Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Rudawe Lodge in Taylor Bay, with FREE lake cruise

Bedrooms 5
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Enjoy a FREE one hour boat cruise on beautiful Lake Eildon aboard the Fawlty Princess. Able to carry approx. 30 people, the Fawlty Princess is a safe, comfortable & stable flat bottom boat skippered by your host, John. A great way to enjoy pristine Lake Eildon.

Before making a enquiry on Stayz please note that Rudawe is designed for large group bookings meaning that groups of less than 3 families(6 adults) will find the minimum nightly rate,in our experience, too expensive. More information about this is detailed below

To help you with this name. No,it is not Aboriginal or South African, it was coined by the original owners from "rude-are we" We are not rude but we do seem to be stuck with the name.

Rudawe specialises in group bookings. Our favourite group is the multiple Mums, Dads and Kids. The sleeping arrangements, facilities and equipment best suit this application. However, we have many satisfied customers who have stayed here from groups including sporting clubs, small business team seminars, hens nights, birthday buddies and of course, the extended family reunion.

The 5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathroom(unlimited hot water), as well as 2 refridgerators and a deep freeze will cope with your crew. Two 18 person dining tables, one inside and the other outside on the balcony under the canopy, together with the fully equipped kitchen ensures that you will not be cramped even at full capacity.

Equipment includes a 10ft.x5ft. Billiards table and a matching timber indoor soccer table. The wide screen TV has all free to air channels, as well as CD and DVD. These items along with the enclosed wood fire and the Bar are in the 85sq. mtr. rumpus room downstairs.

The Lodge does have many surrounding houses so the normal EPA noise restrictions will apply. These will be explained to you when you send an email. Bond will vary according to group type.

As the Lodge has a capacity for 18 people enquiries for less than 6 adults( we don't charge for children under 16) does not seem to be economically viable ie the per person per night cost on a weekend would be over $120.

Facilities and costing

Outside under the gazebo is the 8 person hot spa that is the favourite of all who stay here. You will see from the selection of photos in and around the Rudawe that our main goal has been to make your stay fun, interesting and very enjoyable. Being a waterfront property the Lodge has its own private pontoon for your personal use.If you are concerned about lake levels please enquire beore you book. This floating jetty is acessed by a clear level walking track.

Great for safe swimming or boat mooring. The house is set on one acre that is on the edge of the Lake. Because the property is situated right at the end of the Taylor Bay "arm" your aspect is across a grassed flat area, which is ideal for sports and games, to the houses of other Bay residents nestled in the dense bush.

Costs depend on a number of factors. Number of adults(we dont chage for children under 16) length of stay, days of the week, month of the year and number of days before arrival. Then there is the old supply/demand factor, meaning that we are far more negotiable on price if we really need your booking(Bums on seats!) Actual costs per person per night vary from about $100 to about $50


The Taylor Bay area of Lake Eildon is unique in that access to the Lake is only possible through private land. Large signs on the no-through road entrance to the Bay declare that there are no facilities available to the general public. Taylor Bay is located just 7 mins. from Eildon and 15 mins. from the dam wall. Remember that when lake levels are low all the water is in front of the wall. Eildon is approximately 2 hours drive from Melbourne along the Maroondah Highway.Should you find that the Lodge is booked for the dates you want, ask us about other accommodation in the area.

More Details

John Gilbert
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2018


Taylor Bay Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 11 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Rudawe Lodge in Taylor Bay, with FREE lake cruise
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews
Victoria, Australia


  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed with the quality of the property. Found the bunk bedding to be particularly uncomfortable for adults sleeping on the top bunks as they wobbled alot and did not have any safety rails. we were charged around 80 per adult per night which given the age and condition was not worth it. we also felt it didn't suit our group of families which had several young children.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The comments and extremely poor star ratings of this review came as a complete shock to Sally and I. The group stayed for the full 3 days booked and did not make any complaints during this time (as usual, I greeted the group upon arrival and let them know I was just across the road should they need anything or have any issues/problems). Yes, the house is an older timber home and much of the furniture is not new. However, we feel this is well reflected in the description, photos, price and previous guest reviews over the last 10 years. Of most concern however, is the comment that Rudawe is not suitable for children. Rudawe meets all the safety regulations, is safe and comfortable for children and ALL the bunk beds are fitted with 900mm safety rails attached to the top. We have never had any complaints about the comfort of the bunk beds previously and they have been well utilized by adults. Rudawe is also located metres from the lake’s edge (with its own private pontoon) so we cannot fathom the 2 star rating for location. Sally and I do not believe the 1 & 2 star ratings are a fair and impartial reflection on Rudawe Lodge. This group was denied the substantial refund they demanded days after their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
SE Queensland

Rustic Weekend Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our long weekend at Rudawe. House was well appointed for a large group and beds were quite comfortable. Property is a little tired and could do with some revamping but in saying that was perfectly adequate for our weekend. Loved the serenity! Enjoyed the birds and wildlife.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your input Chris and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll look at updating any furniture that may be a little tired. Welcome back anytime. Cheers John & Sally
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Amazing getaway for a group of friends

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at Rudawe Lodge! In total we had 11 of us stay there & had plenty of room. The setup was perfect, with plenty of things to do (pool & foosball tables got a real workout!!) We stayed in the dead of winter & were never cold - the fire place did wonders heating up & downstairs. (Having a 'wood store' helped immensely!) Upstairs are 2 BBQ's which was great to do our dinners & big breakfast fry ups. The property is set on beautiful grounds, in the mornings we'd have Kookaburras & Rosella's eating from the bird seed on the balcony, and in the evening there were Roo's jumping around whilst we relaxed in the spacious hot tub. John & Sally were amazing hosts & even offered us a unique experience - picked us up in their ex-army landrover - drove us to the top of a hill on their (very large) property to a purpose built lookout. The views were stunning - complete with a roaring open fire, cheese dips & wines that they brought up for us. 10/10 recommend & will be heading back!!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to have you at Rudawe Hannah. Come back and see us soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Excellent stay. Nice property

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time at Rudawe. Very helpful host. Thanks.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great guests. Welcome back anytime. Cheers John & Sally
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Third time back!

  • 5 of 5

It's a great place to get away. The pool table, football table and table tennis are all in good condition. The bathrooms and kitchen and clean and in good condition. The balcony has a place for bird seed and there are a lot of birds hanging around! And the BBQ is massive. The spa was great and was hot all weekend. We love it because we can relax. It isn't white carpet. The door to the wood store has a hand written sign 'Wood store.' That says it all. John was great to chat to and even sent my book back that I left behind.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad the book arrived safely Greg. We look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The best holiday house!

  • 5 of 5

A group of us stayed at Rudawe for the long weekend and had a great time. We loved the facilities which kept us entertained even when the weather was not best- especially the outdoor spa! It was good to have enough space for our large group. And the best part was the host John- he invited us to his amazing hut or a couple of drinks and really made us feel welcome.. Will be back again!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good to have your group Abdhi and glad you enjoyed the hut and awesome views. Welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Waterfront property on Lake


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties