Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Shurdingtons Accommodation

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

About the property

Shurdingtons Accommodation is a carefully restored cottage with a quirky historic charm. It is situated next door to the Mary Mackillop School House & in easy walking distance to the towns restaurants & shopping. It is also a short drive to the Coonawarra Wine Region.

Surrounded by a traditional workers cottage garden, the cottage is supplied by its own rainwater.

It is a two night stay minimum. Ideal for couples or groups. No children or pets allowed. Smoking is prohibited.

The owner prefers to do booking via the phone and pen and paper rather than over email. Please call Robin at anytime.

Testimonials from previous guests:

"We are so grateful that we found Shurdingtons. We honestly couldn't imagine our time here in any other space. We have absolutely had a ball. Everything we needed was here" -Hannah and Paul

"Your hospitality is nothing short of brilliant" -Debbie, Ken, Greg and Sean

"Thank you for providing such a peaceful experience for jaded city travellers" -Julie and Michael

"We really appreciated all of the thoughtful touches included" -Chris, Sonia, Matt and Rita

"We have been spoilt from our arrival, when you greeted us with a blazing fire and delicious local cider" -Kathryn and Keiran

"Shurdingtons is a beautiful cottage filled with items to reminisce our memories and aspirations for our own renovations" -Ingrid and Dave

"Lyn and I really enjoyed every aspect of this lovingly restored and welcoming home. The garden is a delight too! Your provisions and facilities are excellent and thoughtful" -Jerry and Lyn

"So cosy and relaxing here. Thanks for all the thoughtful touches" -Anne and Richard

"We have fallen in love with your little piece of heaven" -Sabrina and Paul

"Shurdingtons is reminiscent of days gone by and your hospitality has been second to none. This has been one of our most memorable adventures" -Trudi and John

"We are amazed by the amount of work and attention to every little detail that has gone into this beautiful cottage. This is our second stay at Shurdingtons, and it was just as good as the first" -Roz and Al

"We could have not chosen a better setting for our wedding" -Ester and Darren

"The passion with which you welcomed us, the charm, the windmill and the exquisite attention to detail is magnificent" -Emma and Neville

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2017

Amenities

Penola Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Attractions:
  • winery tours

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
Shurdingtons Accommodation
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2

Very Poor Value

  • 2 of 5

We were very disappointed with this accommodation. It was very expensive for what was provided. Would not stay here again. The reasons were

1. Very cold. No heating in bedrooms, open fire in lounge (nice) and very small electric heater in dining room.

2. No hanging space or hangers in bedrooms.

3. Towels are very tired and there was no hand towel.

4. No visitors allowed. Ridiculous. We are a senior couple who had friends staying at other accommodation in town and we were not allowed to even invite them in for a coffee. Hardly partying.

5. TV was tiny, the size of a laptop computer screen.

6. The lounge suite was old and worn out. The cushions had nearly no filling and was extremely uncomfortable.

One positive good thing is the produce provided in the kitchen was great, especially the home made fruitcake. Enjoyed very much thank you.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Di, I can honestly say that this is the first time in 10 years of operation that guests at Shurdingtons Cottage in Penola have ever found so much to be disappointed with. I am saddened that you did not approach me at any point to address all the points that you found negative about our cottage. It is a heritage cottage and as such there are constraints regarding operations. It was a very cold weekend I admit for everybody in the limestone coast. However, the redgum slow combustion fire and the Noirot electronic thermal heater have always been found to be adequate in the past. I am somewhat surprised that you found the cottage not up to scratch regarding quality, cleanliness and comfort. Shurdingtons Cottage is a heritage experience and maybe for this reason, the style of the accommodation was unexpected. I am sorry to hear that you have had this experience but I would have appreciated it if you had come to me personally. Kind Regards, Robin Weston
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Penola, South Australia, Australia
5

Ideal for a restful weekend

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be going back

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words Carolyn in my visitors book. I am so pleased to hear what guests have to say about the cottage. Looking forward to seeing you when you come back next time. Kind Regards, Robin P.S. thank you very much for leaving the cottage in beautiful condition, I appreciate it very much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Coonawarra Wine Region

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 3 beds and can sleep a maximum 4 guests

You might like these similar properties