Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront house with large deck and dock. No WiFi, No cable TV

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 4, (more if they sleep on deck or on boat)

Charming little house with view of the water. We have a large deck off the house and an additional deck over the water with a fish cleaning table and fresh water. Large Dock, rebuilt in 2013, will accommodate 4 boats. Electricity for one boat is available on the dock.

You share the dock and utility room with Bob and Lisa, who have a houseboat tied up there.

Utility room has washer and dryer and a second bathroom. Unheated storage room below house has room for 2 more sleepers.

Single bath has shower, and separate wash room has 2 basins. Sheets and towels are stocked. One bedroom has king bed, the other a queen.

Remodeled in 2011, the kitchen has propane gas stove, microwave, lots of counter space and is completely furnished. The cupboards are stocked, and all you need to bring are the perishables, your swimsuit and toothbrush.

Boat launch facilities or boat rental at Sugar Barge Marina are nearby, 5 minutes drive.

The house has a propane stove for heat in the winter and ceiling fans for the summer. It is well insulated. Propane barbeque and large patio table on the deck are available for your use. Parking space is below the house in the front driveway and yard. We have no WiFi or internet access and no telephone, but what the heck. You are on vacation.

Waterskiing or boating: We are 10 minutes to fast water and located next to Emerald Point Marina. Launching is available at Sugar Barge Marina, 5 minutes away. Boat rental is also available there.

More Details

Owner
Cathy Keil
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 11, 2017

About Cathy Keil

We have enjoyed this house as a weekend getaway, then as a vacation home and our kids grew up waterskiing here. Now the grandkids are enjoying it, too. We remodeled and upgraded the house in 2009 and and rebuilt the dock in 2013. It now has all the comforts we need.

Cathy Keil purchased this house in 1994

Why Cathy Keil chose Bethel Island

Less than 2 hours from the Bay Area, it was close enough to come for a weekend and far enough away to really relax and forget about work. The neighbors are friendly if you want to walk around and chat or they will leave you alone if you don't want to go out and meet them.

What makes this house unique

It is a quiet, relaxing place to forget about the stress of work or the rest of your problems. Close to small towns if you want to run in to a movie or a big grocery store and we have small bars, restaurants, and boating facilities close by if you need them. You can walk along the levee and see the unique houses and boats. Overall, it is just a fun place to relax and enjoy.

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Oakland
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
'Tugs' or 'The Rusty Porthole' on Bethel Island
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Oakland
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Right here on Bethel Island
Nearest Train
12 Miles
BART in Antioch
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Hwy 4 and Hwy 160
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several on Bethel Island
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Sonora
Nearest Beach
55 Miles
San Francisco
Car: necessary

This is a recreation area on the Sacramento-Stockton Delta. 1000 miles of waterways, it is known for great boating, waterskiing, swimming, fishing and waterfowl.

Golf: Bethel Island public golf course is nearby.

Amenities

Bethel Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Toilet and shower can be locked off from washroom.
  • Bathroom can be closed off for privacy if you want to use the wash rooms while someone is in the shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Both bedrooms have closets and ceiling fans and windows on 2 sides. Bedroom 2 has a window seat. Room for two in the unheated storage room below house and lots of room for sleeping bags on the decks outside in the summer. We put new carpet in the bedrooms November 2012.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
We have NO WiFi or internet access. The house is above ground so to get wheel chair access, you have to drive up on the levee and drop off your passenger and/or supplies. You cannot park there permanently so you must then return your car to the ground level garage. Children are welcome, but parents must be aware that the water is right out front and accessible, and you are responsible for keeping children safe. We have life vests available and insist our grandkids wear them any time they are near the water. We love pets as much as the next person, and you are responsible for any damage caused by them. Electricity is available on the dock.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
23% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront house with large deck and dock. No WiFi, No cable TV
average rating of 4.65625 based on 64 reviews
5

Great delta getaway

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful house on Bethel Island for a fun family vacation. We completely enjoyed staying at this house, perfect for our family and visitors. The house is nicely furnished, has a great layout, easy to cook in/bbq and has a nice large deck and dock for relaxing. The caretaker, Lisa, is so helpful which added to overall great experience. Would love to rent this home again!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ahhh...Thanks Shauna ~ I'm so happy you found a little Oasis in the Paradise of Bethel Island. ~ Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beds

  • 4 of 5

I love the house & location but the beds are very uncomfortable.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you found the beds to be uncomfortable. We have a Thermapedic "topper" on one bed and feather beds on the other bed. Guests have said how much they enjoy sleeping there. I do thank you for your response ~ Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay (I think our 3rd one here!)

  • 5 of 5

We had a very relaxing week! The house is very comfortable, clean, and everything you need to spend a week or two (or more)! Location is great.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, peaceful, rejuvinating

  • 5 of 5

Delightful property that we wouldn't hesitate to book again. The house was clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and really appreciated the kind, helpful hospitality of the owner and property manager. Great area to play around on any kind of watercraft. October in Calif is some of the best time for vacation...no crowds, good weather. This place was absolutely perfect for us. We brought our boat and tied her up right out the back door! (Sugar Barge marina is very nice and close.) Was nice to have a good place to keep the boat trailer too. The sunrise views from the deck at the dock were wonderful. The lack of wi-fi wasn't a problem as there was a solid Verizon signal and our hot spot worked great. Was lots of reality TV outside with all the wildlife action. Our time there was way too short. We didn't want to leave and already have a plan to return next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Rosa, California
5

Cozy Delta-front property with private boat dock

  • 5 of 5

I recently spent 4 nights at this wonderful delta front property. I launch my boat at Sugar Barge Marina just minutes from the house. I arrive by boat to the house and dock the boat at my private dock. The house is a cozy 2 bedroom home that has been recently remodeled. Well stocked kitchen provides a convenient place to prepare our meals. Lisa and Bob who live in a boat next door came to greet us as we arrived. They are very friendly and helpful. Its great to just jump off the dock and cool off in the delta on a hot summer day. This has been our second time at this home. My wife and I will definitely be back again.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you John for this glowing review. So happy you made it back for a second time. We look forward to your next visit. Lisa tells me that you both are model guests and took such good care of our house. Thank you! The Delta is truly a wonderful, watery playground and you are welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ashtrays and smell of cigarettes inside and out

  • 2 of 5

Very reasonable price which explains the rustic nature of the property. A bit strange having the manager's house boat parked at the dock with clear view of the property.

My son and I got up early stripped all the linen and did a thorough cleaning of the house, including all the dishes. The dishes were placed neatly on a wash towel. Found out later that our cleaning deposit was docked because they were not put away. Didn't know guests were required to replace property cleaners. If you stay at this house be sure to leave no dirty dishes and place all clean dishes back in the cupboard.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our house. We maintain a no smoking policy either in the house or on the deck. We provide no ashtrays. Our property manager is very strict enforcing this policy. In the 5 years we have rented to guests, we have never had anyone mention any smell of smoke. We do not have a dishwasher. Our Guest Check Out list states that all dishes are to be washed and put away in the cupboards upon leaving. This helps to insure a full deposit refund. It appeared that you had saved doing dishes until your last day leaving a lot of dishes out on the counters. All the dishes had to be rewashed because they weren't quite clean and had to be dried and put back in the cupboards. This, of course, adds time to getting the house ready for our next guests. And 'time is money' as they say. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay as well as our other guests. I do thank you for your input.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Pet fee (optional) $50
Cleaning fee $50
Boat $10/night/boat $10

Nightly rate @ $150/$190 for four people. Additional persons add an extra $35 per person per night. Pet fee per pet. Nightly dock fee $10 per night per boat.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties