Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Wielangta Holiday House

Bedrooms 3
Space 861 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

"Wielangta would have to be the most tranquil place on earth. I would describe the property as part of the forest itself ... as if it grew there with the rest of the vegetation." (Karen, January 2013, Rating 5/5)

Three-bedroom, 3-level, architecturally stunning 175m2 (1900 sq ft) self-contained vacation house between the East Coast and the Tasman Peninsula in the highlands of Tasmania above Bream Creek.

The house and property face northeast with fantastic ocean views, capturing the sun and shielded from southerlies by a huge stand of eucalypts, blackwoods and recently planted casuarinas against the hilly terrain.

The property is immediately adjacent to Wielangta Forest on 15 hectares (40 acres) of private natural beauty and wildlife, with three decks, tremendous light, fabulous views overlooking Marion Bay, Maria Island and the Tasman Sea and heaps of untouched bush-walking opportunities ... or just time to retreat from the hustle-and-bustle.

Only 45 minutes east - yet light-years away - from the city and Hobart (International) Airport. A 'digital detox retreat'. Peaceful, private, exclusive.

A recent quest said, "Wielangta is truly a little piece of paradise on this planet." (Sherry, January 2014, Rating 5/5)

The Bream Creek / Marion Bay area has been an inspiration and a home for painters, potters, furniture makers, writers, folk musicians and poets for decades. Wielangta is an ideal location to relax and unwind, as a base for attending the annual Bream Creek Show held every March for over 100 years, the Falls Festival over New Years or spending a day visiting galleries in the area and tasting wine at cellar doors of the Bream Creek, Cape Bernier and Yaxley Vineyards. End your day on the main deck, overlooking the ocean with a drop of your choice, or enjoy the local fare in one of the many fine restaurants in nearby Dunalley, Eaglehawk Neck, Orford and Taranna.

There are excellent short bush walking trails immediately adjacent to the property in the Wielangta State Forest (a magnificent rain forest with some of Tasmania’s tallest Blue Gum trees), fishing and surfing at the pristine 11 km Marion Bay Beach, including safe swimming for littlies at the mouth of Bream Creek, or international-level surfing at the renowned Bone Yard Surf Break at the southern end of the beach. Or you can just wander the sensational coastline at Marion Bay Beach or through the adjacent Long Spit Nature Reserve (home to pelicans, black swans, fairy penguins, sea eagles and many other coastal birds).

Wielangta is also ideal as a central base for taking the ferry to Maria Island National Park, or visiting Richmond Historic Village, Freycinet Peninsula, Forestier Peninsula, Tasman National Park, Fortescue Bay, Cape Huay, the Tasmanian Devil Park and Port Arthur or doing some of the numerous bush walks along the highest sea cliffs in Australia on the rugged coastline of the Tasman Peninsula. It's also just one hour from Hobart's excellent restaurants, wine bars and famous Salamanca Sunday Market.

"A perfect place to escape to over our winter break. The house and scenery are stunning. The property is accessible to some stunning beaches, local markets, and we took a day trip out to Maria Island whilst based here. Highly recommend it." (Kerri, July 2014, Rating 5/5)

Or ... just enjoy sitting and relaxing on one of the decks overlooking the ocean. Peaceful, exhilarating, serene - your choice.

This truly original holiday house in a unique location is ideal for a small or large family up to three couples (sleeps 7), for retreats, small family reunions, friends' weekends and boutique weddings or just a romantic time away for two people. Bring your camera; the views are amazing. The silence is restorative. No neighbours; just birds overhead and in the surrounding forest along with pademelons and other friendly critters crossing the property at dusk.

"The property was beautiful with sweeping views of the bush, bay & Maria Island. A lovely location to relax & explore the scenic coastline & forests. A top spot; definitely worth a visit!" (Bryony, Rating 5/5)

The House & Property

The holiday house contains a large master bedroom on the 3rd level with a queen-size bed and 'moon-light', 2 double bedrooms with their own deck on the lower level and a window seat/single bed on the 3rd level, all overlooking the ocean. For the little one, there is a Mascot 3-in-1 portable cot with Babylove inserts.

Fully equipped modern kitchen including dishwasher, new full-size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, all new appliances, etc. Laundry and unique clothes dryer. BBQ and outdoor family-size table on the main deck.

Large, open-plan lounge/dining room around a huge, slow combustion wood stove (with heaps of cut wood in the shed across the drive from the main house), with HD digital TV, DVD, stereo CD, etc.; 8-person wrap-around couch; full-size dining table, built-in book cases, writing desk, reading alcove filled with books, etc.

Hardwood floors with warm rugs throughout. Ceiling fan and skylights in the 2-storey cathedral ceiling.

Two levels of wrap-around decks (total 97 m2; 1000 sq ft) overlooking the property, Wielangta Forest and down to Marion Bay, Cape Bernier, Cape Peron, Maria Island and the Tasman Sea, plus a third secluded deck with tea table on the shaded west side of the house. Tree swing, trampoline and heaps of space for the kids. Outside tables and chairs ideal for leisurely dining on the sunny main deck, plus a Cape Hatteras hammock and accessible yard and hillside.

Land for Wildlife & Vacinity

Wielangta is 40 acres of heavenly private property with abundant wildlife including falcons, eagles, kookaburras, quolls, bandicoots, wombats, potoroos, wallabies and pademelons. The property has been approved and is part of the Tasmanian Land for Wildlife scheme. Out of respect for the wildlife, and future guests, no pets and no smoking on the property.

We are working with Land for Wildlife and the Understorey Network to create better land for native wildlife - part of the Tasmanian and national wildlife corridor connected most immediately with the adjacent Wielangta Forest. Three creeks cross the property, joining as the headwaters of Bream Creek, and there are two dams (ponds). The garden area has an abundance of native shrubs and trees including various grevillea, banksia, acacia (wattles) and callistemon (bottlebrushes) set against Wielangta Forest.

Watch the sun rise out of the ocean each morning, and the moon over the evening ocean, from the decks and from elsewhere on the property. Birders bring your guidebooks, and look for brown falcons, boobooks, yellow-tailed black cockatoos and many different varieties of robins including the flame and dusty robin. Whale watchers grab your binoculars.

This is an eco-friendly house and property. The house was built from natural materials, much of it recycled polished timber. All rainwater is collected and used. Heating (only necessary in winter) is by a huge wood slow-combustion stove, with cut wood immediately available. Electricity is minimised, given the natural light pouring into all rooms. There is no land-line, and mobs are dodgy at best out here in the highlands of Tasmania.

There are bush walks on the property and throughout the adjacent Wielangta Forest, home to the magnificent Eucalyptus Regnans (the tallest flowering plant on earth) as well as the rare and endangered Swift Parrot (a migratory parrot for whom Wielangta is its breeding stronghold) and Tasmanian Wedge-tailed Eagle. On the property are a rare Oyster Bay Pine, endemic only to Wielangta Forest, and several 200-year-old Blue Gums. And the location makes Wielangta an excellent mid-point for bush-walks on the cliffs of the Tasman Peninsula or on nearby Maria Island.

More Details

Gary Moore
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 25, 2018


Bream Creek House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 861 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom with queen bed & single bed/reading alcove on upper level with commanding views down to the ocean. Two other double bedrooms on lower level with own deck and views through the valley.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
25% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Wielangta Holiday House
average rating of 4.625 based on 32 reviews
Craigieburn, Victoria, Australia

piece of heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5

we had a great stay at this well-appointed and beautiful house inside the Wielangta State Forest! traveled to d house late at nite..didnt think we'd make it as there is no GPS signal up there.saw lots of possums, cows and wallabies along d way..they were cute! everything we needed was in d house..really nice to wake up to d water views from one side and all around us d trees..woz just perfect!!! wish we could have stayed longer! Gary, d owner and the caretaker, Sherry, were both lovely and easy to deal with..highly recommended and we hope to be back!!! thanks again!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Rachelle. Very pleased that you had such a good time and enjoyed the full Wielangta experience. Please come again whenever you wish! Cheers, gary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tasmania, Australia

Woodland escape

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at Wielangta- appreciated not only the beautiful natural environment but also the light-filled homey feel of the house.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Terrific, our guests. Very pleased that you enjoyed the house and the surrounding natural environment. It really is a special part of the world.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tasmania, Australia


  • 3 of 5

Quiet and peaceful place in a wonderful setting which was generally okay except for a few housekeeping issues. We had problems with foul odours from the downstairs rooms and had to buy air fresheners to plug in for the duration of our week long visit. This area was also difficult to keep warm. One window in the kitchen wouldn't close and another one in the upstairs bedroom which was poorly fitted had a notice on it saying "do not open". However this window blew open in windy weather and we were then unable to re-close it .The bathroom door did not have a lock and we had to improvise with a notice as we were sharing it with friends. The overall standard of cleanliness was not the best and some things in the kitchen needed a good wash before use.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Michael and Sarah, for your generally favourable review. I'm sorry that you had some concerns, but am perplexed that you lodged this review in mid-January when your stay was from 27 Sept > 4 Oct! Yes, there were some cleanliness issues back in Aug/Sept of 2016. As a result, I changed housekeepers. All has been good since. As the most recent guests just wrote today, "Thank you for a lovely time spent at Wielangta last week." As my new housekeeper and her husband are quite handy, they've attended to the minor repair issues you mention and a few others they noticed. So all of this has been rectified, and some time ago. Bottom line, sorry for your inconvenience, but I'm happy to report that everything is ship-shape again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carlton, Tasmania, Australia

Gorgeous proprty and location

  • 5 of 5

This was our 4th visit and always can't wait to come back. The location and view is just amazing. The house is very unique and eclectic, as well as very roomy and comfortable. The large undercover balcony to soak in the view is just beautiful. So very quiet and peaceful, and the possums, pademelons and abundance of birdlife that visit is amazing. You feel like you are a million miles away from civilisation. We will always return to Wielangta as often as we can. A true piece of paradise on Earth.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, guys, delighted that you enjoyed your return visit. Just let me know when you want to come back again, and we'll set it up. And, a reminder, we continue to offer a discount to repeat guests. You are always welcome at Wielangta.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia


  • 3 of 5

A very nice location, however we were disappointed by the property.

Our family stayed during winter and found the house to be drafty, and very hard to heat. Many of the windows and doors do not close fully, and many can't be opened at all. The bathroom door also does not close. The hot water has a mind of it's own as to when it will suddenly cut out, even when its the only water being used. The ceiling fan was faulty, so we couldn't circulate any hot air down from the high ceilings.

My two sons were to sleep in the lower bedrooms, however we had to drag the mattresses up to the living area, due to a very bad smell in the rooms. We had to put up with a very "rank" odour emanating from the lower rooms for the four nights that we stayed. I called the owner directly to notify him of this issue and discuss the possible cause of it, and also the possibility of a partial refund. He thanked me and said he'd see what he could do. Two months later and still nothing.

The property once would have been stunning, but now needs substantial work to the sinking support poles and over grown grounds.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Craig and family, I'm very sorry you were unhappy with your stay at Wielangta. As one can see from looking at the reviews, the vast vast majority of our guests have been extremely happy and have written glowing reviews. In fact, in seven years, yours is the first and only negative review. As you raised a number of concerns, I had my local housekeeper and her husband immediately check the house while cleaning after your visit. There was a lingering smell, for which I am very sorry (seems a rodent died just outside one of the bedroom walls), which has subsequently been totally eradicated, and has not reappeared. However all windows, bathroom door, ceiling fan, etc. were and are functioning perfectly. We have also had builders inspect the property, and can report that contrary to your assertion, there are NO sinking support poles. Again, I am very sorry you were unhappy, the dead rodent odor would have been very unpleasant, but was immediately rectified. I'm disappointed your review included other items, which upon careful inspection including by neutral professionals were found not to be the case. Very sincerely, Gary Moore
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

peace and quiet

  • 4 of 5

beautiful location peaceful and had everything we needed

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Susan. Really pleased that you enjoyed your vacation. Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Views over Marion Bay


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties