Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Starfish Cottage LakeHouse

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

absolute waterfront, sleeps 11, 2 livings areas, games room, own jetty huge lawn

Amazing waterfront, sunsets, yard, private jetty. Sail, cruise, swim, fish or relax.

Starfish Cottage is perfect for family, or couples getaways. Available after friends said it's too beautiful not to let others enjoy it...Starfish Cottage is less than an hour north on the freeway. Swim, sail, waterski, moor your boat at the private jetty, fish, toast the stunning setsets, swing in the hammock, lounge on the newly refurbished large deck, or rest in the shade of the cabana while the lake shimmers in front of you.

The hardest decision will be shall we ski,sail or paddle now or what book or newspaper to read next... and has that bottle chilled long the small kids splash in the shallow shores and the big kids use all the water toys (Free use of 2 kayaks, a surf ski or dinghy) dive off the jetty, sail if they're boaties or amuse themselves with the pool or air hockey table, play play-station or watch TV in the separate downstairs games room, ride the tree to tree flying fox, or play cricket or footy on the truly massive waterfront lawn. Water-skiers and sailors will particularly appreciate being able to come right into the sandy beach or pull up at the jetty for disembarking.

Plenty of sunlounges and chairs to star gaze at night and watch the spectacular shooting stars whilst listening to the clinking masts of the moored boats and watching for possums and hooting owls. Lots of books, board games and DVD's to wile away the hours.

Summerland Point fronting Frying Pan Bay has the best aspect of Lake Macquarie and Starfish Cottage is in the best street on the Coast with the longest block.

Beds include the queen bed, double bed, double and single beds, two double sofa beds that provide sleeping accommodation for 11 people.

Facilities include

2 toilets/showers,( 1 up/1 down) 1 bath,

2 living areas,(1 up/1 down)

3 bedrooms - Bedroom 1 with 1 queen bed,( with full waterviews) Bedroom 2 with 1 double ( with waterviews) and Bedroom 3 with 1 double bed/single bunk above bed.

2 separate sofa beds,(downstairs games and lounge room)

2 BBQ's, ( one upstairs deck, one downstairs for outside)

2 TV's,

extensive DVD and CD collection and library, board games, separate games room,

Tree tyre swing and tree to tree flying fox that kids love,

2 large fridges ( 1 up and 1 down) and upstairs deck dining or downstairs outside dining facilities.

A washing machine and dryer mean all those towels and swimsuits can be easily refreshed for the next day.

Fans and the lake breeze provide excellent cooling in warmer months while Winter on the water is truly ambiant with lovely gas heaters making Lake watching,book reading and game afternoons an absolute delight.

Charmingly freshly decorated in a starfish/beach/nautical theme on the magnificent largest salt water lake in the Southern hemisphere and providing plenty of places to explore in your boat - Starfish Cottage will seem like a million miles away from your normal life - but close enough to have friends up for lunch, duck over to the Hunter Valley to the Vineyards, make the short drive to the beautiful beaches of Catherine Hill Bay or Caves Beach, dive down to the Entrance, Terrigal or Avoca for something different or meander to the local Summerland Point or Gwandalan Italian or Thai restaurants. If staying casual and living the great Aussie dream of cooking on the BBQ for breakfast, lunch and dinner sounds like heaven, then there's always fresh supplies from the supermarket a quick stroll around the waterfront.

The local liquor shop, newsagency, petrol station, hot bread shop, hot seafood and good old fashioned Aussie hamburger ( with beetroot if you fancy it) and chips ensure your time at Starfish Cottage is going to be going to be congratulating yourself on taking time to stop and smell the roses and appreciate how beautiful life in Sydney is.

If you are feeling energetic or simply had enough of your motorised watersports you can always walk the beautiful lakeside walk, paddle across the bay to the park or grab your bike and follow the trails to Gwandalan or around to the local cordoned off swimming area at the picturesque Sandy Beach.

Mums and dads, small children, teenagers, inlaws, state and international visitors will all love Starfish Cottage - a fantastic taste of Australian waterfront living be planning when you can come back as soon as you arrive.

Location and Attractions

Waterfront literally in your huge front yard..Local parks playgrounds and bushland just a short a quick drive

Only a drive away.....

Fraser Park Beach (7min)

Catherine Hill Bay Beach (7min)

Caves Beach (10 min)

The Vineyards at the Hunter Valley (40 min)

The Entrance (25 min)

Terrigal/Avoca (30 min)

Tuggerah ( 20 min)

Newcastle (25 min)

Raffertys Resort and Restaurant (10 min)

Like us on Facebook at

More Details

Leisa oconnor
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018


Summerland Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Starfish Cottage LakeHouse
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 36 reviews
Ruse, New South Wales, Australia

Great location i

  • 3 of 5

We have a boat so could tie up to jetty and leave it there. Grounds perfect for kids. House needs updating. I know the rate is low so wasn’t expecting too much but not having screens on windows and doors is not acceptable. Had to close up of a night so insects didn’t come in so was very hot and stuffy. Should have safety screens on windows so you can leave them open. Only one window had a screen and that was the kitchen and you couldn’t open it. BBQ wouldn’t ignite. Fan would work in one bedroom.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Helen after so many years of such great reviews so incredibly sad to hear that you were upset about your stay especially since neighbours said that with your boat and all your guests you seemed to be having such a great time despite the wet and cool weather over the weekend. I'm so sorry it wasn't what you were expecting. I will check the photos on the website straight away as I am concerned if the pictures of the décor etc looked different when you arrived as I have recently updated them after the new deck, new bathroom, and new exterior painting etc was all completed, so I will check what you might have been looking at. Just wondering if you had been looking at the pictures of the other brand new houses that rent locally you know the prices significantly reflect that they are brand new builds which is why I think so many people say they've loved Starfish since its great value for lovely place in a terrific location at a fraction of the cost of many others. Re your comments 1. The new bedrooms fans all operated by the remote controls that are on the bedside tables. ( The cleaner checked they were operational last week since I keep fresh batteries handy to replace them) Hope you found the remotes. 2. The BBQ lighter is kept on the BBQ side tray to allow easy lighting so do hope you were able to use that. 3. All bedroom windows have screens but yes French doors downstairs and sliding doors onto deck don't...we used to but guests kept knocking them off the tracks and ripping the screens yes after the mortgage, the waterfront land rates, jetty fees, tax, maintenance and mowing fees...and trying to provide what really is moderately priced absolute waterfront accommodation for 11 people with access to kayaks, dingy's, games room,TV's etc we haven't replaced them since importantly, all bedroom windows have screens and in reality, most people choose to sit on the open air deck or on the waterfront often anyway ( neither of which can be screened) and close the deck doors of a night. Again I am very sorry you expected something different I will certainly look back at the photos and see what might have misled you about the quality of the house for the money you paid because it is terribly distressing that after so many years of people having such a lovely time and appreciating both the location and the cottage, that you have been so upset to voice these concerns. ...although on another note I was actually worried over the weekend because it
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Queensland, Australia


  • 5 of 5

Great spot great location nice house

Really enjoyed the lakeside

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

We'll be back!

  • 5 of 5

5 nights just wasn't long enough. I had a relaxing stay at Starfish Cottage with my 2 dogs. Loads of room, well equiped, comfy beds and amazing views. I'm a keen photographer and the view of the lake gave me a fantastic subject. Next time I will bring my whole family as there is plenty to keep kids and adults amused. The local shops are a 5 minute walk away and has all the amenaties you need, I planned to go out during my stay but found it so relaxing I didn't go anywhere.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Thank you!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Leisa! Our family had a lovely time away staying at your property. Great scenery out to the large green yard and out to the lake!

We stayed over what was forcasted to be a rainy weekend but the rains stayed away most of the time, so we made use of the kayaks and paddled out! Mum, who's a keen amateur fisherman, stood out in the rain on the jetty trying to catch some fish. The rest of us challenged each other with a few games of pool, darts and charades. We had great fun regardless of a bit of wet weather. Thank you for having a well equipped home. Not once were we bored.

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

Excellent location!

  • 4 of 5

Fantastic location! Loved the pool table, dinghy and kayaks. Great views, peaceful place right on the water!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Very disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Although the locations was perfect, the cottage was not. The deck and table were filthy, it clearly hadn't been cleaned for our arrival. Were were there during the hottest days of summer and all there was, was a single ceiling fan in the upstairs living area. No aircon. It was so over priced! We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Morning Sandra gosh after 9 years of excellent ratings I agree if your stay was disappointing it is very upsetting. I am so sorry. To answer your concerns ... 1. Yes it had been a few days since the last guests when the cleaners would have cleaned ...and I guess with the outside deck and table being exposed to the weather and trees it may have not been sparkling like we'd like it to be for your arrival. It can be a bit difficult when a few days lapse between guests and the beauty of that deck is that its outdoors. Maybe we can look at paying the cleaner to go back again and doing another clean outside immediately before a Butler service. I'll take a look at the cost. Bu I am sorry the table was not clean enough. 2. And yes must have been the days after your visit when the three new ceiling fans were installed by the with the five freestanding floor fans ( and the Lake breeze when is normally cooling) this will address it . and yes we have chosen ceiling fans rather than air conditioning since people like to have the doors to the deck and the water open so we thought remote control fans they can control from wherever they are lying etc might be better. But agree it was almost an abnormally hot summer this year but hope these3 new additional fans will resolve the issue. 3. And yes I'm so sorry ...I know when you rang me before your stay to indicate you thought you had booked a place that was too high for your budget ..but I thought since you decided to go ahead with it you were okay. But I agree an absolute waterfront private jetty free kayaks that sleeps 11 during peak summer season might not have been the right choice for your budget or simply for 2 of you. Again I'm very sorry we couldn't meet your budget. Thanks for your comments. We do appreciate the opportunity to respond. Starfish is a beautiful place and lots of people have thoroughly enjoyed their time there so we do like to get feedback that we can improve things.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Lake Macquarie,Central Coast




Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties