check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Andrew Paxton

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Modern Luxury 2 Beds & 2 Baths Apartment with Elevator & FREE GARAGE PARKING

110 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Edinburgh Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Beds, 2 Baths, garage parking, central

Our modern 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment is furnished and decorated to a high standard and will make a very comfortable base for your visit. Located in Tollcross, just on the edge of the Old Town and easy walking distance of the centre, this is an ideal place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.

The apartment is just off Lothian Road where you will find a wide selection of cafes, bars, restaurants, pubs and bistros – something for everyone. A choice of grocery stores, local shops (including a traditional butchers), wine store and French Delicatessen are just around the corner. This is also an ideal location for anyone with business in the city’s financial district, visiting the Edinburgh International Conference Centre or visiting Edinburgh University.

The lounge/dining room/kitchen area is bright and with wood floors. Their is comfortable sofa seating for 4. The dining area has a table and chairs for 4 and is adjacent to the fully equipped kitchen. The kitchen has a gas range, oven, fridge, freezer, dishwasher and washer - all that you will need to make life easy while on vacation.

Bedroom 1 has an en-suite bathroom with a shower over the bath tub. The bathroom is fully tiled and has a heated towel rail and shaver point and comes with luxury towels. The bed is a double size with luxury linens. Built in closets provide ample storage for all your belongings. This room overlooks the garden courtyard behind the property and has a small balcony.

Bedroom 2 has a King bed (US Queen) with luxury linens and also overlooks the garden courtyard. A fully tiled Shower Room is accessed off the hallway. Again with a heated towel rail, shaver point and comes with luxury towels.

There is an allocated underground parking space, which in Edinburgh is a huge bonus. Access to the Western Approach Road for an easy way in/out of Edinburgh is just off Lothian Road and allows you to be at the airport in less than ½ hour.

Access to the local bus system is just round the corner from the apartment. This is a wonderful way of getting around Edinburgh - you would expect a bus to Princes Street within 5 minutes (there is even an iPhone App to give the real time position of the buses!). Haymarket train station is a 15 minute walk or a very short 5 minute taxi ride away. Waverley Station is a 25 minute walk or 8 minutes by taxi. Edinburgh airport is less than 7 miles from the apartment.

Please use the Owner's Website link below to visit our website and get more information than we can share here.

Included in our rental cost:

* Edinburgh information/support before you even leave for your vacation – basic local information (tailored to your needs) can be shared by e-mail prior to your arrival.

* Fine bed linen, luxury towels, all utilities (no added costs!), WiFi and broadband.

* Free telephone calls to landlines in over 30 countries (includes Canada and USA).

* A welcome pack including tea, coffee and milk.

* Up-to-date Tourist Information, a selection of books/Edinburgh guidebooks & maps, binoculars, umbrella and many other thoughtful extras will await you in the apartment.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Andrew Paxton (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Andrew Paxton

Margaret & I met while students in Edinburgh over 30 years ago. We have always said we will return here one day after living and working in the South of England, Belgium and most recently in Virginia, USA. We bought this our first flat in 2010 as the first step in realizing our dream. We want others share to our place and fall in love with Scotland and Edinburgh.

Andrew Paxton purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Andrew Paxton chose Edinburgh

We bought this apartment after months of watching the Edinburgh market. We loved the proximity to the city and the fact that it is modern so everything works and is efficient. Having an allocated parking space and elevator is a real bonus.

What makes this apartment unique

We aim to provide the best Scottish Hospitality Edinburgh can offer and want it to be a home from home (although we know it is much smaller than American standards). It will have everything you need to make your stay very comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We were met by the manager of the property who was very friendly and welcoming. The property is very clean, well presented and a true reflection of the photos. It is also very well located within the city making it easy to walk anywhere. We really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 20

Reviews

4.9
based on 110 traveler reviews

Modern Luxury 2 Beds & 2 Baths Apartment with Elevator & FREE GARAGE PARKING
average rating of 4.8818183 based on 130 reviews
5

Great flat, great location!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 4 found the accommodations more than comfortable. The apartment was very well appointed, clean and well kept. The location is fantastic! We were in the city looking at the University for my daughter and we hope to stay at Tollcross again in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Location, well appointed and cleanliness are so important when looking at accommodation. A recommendation and a plan to stay again in the future is what we hope to achieve with every guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay in Tollcross, Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Andrew. The flat was absolutely perfect. We were visiting our daughter who is studying at The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Medicine. This flat was perfectly located both to visit with her and enjoy Edinburgh. We took full advantage of the central location to use the convenient Edinburgh metro and bus system to its fullest advantage. We purchased Ridacards for the full week while we were in Edinburgh and used the unlimited availability of the comprehensive bus system and Aeroporter. The flat was a nice size for 4 adults. The beds were comfortable; the bathrooms clean and well stocked. Thank you for having hair dryers and extra converters. We will definitely book this flat again for our future visits to Edinburgh. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The location is perfect for visiting Edinburgh either as a tourist or for the University. The bus network in Edinburgh is great and a weekly pass of unlimited travel is a good way to get around and explore the whole city. A returning guest is the best endorsement.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Could have been better

  • 2 of 5

I've attached the emails between the VRBO contact and us during our stay. Overall, a two star rating.

Tuesday May 10 2016

VRBO Renter: (The missing 2nd hair dryer, a replacement functioning ironing board and handwash were promptly dropped off at the apartment). We highly recommend that the Owner, Property Manager or Housekeeper utilize an onsite checklist for each VRBO rental unit listing all items that should be in the unit, and their verification after each rental that all items are accounted for and in good working order.

We're heading off today - a few more items for you - when we cleaned out the coffee maker, there was a torn paper filter in it which we did throw out. My recollection of similar coffee makers over the years is that they came with a fine mesh reusable filter liner - there is not one for the Tollcross coffee maker..we chose to drink instant coffee while here instead.

I've left the clothes rack in the kitchen for your attention. Like the original ironing board, we never could figure out how to put it up (I suspect a piece or pieces are missing) however we were able to secure it and make it operational with a shoe lace.

On a positive note, we appreciated the foodstuffs that were left and your quick response to the earlier deficiencies. We've also left a few slices of bread and a container of milk in the fridge for you or the next tenant. Overall, we enjoyed the apartment. Hopefully many fewer glitches going forward!

Saturday May 7 2016

VRBO Renter: We will use the hand soap in the smaller bathroom while we're here - you may want to replace with handwash for the next renter. Insofar as the 2nd hairdryer is concerned, we cannot locate it after an intensive search...and perhaps you can show us the magic trick with the ironing board, but we're unable to raise it to a locked position.

Saturday May 7 2016

Reply: Great news about the water situation.

On the coffee machine, I'm so sorry about that, I will raise this with them. Not something that has happened before, sincere apologies.

If the hair dryer is not in the master it will be in bedside drawers in the room you are in. If not there please let me know and I can drop one off for you.

The ironing board should just pull up and click into place as normal. Again if you let me know if this is still an issue.

Unfortunately shower/ bath gel is not provided but there should have been hand wash in each bathroom. I can make a suggestion to Andrew to provide th

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I acknowledge that we were not aware about the missing hairdryer and broken ironing board, but these were replaced immediately we were alerted. The problems with the coffee maker and clothes airer were not advised until after the guests left - both were immediately replaced. We have noted the need to check equipment on a more regular basis. I am glad that the guest appreciated the welcome basket and the prompt response to problems; overall they enjoyed the apartment. I am struggling to understand why the overall stay would therefore justify a 2 star rating.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Edinburgh Scotland, Vacation. April 2016

  • 5 of 5

We traveled to Edinburgh by train with our friends and stayed at the apartment for five nights. We were met at the apartment by the owner (who just happened to be staying in the building also) and his property manager Karen. We were pleasantly surprised at the central location of the apartment as it was in easy walking distance of all we wanted to see. The apartment itself was very clean, bright, spacious, well equipped, had good security, an elevator for easy transport of luggage and easily accommodated the four of us very comfortably. The manager had provisions in the fridge and cupboards and spent time with us, educating us on how the amenities worked. We would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it to prospective travelers. If we were to rate it, we would definitely give it a five star rating. The manager was always available for questions on restaurants, local attractions and general information. Many thanks to Andrew and Karen for a wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The central location is a key feature of the apartment as it is within walking distance of the main tourist attractions. We aim to keep the apartment to a high standard and it seems like we achieved this. We give all our guests a small welcome basket so that they are not hunting for some basic items on arrival. We find having a personal check-in is helpful to explain how things work and answer any initial guest questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dover, DE
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay. Location, location, location! Andrew and Karen were super. You can not not do better in Edinburgh!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review says it all. We believe apartment location is critical to any city break. We offer high quality accommodation with best possible service.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location to enjoy Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is perfectly located just away from the tourist strip (still walking distance) but easily accessible to lest touristy restaurants and supermarkets. Every need has been thoughtfully catered for by the owners. From the fully equipped kitchen, the continuous hot water (a must with teenage daughters) the appropriate selection of DVDs and board games, the tourist information and tips though to the tool box (great as we needed to fix a suitcase wheel!). Karen greeted us like friends and made us feel so welcome. We loved it!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pleased that the location lived up to our description and that the apartment had everything needed to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Karen (our local property manager) tries to meet the needs of every guest from check in to departure.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Bennet's Bar
Nearest Ferry
66 Miles
Ardrossan to Arran
Nearest Golf
17 Miles
Muirfield (Not nearest, home to British Open 2013)
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Haymarket
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
M8 (Interstate) - access to all of Scotland
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many within 0.5 miles
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Midlothian Snowsports Centre
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Portobello Beach
Car: not necessary

Our apartment is within easy walking distance of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street and the Royal Mile where you will find most of the major attractions. It provides a quiet place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas. The location is a good base for day trips to Glasgow, St Andrews, Stirling and the Borders. Visit one of 12 Edinburgh Festivals - Fringe, International, Books, Film, Art, Jazz and Blues to name just a few. Easy access to the local bus system and taxis if you don't want to walk. Just 25 minutes from the airport by car or taxi.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tollcross Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July
Jul 1 2016 - Jul 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$197
$1,050
 
 
Festival
Aug 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$328
$1,970
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$197
$1,050
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,182
 
 
Hogmanay
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$361
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$131
From
$158
Fri,Sat
$919
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $263

Price includes final cleaning, linens, towels, all taxes/fees. Free local, national and international calls (30 countries inc US cell and landlines), WiFi, parking in allocated space in underground garage also included.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Edinburgh Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Secure Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , En-suite to master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Soft towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , (UK King)
  • Luxury Linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Courtyard
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
An elevator and a free parking space are not widely available in Edinburgh and are appreciated by many of our guests.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties