check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill

Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Roomy and Quiet Personal Apartment with Air Conditioning in Le Marais

22 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Les Archives Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-3)

This completely renovated (in 2015) and carefully owner-maintained personal apartment is located in the historic Marais district of Paris, France. This neighborhood provides the perfect Parisian experience from sunny, outdoor brassieres to the latest shopping on Rue Des Francs Bourgeois, lunch in the Place des Vosges to romantic walks along the Seine. Our quiet, light-filled and roomy one bedroom apartment (62 sq. m., 667 sq. ft.) is located on the third floor of a 17th century building. Near metro stations Saint-Paul (line 1), Rambuteau (line 11) and Chemin Vert (line 8).

The American-style kitchen opens into the spacious livingroom which has oak floors and warm light from both the street-side and the quiet cobblestone courtyard. The decor is urban modernist, 'Paris meets Wallpaper*'. In the bedroom is a queen-sized bed designed by Amsterdam artist Maroeska Metz. The well-equipped kitchen can be used to prepare everything from a petit dejeuner to a gourmet dinner. After spending the day in Paris, you can pamper yourself in the granite and mosaic tiled bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate tub. Fully air-conditioned for 2015.

For your comfort, this is a non-smoking apartment. Children under 10 only allowed with permission of owners. Available only when the owners are out-of-town.

See Customer Reviews below ...

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bill (Owner)
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bill

Both of us love to travel (though we never have enough time). I work at a software company while my wife has started her own perfume business. One day (soon we hope), we'll retire and relax!

Bill purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Bill chose 4th Arrondissement Pompidou Le Marais

We spend much of the year in Paris but when we are traveling, our apartment is a perfect place for you to stay since we keep it in top condition being our residence.

What makes this apartment unique

Our apartment is very open, bright and comfortable. Besides being a roomy apartment, we live in a wonderful neighborhood with nice shops, restaurants, brasseries and parks. It is always a pleasure to be in Paris and live in *our* neighborhood.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just finished a wonderful five day stay at Bill and Ineke's apartment. This is the perfect apartment for a stay in Paris. The Marais is one of the best places to stay as it affords you an interesting and vibrant area in the city without the overcrowding that can be found in some areas. The apartment is beautiful and had everything you could ask for and need. We arrived during a hot spell and were so happy to have air conditioning. The apartment is beautiful and tasteful with plenty of room for us to settle in. Close by markets and restaurants were also appreciated. Finally Bill and Ineke were easy and pleasant to deal with and we're available to answer any and all questions. This was a perfect end to a wonderful right trip to France.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 58

Reviews

5
based on 22 traveler reviews

Roomy and Quiet Personal Apartment with Air Conditioning in Le Marais
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 80 reviews
San Francisco, CA USA
5

The perfect location & beautiful, comfortable, modern apartment

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Elzevir apartment was our first time using VRBO, which is a little unnerving because of course unless you know someone who has experienced a property first hand, you can't be sure what you are getting. But the reviews for Bill and Ineke's beautiful, modern apartment convinced us. The hosts make your stay feel like you are a guest, with their quick responses, well-crafted neighborhood guide, and little touches throughout the apartment that make it clear your hosts love the place and want you to as well. The location cannot be touched. There are restaurants, museums, bistros, parks and shopping in easy walking distance. The kitchen and bathroom are beautifully redone. Everything you need has been thought of - from umbrellas to hair dryer to washer/dryer and comfortable sheets, even wifi and a laptop for your use. And loads of city guides. Windows are huge and let in lots of light and fresh air, but the curtains also allow you to shut out the outside world. We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, open, airy place in the perfect neighborhood. Paris was quite warm when we visited and we were always very comfortable in the apartment. Thank you Bill and Ineke. We look forward to a future visit!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful comments! Looking forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location with a lovely modern apartment

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Bill and Ineke's apartment for a week in August 2016. It was not our first time in Paris, but it certainly was the best! The apartment was so comfortable, especially with the AC since the August temperatures were pretty high. The windows were beautiful and it was lovely to open them at night when the air was cool and admire the beautiful neighborhood. The bathroom was personally my favorite room, since the shower and separate bath tub were so nice after a long day of walking around the city. There is a great movie selection as well; highly recommend Amélie. Bill had such amazing details on literally everything we could possibly need and want for our stay. From kitchen appliances to bath salts for a nice soak, this place really had it all. We tried the recommended and close restaurants and adored them. We also really appreciated the macbook for computer access. I really didnt want to bring my computer with me, but it was nice able to look things up for our trip. Overall, it was an amazing trip and I could not have asked for a better place to stay for the week. When we go back to Paris, we will definitely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. Please keep us in mind for any future trip and let your friends know about our apartment. Best wishes, Bill and Ineke.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exceptional

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have rented apartments for our vacations for a number of years. The Elzévir apartment had everything we wanted: location, comfort, efficient kitchen and quiet. On top of everything else, the owners make you feel like you are truly their guests not just clients.

