Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Our Little Cabin on Soo Lake (Lac Sault Dore)

Bedrooms 3
Space 720 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Our Little Cabin on Soo Lake (Lac Sault Dore) is a on a private one and a half acre wooded lot with all the amenities you need for your vacation! The cabin's interior is warm and inviting and fully furnished! Your own dock, outdoor fire-ring, deck and beautiful sunsets wait for your arrival! A public boat landing is just a few minutes away! Soo Lake offers a 560 acre fishing/recreational waterway with three restaurant/bars available by boat/snowmobile or car. There is abundant wildlife including many songbirds, eagles and other waterfowl for your viewing enjoyment! Fish varieties include walleye, small and large mouth bass, northern pike, panfish and a class A muskeye population.

You'll be just minutes away from trails and thousands of acres of federal, state and county protected forestry land accessible by foot, bike, ATV, cross-country ski's, snowmobiles or your vehicle. Your ENTIRE family is welcome including pets with responsible owners!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Ann or Jerry Gisvold
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2017


Phillips Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk beds with double on bottom & single on top
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk beds with double on bottom & single on top
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen Bed (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Our Little Cabin on Soo Lake (Lac Sault Dore)
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews

Glorious Getaway for Labor Day weekend

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I arrived late Friday evening at Jerry & Ann's place. We were then personally guided by Jerry driving ahead of us through the unfamiliar darkness on the short but curvy road to the cottage.

The cabin is remarkably clean, with a mid-twentieth century rustic feel but well updated and appointed. The view of the lake and the property's water frontage present a relaxing atmosphere, as does the wooded lot and the neighbors' timber on either side of the yard, creating welcome privacy and quiet.

A complete up-north accommodation, just pack your bags and a few groceries, and enjoy Soo Lake like we did. We can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful 2 night stay!

  • 5 of 5

This relaxing cabin on Soo Lake was everything described! Very secluded - no neighbors. No cell phone or internet made it a very restful and worry free stay. Jerry checked in in quick and showed us everything. We had a fire every night, used the paddle boat as well as the Jon boat to fish and explore. We caught Crappies , Bass, Blue Gill, and Perch. Mainly we got a tan and read the afternoons away. Did a round of golf at Westview Country Club close by - very pretty and reasonable course. Had a good fish dinner at the Harbor View restaurant. Ann joined Jerry to check us out and both are wonderful, friendly people. All and all a very romantic get away - just what my wife and I wanted. Hope to get up there again when our busy schedules allow. Thanks for a GREAT time.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My experience is similar to a recent review posted. My boyfriend and I realized we both had gaps in our schedules and started looking last minute for a place to stay for a whole week. Most places only accommodate to a Saturday-saturday booking schedule, but Ann and Jerry are flexible. We ended up staying Thursday-Wednesday which was exactly what fit our crazy work schedules. We were too worried about how the area/cabin/lake would be on shorter notice, but upon arrival it was absolutely perfect. Jerry gave us the short tour of the place and pointed out everything we could possibly need. All you need to pack is your belongings for the week and food. They have ANYTHING else you could possibly want or need for your stay. Within minutes of being there I knew we would love it. The area is beautiful, and the cabin is tucked nicely back in the woods with the neighbors out of site. The dock has a beautiful view of the lake which is PERFECT for sunsets since it faces west. We brought our puppy who made himself at home and LOVED being able to run around and explore. We like being secluded so the distance from town is perfect. Its far enough that you want to get your groceries and whatever you need in one trip if you can, but close enough that if you find yourself needing to go back for something, it's not a hassle. We made the close trip to Park Falls to St. Croix Rod, which was great. The main focus of our trip was to get some fishing done. We fished Soo Lake, and it didn't take long to take the boat to surrounding lakes which are all so beautiful as well. We met a few locals in the area who knew Jerry and Ann and everything was extremely welcoming and polite. We are already looking to book next summer and I can't wait. I've already told family and friends about this cabin and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Milwaukee, WI

Exactly what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I decided to take a little impromptu vacation at the end of June and, being that it was rather such short notice, were worried we wouldn't be able to find much. We were thrilled when we got a response from Ann and Jerry within a day! We were even more pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the cabin. It's the absolute perfect combination of comfort and the outdoors. Even having the power knocked out (very temporarily) by a tenacious storm didn't take away any of the charm and coziness of the property, and there was plenty to do indoors until the rain subsided. They were very welcoming of our small dog, Moxi, and made sure we had absolutely everything we might need. We spent our vacation fishing off the private dock, taking out the paddle boat, relaxing next to the fire pit, and exploring the area. We both highly recommend not only the cabin, but also Ann and Jerry. It is a fantastic place owned by fantastic people, we will most definitely be trying to book a stay again next summer.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
West Liberty, Iowa


  • 5 of 5

Our family of four, two adults and two girls (ages 7 and 5) stayed 4 nights at the end of July-2nds of August. This cabin had everything we needed and gave us everything we were looking for during our stay. The cabin itself is older and definately has a "cabin" feel. It is not flashy and is not modern, but it was PERFECT for us. The cabin sits on a nice big lot with woods on both sides, so you cannot see the neighbors and really dont know they exist unless you are on the dock. Has a nice big back yard with a hammock and swing that our kids loved to lay and play on. Outdoor shed has just about anything you need in it; life jackets, grills, fishing nets. There is also a paddle boat and row boat to use. We had hours of fun getting out on the two boats and paddling around the lake. Little water traffic and very quiet (we were there during the week though). Endless catching of bluegills and perch right off the dock. They werent the biggest fish but our kids just LOVED having the chance to catch something. We caught enough big blue gills that we fried them up for dinner one night...yum! Much of our time was spent just relaxing on the dock or in the back yard. The kids loved swimming right off the dock. The water was clean but did have grassy spots and does have a red tint to it. We had NO cell service the whole time but we were in need of some isolation so that worked perfect for us. The owner Jerry even offered for us to use his land-line any time we wanted if we needed it. Definately wished we had a power boat of some kind. We will keep that in mind for future use. It is about 15 minutes from Phillips (definately no longer) which offers some little shops, restaurants, several parks, and some other sight seeing. Its not a huge bustling town, but it suited our needs. I did some research and knew it was perfect for us. Working with Jerry was VERY easy and he was a very nice guy. Their house was just down the road and he repeatedly said during check in to stop over if we needed anything. Again, my kids are 7 and 5 and it was perfect but they did have some of their own toys and play well anywhere. If your kids are older (12-17) I could see them maybe getting a little bored. Again, there is no cell or internet service. But if you want relaxation and R&R then this is the place. Thanks again Jerry!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
West Salem WI

Cabin was Ok

  • 2 of 5

The cabin was roomy and we enjoyed having a full size kitchen. The outside was nice with the fire pit and the boat. It was nice the shed had life jackets and grill to use.

Unfortunately we did not care for the furniture in the cabin not comfortable. No cell service or internet was fine for a day or two but then it became a bother. The description said the cabin was child friendly but we did not find that, if you don't fish every single day there is not much for them to do. The cabin is a good 20 minutes from town and we did not find much to do in Phillips. The worst part of our vacation came at the end my husband did the walk through and Jerry said everything looked great. We get home and I receive a phone call telling me my childeren damaged the property. I was told my childern put dart holes in the bathroom and broke the table and we lied about it and tried to hide it. After a long week that was not a phone call I need when I tried to explain we did not do those things I was told childern lie and hide things.

We would not recommend this property to people with childern, you may find yourself paying for damages that you did not cause.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We found this review very unfortunate and disconcerting. We have a Journal Book for all renters to make comments in that did not include any of the negative comments stated in this review. As property owners, we cannot control weather conditions during a family's vacation. The necessity to stay inside & play one or more of the many games, videos, DVD's or DirecTV television programming provided would hopefully be adequate. It was clear from this review & that posted in our journal that "darts" was the main game. This is what caused damages to our walls and we have subsequently removed the game from the cabin. That Phillips was 20 minutes away & also did not provide for family entertainment is again out of our control. We advise families to do a little research into the area they plan to visit to prevent this kind of disappointment. The cursory inspection of the cabin done at Check Out did not include looking inside cabinets nor closely inspecting walls. During cleaning, the broken table part was found in the kitchen sink cabinet and dart holes were discovered in the walls. We would like to think that our renters would tell us if something has occurred rather than discover it later. We ask our renters at Check In to respect the property and follow its rules and guidelines. If this is not done, it makes it more difficult for us to keep the cabin nice for the next occupants. Considering the 10+ years we have been welcoming visitors to our cabin, many including children, and the very positive reviews we have received from them, we must believe that these renters just were not in a place best suited for their family. We regret that they felt the need to submit this negative review. We felt it was necessary to respond and give future renters the opportunity to see both sides of the story.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0



Rates & Availability

Phillips Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.5%

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Maximum 6 occupants allowed. Check in time is 3 PM or later and Check out time is 11 AM or earlier.

Checks for deposits by US mail and cash or check for rent, rent payable at check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties