check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Patricia Rael

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish

Paradise Creek Casita - Questa - 20 miles from Taos 10 miles from Red River

38 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Questa House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 6

La Casita at Paradise Creek is the perfect place to relax and soak in the mountain air of Northern New Mexico. Nestled beside a creek and surrounded by cottonwoods on 3.2 acres in the mountains of Questa, La Casita is a beautiful and well-placed getaway. Just on the outskirts of Questa, a quaint, heritage-rich village, La Casita is a short, scenic drive away from both Taos (25 min) and Red River (10 min), and only a ten minute walk from Eagle Rock Lake. The abundance of natural beauty in the area offers endless opportunities to enjoy nature, from fly fishing and trail hiking in the spring and summer, to hunting in the fall, and skiing and snowboarding in the winter.

La Casita is an 800 sq. foot, two bedroom, 1.5 bath home, with a distinctive New Mexican flavor. The master bedroom has wood floors and a comfortable queen bed. The second bedroom has saltillo tile and a Murphy’s bed that turns into a double sleeper. There is also a sofa sleeper (Quadro - folds 4 ways) in the living room. The kitchen has handcrafted wood cabinetry and saltillo tile. The home comes fully stocked with linens, kitchenware, a washer and dryer, wireless internet, satellite cable television, and a DVD player.

La Casita is located at the secluded northern end of the property. Please inquire if you would like to rent the main house, Casa Leyenda (House of Legends), that sleeps up to 10 people, which is located at the opposite end of the property. (VRBO # 354783)

Questa is located on the Enchanted Circle scenic highway, near the confluence of the Rio Grande and Red River, and is at the western base of the Taos Mountains.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Patricia Rael (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish

Reviews

4.7
based on 38 traveler reviews

Paradise Creek Casita - Questa - 20 miles from Taos 10 miles from Red River
average rating of 4.6578946 based on 38 reviews
Siloam Springs, AR USA
5

Peace and Quiet!!!

  • 5 of 5

I spent a week at the Casita. It was early Spring, so the weather was all over the place - from snowy days to warm afternoons. But the Casita was perfect for whatever the day held. From the property, it was easy to get to just about anywhere in North Central New Mexico - Red River and Taos are my particular favorites of mine. And the house is a perfect jumping on point for the beautiful Enchanted Circle Drive. And it was so relaxing to just sit by creek that runs through the property and listen to the birds in the cottonwoods. But even when the weather was inclement, the house was cozy and had everything I needed or wanted. And Patricia was ever helpful and a wealth of information about the area. If you are looking for a nice quiet place to serve as a home-base for your adventures, this place can't be beat!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Phil, Thank you! It made me very happy to read your review! I love going to the Casita to rest from the busyness of the city life. My vision was to provide a place in the country as a means of rejuvenating the soul and I am grateful when I get comments like yours acknowledging the essence of the property. I hope you come again! Patricia
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Tucked away yet easily accessible.

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week in this casita. It has an amazing privacy fence that really tucks it away from the street. The creek with all the trees creates a tranquil space. The kitchen has most any thing you would need to make meals. Bring food along or stop at the grocery store in town. The master bedroom was most comfortable. So great to stay in an adobe in New Mexico. Wifi worked well. We could easily research the places we wanted to see or eat at. Red River is a short drive and it's easy to get to Taos too. So much to do in the area that we will have to return. The neighbor across the street saw us out walking to the nearby fishing lake and shared some info on trails and roads in the area for great scenery. This was our first time booking a place in this manner. Patricia was very helpful answering questions and providing recommendations. If you need to know what is provided, just inquire before booking. We enjoyed this special property.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Algodones, NM
2

Property was OK

  • 2 of 5

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend. Unfortunately this was a last minute booking that was dog friendly. We never received any detailed email from the owner on location and directions. In such a rural area this is a must.

The landscaping was shoddy, this may have been their last rental for the season but attention to accommodations is a must. Yard was wild, gate broke, bucket and mop at the front door. FIRST impressions are lasting ones. Mold visible in master bath, please keep in mind humidity is usually less than 10% in NM. Front entrance was not at all pleasing, bland in comparison to the rest of NM rental housing.

Maybe we were looking for something grander; especially at the price we were charged. Not impressed with the whole experience. Won’t return and really can’t recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I feel responsible for this review. We had just had an outdoor plumbing problem and I had to get it repaired immediately and should not have rented the property with such short notice because I then failed to send her directions to the house. When she got nearby, she called me and I gave her directions. That was rightfully upsetting to her. I am sorry she had to deal with issues that are not normal as you can see by my many positive reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved the Casita! It was cozy and comfortable. Very well furnished with everything we needed. We enjoyed sitting outside listening to the water flow through the creek. The property was perfect because we had our trailer with our Polaris Ranger on it. We were able to park it without any worries of someone stealing it, running in to it while parked or going through it during the night. Super easy access in and out with the trailer. The Casita is only 15 minutes from Red River and 35 minutes from Taos. If you like to fish, the Hatchery is a 7 minute drive!!

There is a great local lake within 1 mile and Cabresto Lake is only 8 miles from the property. This was our first trip to New Mexico and staying at the Casita helped make it a magical time. We are looking forward to staying there again next year!!!

Shawn and Renea Shannon

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful stream side location in the tall cottonwoods of northern New Mexico

  • 4 of 5

We spent three weeks in Questa exploring the Enchanted Circle and geocaching through the beautiful mountains - what a great escape from the heat of Casa Grande, AZ! Patricia was a great host - so easy to work with and so responsive to any questions or concerns. The casita is nicely equipped and so peaceful. The high speed internet/wifi and the DirecTV were great amenities. We recommend this VRBO.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A WONDERFUL PLACE

  • 5 of 5

This was the second time that my wife and I stayed at the Casita (See also my 2012 review), and once again we LOVED it. The house is very spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the location is perfect! It was very peaceful and quiet, with lots of tall trees and a running stream just a few feet away. And of course its only 10-15 minutes away from Taos and Red River, so we could never run out of fun things to do nearby!

Patricia was very helpful. We recommend this little hideaway for anyone!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Questa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning $75

Contact Patricia Rael at 505-917-4413 for special rates for Monthly rates or contractor rates

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Questa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - Murphy bed + futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties