check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Home On Tahoe Keys

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english


11 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


South Lake Tahoe House Rental Photos and Description

Modern 4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 12, direct lake access out back.

Recently remodeled with top of the line appliances, natural stone, and custom lighting. The home sleeps up to 12 people and is just 10 minutes to the Casinos. Located right on the waters with a dock just outside the living room so that you have direct access to Lake Tahoe without having to launch your boat / jet ski daily. From the two decks, you will have beautiful views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountains! The deck upstairs is great for watching fireworks on the lake during New Year's Eve, the 4th of July, and Labor Day!

  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Home On Tahoe Keys (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Home On Tahoe Keys

My wife and I love traveling and seeing the world. We've traveled all over Europe with Venice, Italy being one of our favorite place to visit for it's mesmerizing beauty and one-of-a-kind city on water. We've also been to the Caribbean, Mexico, Canada, Thailand, Vietnam, Singapore, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Macau, Spain, France, Germany, Switzerland, and most popular US travel destinations like Hawaii, Florida, New York, Las Vegas, Atlantic City, and so on. But one of our favorite vacation spots has to be Lake Tahoe. We've been coming here every year to enjoy the weather, the lake, the hiking and biking trails, the casinos, and the winter sports. We finally realized since we come here several times a year for the last 15 years, we should just buy a home here. But not just any home, it has to be a special home that makes us feel like we're in another country. Hence, we found Tahoe Keys waterfront home with wonderful resort amenities and a feeling of being in Venice, Italy. That's our story and we hope our guests will enjoy our home as much as we do.

Why Home On Tahoe Keys chose Lake Tahoe South Shore

It's a hidden jewel! Only a few years ago did we discovered Tahoe Keys Resort and all the beauties and amenities it has to offer. We started out just like many of our guests by renting a luxury vacation rental here in Tahoe Keys. We had a family of 12 people and everyone from kids to grandparents loved it. There was something for everyone here. Everybody loved hanging out on the deck watching boats, jet skis, kayaks, peddle boats, canoes, and paddle boarders come by and everyone we met were friendly. Everybody here is either in retirement or vacationers which means everybody is happy and relaxed. The kids love being able to catch fish from the dock. Grandparents enjoyed peddle boating around the Tahoe Keys while the kids kayak next to them. Boating around Tahoe Keys waterways really does feel like you are in Venice, Italy. Beautiful waterfront homes reflecting off the waters with mountain backdrops and nature all around. Lake access was just 5 minutes by boat and the greatest thing is being able to jump into your boat right outside your living room and be on the water without having to drive to get there. There's just so much more here to offer. Tahoe Keys Resort also has the following amenities available for guests are a nominal price. These amenities include: sand volleyball courts, basketball court, tennis courts, outdoor swimming pool, Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, health club and workout facility, grassy park, private beach, and playground. Plenty of bike trails and hiking trails nearby. Great clear lake for all water sports activities. I can't say enough about what we discovered here in Lake Tahoe and especially the Tahoe Keys. We hope to offer our guests the same discoveries and experiences and memories that we have enjoyed and look forward to enjoying it for many more years.

What makes this house unique

Since we've described so much already why we love staying in the Tahoe Keys Resort, we will just summarize the unique benefits below:

1. Direct Lake Access

2. Beautiful is an understatement

3. Tahoe Keys waterways must be enjoyed by kayaks and peddle boats.

4. Fishing right off our private dock

5. All the Tahoe Keys Resort amenities has to offer

6. Nature all around including birds, ducks, and geese.

7. Friendly retirees and vacationers all around.

8. Boating in summer, skiing in winter, leaves falling in autumn, and flowers blooming in the spring.

9. Nightlife just 4 miles away includes casinos, dining out, bars, clubs, cafes, movie theater, and so much more.

10. Best part of vacationing in a luxury waterfront vacation home on the Tahoe Keys close to downtown is ... creating lots of great memories with your family and friends that will last a lifetime.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks so much for the opportunity to rent your home at Tahoe Keys, we had a great time and will definitely contact you in the future. Everything worked out fine for us. We really did enjoy the trip! We will recommend your vacation rental to friends and family. Sincerely, Andrea.

OWNER RESPONSE: We're glad that you enjoyed your time at our Home on Tahoe Keys. We welcome your friends and family and will do our best to make sure they have a great experience as well. By the way, we add something new every year for our guest to enjoy. This summer, we are adding a new Cadillac Escalade Power Wheel for our little guests to enjoy. We look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 11


based on 11 traveler reviews

average rating of 4.2727275 based on 22 reviews

As advertised, great home on the lake

  • 4 of 5

Was very happy with home. We had 3 families with 6 total kids who all had a blast. There were plenty of things for the kids to play with from kayaks, rafts, bikes, air hockey, etc to keep them entertained. The kitchen was awesome and stocked with plenty of cooking utensils. We took advantage of the boat dock with a boat and jet ski which made the trip. Our only issues would be the TV's are a bit difficult to figure out in the main room and master bedroom and we couldn't connect to the DVR in the main room. Overall the house was great and met our expectations. Was impressed how many things the owners left for guests to enjoy which they could have locked up like many other owners do.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not As Advertised

  • 2 of 5

I rented this house for a family reunion and sadly, I spend a good deal of my time frustrated or leaving messages for the property manager. The most frustrating part was that the day of our check in to the "Waterfront Home with Private Boat Dock" he sent me an email stating that the dock is off limits. The dock had been off limits for months due to low water levels, but he there was not mention of this until everyone was in travel and they had received my payment 30 days prior. I felt intentionally deceived. We had rented a boat for the weekend that we could no longer use. When I asked why is he just telling me the day of check in, he would just say. "Yes, that is why I am notifying you." I also love ping pong and the ping pong table was broken, there was no internet or television service, no wash clothes, and no window coverings on two of the bedroom windows (my kids were getting up at 5:45am). When I called the property manager he told me that there were some blinds in the garage that I could mount and could go to coffee shops for internet (they did say they called the cable/internet company, but nothing was fixed).

So, I went to the store and bought wash cloths, foiled the windows and used the internet at Peets coffee. Unfortunately, my family was frustrated too with my choice of house to rent. This was not a Luxury Waterfront Home with Private Boat Dock.

When we complained that this house was not as advertised and would like a significant discount they offered a 12% refund.

Tahoe Keys is a wonderful place and I would recommend this house once it has a new property manager and there has been some significant repairs.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Annie. Firstly, we do sincerely apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying at one of our properties. We strive to represent the homes as accurately as possible and we apologize that you did not find it acceptable. Regarding the dock, the water level in the lake (which in turn affected levels in the keys) decreased significantly this year, causing unforeseen changes to the structure of our dock. We tried to schedule maintenance to come out and adjust it prior to your arrival; however, with their busy schedule, they were unable to come out (we had also tried reaching several other maintenance services without success). For the safety of you and your family, we decided to notify you of the condition while we continued to try to schedule service on the dock. We do understand your disappointment and do sincerely apologize. We ask that you also understand that, although we made many attempts to get a maintenance person, some situations (mainly weather-related) are beyond our control. We also apologize that the internet did not function properly. Again, this was another situation that was out of our control. Nick informed me that he did attempt to connect you with Charter (service provider for S. Lake Tahoe) to get the issue fixed. However, Charter was not able to come out in time. Rest assure that we are taking this up with their customer service department to find the root cause and to prevent it from recurring in the future. Regarding the blinds in the bedroom: thank you for your feedback. We will be scheduling installation of blinds to give our guests a more enjoyable experience. We take our guest's comments very seriously and want to assure you we will be taking steps to address your suggestions and improve the experience for our guests. That being said, we would like to offer you a $300 refund of your rental cost and also 10% off a future visit. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide a better experience for you the next time you visit beautiful Lake Tahoe. Updates: Dock has been repaired and is fully operational; High speed wireless internet also repaired and working; Window blinds are installed.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Great experience, very clean

  • 5 of 5

Nice, clean and modern house on the water. The bedrooms were clean and living room was very spacious. 15 minute drive to the casinos and Heavenly lift.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Andrew for sharing your stay with our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay this winter and look forward to having you back in the summer to enjoy the lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Foothill Ranch, California

Beautiful, quiet location near lots of great activities in South Lake Tahoe.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this home. However, there are were some minor things that needed fixing while we were there -- i.e. ping pong table was broken (we were looking forward to a tourney with all the kids), smoke alarm was beeping for it needed new batteries, had to fix the knob for the shower, and some lights weren't working properly. If all these items were in working order, I would have given it an excellent. We loved cooking on the commercial stove and oven.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for informing us of some maintenance issues. We will address them promptly. As for the ping pong table, we apologize that it wasn't available. The table was just broken by a renter prior to your arrival. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time there and hope to have you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Tahoe Keys Home

  • 3 of 5

My family and extended family recently stayed in this home to celebrate my daughter's college graduation. I intentionally waited a few weeks before writing a review, because my instinct right after vacationing in this home would have been to not recommend it. In all fairness, I will say that the house is described accurately, and the photos do reflect its current appearance. The property manager is responsive in a polite, but not always helpful way. There were some not-so-minor glitches that needed to be dealt with while staying in the house. For one, the house only comes with 12 bath towels, and no face or hand towels. We reported this to the property manager and were asked to buy our own towels at the local Kmart, which we agreed to do, and charge them back to the owner. The property manager seemed astounded that we were asking for more towels. Secondly, the barbecue on the patio was absolutely filthy on its outside surfaces. When we reported its condition to the property manager, he "politely" responded that the barbecue was merely a courtesy and that if we wanted to, we could bring in the cleaning crew for a fee of $250 to clean it. When I responded to his suggestion, in less than a positive way, my email was ignored. Thirdly, there was only one wine glass in the house. The property manager stated that "the owners don't drink wine" as an excuse for their absence which I thought was an inconsiderate answer to a house guest. We ended up purchasing those from Kmart too. Lastly, we did not realize until we arrive that the house does not have air conditioning. All in all, if you'd like a decent place to stay on the water, the house is fine. For those with more discriminating tastes, who want the convenience of a single family residence but the nice perks of a high end hotel, I would think twice about it.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for leaving your comments. We apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. We provide 12 bath towels for our guests but when you had contacted Nick about wanting face towels, we agreed to reimburse you if you would like to go buy the face towels. Even though we reimbursed you as agreed, it seems that was not enough. We also agreed to reimburse you for wine glasses, this too wasn't enough. As for air conditioning, this waterfront property does not require it as the weather is mild throughout most of the year. We provide 4 electric fans and a ceiling fan to keep the house cool if ever needed. Thank you for staying with Home on Tahoe Keys.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Amazing Place to Stay for All Seasons!

  • 5 of 5

The house was in a great location in Tahoe Keys and it was definitely a comfortable place for me and my group of 12 friends to stay during a weekend getaway mid-March. Everything in the house was well thought of and extremely comfortable, from the furniture to all the amenities the house provided. The house was very clean and beautiful - and we enjoyed all the quotes on every window. From booking the home to solving any questions we had upon arrival, the owners were very responsive and we received very prompt answers. This house is definitely one that we would like to come back to soon - perhaps during the summer to try out the kayak or paddleboat!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jenny for sharing your experience with our future guests. We continually strive to ensure a memorable vacation for our guests. This summer, we are adding an Escalade Power Wheel for our little guests to ride around Tahoe Keys Resort. We look forward to having you back this summer to enjoy the warm weather boating, fishing, hiking, biking, and especially your own private dock right outside our living room doors.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Emerald Bay State Park
Heavenly Village
"Great place to hang out, shop, and grab a bite."
Inspiration Point Vista
Naked Fish Sushi Restaurant
"3 miles away with friendly services"
Ciera Steak & Chophouse
"5 miles away with a younger party crowd"
Heavenly Village Cinemas
"5 miles away"
Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza -- CLOSED
"3 miles away"
Heavenly Village Ice Rink
"5 miles away"
Ski Run Marina
"5 miles away"
Tahoe Keys Marina
"1 mile away"
Sushi Pier Tahoe
"5 miles away"
Costco Carson City
"23 miles away"
"2 miles away"
"5 miles away"
"3 miles away"
Camp Richardson Corral
"2 miles away"
Heavenly Ski Resort
"5 miles from Tahoe Keys Resort"
Heavenly Gondola at Lake Tahoe
"5 miles away"
Sierra at Tahoe Ski Resort
"12 miles from Tahoe Keys Resort"
Peek Nightclub - Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
"5 miles away - most happening casino"
Harveys Lake Tahoe
"Events held at Harveys outdoor amphitheater"
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Lakeside Inn & Casino
Bike Rentals At Lake Tahoe
Lakeview Sports Bike & Jet Ski Rental
Pioneer Trail
Balloons Over Lake Tahoe
Beacon Bar & Grill
"Beach-front casual dining within 2 miles from Tahoe Keys Resort inside of Camp Richardson"
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
S. Lake Tahoe Airport at 3.6 Miles; Reno Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Dozens within /
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Edgewood Tahoe
Nearest Train
19 Miles
Carson City, NV or Truckee, CA
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
CA-89 S / US-50; aka 'The Y-Intersection'
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Dozens within /
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Heavenly Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Tahoe Keys Private Beach at 0.1 Miles; Pope Beach
Car: recommended

Lake Tahoe is the largest alpine lake in North America and boasts a plethora of beautiful beaches and scenic spots for a relaxing picnic or energizing hike. The lake itself is 12 miles wide, 22 miles long, and can get as deep as 1,645 feet! The water here is so pure that a 10 inch white dinner plate would be visible at 78 feet below the surface!

If you have time, take a drive around the 72 miles of the beautiful shoreline, visit the North Shore, or stop by to test your luck at one of the five casinos. No time to drive around? Along the South Shore alone, you have ten beaches, including Camp Richardson (a great place to park your RV) and Emerald Bay, where you catch the breathtaking sun set over Lake Tahoe.

Whatever you decide to do on your vacation, Lake Tahoe provides the perfect combination of pure, natural beauty with the convenience of modern amenities!

Other Activities: camping

Golf: 4 miles to golf course

Ski: 4 miles to Heavenly Ski Resort


Rates & Availability

South Lake Tahoe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
Flat fee
New Year
Dec 27 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Accidental Damage Protection $89 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.0%

For customers paying by check, TOT Tax Rate is 10%.

For customers paying by credit card, the Tax Rate listed below (13%) includes a 3% credit card processing fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


South Lake Tahoe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , His & Her Separate Sinks
    Upstair Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstair Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Suite - 1 king , 3 twin/ single , 32' TV/DVD Combo, Deep Jetted Private Tub
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 27' TV/DVD Combo, Private Balcony
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 23' TV/DVD Combo
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk Bed and 19' TV/DVD Combo
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen-Sized Sofabed and 55' TV & DVD Player
  • Large Master Suite has a walk-in closet, double sinks with granite counter top and separate vanity, new deep jetted tub and separate shower.
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Exclusive Tahoe Keys Resort Amenities Available for renters: This home is situated a short drive to all of the Tahoe Keys amenities available exclusively to residents and rental guests for a $5 - $10 fee per day per person (tennis is $15/day): * private beach, park and children playground * outdoor swimming pool (summer months only) and hot tub * indoor heated Olympic-sized pool (open year round) * seven tennis courts * sand volley ball court * putting green * basketball court * private boat launching ramps and docks * and a fully equipped health and exercise club, open year round, is available from $10/day/guest. If you rent a boat or jet ski during your vacation, tie it up to your own private dock in the backyard. You are welcome to use our new 5-persons pedal boat, 2-persons kayak, ping pong table, and 3 bikes located on the property.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties