, has a new 4 inch memory foam topper. This property features a brand new central heat/air with ceiling fans throughout. The house comes equipped with ample linens and towels for all guests.

There is an upstairs bathroom with a separate soaking bathtub and new shower. The second level also contains extra kids chairs that open into single beds for extra sleeping capacity or lounging. There is a library of movies that can be viewed on any of the home's DVD or VCR players along with books for your reading pleasure. There is a new 8 ft. pool table.

The 10 acres are great for hiking or walking. This home, with all it has to offer, will leave you refreshed, relaxed and a feeling of never wanting to leave Paradise Peaks.

Keywords: House, Asheville, Panoramic Mountain Views of the Smokey Mountains, very peaceful and private. All the amenities you would need for your mountain vacation.

More Details

Owner
Katie Wisniewski
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 6, 2017

About Katie Wisniewski

I prefer not to have any of my personal information or photo on my profile

Katie Wisniewski purchased this house in 2006

Why Katie Wisniewski chose Marshall

We have vacationed in the Asheville area over the years and we love everything the area has to offer, to include white water rafting, hiking, skiing, mountain biking, great casual dining and shopping.

What makes this house unique

Our property is a great place to hike the acres and surrounding nature preserve/game lands, watch the beautiful sunsets from the large back deck. This home is very private and quiet and has everything you would need, to unwind and relax.

Amenities

Marshall House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please respect our home. Please respect our neighbors and their properties.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Floorboards
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , separate soaking tub from shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , shower has a bench/double vanity/on suite in master/main fl
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , half bathroom/on main level
  • Some paper products provided, ample towels and linens.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , new king matress/ upstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , queen bed/upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen futon with new therapeudic 4' memory foam topper
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master with new Sealy comfort I king bed/on suite bathroom
  • (2) King size beds, new Sealy Comfort I mattress, in master, (1) Queen size Bed, Queen, Futon with new therapeutic 4 inch memory foam topper (1), new 18 inch high queen air matress (1), single air matresses (2), childrens foam chairs that open into single beds (3), single foam mat (1)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
2nd king size bed upstairs, queen bed, queen futon with new 4 inch memory foam topper, soaking tub, new shower, hammock, 18 inch high new queen size air mattress, (2) twin air mattresses, (3) foam single kids chairs that open into beds, single foam that's low to the ground for little ones, (2) additional new flat screen TV's upstairs with DVDs, VCR's. Graco Play and Pack crib.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Paradise Peaks - Breathtaking Year Round Panoramic Views
average rating of 4.767123 based on 73 reviews
4

Great private getaway

  • 4 of 5

This property was really nice. We went to celebrate my husband's 60th with several other couples. Everything was as advertised. The house was clean and well equipped. The views from the deck were absolutely stunning. We were thrilled that both Uber and Lyft came to the property as it is a bit secluded and we wanted to go to downtown Asheville, which we did.

Katie was great to work with and once we got up the twisty and sometimes gravelly road, all was well. It was worth it!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Scenery and House

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful and the scenery off the back porch was breathtaking. We only stayed a couple nights but would love to come back and spend more time. Very well equipped house. We did have some trouble with the propane grill and ended up using the charcoal grill. It appeared it may be low on propane. Overall, this is an excellent piece of property. One recommendation: Arrive during daylight hours. :) The house is secluded so there are several turns that might be a little difficult to see at night.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dale, Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Paradise Peaks. I'm sorry you had an issue with the outdoor gas stove. There is always an extra propane tank in the garage and it will be changed out. Kind regards, Katie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

House with an incredible view

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable and well furnished house with a beautiful, unobstructed view of the surrounding mountains. Only negatives were a poor internet connection and lots of beetles that entered the house through spaces around a window air conditiiner as well as around a back door. Once those spaces were blocked the problem ended.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Al, Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the house. We're sorry you had problems at the house. The window ac units have been removed and the back door has been fixed. Kind regards, Katie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Fixable Flaws

  • 2 of 5

I’ll start by saying that I hate to give below a four star review and this will be my first, however I do think perspective renters should be aware that there are some hiccups with this property. (The good news is they could be easily fixed.) Upon arrival at 6:30 in the evening our children quickly began the process of calling dibs on rooms....only to all come screaming down the stairs. The adults then spent the next two hours exterminating the upstairs bedrooms of stink bugs (and a few wasp and lady bugs). We killed no less than 80 stink bugs the first night (we stopped counting after 73 only to find the mother load behind a hung mirror). It of course took another hour to convince the kids that we had gotten them all and it was safe to sleep upstairs. We texted the owner who responded fairly quickly (40mins. later) and while she was pleasant she had no recommendations for us. I think what really was unfortunate (for us) was that she was aware of the problem as she stated she had her housekeeper spraying for them with a homemade concoction and had previously contacted an exterminator. While I agree that indoor pesticides are not recommended and I appreciate the non-use I would recommend the owner look into outdoor preventions. Luckily Siri was able to give us some recommendations (placing/rubbing air conditioner window units with dryer sheets). Yet to our dismay the infestation was pretty intense and each day upon return we were met with another challenge. I do understand given the nature of the location bugs can be a nuisance however in our 7 years of fall travels to Asheville (at times staying in yurts) we have never encountered insects to this degree.

While this was beyond frustrating (especially given the demeanor of our kids) I will not overlook the beauty of this house. It was impeccably clean, and well decorated. We did not realize the yard is not flat (so keep that in mind if you’re looking to have yard play with the littles), however the view was amazing. We were asked to turn on the hot water heater upon arrival which had a difficult time keeping warm water for more than 3-4 showers (spread out over 5 hours), this also continued into the weekend, and there was no option to turn up the heat (which is understandable in a rental property).

Again, my apologies for the low rating, my parents have rental property so I know the implications, I’d just hate for another family to find themselves in the same predicament.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, Thank you for your comments. It is regularly maintained by a pest control company. The home remedy was recommended by the pest control company and our house keeper sprays before guests arrive. The house just underwent major renovations with a new hot water heater. When the house is vacant, the hot water heater is turned off and may take a few hours to heat up, as per house directions. Now that it's been brought to our attention, the hot water heater will be left on. We try to depict the house and the grounds surrounding the house with our pictures on the website. We also recommend arriving during daylight hours the first day because we are located in the mountains. The roads can be challenging, as we found them the first few times we drove them ourselves. Again, we apologize for the stink bugs and any issues you had at the house. We want our guests to have a great experience so you leave there a little more peaceful and relaxed. Kind regards, Katie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Views!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house with a large group of friends for the weekend while whitewater rafting in the area. The home was perfect for our needs. The deck is huge, with plenty of seating and tables to accommodate a large group. The views from the back of the house are beautiful! The pictures do no do it justice! The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed to cook for a large group. The pool table in the garage was a bonus as well. The house was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Breathe taking views!

  • 4 of 5

The house was spotless! Katie had thought about everything. No need of taking anything for just in case. This house has lots of towels, shewts, pillows,, pots , pans, etc. We were a party of 7 and fit very comfortably. We ran into two issues..1. The distance tu places such as Gatlinburg was a long drive about 1.5 hr.... the drive to the house is intimidating at night. So we cancelled some planned trips to avoid risk. And the other wad not having internet connection with enough speed to check my emails, log intro school our work sites. Had to drive to McDonald's to complete some task. That was very disappointing.

The morning views were just amazing!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Maggie Valley/Cataloochie Ski Area/Tubing
Car: necessary

Cataloochee Skiing/Tubing, French Broad Rafting & Ziplines (30 min), Navitat (canopy tours-zip line), Biltmore Estates-(40 min), Local Leicester Artists Tour, Addison Farms Vineyard, Fontaine Vineyards, Franny"s Farm, Yesterday Spaces. Asheville Outdoor center for paddleboarding, kayaking, tubing. Hiking the Laurel River Trail (dogs welcome), Appalachian Trail, Blue Ridge Parkway. Adventure Center of Asheville for ropes course. Our property butts up to the 2,600 acre nature preserve. Sandy Mush Game Lands is nearby and is on the Audubon society for birding. Parking for hiking or birding the game lands is a few minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115
Damage Insurance $59

2 night minimum, 7 nights or more $200 per night. Prior approval for dogs with an additional pet deposit and pet addendum, insurance coverage not optional.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties