check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gwen Harpster

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful, Sunny & Spacious Ski In, Ski Out Mountain Home-jacuzzi/pool available

22 Reviews
Sleeps19
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Trails at Navajo Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 6 Bedrooms, 4.25 Baths, (Sleeps 17+)

Get away from all the hustle and bustle. Come sit by a cozy fire while drinking a cup of hot chocolate. Bring friends and family on a fun vacation up to Brian Head, UT located in the heart of Southern Utah's most beautiful landscapes. Great for hiking, biking, fishing, photography, 4-wheeling, skiing, snowboarding, inner tubing etc. Come and experience one of the most memorable vacations.

Our beautiful, sunny and spacious cabin is located in paved neighborhood of Trails at Navajo. It is nestled in the trees on the Navajo slopes with ski-in ski-out accommodations. We have all the modern amenities that you enjoy at home including a well stocked kitchen, stainless steel appliances, a large sunlit family room, extra-long dining table for all your family and friends and a bonus basement with large flat screen TV with a large selections of movies.

Accommodations:

Our home is a 6 bedroom, 4 ¼ bath home with beds for 17 not including 2 queen inflatables and a port-a-crib. We have plenty of sheets, blankets, pillows and towels so no need to fill your cars with these. We also provide shampoo, conditioner, bar soap, soft soap, dishwasher soap etc.

Winter:

We recommend that you take advantage of the wonderful ski and snowboard instruction available at Brian Head especially the kids camp at the Navajo Resort. It is inexpensive and fun. The resort offers both group and private snowboard or skiing instructions. They also offer lift ticket and lesson packages. Go to Brian Head.com to make reservations ahead of time especially during the holidays. Please be aware there are 2 ski resorts connected by a bridge. Giant steps resort has the more advanced skiing. There are also 2 inner tube parks.

Unless you are purchasing a package, we prefer Georg's for equipment rental. They have it all including skis, snowboards, snowshoes, cross country equipment and winter clothing. Ask for the Harpster discount.

Spring/Summer/Fall:

The resort offers biking, hiking, 4 wheeling and fishing tours. On summer weekends in town there are several activities for the kids including alpine slide, zip line, climbing wall and bungee trampoline to name a few. There is also the new lake including a playground, basketball court, pickle ball court, picnic benches and fire pits. A short distance away is Cedar Breaks, Navajo Lake, Panguitch Lake and Bryce Canyon. We also enjoy the Shakespeare Festival in Cedar City in the Summer and Fall. They offer a variety of professional plays and even have baby sitting available. Go to Bard.org for information.

NEW: You will also have access to the Grand Lodges pool and jacuzzis as guests of our home during your stay. Please take the provided guest pass. Towels are provided by the hotel. Fun for either summer or winter.

We recommend that you drink LOTS of water on the way up. Sports drinks offering electrolytes are even better. The elevation of our home is 9,800 ft. The base at Giant Steps is 10,000 ft.

Food services are limited at Brian Head. Cedar City has a Smiths, Walmart and Lins for groceries. Parowan has a smaller store called Food Town. Please note it closes at 9:00 pm. There are also two small markets in Brian Head. They are a little pricey but great for forgotten items.

Most importantly…. Relax, enjoy, have fun and make yourself at home.........

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Gwen Harpster (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Gwen Harpster

We both love to ski, snowshoe, atv and hike so Brian Head was the perfect choice for us. Utah is a great escape from the crowds in CA. Living at the beach in California has spoiled us with cool summer weather. We also find cool temperatures in Brian Head in the summer. It's always a debate whether we like summer or winter better in Brian Head. Summer is great but it's hard to beat fresh powder and a sunny day with friends and family. We currently have 6 grandkids ages 0-6 who love coming up the mountain to ski, tube, swim and of course play with Grandpa and Grandma.

Gwen Harpster purchased this cabin in 2001

Why Gwen Harpster chose Brian Head

We have been coming to Brian Head for more than 25 years. It is such a great, affordable family place in summer as well as winter. Since we enjoyed it so much, we decided to buy our own home. We instantly loved this house as soon as we walked in the front door. Just like our ad says, It is bright, sunny and spacious. We really appreciate the views from every window. Also, the layout was perfect for our family and friends. Plenty of room to be together or to spread out.

What makes this cabin unique

We love the fact that our home is in a paved neighborhood with city water and sewage. It can get really muddy reaching some of the properties in Brian Head. We also have access to the Grand Lodge pool, jacuzzis and work out room. As our guest, you will also have access.

Reviews

4.9
based on 22 traveler reviews

Beautiful, Sunny & Spacious Ski In, Ski Out Mountain Home-jacuzzi/pool available
average rating of 4.909091 based on 22 reviews
5

Perfect Ski House for Our Group

  • 5 of 5

We had a great vacation. We were 3 families including 8 children ages 4-12 on Spring Break ski trip. The house layout includes two comfortable gathering areas to enjoy time together and large bedrooms for quiet time if needed. The kids really enjoyed the down stairs area with 2 bedrooms, rec room with comfy seating, television and a large selection of movies. The large dining room table allowed us to enjoy meals together. The house is fully equipped with everything you need. There were no surprises, everything was exactly as it says in the description.

Due to late season conditions, we could not ski right up to the house, but it was only a short walk to the house. Brian Head is a great ski area. We all had so much fun.

No major food stores near by, so bring what you need. However, there is a country market a short distance from the house that has most anything that you may forget or decide you need at the last minute. The Grand Lodge, just down the street, has a restaurant and nice lounge/bar area upstairs.

I highly recommend this home. We will be back next year and will stay here again. We really enjoyed the responsiveness of the owners. Easy to communicate with; nice people. Can't wait until next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great ski house

  • 5 of 5

Three families 6 kids plenty of room. Loved the fact the kids were downstairs and with the door shut couldn't hear them. Nice new big flat screen to watch the superbowl. TV/cable went out but Gwen was available to walk thru fixing it (just in time for the big game)

So much snow it was awesome sledding ....a little challenging to ski in ski out but it's absolutely possible.

Will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for helping us re-program the channels. The cable company had just done an upgrade. Glad we made it happen in plenty of time for the Super Bowl. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5

This review is long over due since we traveled to Brian Head back in August of 2015, but my family had such a wonderful time staying at the house that it deserves to be reviewed again! First off, Gwen, the owner, was AMAZING to work with. We had a mix up with trying to reserve the home, but she was so patient and understanding and just worked with us in holding the house for the week we wanted. We just really appreciated how helpful and kind she was to us. We had a big family going up to Brian Head and the house was the perfect size for all of us! It was super clean upon arrival. The really nice thing about the house besides the spacious bedrooms, cozy decor, super functional kitchen, and amazing view, is that the dining room table was big enough for every single family member to sit around it each night for dinner! It made for such special family dinner times during our stay. The house had enough bathrooms that we were all comfortable and enough beds for everyone......there were 12 of us. The kids loved the downstairs area to play games and hang out in. My sister and I loved being able to go home with clean laundry with the washer and dryer in the house too!

Gwen is totally right about making sure to stock up on supplies before coming up to the house as it took my husband a while to get a few more missed supplies once we were already at the house. Also, Gwen is correct about being aware of altitude sickness and staying hydrated well before making your way up the mountain, as the house is at a pretty high altitude.

We thank Gwen and her husband for opening their beautiful home to us and allowing us to really enjoy our stay in Brian Head!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Aubrey for your kind review. So glad that you and your family enjoyed our home as much as we do. We also stock up on food before coming up the mountain even though there are two small grocery stores in Brian Head. However, they are handy for an occasional forgotten item and of course ice cream! Hope you visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mesa, AZ
5

Two big families

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this mountainside cabin. This is our second time staying here and it works great for our group. It has so much space for everyone. The cabin is stocked with everything you will need besides food. Just come and enjoy!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Welcome Back. Happy to know that you had a great time on your vacation to Brian Head and that the house works so well for your group. Thank you, Gwen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Jan 2015

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin with room for all, had great weather and skiing was wonderful. The cabin is set back from the trail so be ready to walk to get home. Easy to ski out down to Navajo lift to get started. Cabin was well stocked with the items you will need during your stay. We spent the week and had no issues, Gwen was easy to get a hold of if needed before, during and after our stay. Look forward to next year.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed the cabin and had a great time. Sorry you were not able to find the return ski trail. It is the same trail you went out on right next to the house. We have a map in the house booklet or please feel free to give us a call next time and we would be happy to assist you. Until you're familiar with it, it is easy to miss some turns.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mesa, AZ
5

NEW YEARS SKI TRIP

  • 5 of 5

We could not have been happier with our stay at this beautiful cabin. We had two families of 6 and 7 and had plenty of room. The two master suites upstairs were great for the adult couples and the basement was perfect for the kids. There was great access to the mountain and we had such a wonderful time. Thank you

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nothing makes us happier than to know that you were happy with your accommodations. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Cedar City
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Grand Lodge
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 143
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Grand Lodge and Cedar Breaks Lodge
Nearest Ski
Brian Head Ski Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Trails at Navajo

Other Activities: kayaking, mountain biking, atvs, horses etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Trails at Navajo Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$325
$2,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,300
 
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
6 night minimum stay
$625
$4,200
 
 
MLK
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$525
$3,300
 
 
Pres Day 2016
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$600
$3,875
 
 
Spring
Apr 17 2017 - Jun 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$325
$2,100
 
 
Summer
Jun 2 2017 - Jul 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$325
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$2,150
 
 
Pioneer Day
Jul 24 2017 - Jul 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$475
From
$525
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning $250
Tax Rate 14.7%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Trails at Navajo Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • River ...
  • Ski in/Ski out
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jacuzzi Tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2 separate sink areas
  • 4 1/4 bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , attached bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Master bedroom with on suite bathroom (daybed w/ xl twin)
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom with on suite bathroom, jacuzzi tub
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Set of bunk beds and 2 twins, port a crib available
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , attached bathroom
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , 2 roll--away beds, 2 queen inflatables also available
  • Queen size Beds (4), Twin including bunk bed (5), Daybed (1 xl twin, 1 reg twin), Baby Cribs (1) available upon request, Twin size roll aways beds (2) , Inflatable queen mattresses (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties