Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Upscale 2 BR Chalet, 2 Blks to Square - MAY ON SALE - 25% OFF!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,510 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

MAY ON SALE - 25% OFF remaining open days in May!! Book today!!!!

ABOUT OUR CHALETS…..

Location, location, location. We offer 2 Chalets, our 2-bedroom "back" Chalet (featured here -- read more about this Chalet below) and our 1-bedroom "front" Chalet. Our Chalets are located an easy 2 blocks west of Courthouse Square in historic Prescott (pronounced “Pres-kitt”) – at one time the pre-state capital of the Arizona “Territory.” Festivals abound just about every weekend during mild weather seasons, often held right at Courthouse Square -- jazz, blues, arts -- you name it! In addition, Prescott features interesting museums, casinos, our nation's oldest rodeo in July, antique shopping, upscale shopping, outdoor year-round Farmer’s Markets, and 450 miles of hiking and biking with 5 lakes in the area.

It's a pleasant and quick walk from our Chalets to great restaurants, entertainment, and every variety of shopping. Our incredible location -- just two blocks from Prescott's historic Courthouse Square and the center of many of Prescott’s activities and festivals – is, without a doubt, one of the BEST. There’s rarely a need to drive once you get here – just park and leave your car in our private, off-street lot – and this is a huge PLUS during any downtown/Courthouse Square event when parking is at a premium.

Our Chalet grounds feature lovely and simple Arizona landscaping, on-site parking, privacy fencing rimmed by soothing shade trees, a vine-covered pergola walkway, and soon.... a little herb garden for use by our guests who love to cook! During the summer, you can hear the cicadas sing. Close to downtown, yet it feels private and secluded – and so-o-o-o-o-o relaxing!

Did you know Prescott is known as Arizona’s “Christmas City?” That’s because Courthouse Square is beautifully lit for the holidays (about early December – mid-January: confirm exact dates with Prescott’s Chamber of Commerce https://prescott.org/). There’s also a crazy western “Boot Drop” and mini street festival (Prescott’s answer to New York’s Times Square festivities) on New Year’s Eve at Courthouse Square. You can actually see Prescott’s New Year’s fireworks from our Chalets.

There is always something happening in Prescott, Arizona – everyone’s home town! Find it all at http://www.cityofprescott.net/events. Love live music? -- go to http://prescottads.com/KudosCalendar/. Want to know the weather in Prescott? -- check out http://www.usclimatedata.com/climate/prescott/arizona/united-states/usaz0178. Contact the Chamber of Commerce https://prescott.org/.

OR…. mix it up a little bit and take a fun day trip to Jerome, Sedona, Flagstaff, Grand Canyon, or Phoenix/Scottsdale!

ABOUT THIS CHALET....

VRBO #367805, our 2-bedroom "back" Chalet, was built in 2002 and is a roomy 1,510 square feet. Our back Chalet's large front deck features rocking chairs and patio furniture, including an eat-out table. Our back Chalet shares a gas grill and on-site parking with any occupants of our front, 1-bedroom Chalet, VRBO #370657.

Our back Chalet's rear patio is for your use only and features patio furniture, including a dining table, and a Weber charcoal grill. This Chalet's first floor includes a great room with comfortable seating, decorative (non-working) fireplace, large flat screen TV, stereo, Bose speakers, and wireless high speed internet. Our great room also has a full-size sofa sleeper couch. Our Chalet’s eat-in kitchen is fully equipped and includes a kitchen table plus a center island/bar with stools, offering total seating for 8. All kitchenware and upgraded appliances are provided, plus a selection of spices for use by our cooking guests. A guest room with a full-size bed is also on the first floor, plus a separate full bath with shower, and a washer/ dryer.

The Chalet’s upstairs features a master bedroom with a king size, sleep number bed and flat screen TV, a den/office loft, a master bath with roomy shower, double sinks, and large walk-in closet.

Please note this is strictly a NON-SMOKING house, porch, AND outdoor premises.

NO PETS are allowed in this Chalet.

ALL reservations are subject to management approval. We accept all major credit cards; however, please ask about our 2% discount for payment by check or money order. A $250 check or cash security deposit to secure for damage/extraordinary cleaning is required at the time of check-in and will be promptly returned at check-out, unless damage is detected or extraordinary cleaning is deemed required.

Also, please note our property has a strictly outside, non-audio, camera system focused only on access points, public view areas, and our equipment shed which is located behind our "back" Chalet.

For more information concerning either of our Chalets, call Pearl at (928) 202-9196 or email her on HomeAway/VRBO.

Please also check out our 1-bedroom Chalet (VRBO #370657).

We know you will have a wonderful time at our 2-bedroom Chalet! Book today!

Keywords: vacation rental, vacation rental downtown Prescott, vacation rental Prescott Arizona, house for rent, historic district, downtown Prescott rentals, cabin rentals, chalet

More Details

Property Manager
Pearl Carpenter
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About Pearl Carpenter

We fell in love with Prescott for its warm and friendly people, wonderful and mild four-season climate, and the endless entertainment and activities available here. Prescott is, without a doubt, “America's favorite home town!”

Why Pearl Carpenter chose Arizona

This mile-high community provides four distinct seasons and generally mild temperatures. There are endless activities sponsored by an active and friendly community. Our Chalets are within a short walking distance to much of this beautiful historic town. Our incredible location -- just two blocks from Prescott's historic Courthouse Square and the center of many of Prescott’s activities and festivals – is, without a doubt, one of the BEST. There’s rarely a need to drive once you get here – just park and leave your car in our private, off-street lot – and this is a huge PLUS during any downtown/Courthouse Square event when parking is at a premium.

And Prescott’s proximity to other classic southwestern towns – Phoenix, Scottsdale, Flagstaff, Sedona, and Jerome – just can’t be beat!

What makes this chalet unique

We enjoy a leisurely walk around nearby Courthouse Square just about any time, but especially when it’s beautifully lit up for the Christmas season or hosting a special event. Visiting local shops offering everything from antiques, western attire and furnishings, and high fashion to kitschy tourist memorabilia; attending the many weekend outdoor events (often held at Courthouse Square); shopping at the outdoor Farmer’s Markets held year-round; reading a book while sitting on the porch; or just simply enjoying the beautiful night skies and the cicadas’ melodies on a warm summer evening…. there’s so much to LOVE about Prescott and our Chalets’ great location. And when we don’t feel like cooking, we simply walk into town to enjoy a meal at one of our many “favorite” restaurants – most of them just minutes away by foot.

Guestbook comments from the manager

we are about to wrap up our trip to Prescott and our stay at the chalet. we are so sad we have to leave. If we had our choice we would stay forever. Pearl made everything so perfect and gave us everything we needed and wanted at the property. We hope to be back soon. thanks for making our trip even better than we imagined.
May 2013
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Prescott Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1510 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Study Room
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master bathroom on 2nd floor. Double shower/double sinks.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Guest bathroom on 1st floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This is the 1st floor Guest Bedroom; sleeper sofa in LR
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Sleep number King bed. This is the Master Bedroom upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Courtyard
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Shed
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Upscale 2 BR Chalet, 2 Blks to Square - MAY ON SALE - 25% OFF!!
average rating of 4.864865 based on 43 reviews
Glendale
5

Great Location in the heart of old town Prescott

  • 5 of 5

My wife & I stayed for a weekend getaway to Prescott . The home was just as described and in above average condition. We meet with the Owner upon arrival and she was very helpful with educating us about the property and the Prescott area . Not all rentals are in the same class and we have rented several via home away & vrbo. Pearls Chalet has pride of ownership that shows and her personnel attention to detail insures you have a pleasant stay ! I have no complaints and would rate this property ***** I hope to get another chance to enjoy the Chalet in Prescott real soon !

Thanks, Pearl for sharing your home for us all to enjoy a stay in historic town of Prescott, Arizona

Sincerely, Kevin Sherman

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Kevin. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again and the great little Southwestern American town of Prescott, AZ!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location great place

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we stayed here and this time we rented both places. The location is great - only a block or two from whiskey row and the square. An easy walk. The place is super clean and full of great features like the huge Weber grill and large deck to relax and eat on. In addition Pearl is a great host and is only a phone call away should we need anything.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us again this year -- we love having you and your crew! Sometimes we forget the combination of our two Chalets is just perfect for a larger group traveling together -- thanks for reminding us of that! And remember, as the old saying goes: "The third time's the charm" -- so we hope to see you once again at our beautiful Chalets and in our great, little American Southwestern town of Prescott, AZ
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful home but lacked privacy

  • 3 of 5

The home itself is beautiful, and in the perfect location just blocks from downtown. It was clean and well maintained. We were put off by a few things though. For our trip, it was just the two of us, my boyfriend and I. Pearl, the property manager, didn't seem to believe that it was just two of us, so made sure to stress the fact that she needs to know everyone's names who are staying because of fire codes. I reassured her several times that we were the only ones staying. At 10AM the following morning, we were awakened by Pearl and her husband walking the property and knocking on the door. We were still sleeping, but I came to the door and asked what she needed. She wanted to print something, using the printer that the office the home has. Maybe this was legit but seemed that she was checking up on us. With the outdoor security cameras this should not have been necessary. She also informed me that I should not have the doors open (the security doors were closed) as the cottonwood trees would cause a mess. Coming from the Phoenix heat we were excited to have some fresh, cool air, so this was annoying and seemed like any mess the trees made could be easily swept or vacuumed up.

A couple of things that the posting does not state that are noteworthy:

The fireplace does not work - it just has battery operated candles.

Checkout time is 10:00 and not 11 (Pearl was there at 9:45).

A check is required at check in, and it's given back once the property is inspected at check out.

Though Pearl was willing to work with us for a later check in, it was a lot of back and forth with her wanting to know exactly what time we would be there. Exact 4:00 check in seems to be what's preferred.

For the price paid we hoped for a better experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with all aspects of your stay at our Chalet and we do apologize. As property owners, we’d like to respond very specifically to your concerns. ----- FIRST, to clear up some misunderstandings regarding our property’s amenities/policies….. The “Overview” section of our HomeAway/VRBO listing, plus the “Notes” included in the “Rental Rates” section, state a security deposit is collected separately at Check-In. Security deposits are standard for vacation rentals, so this should not have been a surprise. We do not list a fireplace as an amenity – it is shown in one picture, but enlarging that picture will show candles placed inside, so it is visibly not a working fireplace. The rental agreement signed prior to or at occupancy states a Check-Out time of “at or before 10:00 a.m.” Our review of the HomeAway/VRBO booking conversations between you and Pearl show a requested a flexible Check-In time (i.e. after 4 p.m.) which Pearl said she could accommodate – how that changed the evening of your actual Check-In was further arranged between you and Pearl and perhaps that got complicated. ----- SECOND, regarding your concerns about privacy….. Our listing states there is another Chalet (our “front” Chalet) on the same property. We had a guest checking out from and a new guest checking in to that front Chalet on one of your days of stay – and so our Property Management team, Pearl and her husband, needed to get that front Chalet ready for the next guest and our supply shed is located behind the "back" Chalet where you were staying. You were aware there was a front Chalet because you had inquired about it, but it was already taken, so you rented the back Chalet. Pearl’s request to use the printer was an innocent request, but one we acknowledge she should not have made of you. That request is not typical of her interactions with our guests, as evidenced by most reviews for our Chalets which typically point out Pearl’s willingness to be an invaluable local resource, as well as provide the best guest experience possible. Pearl is always conscious and concerned about the need to respect our guests’ privacy, and often communicates this to us as owners. Again, we apologize for your experience. Thank you. PROPERTY OWNERS
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice place

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the 7-9th of April for a soccer tournament which my son had. Plenty of room and amenities in the home. The location of the property is excellent, you can walk to all the downtown areas. The only issue we had was an Oder which was in the home on Saturday and Sunday. We spoke with the owner about the smell, and she genuinely seemed concerned to rectify the issue.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John: Problem solved!!!! -- we are happy to report. Our owners spent a week at the property after you left, working diligently with local contractors and the city, trying to pin down the source of the issue. It was an "Inspector Clouseau" effort to determine whether the problem was coming from inside or outside the house, the general area, or a neighbor. However, once we determined the source, the fix was relatively simple -- thank goodness! So thank you for your patience and your kind words about our desire to rectify the issue. It is indeed fully rectified! Please visit our beautiful Chalet again and best regards to you and your family.....Property Management
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice place to stay.

  • 4 of 5

Location is great, big and specious, much better than a hotel room. The only thing we did not like is the smell.. there is an awful smell that comes from some where like the sewer. We love the place, it has all you need but the smell was a big deal for me.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: UPDATE AS OF 4/1917: We have determined the source of the problem you experienced and corrected it! Today we sent you a partial refund in consideration of your experience at our Chalet. Thank you!.................................. EDITED INITIAL RESPONSE: We're happy you enjoyed our property's excellent location and amenities -- thank you! We were, of course, concerned about your final comment, especially since this is the first time we've received this comment, we were not made aware of it during your stay/check-out, and we had just received a very positive review from another guest who had stayed during the prior 10 days. We do sincerely apologize for your experience. We called you in follow-up to help us better understand the issue and we really do appreciate your willingness to spend additional time on the phone with us. Then our dedicated custodian and our local professional plumbing company performed a thorough inspection of the property. Per the UPDATE above, we have found and corrected the problem. Again, we do apologize. Thank you for staying at our Chalet and providing additional insight into your experience. We hope you will visit us again and the great little American city of Prescott, AZ! Best regards.... Property Management/lg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodland Park, Colorado
4

Sweet accommodations, perfect downtown location, with one caveat.

  • 4 of 5

This chalet is well supplied with all the comforts of home, and we loved the easy access on foot to all that downtown Prescott has to offer. The one thing I would recommend to the owners (and why I couldn't give it five stars) would be to professionally clean or remove/replace the carpeting. It is stained and dirty and there are no adequate tools in the unit to keep it clean. (Of the 3 vacuum cleaners in the tool closet, only one worked, marginally.) We were there for a month, so it was an issue for us. That aside, it was a delightful stay. Prescott is a very cool town, with friendly and welcoming residents and lots to do and see.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you -- we appreciate your kind words about our "sweet" Chalet accommodation, well-supplied amenities, and great Prescott location! Regarding the carpet (which is interspersed with other hard floor coverings in the Chalet -- and primarily located upstairs) -- we agree it probably should be replaced and we have discussed doing so within 6-12 months. However, we do clean the carpeting several times a year, but because it is an off-white/light color, it may still appear like it has not been professionally cleaned. It is definitely NOT dirty -- but we agree it may be stained in some spots. We are continually updating our Chalets and Chalet amenities -- within the past two weeks, we replaced our outside gas grill with a high-end unit, since with the onset of warmer weather, we feel our Chalet guests will value being able to grill out on a quality grill. We recently planted our little outside "herb garden" and hope to add to it once the weather improves a bit. We've added more southwestern touches to this Chalet and will continue to enhance the decor to provide a pleasant guest experience inside the Chalet. Regarding vacuums, we had replaced bags and belts in the vacuum cleaners, so we're really not sure why they didn't function well and we certainly apologize for any problems experienced in getting them to work. However, once made aware of this issue, we did come over and promptly address it. Please come and visit our Chalet and the friendly "everyone's Hometown" of Prescott again! Best regards.... Property Management
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Lone Spur Cafe
"Great breakfast spot with a lot of local color!"
Raven Cafe
"Laura's favorite Prescott lunch spot. Excellent wine list, outdoor dining all year."
El Gato Azul
"Our favorite dinner spot, walking distance (isn't everything walking distance from the Chale..."
Sharlot Hall Museum
"A must see museum, one block from the Chalets. Awesome history of Prescott and the role Ari..."
The Local
"You may want to drive here, (only 3/4 mile) but it's worth it. Fantastic breakfasts, all lo..."
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Rosa's
Car: recommended

Located just 2 blocks from the city center -- the beautiful Courthouse Square, plus the famous "Whiskey Row," great restaurants, entertainment venues, and all the other great happenings in historic downtown Prescott. The city presents free activities in Courthouse Square many days and nights, especially during the warmer months. Prescott is close to Jerome, Sedona, Flagstaff, and the Grand Canyon. Phoenix/Scottsdale are only 100 miles to the south. Flying in??? -- you don’t need to rent a car unless you want to take day trips out Prescott since the "Arizona Shuttle" service makes numerous trips to/from Prescott and the Phoenix airport every day -- just ask to be dropped off at the St. Michael Hotel/Bistro drop off point and you can easily walk to our Chalets in about 5 minutes or less.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Prescott Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
MAY on Sale!
May 15 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$169
Fri,Sat
$940
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,250
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.35%

Rates are subject to change and all rates/reservations are subject to management approval.

A $250 check or cash security deposit to secure for damage/extraordinary cleaning is required at the time of check-in and will be promptly returned at check-out, unless damage is detected or extraordinary cleaning is deemed required.

Also, please note our property has a strictly outside, non-audio, camera system focused only on access points, public view areas, and our equipment shed which is located behind our "back" Chalet.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Manager Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable