Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quiet Home with Mountain View minutes to Gore Mtn & North Creek

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Welcome to the Gore Mountain Chalet!

Our secluded home sits on 10 acres of private land overlooking a mountain side pond with 180 degree view of mountain landscape. Includes comforts of home such as full kitchen, gas heat, large living/dining area & fireplace.

This outfitted chalet features:

- 1 bedroom with large queen bed, nightstands, dresser

- 1 bedroom with full bed, nightstand, luggage bench and hooks for hanging clothes

- Large room that splits into 2 bedrooms featuring full futon and twin bunk beds

- Loft sleeping with a queen bed and double bed

- Large living room with queen sleeper sofa, AM/FM/CD Stereo Surround Sound System

- FREE Wireless Internet

- Dining Room with seating for 8 guests

- Well stocked kitchen with prep table including 2 additional seats

- 1.5 bathrooms

- Includes cooking utensils and all linens

- Off Street Parking for 3-4 Cars

Check out our website for additional pictures and to see Gore Mountain Chalet on a map!

More Details

Owner
Christopher Ogden
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 7, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Chris,

I just wanted to send you a quick message this morning to tell you how much fun we had at the cabin this weekend. It was exactly what we had hoped the place would be and we had a great time. Thanks again for working with me to get this setup as quickly and painlessly as possible. We're already looking forward to next year's #Geekend Getaway!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Basil & Wicks
Nearest Train
5 Miles
SARATOGA & NORTH CREEK RAILWAY
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Rt 28 and Rt 8
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
BarVino
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Gore Mountain
Car: necessary

Amenities

Johnsburg Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Loft - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Splits into 2 rooms
  • There is an additional queen sleeper sofa in the main living area
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Stereo System Includes AUX/AUDIO/iPod Input.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
21% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet Home with Mountain View minutes to Gore Mtn & North Creek
average rating of 4.714286 based on 30 reviews
5

Great House and Location

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the stay, very well maintained house and located in a great spot. Phone service is not that great and the wifi not the fastest, but it works just fine, even with 6 ppl on the network. Large Driveway that will require 4 wheel in the snow, but no problem getting up a minivan in the summer. Room for 3-4 cars.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Phone service is tough in the Adirondacks, AT&T does have strong coverage at the house and provides LTE, Verizon does not. We were able to get Frontier to increase the internet speed slightly but their service levels are limited. We are continuing to pursue other options as they become available. The driveway is well maintained during winter months with plowing and sanding as needed. I am able to get my minivan up the driveway throughout the winter months.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was as advertised! Really nice . We loved the deck over looking the pond!

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Come over and relax!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property has a beautiful view of Lake Austin and tons of charm.

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house for my dad's 60th birthday. We wanted somewhere we could cook & grill that was close enough to Schroon Lake and Lake George for day excursions. This was perfect for both.

The house was charming and easily slept the six of us. The recliner chairs in the family room were really comfortable too!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful spacious house, excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for my friends and I. It was spacious, well maintained, and in a beautiful location close to Gore mountain. It was extremely cold outside during our visit but the house was warm and not drafty. There was also plenty of firewood for he fireplace which was a nice touch. Chris was a very responsive host and the whole process went very smoothly. Would stay again .

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location w some reservations about the owner

  • 3 of 5

Superb location. Big problems with screens in house - we were absolutely inundated with mosquitos due to holes in screens.

BBQ's were not cleaned as per my request and owners confirmation - they were in poor shape and filthy.

House was clean but didn't feel very clean - owner stores boxes of stuff in visible areas of house making house seem cluttered.

I slept in one room only - didn't use other rooms or beds and owner still kept 20% of my security deposit based on some flimsy reasoning. Worse - owner didn't refund my diminished deposit until I contacted him about 10 days later - leads me to believe he may have kept full deposit if I didn't contact him.

House is in a beautiful spot close by the town of north creek.

Look out for the mosquitos and other bugs due to issue w screens and make sure you consider issues w this owner before moving forward.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are always working to improve our home for others to enjoy. Typically security deposits are returned within a week of departure. However, once in awhile more time is needed to assess and determine if part of the deposit needs to be withheld because of damage done or extra cleaning costs incurred.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Hoboken, New Jersey
5

Great weekend with friends

  • 5 of 5

We rented the cabin with friends and we had a great time! We were 9 adults and 1 child. The place was big enough for us to be very comfortable. Most of the beds are on the lower level and therefore more private, and the common area on the top floor makes for a good place to socialize. The place is not new, but everything you need is there, even games(!), and it`s comfortable. We cooked several meals for our group of 10 and never ran out of dishes, silverware or cooking pots and pans. It`s also very close to Gore mountain and a big grocery store, and it has wi-fi. We did some hiking nearby at Peaked Mountain, only a 15-minute drive away. We identified other bigger trails within a half hour distance from the cabin also. And the owner was very responsive. So I definitely recommend it!

The only points I would mention in case someone is looking for this specifically are:

- there is no designated fireplace outside. We were told we could make a fire in the parking lot by forming a circle with rocks, but it is not the same as having a designated fireplace in the woods with chairs around it

- if you have toddlers who walk or crawl, you will have to watch them on the top floor, especially around the staircase or near the fireplace

- there were no chairs on the awesome deck outside when we were there, but the owner told me afterwards that he is expecting to have a bench there soon

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $75

Note that the quotable rates don't allow the flexibility we use to quote. If you have questions about the cost, it would be best to contact us directly.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties