check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Aster Kim and Gi Chang

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, Korean

Beautiful Waterfront Home! Ice Cream Parlor, Home Theater, Kayak, Pedal Boat!

12 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ocean Shores House Rental Photos and Description

Unique Vacation home, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4 Baths (Sleeps max.9 )

One of a kind unique canal front vacation home with 14 seat movie theater, a retro 1920 style soda/ Ice cream parlor (16 seats) for your special occasions and celebrations! A private dock with a kayak, 2 seat pedal boat and a fire pit by water for your pleasure (fishing trout and bass off the private dock( adults need a fishing license) or just kayaking to explore 23 mile fresh water canal. Private yet, centrally located ( 5' driving) to most shops, restaurants, sandy beaches/ dunes, trails to Damon's Point, wild bird sanctuaries, mini rain forest, lakes, Interpretive Center, the Pacific, coves, marina, jetty, islands in duck lake, Oyhut wildlife recreation area, golf courses, entertainment centers and a casino, all within 1- 2 miles.

This unique home is on a quiet residential location.:

Visit nearby Olympic national park, Forks, Taholah village, volcanic rock islands along the northern Washington coast on a day trip. In the evening, unwind yourself with your favorite movies in our unique full screen ' Taholah Theater'. One of a kind getaway home!

CANCELLATIONS: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 20% Cancellation fee or $100/Day whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, or that are made within 60 days of the arrival date, forfeit the full advance payment and damage/reservation deposit. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit. You may choose to purchase travel insurance separately. a MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY- The maximum number of guests per home is eight ( 8 ) persons. An additional charge or $ 50.00 per person per night for guests in addition to 8 will be assessed. THIS PROPERTY REQUIRES A TWO (2) NIGHT MINIMUM STAY. . FALSIFIED RESERVATIONS – Any reservation obtained under false pretense will be subject to forfeiture of advance payment, deposit and/or rental money, and the party will not be permitted to check in. View all of your current rental rate information.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Aster Kim and Gi Chang (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, Korean

About Aster Kim and Gi Chang

Love the nature, wild life, serenity, peace, incredible beauty, openness, harmony and love in nature..

Aster Kim and Gi Chang purchased this house in 2005

Why Aster Kim and Gi Chang chose Southwest Washington

Surrounded by all above, fresh air, and the mystifying Blue Pacific!

What makes this house unique

All above yet close enough to civilization if you want to be.

This home is definately not a place for a loud drinking party people. This home is perfect for a small, intimate family/freinds gathering to share love, and enjoy the peace and harmony in nature...

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rea/Rich Wedding Party.

Labor Day 2014.

Perfect!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 132

Reviews

4.1
based on 12 traveler reviews

Beautiful Waterfront Home! Ice Cream Parlor, Home Theater, Kayak, Pedal Boat!
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 144 reviews
4

Very nice and unique place, fun for everyone!

  • 4 of 5

More room than I thought and my family really loved it. I hosted a family reunion and this was the host house. Over 30 people were fed and entertained daily and many positive comments were made about the house.

Pro's: 2 Kayaks, fire pit, movie theater, ice cream bar to name a few

Con's: Dirty BBQ, DVD player didn't work, cabinets in kitchen crammed full of stuff, and paddle boat broke.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, My reunion was a success!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your party of 9 checked in and we were amazed that you could entertain that many people, even though we don't normally accept that many people. Have a beautiful rest of your summer in the most beautiful Pacific North West, where everything is so beautiful! Aster
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great fun

  • 5 of 5

Had a lot to offer and great location on canal. Great for a large family. Had lots of fun.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being a great guest! It's easy to be a good host when the guests are so great as your group! Come again for the repeated guest's discount of 10%! Thank you again! Kimmie and Gi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

fun place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house for a girls' weekend and we all had a great time. There were a total of 8 of us and plenty of space for all! We enjoyed the theater, watching movies both nights we were there.

There was a kayak on site, and one of our girls brought one as well, so it was nice that 2 people at a time could enjoy the canal. We were sad to find out the pedal boat needs some work - only one set of pedals actually worked and it has been in the water for quite some time so the algae caused some steering issues - but that didn't stop the girls from trying!

We had planned on using the bbq however it too was 'out of order' but again, it didn't spoil our trip in the least.

The theater is so cute and the fact that they have VCR, DVD and Discs was cool! Several of the girls had never even seen a Video Disc before! The selection of movies was great - lots to choose from for all ages.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would certainly consider renting this place again.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed our home. For the pedal boat, we fixed it so many times, but the pedal chain gets off from the rack very easily each time it's used, and, nothing will really help that machine at this time. So we recommend not to use it, and use the kayak instead. The propane gas grill is working, but, the guests need to buy and bring the small, portable one time use propane canister for it and hook it up to it just like camping. gear. We have other charcoal grill and out door fire pit you can use for BBQ just for your info.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Fun house to stay in.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed watching football and movies in the movie theater and nearby shopping. The house is very unique and cozy. It's good for couples and families if you don't mind sharing a bathroom and a "lived-in" feel to the house.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ocean Shores Gibsons place Rocks!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at Gibsons place. We had a large group of chidren and adults and created some lasting memories. All the bedrooms were very comfortable and the living and kitchen area had everything we needed. The dock and paddle boat on the water were fantastic. We had a nice fire in the firepit and cooked smores and told stories. The house is very well kept and had a fun ambiance. The kids were crazy about the movie theatre and they had a nice collection of DVDs to watch. Would recommend to others and we hope to return again next year.

Thanks for a great time!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate guests like you who are very gentle with this special home and also appreciating the original founder's 1920 style soda fountain and the art deco home theater. We welcome your family and friends any time of the year! Thank you! Kimmie
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Washington State
5

We really enjoyed out stay

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at the Gibson House August 17-19th. And while it was a short stay, we enjoyed the house greatly.

We had no issues with anything in the house. The owner, Miss Kimmie, was there when we arrived, and walked me through the house. She also gave me instructions on how to use the entertainment equipment - dvd player, sound system, tv. Yes, it might be older, but it still works great as long as you treat it carefully. We had no issues with it, and really had a good time watching movies in the theater room. My kids got a total kick out of it the theater inside the house. The bedrooms served their purpose. We all slept just fine. If anything, bring your own pillow just for comforts sake. We also all had plenty of towels to use for showering. Yes, you do have to walk through a bathroom to get into the "Keeper's" and "Jungle" bedrooms. Which really isn't anything to complain about. Just, you know, be patient if someone's in the bathroom. Or walk through quick. The kitchen was great, and we found everything we could possibly need cooking and utensil wise. The dishwasher ran just fine. The owners very kindly allowed us use of items in their garage. Which isn't junk...We used the two bikes, some of the play buckets when we went to the beach, and the air hockey table. I could go on about the house, but I will simply say this - treat the house with respect. The owners have put a lot of time and effort into making it a fun place to stay. It's a very functional house, and I would not hesitate to stay there again if we were ever to go back to Ocean Shores. It's not that far from the beach, and not that far from town either. Anyone who rents a vacation home should make an effort to do a walk through with the owner, and get directions on how to use certain items. The only, and I mean ONLY issue we had was with the yard, there are little sticker bushes in the grass, and we found that out the hard way. I only say that in case someone with animals, or small kids stay there. But, once we found that out, shoes went on and stayed on anytime we were outside. It did not, however, ruin our stay. Yes, the ice cream parlor is mainly for looks, but is functional if you plan ahead of time and get instructions on how to use it, and plan accordingly for it. Thank you, Kimmie, for allowing us to stay in your home. We had a great time, and made lots of great memories there.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sara for your kindness to take time and putting a positive review on this site. We really appreciate kind and gentle guests like you. We like you also appreciate the tremendous amount of craftsmanship and time spent on this home by the very talented original artists Norman and Sally Gibson. We will work on the sticker bushes in the grass soon. Come back and visit us soon. Thank you. Kimmie and Donald
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Ocean Shores, WA.
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Point Brown Avenue.
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
On Canal Drive. a few blocks form home.
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Olympia, Washington
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
SR 115
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Point Brown Avenue
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
West beach
Car: necessary

Centrally located in Ocean Shores, surrounded by the PACIFIC OCEAN, beautiful Grays Harbor, 23 miles of fresh water canal, islands , lakes, this home has it all! Tranquil water front, perfect for kayakers, amateur fishermen or just for relaxing by the water & fire pit . One man kayak, two men Sea- Cycle, two bikes and a game table for your pleasure. Close to all sandy beaches( 1-2 miles), golf courses, parks, Jetty, Damon Point, various wild life sanctuaries, an Interpretive Center. A short day trip to Olympic National Park, Lake Quinault, Hoh rain forest, and much more to explore!

Many theme rooms and 14 seat movie theater, 16 seat Retro soda/ Ice cream parlor to entertain your small size friends and family.

Over 3200 sq, 4 BR, 4 Bath/ 2 showers, total 12 rooms . . .

Picnic tables, BBQ grill, fire pit by the water. Private yet centrally located.

Explore the diverse wild life , marine life. from Damon Point, to Olympic National Park!

If you are lucky you will have a glimpse of kite surfers, whales, dolphins acrobatic jumps into the air at the south bay and even snowy owls!.

In the evening watch your favorite movie in the 'Taholah' Home Theater.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$385
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 11.4%

Falsified reservation, I proof of age will be required, only rentals for 21 and over. and must include the number of guests. Refusing one on one theater operating instruction will forfeiture deposit . Please, keep in mind that there are up to three stories of stairwells if you are traveling with elderly.
CANCELLATIONS: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 25% Cancellation fee or $150/Day whichever is greater. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent/deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocean Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Study Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half 3 - toilet , sink
    Half 4 - toilet , Sink
  • One half bath in Gibson Island room and one half bath next to the Garden room downstairs. Two bathrooms with a shower in each on second floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , plus 1 single inflatable
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • Captain's quarter with a private bath and a watch tower, queen size bed, and 1 inflatable mattress ( single). Sweet heart room with queen size bed. Keeper's room with double size futon bed. Gibson Island ( Jungle) room with 2 beds ( full size futon beds with memory foam mattresses) and 2 inflatable mattresses ( 1 full, 1 twin)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Two bikes. a kite, Gas BBQ grill, picnic table. Interpretive Center, Damon Point nearby . sea bass fishing, snowy owl watching, agate hunting,at Daon Point, clam digging, horseback riding, beach combing on west beach.. Rent a electric boat for a day for 23 mile beautiful captain hosted cruise! Pet : With a written permission and a pet fee. Kid Friendly : All ages welcome. A rocking horse for small kids only in 'Tivoli winter Room'.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties