check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Mark Grundtisch

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

2 BDR - 2 BATH Remodeled Beachwalk Villa

21 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

South Carolina Villa Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, sleeps 6 comfortably

We have completely remodeled this Beachwalk Villa only steps away from one of the nicest beaches on the East Coast. Located inside Shipyard Plantation, Beachwalk is the closest villa complex to the beach, just a short walk down a shady path. This unit comes equipped with free unlimited high speed internet access and all the amenities for a great beach vacation. Our villa features a NEW kitchen with all new stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops and a ceiling fan! The Dining room seats 6 comfortably and opens onto the large comfortable deck with new patio furniture and gas grill. The living room has a 42' TV with Blu-ray player that offers Free Netflix and Pandora internet access. This is a great place to relax and unwind after a day at the beach. The master bedroom, with remodeled bath and walk-in shower, features a king bed and walk-in closet and a 32' TV. The guest room features a queen and a twin bed as well as a 32' Flat screen tv.

The Beach: The major attraction of Hilton Head Island is the BEACH. 12 miles of hard-packed sand on an extremely wide beach (especially at Low Tide) make it one of the most desirable places to vacation. Take long walks, ride your rental bike or just hang out. A perfect place for everyone to Enjoy. And the best part is it is only a short stroll down a shady path from our villa. There are restrooms available, as well as easy rentals of beach items if you desire. We also offer a 20% Discount for bikes and ANY vacation items through LowSea Bike and Beach Rentals to anyone staying with us.

The Bike Paths: If you enjoy biking.....then Hilton Head is Paradise. You can ride just about anywhere... on safe, level paths on this beautifully designed island. The first thing I would advise anyone vacationing in Hilton Head to do is to rent a bike. It is so relaxing and enjoyable. You will not regret it

The Restaurants: Hilton Head Island is a culinary delight. More than 250 restaurants of all different styles and tastes populate this small piece of paradise. No matter what you prefer you can find it with the highest quality on Hilton Head. From small sandwich shops, outdoor happy hours to Seafood delights it is all available on Hilton Hilton.

Please visit our other listings in Shipyard Plantation. A 2-bedroom 2-bath first floor villa located in the Evian complex - www.vrbo.com/294041 And our 1-bedroom 2-bath in Beachwalk - www.vrbo.com/76948

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Mark Grundtisch (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Mark Grundtisch

Myself, my wife Liz and our 2 daughters live in Buffalo, NY. We first came to Hilton Head when our first daughter was just a baby in the late 90's and immediately knew that this was a special place. We consider ourselves very fortunate to call this our 'part time home'.

Mark Grundtisch purchased this villa in 2011

Why Mark Grundtisch chose South Carolina

Our family fell in love with Hilton Head the first time we visited. There is some much to see and do on Hilton Head and in the surrounding areas. It truly feels like a home away from home. It is a unique place where you can be a 'million miles away' from everything in the afternoon and then dining in a 1st quality restaurant in the evening. It truly is the best of both worlds. Shipyard Plantation and Beachwalk is the perfect spot to get away. So close to the beautiful ocean and the expansive beach and if you like riding bikes (which we do !) you are in heaven.

A place for couples, families and extended families...We sincerely hope the Island never changes its character !

What makes this villa unique

This villa is in the perfect spot on the Island. Walkable to the beach, surrounded by tree-lined bike paths and the islands wild-life and extremely close to all the advantages of being near Coligny Plaza, with its shops, restaurants and easy going beach life-style.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time during our stay at your beautiful condo in Beachwalk May 5th to May 13th. The condo was very well equipped, very tastefully furnished with high end appliances. Hilton Head’s weather didn’t disappoint either. It was sunny and mid to upper 80s all week. We enjoyed the deck and made use of the grill a couple evenings. The close proximity to the beach is definitely a plus. We had our youngest daughter and her husband with us. Our son-in-law loves to fish and it was easy for him to walk down to the beach in the evening. We did a fishing charter, Top Shot with Captain Jay Prescott, from Palmetto Bay Marina. We recommend and would do it again. We had a great time. Thanks
May 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.5
based on 21 traveler reviews

2 BDR - 2 BATH Remodeled Beachwalk Villa
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 22 reviews
1

Overall a dated, dirty and not well managed property with an updated kitchen

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately, we give this property UNFAVORABLE ratings for many reasons as you will read. The property is unkempt, dated, had a terrible smell and was extremely dirty throughout. Upon our arrival after a very long drive and being exhausted we were so very disappointed in the condition of the villa outside of the kitchen being updated, the furniture was dated & dirty (we wouldn’t even sit on it) and we had to launder everything including the our bedding in which case we found stains on the mattress covers which just needed to be thrown away and not used for a guest’s stay. We could not believe the condition of the bathroom showers which haven’t been cleaned in who knows when, had grime inside the tubs and overall unsanitary. (Poor customer service) I did reach out to the owner and informed him of all the items above and we were surprised by his reaction which was a lack thereof, he NEVER apologize or stated any sort of compensation for our inconvenience’s again, unbelievable (which indicates only one thing $$) He did have a cleaning arrange which turned out to be ridiculous because the showers & floors again were not cleaned and we were given a new soap bar, an inexpensive mattress cover and the vacuum was run. We could go on but, I’d HIGHLY recommend another property that is well maintained updated throughout and well managed. It truly did hinder our vacation to Hilton Head (which we travel to each year) and we couldn’t wait to leave the property which is really sad because it wasn’t an inexpensive stay by any means. My husband and I work very hard for a living and it was very unfortunate that our family had to endure such a stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really have no response. Other than to say that in the 4+ years we have been renting our 3 shipyard villas, we have NEVER had to deal with a guest like this. We went out of our way MULTIPLE times to satisfy this person and each time she would NOT ALLOW our cleaning crew in to address her "issues". Not sure what else we could have done ?? The 3 properties that we rent out have a long history of first class reviews and first class renters. We individually stay at these units each and every season. Our extended families and our friends also travel with us and use these villas on a regular basis. It is unfortunate that this guest chose to rent our Villa. We can only hope that we never have to deal with this type of guest again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Wish I Could Rate Higher

  • 3 of 5

I had rented another condo from this owner before in Shipyard and was extremely happy with that condo. I wish I could say the same for this condo - I contacted the owner after checking in looking for TV instructions, beach chairs and to alert him to a serious condition with the floor in the hallway and also the area where the washer and dryer were. I found only scraps of paper for the TV instructions in a jar on the mantal instead of the manual as he advised me (this had just a list of TV stations in regard to the TV). The beach chairs were in an outdoor shed and were in terrible condition along with very dirty beach toys and boggie boards. He never addressed the serious condition of the floor in the hallway or the floor area that is caving in by the washer and dryer.

I hesitated in writing this review but before I rent I always check reviews and now realize to look for more recent reviews on a property - the last review for this condo was June 2014 on VRBO - Since I have been back from this recent visit I hit on the name of the person that wrote the last review (favorable) and it shows up as the owner's name which is a little unsettling.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cathy & Kevin: We are obviously very disappointed in your review of our villa. Since beginning to rent our (3) Shipyard villas on Hilton, yours is the first 3-star review we have ever received. (2 have been 4-star and the other 70+ were all 5-star). So this is not something we take lightly. Regarding the floor issue..this was something that we were completely unaware of until you notified us and we needed to find a quality contractor who could deal with this issue properly. That was done the week after you departed (to the inconvenience of another guest). However the issue has now been fixed and we do apologize for the inconvenience. Regarding the other issues we now utilize the comprehensive HOMEAWAY mobile hospitality app (that you were welcomed to use) for instructions on operating the TV, ROKU etc and other villa details. This app also included information on the location of our beach chairs. (We do also provide a written manual but that may have been misplaced by a previous guest?) However, we do not "supply" beach toys or boogie boards...sometimes they are left behind by a previous guest - possibly because they are in poor condition? And your comment regarding my placing a review on our own unit...I checked with VRBO and that review was left by a guest who apparently placed my name (as owner) incorrectly instead of their own name as the reviewer. We appreciate all of our guests copmments and we hope to have you back again at one of our Hilton Head Villas for a future stay. And we can promise things will be much smoother. Mark & Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent Condo!

  • 5 of 5

The accommodations were excellent and accurately shown in the pictures. We especially loved the very modern kitchen which was fully equipped for any cooking task. The location is excellent as the beach is less than five minutes by bike. Mark (owner) was very helpful with any questions and always responded immediately to any question. Friends who have been going to Sea Pines for 10 years said this was the best condo that they have seen. We would recommend this property for anyone wishing to visit Hilton Head.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cheers Glenn. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our Villa. We sincerely appreciate the kind words and would be happy to have you and your family stay with us again anytime in the future. Mark & Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Smithsburg, MD
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We just returned home from a week in this beautiful location. The pictures absolutely reflect the accommodations. Comfortable and up to date. Mark was quick to respond to any questions we had. The property was easy to find, and convenient to everything. I strongly encourage the recommendation for the bike rental. 2 very nice bikes were waiting on us upon arrival, and we certainly put them to good use, although we wish more of the island was open to anyone biking, instead of just the people staying at the resorts. None the less, we logged about 100 miles on the bikes that week, took in Savannah, Beaufort, Charleston, and everything Hilton Head has to offer. The owners guides to their favorite restaurants helped us make educated decisions on where to eat, as there are so many places available. We happened to be staying the week the "tree service" was working on the trees, so no peaceful morning sleep ins, but we got up and went biking instead. It is just a short walk to the pool, although it was too chilly to enjoy last week. It is also just a short walk or bike ride to the beautiful beach, where you will be delighted with dolphins, pelicans and breath taking views.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Hilton Head Villa!

  • 5 of 5

This Shipyard villa was exactly as advertised. Clean, updated and well maintained. Two large bedrooms and bathrooms. New washer and dryer. Very nice, new kitchen as well. This unit is as close to Shipyard's beach access as you can get. We took our rental bikes to the beach every day. It is a two minute, level ride. Wireless internet worked flawlessly, which is important to us. Shipyard Plantation's location is convenient. Biked to stores, resturaunts, Coligny, etc. which are all close. Follow Mark's recommendation for the bike rentals. Good price and they greatly enhance the Hilton Head experiance. Highly recommend taking advantage of this! Thanks again Mark. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Albany, NY
5

We loved Hilton head and this condo was amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Hilton head and this condo was amazing and our excited to go back! It is beautifully decorated, kid friendly, warm and comfortable with all the modern amenities. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms are a great size, great layout, and the deck is fantastic, I was very sad when we were packing that the kitchen and baths would not fit in my suitcase. The beach at Shipyard is just a short bike ride away, but also walkable and is one of the best beaches we have ever seen. The pool is a 2-minute walk. We rented our bikes and baby gear from LowSea Bike, Beach and Baby and they were great. Our daughter’s favorite place to bike other than the beach was Pino Gelato at Wexford! Thank you Mark and Lisa, it was our pleasure. The DelBalso Family

  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you and your family had a great week in Hilton Head! Shipyard is a true gem when it comes to location and easy access to beach and shopping / restaurants. We would love to have you back and sincerely hope you choose to stay with us again. Look forward to hearing from you. Mark/Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: recommended

Shipyard Plantation on Hilton Head island provides a wonderful vacation experience. With perfect climate, wide peaceful beaches and bike paths that can take you anywhere it is a very relaxing get away. Hilton head has more than 200 quality restaurants and 12 miles of hard packed sand beaches that allow for bike riding, walking and watching the sunset. With more than 30 golf courses and 75 tennis courts as well as sailing or kayaking you can be as active as you wish. Or spend the day shopping at the world class shops and unique boutiques. Fun for couples or families this is a vacation you will not soon forget.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Shipyard Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Fun 2016
Jun 4 2016 - Aug 12 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,125
 
 
Summer Value 2016
Aug 13 2016 - Aug 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$995
 
 
Late Summer 2016
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 9 2016
7 night minimum stay
$935
 
 
Early Fall 2016
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 14 2016
5 night minimum stay
$135
$815
 
 
Fall 2016
Oct 15 2016 - Dec 2 2016
5 night minimum stay
$125
$765
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$145
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Carolina Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Both bedrooms have been completely redone with all new furniture, beds, TV's and paint. The large Guest bedroom will sleep 3 comfortably with a Queen and a Twin Bed. There is also a new Queen sleeper sofa in the living area.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The washing machine is a NEW model that requires the use of HE (high efficiency) detergent only.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties