Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Lakuna Retreat- Halls Gap

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,045 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights


About the property

Lakuna is an exceptionally well appointed 3 bedroom deluxe, architecturally designed retreat that offers the very best of everything at a very modest cost. Its unique style reflects the natural colours of the area together with touches of warm timber floors, soft carpeted bedrooms, large showers, BIG SPA with wall opening windows to let the outdoors in,mood lighting and exceptional privacy. At Lakuna you can enjoy an abundance of fresh mountain air,views that heighten the senses, smells of the forest and relax in absolute luxury. Its design allows for romantic stays for couples and the option to open up the rooms for extra guests up to a total of 8 persons.

From the moment you open the stunning 300KG redgum front door you will realise that this place is very different and a pleasure to call home for a few days or even a few weeks. Your decison is easy........ Lakuna Retreat. Book today.

What do our guests say..................................

Our visitors book has the following comments from our guests.

"We loved the Grampians, wildlife and scenery but most of all We loved Lakuna Retreat!

"How's the serenity!! Thank you!"

"Fantastic, Highly recommended,See you in a couple of years"

"We absolutely loved the house especially the bottom room!"

"Fantastic place, brilliant setting. Relaxing girls weekend we will always call "Bollywood in the bush"!

"Beautifully designed Retreat, we cant wait to come back!"

"Wonderful 3 days as a family. Walking the area. Excellent accommodation 10/10

"What a beautiful place!!! The accomodation, the wildlife, and nature.The whole experience has been a memory we will never forget. Thank you Adrian & Corrie for your attention to detail and hospitality are remarkable and worth mentioning to others.We are planning the next trip already.

NB.Calendar and pricing are generally up to date. Please only enquire if ready to book.

More Details

Adrian Bekker
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2018


Halls Gap House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2045 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 6 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • forests
  • winery tours
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
21% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Lakuna Retreat- Halls Gap
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 19 reviews
Victoria, Australia


  • 5 of 5

Wonderful property. We were a family of six and this property had enough space for 4 teenagers and parents. Property is highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia

Great place!

  • 4 of 5

Great house in the bush. Very comfortable furnishings.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Joel. Thanks for your review of Lakuna retreat and delighted you had an enjoyable break at one of Halls Gaps most unique accommodation places. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Regards Adrian and Corrie Bekker
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Monbulk, Victoria, Australia

Delightful and contemporary property

  • 4 of 5

It should be four and a half stars but we can't see that option to select! The house was snug and very comfortable with everything we needed for our family of four. The kitchen was really well equipped to whip up a big feast with great pans, utensils and appliances. Lots of firewood for the Coonara. Electric blankets, comfortable beds and cozy bedrooms. A large bathroom with spa. There was an additional self contained room which we didn't need but very sweet if you have a bigger group. Lots of native birds and animals came to visit. It's overlooked by the grand Grampians with the Pinnacle right above you. Quiet setting off the Main Street but right opposite Brambuk Cultural Centre and super close to the town. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Nadja for your review of Lakuna and we are delighted that you have had such a great time. Thanks for choosing Ellimata Holiday cottages, and we look for ward to maybe another visit in the future. Keep in touch. Regards Adrian and Corrie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as clean as it should be

  • 3 of 5

Lovely house in an amazing area. We loved feeding the cockatoos Was let down by shoddy cleaners. There was what looked like vomit on the quilt Lucky there was clean quilt in cupboard

Needs a good dusting and bedside tables had spills from previous tenant Would stay again but only if it was up to health standards

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Julie. Thanks for your comments re Doonah and dust issue. We have acted on this very promptly with our cleaning staff and appreciate that you have drawn this to our attention. Our apologies for the inconvenience and rest assured that our staff will ensure that this is an isolated issue. We hope you will visit us again some other time. Regards Adrian and Corrie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Overall disappointed

  • 1 of 5

When looking for a property to stay we wanted three things, fireplace, spa and comfy couches.. We have a young child so in the event we were stuck in the house we wanted to be 'cozy'.. When we turned up late the house it absolutely stunk like smoke, granted there is a fireplace, however our own home which has a fireplace doesn't have this stench.

It was absolutely freezing so we started to get the fireplace going. Putting our young daughter to bed in 10 degrees wasn't ideal.

There was also an electric blanket in the bedroom which was not working.

When waking up in the morning I felt like I had been smoking "i am a non smoker" the smoke stench in the house was so overbearing...

We decided to give our child a bath that night then enjoy a spa, we started to fill the bath just enough to let her bath to discover we had very little hot water... knowing the house could sleep many adults we were so disappointed with the events.... in the morning my husband did check and the hot water had tripped the switch... so we didn't actually get to enjoy the house to the full potential.

The owners were lovely to deal with but I guess given I had paid the 'higher' rate for the location we were extremely disappointed with our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Sasha. We have just followed up your comments from recent stay at Lakuna retreat and must say we were disappointed that your were not completely satisfied by your visit as previous guests have always been very pleased with the quality and service provided by us. However on your visit there were some items that we were not aware of and a quick phone call to us would have quickly remedied the situation. We were able to repair the HWS promptly which had a faulty element resulting in a partial heating only of the unit. The electric blanket was replaced. We do have heaters in each room that can be turned on for comfortable room temp in matter of minutes. The wood heater smoke smell can occasionally occur during winter if windows are not opened to allow fresh air in. This is simply rectified. So all the comments made have been addressed and we would apologize for the inconvenience to you. We hope you will keep in touch for any future visits to Halls Gap. Than you again for your understanding. Regards Adrian & Corrie BEKKER
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Craigieburn, Victoria, Australia

Perfect place to relax

  • 5 of 5

A weekend was nowhere near long enough. Lakuna retreat is a fantastic place to stay, it had everything needed to make our weekend in Halls Gap one to remember. Our daughter loved feeding the cockatoos and rosellas and the cottage gave us the opportunity to relax and unwind. We highly recommend Lakuna Retreat.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kevin. Thankyou for your review and comments re stay at Lakuna last weekend. Delighted to read you had a relaxing time and yes many of our guests say the same" it should have been longer." So maybe down the track you can plan a few extra days. Keep in touch. and thank you for booking with us. Regards Adrian & Corrie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Mountains, Wildlife,Walks


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties