Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3BR/2.5BA, Walking Distance to US Capitol & Downtown w/FREE OFF-STREET PARKING

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,864 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

This is a beautifully renovated home located within walking distance to all the major sites and attractions DC has to offer. Centrally located near the Downtown Business District, only a 15 minute walk to the DC Convention Center, Chinatown, and Union Station. The Metro station is a short 10-12min walk from the home (New York Ave Station - Red Line) and is the best form of transportation to all area attractions such as: The National Mall, The Smithsonian, Museums, and the world famous Cherry Blossom Parade & Festival. Walk 1 block to North Capitol Street and get a wonderful view of The Capitol. Terrific dining, shopping, and entertainment is nearby on the U STREET CORRIDOR. We offer FREE off-street parking!

Property Address: 40 BATES STREET, NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001.

The Bates Street Suites is a 2-level row house with (3) bedrooms, (2) full baths, and (1) half bath. It comfortably sleeps (10) guests. Bedroom (1) contains a Queen-sized bed with private bath, dresser w/ mirror, huge walk-in closet, access to deck, & TV. Bedroom (2) contains a Full-sized bed, dresser w/mirror, & TV. Bedroom (3) contains a Queen-size bed, futon, dresser w/ mirror, & TV. In addition, there are also two full-sized futons in the Living Room. The property features a fully-stocked kitchen, washer & dryer, newer appliances, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker, pots & pans, & Flat Screen TVs. We have also lots of exposed brick walls, great sky lights, free telephone service, satellite cable, high speed internet access with WI-FI to surf the web anywhere in the house or outside on the deck.

A NON-REFUNDABLE $49 Property Damage Protection is required.

DC Lodging tax is 14.5%... DUE TO THE ECONOMIC CONDITIONS, WE'RE NOT CHARGING TAX!!!

Keywords: Vacation Row House

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About The Owner

I handle the business & marketing side from the background whereas my Property Manager does all the hard work. Our guests really appreciate his efforts and makes a note of it in the reviews.

The Owner purchased this house in 1990

Why The Owner chose Truxton Circle

I chose to convert my home into a vacation rental based on demand in the DC market.

What makes this house unique

I believe you will feel very comfortable. It feels like a home away from home.

Amenities

Truxton Circle House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1864 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) We have three full size futons for sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(51 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
33% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3BR/2.5BA, Walking Distance to US Capitol & Downtown w/FREE OFF-STREET PARKING
average rating of 4.627451 based on 51 reviews
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

This house was an amazing find. Good sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Good, walkable restaurants nearby. Will book again.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house in an up and coming neighborhood!

  • 4 of 5

When we pulled up to the house I was a little nervous looking at the neighborhood. Not to mention, a police car was on the street and the officer told us to take everything inside the house or it would be stolen. A little disappointed that the electric gate did not come down in the back, but informed by Sherman that it didn't work. It was much all much ado about nothing. Cars were fine all week. Neighbors were friendly. Nice easy walk to metro. House is beautiful inside as pictured. We were a group of 10 (4 adults, 6 kids) and fit comfortably into the house. We would recommend buying a good set of knives for the house. We did a lot of cooking and a good knife was the only thing lacking. We didn't see Sherman while we were there, but it was the week of the Fourth. He didn't answer the phone when we called, but he did return the calls in a timely manner. Overall good stay and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear "it was much ado about nothing", and you found the home beautiful and the neighbors friendly. We do not advertise the electric gate in the rear because maintenance is a nightmare. We'll buy more basic knives as quality knives keep disappearing. Sorry you didn't get to meet Sherman, he was probably busy with his other properties during the holiday weekend. An overall good stay & a recommendation to friends is what we like to hear!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for a group

  • 4 of 5

House is exactly as advertised. We were a group of 5 adults, plenty of room, parking was a good bonus as we had a car. There were problems with the A/C, but Sherman couldn't have been more accommodating, even offered to move us to hotel. A bit of a walk to Mall and Union Station, especially in the heat.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: GOOD NEWS: The A/C unit (condenser) has been replaced! We hope your partial refund was more convenient than a move to a hotel. Thanks for confirming the house is exactly as advertised.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great property.

  • 5 of 5

With our daughter and grand children we toured DC for a week. This is a great location for the price point and the apartment was well appointed and clean. If you feel like walking, the Capital building and other sites are less than a mile away. If you want to ride, the metro is just a few blocks away. There is a new Harris Teeter grocery store just a few blocks away if you want to eat-in as we did. And Sherman King is a great host as he provided us everything we needed that was not already in place. We had a wonderful week. (if you plan to tour DC, bring your walking shoes!!!)

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you found the home well appointed and clean. As usual, Sherman is always accommodating.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vero Beach
4

Just the right size house for 2 families of 5, conveniently located, and well equipped

  • 4 of 5

Trying to find a home that could comfortably accomodate 2 families of 5 for a week and was conveniently located close to the Metro for daily sightseeing of the capital was no easy task, but we were fortunate to find this well appointed home which fit the bill perfectly! This home was very well equipped with everything we needed including board games for the kids! It is a very comfortable home with plenty space to relax and socialize and has great character as well. A quick shuttle ride from the airport, groceries delivered to our door from Safeway, and a short walk to the Metro station each day made our sightseeing experience convenient and enjoyable. It was a great place to come home to and relax at the end of a long day on the town. Thanks to Sherman for answering all our questions promptly and assuring we had a wonderful stay in D.C.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to hear our home fit the bill for the 2 families. We try our best to make it feel like A HOME AWAY FROM HOME.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice house within walking distance of the national mall

  • 4 of 5

This house fit the six of us well for the 7 days we were there. We actually did walk to/from the mall several times. We also used uber for days when there was going to be a lot of walking at our destination. The house is clean and quiet. We would use it again if we were going back and needed accommodations for a couple of families. Off street parking was handy for the two days we rented a vehicle to travel to Mt. Vernon and Monticello. The neighborhood is overall in good shape and seems to be in a transition stage of improving itself. Any questions about the house while we were there were answered promptly and clearly by Mr. King via text.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are most certainly glad to hear it was a good fit for your family. Repeat guests are always welcomed & are eligible for a discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Lincoln Memorial
Washington Monument
White House
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
DCA
Nearest Train
0.89 Miles
NEW YORK AVE Staion (RED LINE)
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
N.Capitol and Florida Ave
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Busboys & Poet
Nearest Point of Interest
Home
Nearest Point of Interest
Metro

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150
Property Damage Protection $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.