Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Ocean Cottage at Birubi

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Relax and enjoy the shifting moods of the sea from the comfort of your living room. Swim, fish or snorkel from the rock pools at your doorstep.

The cottage is newly renovated and sits on the edge of Anna Bay at Birubi point. It is a short coastal walk to Stockton beach and the famous Stockton sand dunes.

Having trouble finding quality accommodation for the Hunter Valley concerts? Why not stay by the ocean and catch the Port Stephens coaches to your concert.

The cottage has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and comfortably accommodates 6 people.

There are 2 queen size beds, one king single and a single bed.

There is a large lounge and dining room. The majority of rooms have ocean views.

Nearby Attractions

Enjoy Camel treks in the sand dunes.

Horse riding along Stockton beach.

An International standard golf course is a 5 min drive.

Spend a day picnicking at the local wineries

In winter the lounge room provides a cosy vantage point for whale watching.

For the kids there are safe and patrolled swimming beaches. The beach cafe overlooking miles of uninterrupted surfing beach and sand dunes is a short walk away.

Other attractions include: Driving range; Go cart track; pool and water slides.

More Details

Lidia Long
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 16, 2018


Anna Bay Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Ocean Cottage at Birubi
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 17 reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Excellent oceanfront cottage

  • 5 of 5

Lovely place, amazing location and there was always a whale on the horizon!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Amazing little cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at Ocean Cottage. It had modern interiors , magnificent views, well stocked kitchen and so much more.

The owner is very accommodative and flexible.

We would definitely visit this place again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Virjee, your welcome back any time. Thanks for the lovely photos
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Oceanfront Cottage with an unbeatable location

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable and very tastefully renovated and furnished ocean cottage. The view to the rocky coast and the ocean directly in front of the cottage is magnificent. Cottage is as presented in the images. Kitchen was well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Guenter. Im glad you enjoyed your stay despite the not so perfect weather.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Cottage by the sea

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay here! Wish it was longer, we will be back next time.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Simone, glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, NSW, Australia

Nice location!

  • 3 of 5

Whilst the property could do with a little work the location is amazing. The property needs a good clean and the windows and doors need some work to stop them from sticking. Beds are hard, could do with a topper and the place feels dirty with water marks on the roof in some of the bedrooms.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. The house is a 1970's cottage which was renovated internally, new kitchen, bathrooms painted and new flooring. The exterior remains original. I'm not sure what you meant with the house needing a "good clean". My aim is to address any issues where possible once I know what it is. All upholstery and soft furnishings were professionally steam cleaned the day before your arrival. The window's were professionally washed inside and out 1 week prior to your arrival. Apart from the routine clean, It is house policy that all blankets and coverings are changed between guests. We will look at the issue of the sticking doors and windows. In regards with the bedding all beds have good quality mattresses and one of the queens is a pillow top.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
7 Ocean Avenue Anna Bay

Very disappointing property

  • 1 of 5

So sorry but I just can't give this property a good review. There was a blind which we were told about broken so we were worried when we tried to pull the blind up that we broke it surely paying so much a night it would have been common curtesy to tell us. The glass sliding doors where very dirty and the windows as well. Paint is off the walls and in the heat the loung room is like a furnace even with

the fans on. You enter this property through the laundry which is rather odd and ants where all over the floors most of the time.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments regarding Ocean Cottage. We aim to constantly improve our property, and as such we value our guests comments. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. In regards to the issues raised. The cord of the blind was broken by a previous guest and we did not have time to repair it between rentals. We will be attending to this very shortly. As far as the dirty windows, these are washed regularly and this is one of the issues with salt spray when so close to the water. The house has been freshly rendered and painted and there is a small amount of paint peeling on the wall near the ocean front window due to mineralisation of the render. We will attend to this as well. During the summer we usually leave the windows open and achieve ventilation. It was unfortunate that you experienced one of the hottest periods on record. We are planning to install an air conditioning unit for next summer. As far as entering the house via the laundry it makes sense to place the utility rooms opposite the ocean side of the property. Ants have been somewhat of an issue on the coast due to the dry weather, all I can suggest here is that one avoids food spillage as much as possible. Again I am disappointed that you did not enjoy this beautiful place. I continue to endeavour to make this a special place for people to stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

ocean front


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties