Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Budget Beach Headquarters! Ground Floor Hotel-Style Unit for Two w/ 2 Double Bds

Bedrooms Studio
Space 300 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Studio for one or two with 2 double beds, one minute's walk from the beach

If you love to swim or snorkel in the ocean, if you want to stroll on a beach as the sun sets, if you want to spend evenings relaxing in the on-site hot tub while not spending a fortune, then our well-equipped, clean-and-comfy condo at the Maui Banyan in Kihei, across the street from the Kamaole II Beach Park, is your ideal headquarters.

Our air-conditioned studio unit comes with all the beach paraphernalia you might want - beach umbrella, portable beach chairs, boogie board, beach towels and more.

By renting from us, you avoid a $20/day amenity charge for using the resort, yet have complete access to all the Maui Banyan facilities, such as the tennis court, outdoor grills, two swimming pools, jacuzzi spas and more.

You have two double beds, a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom with shower and a private lanai (patio).

You're within a 10-minute walk of at least 10 restaurants - Mexican, Hawaiian, sushi, tacos, pizza, steak/seafood, Indian, Thai, natural food, a bistro/deli and more. (Indeed, so convenient is the location that some of our guests have managed quite well without a rental car.)

Usual occupancy for the studio unit: 2 people. It is perfect for either a couple or two friends traveling together. It can also work for a family with one or two small children.

NON-SMOKERS ONLY, PLEASE! There is no smoking allowed either inside or on the lanai... throughout the whole condo property.

The unit is cool and quiet, with blackout curtains that allow you to sleep late, a lighted lanai where you can sit out on at night (without bugs!). The lanai is always shady and cool. With a ground-floor location, you won't need to lug stuff up and down stairs or wait for an elevator.

We have on-island management so you can enjoy a carefree Maui vacation.

We offer secure online booking with credit card or echeck and respond to all inquiries within 12 hours. If you select the 'Book It' option, please tell us about yourselves and your vacation plans so we can make sure there's a good match.

Because this unit doesn't include a full kitchen, laundry facilities or daily maid service, the longest booking we accept is for two weeks.

Hawaii tax registration number: W11072302-01.

More Details

Marcia Yudkin
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2017

About Marcia Yudkin

We live on a lake in Massachusetts, where we swim every day we can, and were looking for a spot where we could swim other months of the year. Hawaii was the 50th state we visited and Maui turned out to be perfect for us. Our Maui Banyan location is across the street from the best swimming beach in Kihei - no rocks, expansive, manned by lifeguards 7 days a week. If you love to swim, bodysurf, snorkel or make sand castles, this is the beach for you. We love the fact that our unit is just a one-minute walk to the ocean, close enough to hear the waves when we are in bed, and yet far enough back from the road that traffic noise is not a major annoyance.

Marcia Yudkin purchased this condo in 2010

Why Marcia Yudkin chose Maui

Maui is an island with many microclimates, and our location gets much less rain and less wind than spots even a mile or two away. We were lucky to discover the Maui Banyan on our first trip to Hawaii, and while we looked at many other condo complexes, we didn't see any others with its convenient unit layout, quiet tropical setting and unsurpassed beach access. Some more high-end complexes require you to navigate a steep hill to get to and from the beach or offer distant ocean views but no walkable beach access at all. Also convenient are all the shops and restaurants within an easy walk that remain open till 8 p.m. or later. Within the Maui Banyan complex, our location on the ground floor of Building F is perfect for visitors without the energy or ability to climb a lot of stairs, who want to be far enough away from the road to enjoy a good night's sleep yet close enough to get to the beach in no time. Whereas some Maui Banyan units get miserably hot because of their placement relative to the sun, ours faces north, so that the lanais stay cool all day, every day.

What makes this condo unique

Be sure to bring binoculars! During the winter months, you can see whales with the naked eye at the beach across the street; the binoculars show you the whales' antics more clearly. And you'll be entranced by the breathtaking sunsets at our beach. Almost every night, the sun turns the sky orange, yellow and pink in a dazzling display of nature's beauty. We regularly swim with giant gentle sea turtles here. And it's a joy to observe families bonding over the construction of architecturally complex sand castles. You are sure to bring home a treasure chest of memories from your Maui Banyan vacation.


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Studio unit - 2 double , New mattresses.
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Courtyard
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
This is a ground floor unit with only two stairs from the unit entrance to the parking area or the street. Maid service during your stay is provided only on special arrangement in advance.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:


3.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Budget Beach Headquarters! Ground Floor Hotel-Style Unit for Two w/ 2 Double Bds
average rating of 3.4444444 based on 9 reviews

Maui Banyan is great!

  • 2 of 5

We loved our stay at the Maui Banyan. The grounds are beautiful the pools and hot tubs fantastic. The beach right across the street was so nice and convenient. All of the eating establishments so close to the condo were very tasty. Location of our room was awesome! Ground floor and literally steps away from the beach. The room itself lacked a little bit. It was the perfect size for the two of us. The beds I hate to say were awful. The mattresses really need to be replaced. It was pretty clean as far as sheets and counter top and furnishings but I did notice that after kicking my shoes off within minutes my feet were black on the bottom. I would recommend this room if Marcia would get better bedding. Maui Banyan is great, just this particular room had a few issues.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your feedback. Our beds were fairly new and supposed to last a couple of years more, but because of customer comments like yours, we now have new, commercial-grade mattresses from a company that supplies most of the resort hotels on Maui. We also had the carpets cleaned. I believe we've addressed the shortcomings you mentioned and hope you will give us another try on your next visit to the island. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good accomodations in every respect

  • 4 of 5

This was our second time to use this Maui Banyan unit, and we appreciate what is provided, esp. for the price. The unit is comfortable with two double beds; set up for a small family, ideal for a couple.

Great location with lots of Kihei shopping and restaurants within walking distance. And it's right across the road from Kama'ole Beach II, where snorkeling is good, and not far from the Ahihi-kina’u Natural Area Reserve. The highlight of my trip was watching 6 turtles feeding in a cove between Kama'ole III and the Kihei boat ramp!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Superb location!

  • 3 of 5

This property is located just minutes from the beach and a lovely pool area, with restaurants and shops just as close. The property owner is very prompt to respond to emails and provides very clear and helpful information in advance of arrival. The property is clean and nicely laid out. I did suggest that the mattresses and towels needed upgrading, and the property owner assures me she is planning on acting on my recommendation. If those two issues are addressed, I would give this property 5 stars for sure!

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks in part to your input, we have installed brand-new, medium-firm beds in the unit. We appreciate your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place near the beach

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at Marcia's condo for 3 nights with my husband. It was a nice condo that is more of a hotel-type of room rather than a full condo (microwave and small fridge). The location was perfect, right across from one of the nicest beaches in Maui. The condo comes with beach stuff (umbrella, chairs, toys for kids) which is very handy since Kihei is always so sunny and so hot! Thanks again Marcia for the stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Condo musty and dusty

  • 2 of 5

Great location. Parking was a hassle. Stayed in Kihei a few times and had a better condo for less. Couldn't use air conditioner because it only added to the musty smell. Walked on carpet after shower and feet turned black. Beautiful grounds and wonderful people.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable, clean, and convenient!

  • 5 of 5

This condo is the perfect size for one or two people. It's clean, comfortable, and within walking distance of restaurants, convenience stores, and shopping. The beach is across the street. I didn't rent a car, because I could either walk, take a taxi, or ride the island bus to anywhere I wanted. Tour buses also pick up at the property.

The condo is also equipped with a dorm-size refrigerator and microwave, which helps on saving money on eating out.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Beach
Kamaole Beach Park II, across the street
Car: not necessary

Our condo is right across the road from the best swimming beach in Maui, and only a few blocks from restaurants and shops. Even so, the property has a laid-back feel and there is next to no traffic noise at night. The condo complex has quiet hours and 24 hour security, so it's a safe, family-friendly location.


Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
April savings
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
May savings
May 1 2017 - May 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

$135/nt for studio unit, + $80 one-time cleaning fee + 13.42% Hawaii tax;
Resort amenities, but NO RESORT FEES; free parking. Hawaii Tax ID #W11072302-01.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties