check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Brett Schroder

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

KING OF THE MOUNTAIN WILDERNESS WITH WIFI ACCESS!!!

52 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Franklin Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3 BEDROOM ~ 3 Bath, ~ Sleeps 6- over 3,000 S/F Walk-out story HOME

FIRST GO SEE VIRTUAL TOUR!!!!!! under PHOTOS attached. THEN COME BACK TO READ THIS! YOU WILL FLIP WHEN YOU SEE THIS TOUR! :)

WE NOW HAVE HIGH SPEED INTERNET/WIFI SERVICE!

for Streaming and all your internet needs

You have been DREAMING about this for a long time... Imagine... relaxing at THE TOP of the Mountain in a NC National Forest.

Sitting on any one of the 4 spacious decks of a Luxurious Timber Frame Cabin, with a cool beverage of your choice and your loved one at your side.

No longer imagining overlooking a 47 mile view of twinkling lights on the nearby majestic Blue Smokey Mountains - a view not seen like this anywhere else in Franklin!!! Crisp cool clear mountain air, beautiful sunsets and blue smokey skies. Some of the most scenic sunsets and smokey/blue ridge mountain views ever seen.

Romantic, Secluded, Picturesque. Travel back in time through the scenic mountain roads to the Mtn. home of your dreams. All the rustic touches -yet the decor of a Disney Wilderness Resort Lodge.

Enjoy the sound of the clear, cool, babbling creek nearby that soothes your soul and rests your mind.

Smell the fresh coffee in the morning with the crisp mountain air.

Gaze at the many colors of the hardwood forest of oaks, pine, Poplar, Beech, mahogany and Evergreens as they change by the season.

Listen to the wondrous calls of many wonderful and rare birds. Mother Nature at her best awaits you here. You can feed and almost touch the nocturnal flying squirrels who become your nightly nature show friends during your stay at BEAR PAW MOUNTAIN RETREAT WITH MILLION $ VIEWS

Once you arrive-You May Never Want To Leave :)

Then........Add These Details:

3 separate floors with 3 separate master bedrooms, one on each floor, with its own ensuite bathroom!

4 separate decks to relax on. Always a place to be alone OR with the group, your choice :)

Perfect RETREAT for ANYONE who wants to get away from the stress of today's hectic lifestyle--- Artists, Authors, Birdwatchers, Naturalists, Photographers, Honeymooners, Stargazers. GEM Rock-hounds and ANYONE who appreciates life's little luxuries and all that Mother Nature has to offer! :)

OH, AND THE REST OF US PLAIN OLE' FOLKS AS WELL:)

47 MILE VIEW OF THE GREAT SMOKEY MOUNTAINS NATIONAL FOREST, PASTURES, PONDS, AND THE ENTIRE GORGEOUS town of Franklin BELOW YOU!

A FABULOUS RETREAT & SANCTUARY

LUXURIOUS SECLUDED HOME backs up to a 200 acre NANTAHALA NATIONAL FOREST

NO NOISE! JUST YOU and NATURE!

SECLUDED yet CLOSE to TOWN.

BEAR PAW MOUNTAIN HOME RETREAT & SANCTUARY has:

Million Dollar TIMBER FRAME MOUNTAIN TOP HOME!

3300 ft Elevation!

You can see the western edge of the Great Smokey Mountains from here!

3 Extra large bedrooms with California King Beds by Jamison in two of the bedrooms, and 2 Twin Beds in the third bedroom. Each bedroom has its own ensuite bathroom. sleeps 6 Adults in beds and plenty of room everywhere to put the Kids :) on air mattresses.

Over 3,000 /SF of living space!

4 separate furnished outdoor decks!

Indoor and outdoor fireplaces!

Professionally Decorated to give that 'Disney Wilderness Resort Lodge Feel.

Mountain Decor from Watauga Furnishings of Asheville.

5 Star Hotel Orthopedic Bedding By Jamison and 600 Thread Count Linens by Waverly!

50' PLASMA HDTV PLASMA SATELLITE TV W/DVD/VCR AND SURROUND SOUND for the guys at night while Mom and kids feed the Night Flying Squirrels that fly in!

TV also in Kitchen:) and Master bedroom. Kids TV/VCR unit

*Abundant Wildlife! Property Backs up to National Forest!

Outdoor Natural Log Fireplace for quiet evenings or fun filled SMORES and Hot Cocoa!

Creek at bottom of mountain and small Branch type creek at bottom of the property!

Bob Timberlake artwork.

Disney Wilderness Lodge decor.

Fully stocked Gourmet Kitchen, Black Granite Counter tops, Kitchen Aid and Jenn Air Appliances.

Breakfast Bar seats 5 plus seating for 6 at dining room table.

Paper products, spices, condiments provided.

Million Dollar Home with Million Dollar View and Main Street USA Price!

NEW FRANKLIN 'SMOKY MOUNTAIN CENTER FOR PERFORMING ARTS' Theatre has arrived in town along with every type of restaurant one could ask for.

Rivers and Lakes nearby for Fishing and Swimming and Tubing and kayaking.

Custom Built Timber Frame Cabin Professionally Furnished with Famous Cabin Furnishings.

NIGHTLY WILDLIFE SHOWS!

Outdoor BBQ Work Station with Hickory Smoker, Steak Sizzler, Rotisserie, Extra Burner, and supply space!

VIEWS FROM OUR DECK HAVE BEEN PHOTOGRAPHED AND PUBLISHED BY PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHERS FROM AROUND THE WORLD FOR ADVERTISING AND SALE.

Come please ALL of your senses with THE VIEW at 3300' ft elevation overlooking a spectacular VIEW, Gaze at the scenic, picturesque, tranquil Great Smokey Mountains from all 3 stories of open glass -or- either of the 4 furnished decks and an outdoor fireplace.

GEM MINING CAPITAL OF THE WORLD!

Indoor and Outdoor Wood burning Fireplaces.

Natural Pine Tung and Groove Cathedral Ceilings

Wood log burning stove/fireplace from Norway in Moose Den

Gas Log Fireplace on Main Floor

Jacuzzi Whirlpool Tub in Master Suite

Hickory log hand-cut stair banisters

Screened Porch, Walk around Deck w/Cedar and Cypress Patio Furniture

VEHICLES Note: Due to the Mountain Top Location, you will need an All Wheel Drive (AWD) Front Wheel Drive (FWD) or 4x4 vehicle to come up the mountain.

NOTE:

NO VANS, NO REAR WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLES, NO SPORTS CARS OR OVER EXTENDED PICK UP TRUCKS. :)

Keywords: Timberframe, Rustic, Mountains, View, Creek, Jacuzzi, Dual Master Suites, Cabin, Franklin, NC, Wilderness, Retreat, Gem Mines, Hiking, Vacation Rentals, National Forest, Disney Wilderness Lodge, rafting, water falls,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Brett Schroder (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Brett Schroder

When an opportunity presented itself my wife Konnie and I decided to take that leap and purchase a vacation home in Franklin, we had been looking for the past 8 years and even purchased a couple mountain view parcels in Sapphire valley with the intent to build, which the Franklin, Cashiers, Sapphire and Highlands area is central to all of the fun the Smokey Mountains have to offer. A dream come true. Yay! Vacation home in place and an escape from the Florida heat and a task of mild winters an extreme departure from the frigid winters of the Midwest were i was raised! We were worried a bit, however it was for no reason as the people that have visited our home are good, hardworking and thoughtful people just as we are. Even a few celebrities have visited our Mountain Chalet :):) For that we are grateful and blessed.

Brett Schroder purchased this chalet in 2016

Why Brett Schroder chose North Carolina Mountains

Why this property? Well, this wonderful mountain top home became available and was truly more than we ever thought possible to obtain. Mountain top! New Timber Frame Construction! Million Dollar Home! All the best of construction! 47 mile view in the winter (documented) A Castle in The Sky!!! Creeks, Forest. Nature. Privacy yet not too remote. Central to everything. No hustle bustle noise with the exception of the birds and wildlife. How good does it get? Things seem to work out for a reason. . . . 'if one door shuts, another better one will open.' We truly feel that this is what happened. We chose to believe that nothing happens by coincidence and that it was all predetermined long before we arrived here ....

What makes this chalet unique

World Class views, normally reserved for 5 star resort properties

Seclusion and privacy unsurpassed.

Cool breezes

breath-taking sunsets

wake up above the clouds

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi to all! Happy New Year 2016

First, The virtual tour should be a little video camera that pops up on the very first screen where the photographs are as I see it...



The reason we do not have any reviews for last year is that we held the house off the rental market for the year while experimenting with putting it up for sale business and all. Rather then have the renters go through any possibility of showings we decided not to rent. The real estate market has been such that we don't know that it would sell within a year that's why we decided to go ahead and open back up.



That being said, we will keep it on the market in casre someday someone wants to buy it. We would give the renter notice if an appointment to show is requested, and not expect you to clean up because everyone knows you will be there on vacation.



If you are ok with all of that let me know.

I would appreciate your input. We really would appreciate your business. Your rental will be guaranteed up to a few months from sale AND if you are renting at the time the buyer actually sees the house and writes the contract that sells the house - your rental fee itself will be REFUNDED AS OUR GIFT TO YOU. We can alway work something out ❣



Thank You!

Jeanette
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 52 traveler reviews

KING OF THE MOUNTAIN WILDERNESS WITH WIFI ACCESS!!!
average rating of 4.9423075 based on 54 reviews
5

Beautiful property, beautiful house. A pleasure to stay there. Very clean and well kept.

  • 5 of 5

The only negative is the windy road to the house. The first time we stayed it was not a bad road but in the past two years it has gotten much rougher. Really it is the first half of the road that is bad. I imagine the good part is part of your property. We would recommend the rental to others.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jay for your review. Its always a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. I see what you mean about the road below us. That is actually not even part of our "development" if you can call half a mountain a development! Lol. Unfortunately, that lower road has rough days, depending on the weather and how often they grade it. We do contribute toward their road maintenance, but have no control over it . I will be more adamant about asking though! Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Evington, VA
5

Quiet, peaceful, majestic!!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time at King of the Mountain! The cabin is exactly as described! Pictures do not do it justice. The views are spectacular! The home was stocked with everything we needed and more. Franklin is located in the center of many attractions. With short drives, we made day trips to Asheville to the Biltmore, Gatlinburg to the Glades arts and crafts area, Pigeon Forge to the Dixie Stampede and spent a gorgeous day White Water Rafting down the Nantahala River with Nantahala Outdoor Center near Fontana!! We also spent a day in beautiful Highlands, NC. Visited many waterfalls along the way! We did find time to enjoy just being at "home" playing board games, watching movies and enjoying the quiet serenity of the mountains!! Just as the owner explains, you definitely need an AWD or 4x4 vehicle to reach the cabin! Not difficult, but it is steep! We found it fun driving up the driveway!! Can't say enough about how nice it was staying at King of the Mountain!!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Breath Taking

  • 5 of 5

We spend a lot of time traveling and have rented houses both here and abroad. This house has far surpassed anything we have rented anywhere. Besides being incredibly beautiful with natural lighting, every inch of the house is spacious and immaculate, The kitchen is fully equipped with state of the art appliances, it is a pleasure to prepare meals and in the lovely dining area. The outdoor screened in porch is a lovely refuge to sit in the morning and/or evening and enjoy the beauty and joy of nature. The sound of silence and observance of nature is both breath taking and calming.

The pictures shown on the site do not do it justice. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are luxurious and all the comforts of home are here.

We stayed for a week with our three grandsons, my brother and nephew. We had a wonderful time; the 4 boys (between the ages of 18 and 13} thoroughly enjoyed the house, the grounds and the view. They liked putting out food for the local resident animals. We all sat in the spacious and lovely living room enjoying the "show" of the squirrels, raccoons, and humming birds coming for their food.

It was more than a pleasurable stay here; we thoroughly appreciate the owner's attention to details to make our stay perfect.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesvillle, Florida
5

Relaxing with Adventure

  • 5 of 5

Such a wonderful relaxing place. Far enough away that it was just us and nature yet close to many things to see and do. The house was fantastic with everything you would need. Very comfortable with plenty of space for everyone to do their own thing if they wanted. We played games most nights while watching the flying squirrels come to feed. Having the screened in porch made it even better because you don't get that at many places. To just sit and watch the sun set out there was great. Will definately return for the peace and quiet and the ability to recharge.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Bear Paw April 2-9. The ride up was quite an adventure but after you do it the first time, it is pretty easy to get up and down the mountain. The road is very well maintained. The house is beautiful and very spacious! It feels like home. As the cook, I really appreciate how well stocked the kitchen is!

During the day the kids loved playing outside and wandering the grounds-we would take hikes down the gravel drive. We did leave during the day and visited some local waterfalls and towns, but during the evening we stayed at the house, cooked dinner and LOVED relaxing on the screened in porch. The pics from on this website in no way do justice to what you will actually see!

We had so much fun, and the kids so enjoyed their stay that our ten year old was asking if we could return this summer!

If you are looking at this property, don't hesitate to book it. It will exceed your expectations. Very clean, roomy and homey! Plus, there are lots of things to do in the area!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You So Much Lee Anne! I really enjoyed "meeting" you and appreciate your review of BearPaw. It is a magical place that wonderful guests like you have come back to each year. I do hope you will come back again! Have a wonderful year and remember us! jcp
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Magical Place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Bearpaw - it is a beautifully maintained home with an incredible panoramic view of the mountains. Jeannette was wonderful to work with and everything was handled perfectly for our stay. The home has everything you could possibly need and is super clean. Make sure you are there for the sunsets because they were spectacular. We especially enjoyed watching the hummingbirds right outside the windows. There is a lot to do within a short drive. Thank you Jeannette for sharing your special home with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Franklin NC is considered to be the GEM MINING CAPITAL of the world as featured on the Discovery channel and National

Geographic channel Mines located nearby. Also nearby: Waterfalls, Cullasaja River for Fly Fishing, Appalachian Trail, Standing Indian campground, Blue Ridge Parkway, Cherokee Indian Reservation, Lake Hiawasee, Lake Glenville, Lake Chatuge, White Water Rafting.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Franklin Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 28 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
Christmas
Dec 21 2016 - Dec 28 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
Easter 2017 Week
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
Memorial Week
May 28 2017 - Jun 3 2017
6 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
4th of July Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
labor day week
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,310
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 9.75%

*Cancellation Policy: 30 day written notice required

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Franklin Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Study Room
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Vacuum System
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Honey Moon suite master as shown in Photo section
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Cherokee Suite
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Loft Wilderness Den Bedroom
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Loft Wilderness Den 2 twins and private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Cherokee Suite with Calif Kind Orthopedic by Jamison
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Honeymoon Master with California King/Orthopedic by Jamison
  • King size beds (2) Premier, 5 Star Hotel Bedding! California King size Jamison Utopia Orthopedic beds in 2 master suites, Twin or Single Beds (2) Trundle Bed in the Loft that has 2 twin beds, that can be moved together to make a King bed, or kept separate. When closed the trundle bed has one twin underneath the other in a drop down position., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Henredon Apple green day bed in Cherokee Suite to accomodate a 3rd person ensuite
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Cabin backs up to Natl Forest Service, 3300' elevation, with View 47 miles to western edge of the Great Smokey Mountains, small creek, flora and fauna, wildlife i.e. wild deer, wild turkey, pileated woodpecker, flying squirrels, BIRDERS DELIGHT, Gourmet Kitchen with black granite counter tops, gas Jenn Aire stove, cherry hardwood floors, oak and pine cathedral ceilings, plate glass windows floor to ceiling, hand cut hickory log stairs, 40' Wide Flat Screen Plasma HDTV satellite with surround sound. Rustic Lodge Professional Interior Decor, Fine Lines and Bedding by Waverly.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties