Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Located in between Gatlinburg and pigeon Forge 3 miles off the Parkway.

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom 1.25 Baths (Sleeps 2)

The Bear Cub Cabin is located between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, TN, just minutes from the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.

Bear Cub is a one bedroom cabin complete with a king size bed, pool table, hot tub, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, cable TV, complete kitchen, full laundry, 1.5 baths, charcoal grill and picnic table with views to go around. The perfect place for rest, relaxation and privacy. No Smoking and No Pets.

Further Details: **4x4 Recommended In Winter When Snowing.**


***Cabin Is Stocked With - All Linens, Toiletries, Soaps, Dishwasher Soap, Laundry Detergent, Towels, Full Kitchen.***

More Details

Property Manager
Gary Stidham
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Patricia, just wanted to let you know our stay was wonderful. The cabin was nice, clean and in a great location. We will definitely stay at the cabin again. Thanks Chad
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 11


Gatlinburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Half 1 - toilet
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • CD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Located in between Gatlinburg and pigeon Forge 3 miles off the Parkway.
average rating of 4.0 based on 16 reviews

Bugs, ticks and bees, nasty

  • 1 of 5

This cabin was dirty and obviously not cared for properly. We killed ticks, centipedes, and cockroaches inside on a daily basis. The exterminator that came to kill a yellow jacket hive ( 2 days after owner was notified, AFTER my husband was stung multiple times) was HORRIFIED at the condition of the cabin! There were cobwebs in all the corners and the walls, there was dust an inch thick on the shelves, we had to drain the hot tub ourselves and refill it because it was slimy and the maintenance man was out fishing and wouldn't come until the NEXT evening. The pictures online were obviously old because the cabin is overgrown with weeds, NOTHING on the side patio but dead leaves and weeds (no lounge chairs as shown in the pictures). Carpet was stained and dirty, pool table in poor condition, dartboard only had 2 darts, weeds growing up through the lower deck, no lights other than the overhead fan lights, the indoor jacuzzi was dirty, bathroom sink didn't drain (until we bought Draino). We have had great experiences in other cabins in this area HOWEVER this will be a week that we will never get back in our ruined our vacation! Look elsewhere before you book Bear Cub Cabin!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was nothing but problems from the start. Within minutes of checking and they called with a list of over 20 things that they found unacceptable and expected to be compensated because the property was not up to their standards. I offer them 100% refund to leave the property and not stay because I knew there would be nothing but headache. They refused to leave and called every day complaining about things and asking for a discount or they would leave a negative review. I told them I would be happy to have any legitimate items addressed they said they did not want anyone on the property. It would be a violation of their privacy. They did call couple days later and asked have some Yellowjackets exterminated which I sent someone out immediately to take care of. I would rather have a bad review then be held hostage by a guest who wants to use the property and pay less than agreed-upon rate. We have never asked any guess to leave a review on any of our properties, those that do too so because they want to. If you look at our other reviews you will see that what this guest is claiming is nothing like the true experience I guess after 15 years of renting I was overdue for a guest like this, most of our guests are excellent guest turn into repeat customers.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Beautiful Cabin, Hard to Get To

  • 4 of 5

I absolutely loved this cabin. It's so much more beautiful than the pictures give credit for. It was fully stocked with everything we could've possibly needed in the kitchen. It was perfect for my one year anniversary trip. My only issue was the location, which I realize can't be helped. You're a stones throw from 3 other cabins and right on the road. This honestly didn't bother me since we were so far from any real traffic that we never heard a single car except when the people in our neighbor cabin got there, but the drive up the mountain was almost more than my car could take. We had to drop our little Toyota Celica into low gear just to get up some of the hills and you can barely see over and around some inclines and turns. That being said, if you just want a quiet weekend in the mountains and don't really plan on going out much, I would recommend this cabin to anyone. Perfect for a couples getaway. Very much enjoyed my stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our property were glad you enjoyed it . In 10+ years of renting we have never had a complaint about the proximity to other properties, this cabin sits on over a half acre of land and from the back deck you can see nothing but trees except in the fall when you can see one roof in the very far distance. Bye Mountain Road standards our road is far better than most. The only way to avoid the winding mountain roads is to stay in the valley where homes are generally much closer together and you will have far less privacy.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Smyrna, TN

We Loved the Bear Cub!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the Bear Cub cabin for a fall getaway and we could not have been happier! We loved how cozy and clean it was. It was so fun to play pool, relax in the hot tub, and enjoy the fireplace. We didn't want to leave! We also loved how the cabin had nice views and felt private, yet it was also close to town so we could take advantage of fun shopping and activities. We hope to go back soon for another visit!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Farmersburg, Indiana U.S.A

Relaxing and Luxurious

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented the Bear Cub Cabin for the weekend of my husband's birthday. We LOVED it! The cabin was great! It had beautiful decor and was very comfortable. The hot tub was super nice. We were only sad that we couldn't use it more (it was 95+ degrees that weekend). We enjoyed the pool table and the dart board as well as the tv with its multiple channels and dvds. We were welcomed to the cabin by an owl and the morning we departed a black bear stopped by to help himself to some peaches off of the tree. We ate a few peaches from the tree the day before and they were so yummy. (Sorry black bear we didn't know they were yours). The cabin was clean and well stocked. The washer and dryer as well as the dishwasher were a very nice luxury. The one thing I might point out is that previous renters have worn out the non stick skillets. If you plan to make breakfast or cook much, you might want to bring a good skillet from home. The cabin was really close to all of the sites in Pigeon Forge / Gatlinburg. We also took a day trip (3 hr drive round trip) to the Biltmore in Ashville, NC. We really loved the cabin and hope to rent it again. I would HIGHLY recommend renting this cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We always eat out when staying at The cabin so I was unaware of the cookware's condition that issue will be resolved immediately. As for eating the Bears peaches you should not be too concerned, between the blackberries and peaches she has plenty to eat, although she still little upset that we placed the bear proof garbage can outside.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
West End, NC

A great vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at "The Bear Cub" recently. The cabin was very clean and cozy!! I slept so good in the king size bed that I didn't want to get out of it!!! Thank you so much for letting us stay at your beautiful cabin. We will definitely want to come back again!!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


Cabin is Located Between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.


Rates & Availability

Gatlinburg Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $60

The Instant quotable rate is based on a average rate of a one-week stay during standard rate season. Shorter stays, stays during peak season or during special events will be at a higher rate. The instant rate should be considered an estimate until an actual price is received for the dates requested. Rates fluctuate daily and until locked is no rate is guaranteed.

Holidays special events and the month of October may have higher rates

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties