Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Texada Art Retreat;private hot tub

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Texada is a property conceived, designed, built and operated by well known Daylesford artists.

The buzz of our personality-laden retreat greets you with surprises at every turn. Texada blends natural beauty with contemporary design.As artist Marc Chagall said “Great art picks up where nature ends.”.

Texada is filled with thoughtful contradictions and a playful intersection of old and new.

Watch the native bird-life swoop through the trees as you relax in the heated outdoor hot tub on your deck within a private garden scattered with sculpture. Texada is located on a bird transit route and is renowned for the species of birds the property supports.

This inspired space will tempt you to extend your visit

Texada is a short 10 minute walk to the shopping, galleries and restaurants on Vincent St, and is also a short walk to the lake precinct, it is adjacent to the famous Mill Market and is on the trail head of the great dividing trail and the natural delights of the Wombat Forest.

Texada is nestled within an orchard of plum trees and ,during the spring and summer, is enveloped in foliage.

In the winter there are views to the Wombat State Forest.

There is comfortable, large, screened BBQ decking area with a large table for outside meals and relaxation.

-Large living /kitchen area

-Separate bathroom with shower.

-King size bed in a large bedroom. It has an excellent mattress with a pillow top.

-fold down couch for extra guests and children

-Galley kitchen with hotplates, a small convection oven, microwave, plunger coffee equipment, full crockery,glassware,cutlery and cookware.

- Split system heating and air conditioning

- HD TV with DVD

- iPod docking station for your convenience.

-Pet friendly. There is a secure decking area where dogs can be left safely. The greater garden area is not securely fenced for dogs. There is a pet surcharge of $20 per day stayed.

-Complimentary drinks upon arrival for two night stays.

-There is a $35 service surcharge for 1 night stays.

-Minimum of two night stay on weekends.

-The base prices for Texada are based on 1 couple sleeping in 1 bedroom.

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Amenities

Daylesford Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • forests

Reviews

2.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
Texada Art Retreat;private hot tub
average rating of 2.5 based on 2 reviews
3

cosy weekender

  • 3 of 5

great location and ideal for a break outside summer, no air conditioning nor an AM Radio to listen for weather alerts make this place a good place to avoid in summer

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Mick, Sorry for the delay in replying to your review. Stayz is relatively new to guest reviews. They do not notify us of the appearance of new reviews. Upon checking your booking and the weather at that time; you stayed in Daylesford in a relatively hot time of year. We do not have air conditioning and do not advertise our property as such. Although many do not agree we cannot support air conditioning as it has a detrimental environmental effect. For this reason we choose to cool Texada via a combination of cooling fans and shade sails as advertised clearly. The TV in Texada has access to all radio channels available including the ABC for bush fire alerts. For future reference Texada has a hot tub which can easily be cooled down to double as a plunge pool during hot weather.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Is a very clean little place but was very disappointed as the discription of this property is false. It does not back on to wombat state forest it backs onto someone back yard ( forest can be seen if you climb a tree and look a kilometre into the distance. The large plasma tv is not large at all is only the size of tv you would have on kitchen bench and gate leading to private back yard is broken and can't be used. After calling owner to complain that there was no drinks on arrival as promised plus all the other list of things wrong I was told they don't have a maintence man so pretty much bad luck and if look in the distance you can see forest. Was really excited for this little get away with my husband and new born baby but left feeling disappointed and stooged.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Kristy, We apologize for the very late reply to your review. Stayz is relatively new with guest reviews and does not notify us of there publishing. We do recall that you rang us to query the absence of your complimentary drinks. As you recall we apologized as this was an administrative booking error on our part. As you recall our manager arrived within 5 minutes with the drinks in question. As to the other issues you raised. You stayed in summer. Texada is located in a plum orchard;as advertised. In summer it is surrounded by foliage. It is very private and secluded because of it. As you can see by the photos in our advertisement and on our website the views to the forest are significant in winter. The forest starts approximately 150 metres from Texada. During your stay the gate in question did not open. As you aware,and shown, you could access the back garden easily from the other direction. Unfortunately when we had our covered shade sail area erected(by someone else as we were traveling at the time) the post was put in poorly and blocked the gate! It has long since been re mediated. We own, maintain and build our own property. It is maintained in a very methodical and thorough manner. We do not recall suggesting we have no maintenance. Our attitude is definitely not `bad luck`with our guests. We listen to guest issues and respond to them promptly and comprehensively as we did with you. We`re sorry you feel ``stooged``. We feel our property is fairly advertised.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Central to all

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 1 beds and can sleep a maximum 2 guests

    Optional Costs
    Fold out cot : $35 per night

    * Ask the owner to arrange these

You might like these similar properties