check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Greg Beckstrom

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Autumn Colors - Lutsen - Pike Lake Log Home - Enjoy the Wilderness in Comfort

3 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lutsen Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Two-Plus Bedrooms, Two Bathrooms, Sleeps 6 Comfortably

Come and enjoy the fall colors in Northeastern Minnesota! It's like Maine, Vermont, and New Hampshire, but with Walleye rather than Lobster. September and October are fantastic months to visit as the colors are spectacular, the days are warm and the nights are cool, the crowds are thin, and the bugs have disappeared.

Bella Lago is the kind of log cabin on a remote wilderness lake that we have all dreamed about visiting. It is the perfect blend of rustic charm and modern convenience. This 2+ bedroom, 2 bath log home accommodates adult couples and their families for fishing, hiking, swimming, and kayaking adventures. And within 20 miles, you can dine out, ski, golf, or shop Lutsen or Grand Marais.

There is a large screen porch to enjoy the outdoors while drinking your morning coffee and listening to the loons. There is a modern, well-equipped kitchen to create family meals and memories. The casual recreation room in the lower level offers an extensive movie library, games, and a great place for your kids to play cards or board games.

The log home is located on the shoreline of the western end of Pike Lake. Access to Pike Lake is via the Caribou Trail/County Road 4 outside of Lutsen.

This is a comfortable and cozy log home with many modern conveniences suitable for creating wonderful family memories.

Pike Lake is a large clear water lake with excellent fishing and peaceful canoeing or kayaking. For a really good time, bring your bikes and do some riding on the gravel roads and trails. Or head out on the lake to catch a few fish for your dinner.

Note To Potential Guests: Many of our past guests have commented on how neat, clean, and welcoming we keep Bella Lago. To prevent overuse, we don't rent the place intensively, e.g., we are not striving for full occupancy all season long. Hence we will only accept a limited number of bookings throughout the 2016 rental season and we only accept small groups (adult couples or families with children) for weeklong stays. Minimum stay is six nights. Normal check-in is on Sunday afternoons after 4p and check-out is on Saturday mornings before 12p/noon.

While Bella Lago is spacious, this is not the right place for large groups or people who are looking for a place to party hardy. Only a couple more weeklong rentals are available in September and October.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Greg Beckstrom (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Greg Beckstrom

Grew up on a farm in Wisconsin, attended the University of Wisconsin and the University of St. Thomas. Trained as a geologist and have worked in technical services. I have two kids, both young adults. I live in South Minneapolis.

Greg Beckstrom purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Greg Beckstrom chose Minnesota

Decent distance from the Twin Cities, yet remote/secluded. Year-around access and relatively close to shopping, dining and services in Lutsen and Grand Marais.

What makes this cabin unique

Perfect blend of rustic charm, solitude, comfort, and modern conveniences.

Guestbook comments from the owner

As a frequent tripper (40+ trips) to the BWCAW and Quetico wilderness canoe areas, I have always wanted to take my mother (76) and my wife (who suffers from type 1 diabetes and doesn't want to rough it) to the area. We have visited National Forest campgrounds at Sawbill Lake and Two Island Lake, but tents are getting hard on my mother. My son (8) loves the BWCAW, but also enjoys motorboats and Minnesota cabin life. I remember first fishing Pike Lake back 1995 with a high school buddy. This was my first trip back to Pike Lake since then.







First off - everything was immaculate. My mother and wife LOVE a clean/tidy house and your cabin scored a perfect 10! Outside the grass was cut and the weeds/grass around the cabin, fire pit and trail to lake had obviously been recently trimmed. Both my wife and my mother also noticed that no corners were cut when it comes to guest comfort. One night my mother and my son slept downstairs in the bunk beds. My mother said the mattress was not cheap and was very comfortable. The pictures in the “Memories” photo album about the construction of BL are interesting. And we really enjoyed the sunsets from the boat on Tuesday and Wednesday nights.







I think BL has touched many people in a very positive way with an introduction to the edge of the wilderness. In my humble opinion, you will not find much of anything resembling the BWCAW with the comforts of what Bella Lago has to offer. This is the best of both worlds!







Once again, thank you to you and your family for opening such a wonderful area for complete strangers to visit. That takes a lot of trust so we tried to treat Bella Lago as our own home.







J.B. and family



July 2014
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

4.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Autumn Colors - Lutsen - Pike Lake Log Home - Enjoy the Wilderness in Comfort
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 13 reviews
5

Secluded but comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our 2 boys, ages 5 & 8. It was a perfect balance between a secluded cabin to experience nature, and a comfortable home to keep everyone content. The kids spent most of their time outside - feeding and petting the chipmunks. ...or by the fire pit. Mosquitoes were minimal, and we loved being away from it all. I was able to kayak each day, even catching a couple fish which we ate. The loft in the cabin was perfect for the boys, and we can't say enough how much we enjoyed our week.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review-glad you could enjoy the cabin and lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pretty close to perfect

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was comfortable and sparkling clean, remote but easy to get to. The lake was beautiful, with eagles and loons--noisy wonderful loons--and fish and gulls and ducks. We were lucky in that nobody else was around for almost the entire week, even though there are other cabins along the same road. The screen porch has a big table for eating, and a wonderful hammock for relaxing. Inside are big windows that look out on the lake, TWO bathrooms, a funny little sleeping loft that is probably for children but where I slept anyway, a couple of nights, because from the window I could hear the loons and owls. It's true that there was no gas grill (as advertised) and the wood stove had a note: DO NOT USE (without explaining why), but there was a charcoal grill, and a fire pit, and lots of firewood stacked under the porch, so the gas grill and the wood stove were not big losses. (But maybe the property description should be updated.)

We went hiking every day, and fished off the dock, and took the kayak out, and went into Grand Marais on the rainy day, and I just can't say enough good things about staying here. We have been staying at rental cabins up the Shore once and sometimes twice a year for 20 years. This one is one of the best.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

A beautiful retreat!

  • 4 of 5

We honeymooned at Bella Lago and had a wonderful time at this cabin on the lake! The setting was incredibly beautiful and relaxing, the one suggestion we would make is that the managers give a little more attention to detail.

What we loved:

-The cabin really does feel secluded, nestled back in the woods

(there is another cabin pretty close to this one that you don't see in the photos, but no one was there when we were there)

-We loved the screened porch, great for eating and enjoying the fresh air!

-Wonderful recreation and dining opportunities in the area, you must check out World's Best Doughnuts and Sven and Ole's in Grand Marais!

-Caught a 21" Smallmouth in the Lake!

What We Didn't Particularly Love:

-There was not extra toilet paper in the cabin so we had to buy some (I called the managing company about this, expecting them to refund our purchase, but they did not offer to do that which seemed a little strange)

-The cabin is actually someone's vacation home? This is not included in the description of it, and it seemed a little strange the first day like a family was just going to walk in (Example: a bra was hanging up on a bathroom hook, personal toiletries like toothbrushes and razors were out, the dresser in one of the bedrooms is off limits because of their items inside)

-The gas grill wouldn't ignite

-The electricity going out is a normal occurrence (as stated by the managing company when I called them when we lost power)

-Roads were kinda crazy back there, we tried to take a different route one day and nearly got our car stuck. Stick to the main route to get there and you should be fine

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would definitely return! Our advice to the owners would be to keep up on your attention to detail, and people will continue to love their stays at this beautiful spot!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
20 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Duluth International
Nearest Barpub
20 Miles
Moguls
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Superior National
Nearest Motorway
18 Miles
Caribou Trail and Hwy 61
Nearest Restaurant
20 Miles
Lutsen Resort
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Car: necessary

Private log home in a wilderness setting which feels very remote yet you are 30 minutes from Lutsen. Pike Lake is a large body of water with excellent fishing. The log home is comfortable and very accomodating with a library of movies, games and books for your enjoyment. You have access to two kayaks, a fishing boat (you provide the motor) and a canoe for water adventures and there's a outdoor firepit for telling campfire stories and roasting marshmallows.

Other Activities: Hiking and snowmobile trails within a mile.

Golf: Superior National Championship Golf Course is an experience for the avid golfer. This course has 27 holes and offers spectacular scenery as well as a great golfing experience.

Skiing: Lutsen Mouuntain is located in Lutsen about 30 minutes from the cabin and this is a true mountain experience within easy driving distance of the Twin Cities. If you're a cross country skier, there is skiing on the lake in front of the cabin and another 200 kilometers of groomed ski trails nearby.

Shopping & Dining: Grand Marais is a great destination for shopping and dining. Excellent restaurants (some are seasonal), a new brew pub, world famous doughnuts, arts & crafts, outdoor apparel, books and groceries. Plan to spend time in Grand Marais.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lutsen Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
May 1 2016 - Oct 29 2016
6 night minimum stay
$217
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$217
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 8.88%

Summer rate of $1300/week for 2 adults (includes up to 2 young children). Additional guests over 5 years old are $25/night. Pets welcome with a $50/pet fee.

Check-in on Sunday afternoons after 4p, checkout on Saturday mornings before 12p/noon.

We ask that guests do some cleaning prior to departure. Please take garbage with you when you depart as we do not have waste collection service.

Maps, instructions and a checklist will be provided to guests prior to their arrival.

Pet fee of $50/pet per stay. Pets are to be kept under control. Clean-up required and never leave your pet in the cabin alone.

No glass at the lakeshore or in the fire pit. Please do not burn plastic, paper, bottles, cans or trash in the fire pit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lutsen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Rumpus Room
  • Study Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , main floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , lower level
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Two bedrooms with queen beds. A futon in the living room. Two twin beds in the loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Two kayaks, a fishing boat (you provide the motor), and a canoe are on-site. Tenants are responsible for their own safety. Guests are to leave equipment ready for the next guests.

Partner Offers