We are already planning our return.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Peter, thank you for your nice comments! Looking forward to your return. Best, Bill and Ineke.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Paris apartment

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a happy week at the Elzévir apartment at New Years 2016 and were very sorry to leave. Everything we needed for a luxurious and comfortable stay in a central, yet quiet and secure, location in the Marais, with spacious and well-furnished rooms. Telling details: there are US electric adapters in every room, and a Macbook Air and printer are at your disposal. WIFI is fast and reliable. The bedroom is silent and restful, with a great bed, heavy draperies, and an entire wall of floor-to-ceiling fitted closets. We especially appreciated the deluxe marble bath with huge walk-in shower, large tub, and heated towel rack, and the gourmet kitchen with full-size Miele appliances and Nespresso coffee maker (you might find it tucked into a drawer below the induction cooktop). You can bring Nespresso pods from home as I did, or buy them at a nearby department store. The kitchen has been outfitted with care and you'll find quality basics on hand. Grocery stores and traiteurs (food for carry-out) are nearby on the rue Saint-Antoine -- or indulge yourself by taking the metro to Bon Marché's magnificent Grand Epicerie in the 6th arrondissement or Lafayette Gourmet in the 9th. The property owners provide a written, illustrated walking guide of the neighborhood for those not familiar with this trendy and chic locale. The advice is spot-on: we enjoyed dinner at the bistro Camille at the end of the street, lunch at La Petite Place across the street, shopping for gifts at the Meert chocolate shop downstairs, and window shopping in the innumerable boutiques. Other favorite bistros from previous trips are the nearby Bistro de l'Oulette at Place des Vosges and Au Bourguignon du Marais. You'll discover your own faves when you make the Elzévir apartment your home away from home. Local tips: buy carnets (sets of 10) metro/bus tickets from the machines and get around like a true Parisian. And while you may not save money with a museum pass, it will enable you to bypass long lines at the more popular museums such as the nearby Picasso and Pompidou museums, not to mention the Louvre and Orsay, so consider buying one at a LESS-popular museum beforehand (I got ours at the Cluny). Apartment rental payment was easy with credit card, and our deposit was promptly refunded. Owners and their local representative were immediately responsive. We will return, and recommend whole-heartedly to our friends. Thank you Bill and Ineke.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your nice comments and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Romantic Neighborhood, Modern Apartment

  • 5 of 5

I recently booked this tastefully decorated apartment for a mother/daughter vacation. It is ideally located in the heart of the historic Marais neighborhood. We loved the views from the large windows overlooking a quiet local street on one side and a cobble stone interior courtyard on the other.

The apartment has recently been renovated to include air conditioning, a modern kitchen and a spa-like bathroom. After a deep refreshing sleep, we were ready to begin exploring the neighborhood. Beautiful specialty shops, museums, parks, cafes, bistros and restaurants were just steps from the front door.

My daughter and I enjoyed an evening boat tour, took a day trip to Fontainebleau and shared many special meals during our stay. I definitely plan to return to this five star accommodation.

Elisabeth L.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your nice comments and look forward to you visiting again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, wonderful unit, perfect Paris Experience

  • 5 of 5

This apartment has every convenience. We were very happy, comfortable, safe and pleased with everything about the stay.

Bill has gone to great effort to put together a comprehensive notebook with explanations about the unit (TV, DVD, WiFi, etc). Nothing was left out-

It is on the 3rf floor, so be aware of that- and no elevator... But it was no issue-

We walked most places, and cabs were easy.

Nothing but high marks and kudos to the owners for having a great place for a Paris experience!

Merci boo coo!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Robert and Louise, Camille, and many more
Car: not necessary

Within a five-minute walk of the apartment, you'll find famous Paris cultural sites such as the Place des Vosges, Musée Picasso, Musée Carnavalet, Archives Nationales, Musée Cognaq Jay and the Swedish Cultural Institute, Ten minutes further and you can be enjoying Hotel de Ville, the Pompidou Center, the Bastille Opera, the Seine River, Notre-Dame and Hotel de Sully, On Rue des Francs Bourgeois and other nearby shopping streets you can find stores such as Plein Sud, L'Eclaireur, Barbara Bui, Zadig and Voltaire, Lolita Lempicka, Muji, Ordning and Reda and Christophe Delcourt, along with unique indie stores such as Les Mille Feuilles, Home Autour du Monde, Nickel and more, Visit some of our favorite local restaurants such as Le Rénconfort, Deux Pas du Dos or Gli Angeli, The choice of restaurants is limitless and our personally created guide, found in the apartment, will list our recommended restaurants, Five minute walk from the nearby St, Paul (line 1) metro station.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Les Archives Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016
Mar 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$380
$2,500
 
 
Winter 2 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 17 2016
5 night minimum stay
$285
$1,900
 
 
Holidays 2016
Dec 18 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$380
$2,500
 
 
Winter 1 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
5 night minimum stay
$285
$1,900
 
 
2017
Mar 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$380
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$380
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Rates are subject to change. If your reservation is within 30 days of departure, please request a special last minute rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Les Archives Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 667 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Paper Towels
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Separate WC - toilet , Separate WC
    Bathroom (SdB) - toilet , tub , shower , Over sized shower with tall shower head.
  • From the photos, the bathroom is large with an oversized shower accommodating tall people easily.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , Simmons Sensoft Evolution Mattress.
    Sofa Bed - 1 queen , Cappellini Cube Sofa Bed
  • Queen size Beds (1) and Cappellini sofa bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
Notes:
This apartment features a Paris architect-designed interior with modern mid-century classics by Eames, Noguchi and Arne Jacobsen, combined with designs by contemporary artists and designers, Outstanding location in the heart of the Marais, near the latest shops, bars and clubs, and yet on a residential street, High ceilings, double exposure with seven windows and all-cotton designer sheets and towels, The fully-equipped kitchen features modern kitchen appliances by Miele, Customized bathroom with over-sized shower, separate bathtub, hair dryer, along with a separate powder room (WC with sink), Cable TV with CNN and BBC, HDTV, iron, Apple Macbook Air, Darty broadband with WiFi, ink-jet printer/fax.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties