Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

The Bradshaw Cottage

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

Once the Gardeners Quarters of a farming family, this cottage has been lovingly restored to accommodate 2 people looking for a romantic private getaway with all the comforts you could need.

The exterior has the influence of a Miners Cottage with its own private deck with covered HEATED OUTDOOR SPA.

In contrast, the interior is modern but maintaining an Old World charm.

The cottage is fully self-contained with provisions for a continental breakfast including free range eggs, country style bread or muffins and fresh plunger coffee. The Cottage has a beautiful character WOOD HEATER, queen size wrought iron bed, plush quilt and plenty of comfy blankets, relaxing couch and arm chair, plasma/TV, DVD's/CD's to choose from,a CD player with ipod dock, USB and card mode. Radio, magazines, local historical books and games.

Kitchen table set for 2, fridge/freezer, microwave, stove/oven, toaster, a selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate provided.

Walk in shower, luxurious towels, hair dryer, guests toiletries. Reverse cycle air-conditioner/heater.

Outside garden with BBQ area with table to enjoy the morning sun & private back patio to enjoy the afternoon quiet.

Off street parking.

Walking distance (460 metres) to local wineries/restaurants, shops, bakery.

This is a wonderful private cottage which will have you wanting to come back for more of the Bradshaw cottage experience.

*Cancelation Policy: 80% Refund will be given if notified 14 days prior to arrival.

Weekends require a minimum two night booking unless a long term booking ends on a Friday. Long weekends require a three night booking.

For weekend stays, we take two night bookings only.

For a 7 Day stay or more receive a long stay special price of $1180

No Pets allowed, Thank you

Long weekend public holidays require a 3 day booking minimum.

Holiday period tariffs are charged at a weekend rates.

* We only take two night bookings for weekends unless a previous booking ends on a Friday night.

Conditions : Cancellations/Amendments of confirmed bookings (where payment has been made) will attract an AUD$25.00 inc GST administration fee in addition to the Cancellation Fee of the Service. Any damages to the cottage or amenities must be paid for by the guest. ..

More Details

Paul & Rita
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018


Healesville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:15 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • winery tours


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
14% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
The Bradshaw Cottage
average rating of 4.571429 based on 35 reviews
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Very Dissapointed

  • 2 of 5

We were not all that impressed with our stay at The Cottage. We were unable to check in at 1.30pm as advised, the hosts did not appear to know we were arriving.

This meant we had to come back to check in late that afternoon which was a hassle for what we had planned.

What was really annoying was the state of the Spa pool. It was filthy and after hopping it for 5 minutes, we had to get back out as we were covered in slime. This was the main reason we booked the cottage and it was really disappointing to be unable to use this facility.

We also couldn't get the TV to show any other channels that channel 7. All Subsequent attempts to contact the owners have been ignored. We felt it was an expensive evening away that was not worth it, we would have been better off in a hotel.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Karen I have to say, your review is extremely disappointing as your version of the events is quite extraordinary. I would like to point out a more accurate version of what actually happened. It is important to spell out some facts here. You left the electric chord toaster over the flame of the Gas stove which resulted in destroying the expensive Morphy Richards Toaster. We were lucky there was not a fire in the cottage as a result. As stated in the details any damages must be paid for by the guest. Money was deducted and you demanded it to be refunded back to you. I refused as the toaster needed to be replaced. You did not mention that in your review. I have catalogued below the events. 1. You and your partner arrived early, and I said we would have the cottage ready soon for you. You told us it was not a problem as you were early and were going to have lunch and visit wineries. You came back 3.5 hours later to a cosy cottage. 2. The Spa: I informed you I had to decrease the hardness of the water and soften it with the use of spa chemicals. This does make the water soft to touch. The following guests had no complaints. 3. I have to admit after checking the remote control, I found the batteries to be out of power and replaced the batteries. 4. We do not understand why you did not contact us or let us know there were any issues as we are in the house next door. We could have addressed any issue you had. The only note you left us about your stay was regarding the burned toaster. Our aim is to create a wonderful relaxing stay for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia

Perfect Cosy Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I stayed at the Bradshaw cottage and it was the perfect size for two people wanting to explore the Yarra Valley. Very clean and comfortable. Paul and Rita provided us with milk, eggs, bread and fruit on our arrival which was amazing and saved us going to the supermarket. Nice and quiet area and close to all wineries. We had a lovely time and would defiantly stay again. Thanks Paul and Rita :)

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Eliza Thank you for your review as it helps us with providing an enjoyable experience. You were both wonderful guests and thank you for being so respectful of our cottage. Kind Regards Paul and Rita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Romantic and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We felt instantly relaxed the moment we stepped through the door... This beautiful, calm space was just what my partner and I had hoped for! Paul was there to meet us upon arrival, and was wonderful in ensuring we were comfortable and had all we needed. The cottage is perfectly simple yet well contained with magazines, DVDs, towels, soaps, basic food (bread, milk, eggs, butter, juice, and even chocolate!) and kitchen utensils. The spa was lovely, though the jets may need servicing soon... Never the less, we will certainly be staying at the Bradshaw Cottage on our next visit to Healesville and would absolutely recommend the property to those interested in a relaxing and romantic get away from the city, without having travelling too far!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Quaint and Cosy Stay

  • 5 of 5

Warm welcoming and a lovely stay. All the basics we needed to enjoy our stay in the Yarra Valley - the basics of bread, butter, milk, eggs and chocolate on arrival was a lovely welcome. There's also all the bathroom basics you may need during your stay are all here. Cosy, well heated and close to Healesville town and all the area has to offer. Thanks for having us!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Beautiful property

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time staying at the Bradshaw. It was quaint and comfy and just what we needed. We were a little disappointed that the spa jets didn't seem to work well and thought the "Feb Special" included a free bottle of bubbles, but must have missed some fine print. Regardless, it was lovely.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Adrienne So disappointed you did not receive any wine. I wish you have let me know on your arrival. The cleaner was supposed to put the wine in your fridge? We have the wine stored in the new cottage so we could of dropped it off on the day had we known. Please contact us via email with your address and I will have it sent as it was part of the promotion for Feb. Regarding the bubbles, Yes it is at times not reliable for bubbles, we have had it fixed a few times. Sorry there were no bubbles. We will have it serviced again and get it fixed. . Thank you for the feedback. Kind Regards Paul and Rita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane City, Queensland, Australia

Cosy cluttered cottage

  • 4 of 5

The owners have done a great job or creating a very comfortable (small) cottage, but there are sooooo many pillows, spare blankets and Mountain of cushions, magazines, games, that there is NO where to place your own belongings, not a drawer.

We ended up having to stack stuff on the couch, which rendered it unuasable.

The cottage location is a nice stroll to town and the owners had a very well stocked breakfast pantry & fridge.

The other disappointment is the building under construction next door (no noise) but you have construction dirt to the front door, and most days being wet, all our shoes are mud-caked, and even got stuck ankle deep one night (yuk)

With an inside declutter and a stone pathway, would see this cottage more comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI Janine Thank you for your feedback as it is always appreciated from our guests. We have tried to create an experience at the cottage which is based on comfort for our customers. The 6 pillows which are above the wardrobe are for those who have particular needs. There is a pillow for everyone including a physiotherapy pillow. There is also a spare blanket for the cold nights which comes in very handy being in the country. Rita and I were surprised to hear there is construction dirt at the front cottage as we or guests have not had that experience. Your comment regarding ankle deep mud has us puzzled? Unless you wandered next door to the new cottage to have a look, then I can understand where you may pick up some mud. However we have had the driveway area resurfaced with stone which will address any dirt issues. Again, we thank you for your comments. Kind Regards Paul and Rita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties