check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kristana Castiglioni

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Tropical local living in private cozy cottage perched above exotic fruit orchard

12 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Hawi Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom+, 1 full bathroom, 1 outdoor shower, Screened Lanai, sleeps 4

Hale Ke Aloha.. House of Love

Situated on 2 acres, this spacious 1 bedroom lovers cottage has recently been updated and sits on the top perch of a tropical fruit orchard. Walk out your front door and harvest the seasons sweetness including mango, lychee, banana, coconut, avocado, mangosteen, star fruit, sugarcane, pineapple, and many more. Whether in the sunroom with books and music or the screened lanai, enjoy the comfort and peace of birdsong and ever present tradewinds. This private cottage is perfect for a get-away feel, yet still close enough to walk to the quaint unspoiled town of Hawi. Come to be alone and take advantage of a slow pace of living, or bring the kids(or the kid in you!) and enjoy a variety of local adventures including zip lining, ATV rides, horsebackriding, mountain and road bike tours, hiking, 'flumin da ditch' and many more! We welcome children, and can provide books, games etc. Our home is your home- come and enjoy the simple satisfying life of the Big I.

Whether you want to relax and watch the sun set into the tropical trees, spend the day at the beach, or have an eco-adventure… there are many options to enjoy in this special preserved part of the island. Local living is just a short walk away to the quaint unspoiled historic town of Hawi. Feel the aloha in this slow paced welcoming North Kohala village. From homemade coconut lilikoi fudge and macadamia nut ice cream to an assortment of local farm grown produce, meats, and fish available at farmers markets ...savor the flavor of the tropics. We also recommend the many delicious restaurants and cafes, often including great live music... even on a Sunday morning while you sip your fine cafe, smoothie or tasty breakfast! Or browse the Hawaii inspired shops with everything from art and jewelry to shell inlaid toilet seat covers… something for everyone!

Just a 15-minute drive to the north end of the island. Park the car, take many breathtakingly beautiful photos, and then enjoy a 20-minute walk down to the Pololu Valley black sand beach (probably clicking photos at every turn!). A 25-minute drive south brings you to our favorite beaches on the island. Each one offering its unique qualities from reef snorkeling and diving to white sand sunbathing and surfing. You can stop 5 minutes sooner and sign up for many other activities including dolphin and whale watching, manta ray diving, scuba/snuba, dinner/sunset cruises, sport fishing, etc.

For yet a different climate head 20 minutes up the mountain road through 'paniolo' (Hawaiian cowboy) country to lookout at the Three Sisters: Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, and Hualalai, as they meet the ocean and get a glimpse and visual of how our island was formed. Turn your head in the other direction to see their “brother”, Maui and the top of Haleakala Crater on a clear day. Hawi is also not far from many day trip possibilities to other parts of the island, with an 1 hour drive to Kona, or 1 ½ hours to Hilo, or keep going another ½ hour further to be at Volcano village.

Having lived on the islands for 20 years we are happy to offer tour advice or answer any questions to maximize your visit to Hawaii.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Kristana Castiglioni (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 12 traveler reviews

Tropical local living in private cozy cottage perched above exotic fruit orchard
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
5

Experience Hawaii Like A Local

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Hale Ke Aloha for 5 nights in July. As an avid traveler, I get to experience the road from many different angles and views. My wife and I have come to a place in our lives where we like to travel and experience a place from the eyes of a local. Needless to say, the days of the “Holiday Inn” travel experience are gone for us. Hale Ke Aloha was honestly a relief to find. There are not many places left where one can at the same time experience both a town and an accommodation that provides a real view into the authenticity of an area. Old Hawaii still exists. The town of Hawi might be the last place left to experience the real Hawaii. Hale Ke Aloha was such a perfect place for my wife and I to re-connect on a deep level and share in a place that we will revisit as often as possible. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

little house in Hawi :))

  • 5 of 5

Our small family (a mom and two daughters 11 and 18 yo) stayed at this little house in late May 2016 for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it! During our visit, we stayed at three different parts of the Island, which all had their charms, but we fell in love with Hawi. In our opinion, this is the most beautiful part of the island. The house itself is very charming, clean, peaceful and secluded. The garden is beautiful. We loved fresh flowers that our wonderful hosts put in every room for our arrival and enjoyed waking up to the chorus of birds and light coming through the palm trees. One little aspect of the house that we actually quite enjoyed, but which, I imagine, can probably make some guests uneasy is that the house is a part of the surrounding garden and therefore, some wild creatures from outside occasionally wonder in. We have counted two kinds of lizards, geckos and anoles, which both were VERY cute and fun to watch, and we have seen an occasional arthropod with various numbers of legs wondering in. However, all of them were wild, inconspicuous and kept to themselves. If you happen to be one of these people who cannot stand creatures with more than 2 legs, you should probably check yourself into an air-conditioned hotel room in Kona, but if you love nature, you would love this place. Make sure to visit Pololu valley, which is only 9 miles to the east and in our opinion is even more beautiful that the famous Waipio Valley, which is also not far, and definitely worth the trip.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Peaceful stay in Hawi

  • 4 of 5

Pleasant hideaway nr village. Muted colors and natural finishes assist in soothing atmosphere. Good lanai and barbecue backyard with fruit trees.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Corvallis, Oregon
4

comfy cottage

  • 4 of 5

We loved this spot! Great location, great accommodations and super comfortable too. The caretakers were so friendly and helpful but not the least bit intrusive. Everything was as listed, though much nicer than the photos showed. We hope to return again some day.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Absolutely Unique

  • 5 of 5

The sincerest form of praise that we can offer for this property is that we are returning again this year, and for a longer stay than our first stop last year. It is an absolutely unique, relaxing experience that offers a respite from the “standard tourist” experience. Hawi offers the chance for a glimpse at genuine tropical life, which is exceedingly difficult to find in other places. A stay at this property puts you right there in that setting. The accommodations themselves are great: the property is well-maintained, and the caretakers are close by without being intrusive. The lanai is quiet and peaceful, and the openness really provides the connection with nature that makes this place feel like home very quickly upon arriving. For me, the aim of travel is to experience the “everyday life” of the place you are traveling to, and Hale Ke Aloha delivers exactly that. You’ll quickly find yourself adapting to “island life” when you stay here. And when you leave, you’ll start planning your return to that island life, because you’ll miss it.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
Oakland, CA
5

best place to stay in Hawi

  • 5 of 5

Such a quaint little special hideaway! Not only is Hawi a best kept secret of the island, but this place has everything you will need for a fantastic visit. Couldn't have been more satisfied!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

All in North Kohala : Hiking, snorkling, diving, fishing, ziplining, ATVing, horseback riding, waterfalls, siteseeing tropical flora and fauna, sacred sites, farm tours, local music, great restaurants, whale watching, shopping, galleries, spa/massage, biking, surfing, golfing, tennis, recreation center, swimming pool, playground, skate park, local made tropical ice cream and fudge, farmers markets, live theater, music, yoga, dance and aikido classes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawi Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$115
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Off Season Rates: $115 per night, $700 weekly rate, monthly rate depending on availability
Winter Rates: $160 per night, $1000 weekly rate
Rates based on 2 person occupancy, additional guests $10
Cleaning fees range from $115-$150 based on duration/season
$200 Refundable Security deposit
Hawaii State and Transient Taxes at 13.41 %
One time Cleaning Fee $125


















60 day cancellation: full refund
30 day cancellation: 50% refund immediatiely and full if able to re-book
Less than 30 days: refund based solely on re-booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawi Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower
  • Lovely custom remodeled cedar bathroom with granite counters and walk in closet.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • There is a queen bed in the bedroom and a futon couch/bed in the 'sun room'. A very spacious accomodation with the addition of the enclosed lanai.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Entertainment also includes iPod dock and radio. Kitchen also includes convection oven, George Foreman type electric grill, slushie maker and waffle maker! Coconut trees provide for the perfect hammock experience.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties