Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Hideaway by the Lake (The Cottage)

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage


About the property

Hideaway by the Lake

Enjoy the privacy of your own luxury retreat. A dreamy romantic escape, just metres from the lakes edge. Experience glorious sunsets and enjoy the magnificent 180 degree water views. Luxurious privacy in tranquil surrounds, somewhere beautiful to relax and unwind.

Hideaway Cottage is a delightful, modern, cosy cottage in a superb waterfront location, an easy 90 minute drive north of Sydney.

Enjoy watersports on Lake Macquarie, or take a short drive to our beautiful pristine local beaches.

Hideaway Cottage special features

To welcome you to Hideaway by the Lake, we hope you will enjoy chilled champagne to greet you.

To make your stay with us as stress free as possible, we take pleasure in supplying all your linen requirements.

We also provide kayaks + life vests for use during your stay with us.

Choose from the many casual or fine dining options, in the Lake Macquarie, Central Coast and Newcastle areas.

Early arrival and late check-out may be requested, subject to availability.

Hideaway by the Lake Location

Bedding Options:

Master Bedroom:

Queen size bed with spa ensuite

Bedroom 2:


Separate bathroom - bath, shower + toilet

Leather lounge

All beds have mattress protectors, pillow protectors and comforters.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018


Nords Wharf Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Good! 3.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

38% Complete
30% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Hideaway by the Lake (The Cottage)
average rating of 3.8461537 based on 13 reviews

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was clean, cozy and comfortable. It has a 180 degree view of the lake. You can literally watch the sun set from the deck area.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nords Wharf, New South Wales, Australia

So close to water relaxing and enjoyable

  • 2 of 5

Location is five star. Perhaps owner needs to edit listing. As no champagne, no tissues napkins papertowels or hand soap I had to go buy these items. BBQ not cleaned and unusable and nothing to clean it with. Communication prior to arrival needs improvement like a welcome email with details of the arrival access etc.... More towels would have been useful as we shared a face washer and hand towel over two bathrooms.( we are not a couple ) Spa is wonderful. The beds are extremely soft. Overall the location makes this place amazing. Very relaxing. DVD library not available either.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia

Basic accommodation

  • 3 of 5

Nice tranquil location. But didn't receive any correspondence from landowner or Stayz regarding details of property before our arrival. Money was taken very quickly with increased rate after we notified there are two adults with three kids staying. House arrangement is for that number of people so don't understand why the extra charge. No napkins, no box tissues, no toiletries, no hair dryer, insufficient blanket for cold winter weather, cockroach in room. Very basic accommodation. Bring everything yourself. We felt very unwelcomed.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thanks Frances for the feedback. In reply to your review, regarding the entry details - we send the check-in details/ key box entry code 2 days prior, this was also the case with your arrival. We no longer leave shampoo/ conditioner etc, as we find that these needs are personal & they were not being used. We have a spare blanket for each bed, a hairdryer all on the top shelf above the clothing rack. We also supply kitchen wraps/ foils/ napkins in the cupboard above the fridge, this was checked prior to your check-in. The tissues were not replaced, sorry for this. We hope you will give our property another visit sometime in the future and I will be happy to discuss any of these issues if you would like to contact me. The comfort of our guests is very important to us Thanks again, Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Forbes, New South Wales, Australia

Great location and quite place

  • 4 of 5

Great place to chill out... the water is only 6 feet from the back deck ... unit very tidy and spacious which was what we were after...

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NSW, Australia

good for a quiet getaway

  • 3 of 5

Great location, peaceful, gorgeous lake views that were just perfect for our little getaway. We spent most of our time on the porch by the water enjoying the view and nature. However, there were a few things that would have made it perfect; we'd noticed there was an unpleasant smell coming from the toilet, the only time we did not pack shampoo and soap as we'd assume basic toiletries were provided, we've stayed in many holiday homes and never had to use our own. It's not a big deal but it would be helpful if that was mentioned on the website, finally, we felt we were sinking into the bed as it was extremely soft for two people.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time and would return.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review Chau. Regarding the shampoo/ conditioner etc, we had always left some in the past and most time they were never used. I figured that most guests have a personal preference for these things so we stopped providing them. We provide hand soap still. I will look at the bed as we have not had any complaints as yet. Thanks for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at The Cottage was absolutely perfect. We had everything that we needed, and the place was clean and tidy. The view was gorgeous and we didn't want to leave! Loved it, will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Laura! So glad you enjoyed your stay, please visit again soon! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Lake Macquarie


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund


  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 5 guests. Property has 2 beds and can sleep a maximum 4 guests