Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Casual Wine Country Home 3 Br 3 Bath

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This reasonably priced wine country house is located in Sonoma, California. The property boasts two acres including a one acre pinot noir vineyard. Casually appointed, this home has all the conveniences to make your stay comfortable. Located one hour north of San Francisco, It is only a 30 minute drive to Marin and Napa Counties, one hour to Mendocino County and within a ten minute drive to the historic town square of Sonoma. Situated at 1100 feet elevation on Sonoma Mountain, with privacy, this one story, three bedroom, three full bathrooms, 2400 square foot house has views of the hills, valley and bay. It provides the renter a wine country feel with a vineyard and a full outdoor cooking area.

There's lots to do if you like wine or the wine country style. Sonoma is famous for its wine and food. You could spend each day of your stay visiting a new area in Sonoma County and still not see it all. Visit world class wineries in Sonoma and Napa, walk around the Sonoma Historic Town Square, see the giant redwoods, or travel to small quaint towns and villages along the Sonoma Coast. There is always something going on in Sonoma. You can dine at wonderful restaurants or shop at gourmet grocery stores that provide an array of options for dining and entertainment.

The house comes complete with everything you need to enjoy being by yourself or for entertaining occasional guests.

County of Sonoma #1429N

More Details

Owner
Sandra Atwood
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About Sandra Atwood

We are retired and enjoy living part of our lives in the wine country of Sonoma, part in Lake Tahoe, and summer and winter time near Deer Valley Utah. We are currently building a home in Baja. We own a small vineyard of Pinot Noir grapes which is on the Sonoma property.

Sandra Atwood purchased this house in 1995

Why Sandra Atwood chose Sonoma County

Sonoma is a jewel in the San Francsico bay area.

What makes this house unique

Not only is it visually attractive, casually decorated, this single family house provides indoor/ outdoor living with beautiful views of the hills and the bay. You are conveniently located to all of what Sonoma Historic Town and Valley, and the surrounding San Francisco Bay Area have to offer while in a quiet picturesque setting.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sandy-

We just wanted to send you a big THANKS for a beautiful, comfortable get away! We all enjoyed our week away from home, and it wouldn't have been so great without your hospitality, tips and recommendations for things to do in the area! We enjoyed your complimentary wine (delicious) we drank it at the Sonoma Farmers Market on Tuesday evening!

We ate at the Red Grape (great pizza), walked through the Armstrong Woods, took many walks up and around Kenleigh drive, enjoyed your fire pit outside and we enjoyed many of the wineries in this area (Chateau St. Jean was our favorite winery)! Attached we included some pictures of the 6 us enjoying Sonoma (the first one is us at the Sonoma Farmers Market on Tuesday evening enjoying your wine and the other is us at a winery in Napa called Hope and Grace, which we really enjoyed!

Sadly we will be leaving bright and early in the morning-what a perfect vacation home...



Thanks again!



Karen
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 33

Amenities

Sonoma House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Study Room
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King beds (2) Queen Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • tennis

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Casual Wine Country Home 3 Br 3 Bath
average rating of 4.962963 based on 60 reviews
5

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We recently returned from a wonderful vacation to Sonoma. We could not have had a better experience. This house is truly amazing- even better than the pictures! We especially enjoyed the outdoor living spaces. We started and ended every day on the deck overlooking the vineyards. The location was great - very easy to get to the Sonoma Square from there. We traveled throughout Napa and Sonoma - so many wineries within a close distance. The house was completely stocked with everything you could possibly need. I would refer any of my friends and family to this house - it was absolutely amazing! We just hated to leave!! Thanks so much Sandra for sharing your home with us! It was truly an incredible experience!!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Paula Thank you very much for your nice review. I'm always pleased when folks like out home away from home. Sandy Atwood 415 686 0387
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sonoma Dreaming

  • 5 of 5

The Casual Wine Country Home is beautiful. It sits on a rise and vineyards are part of the backyard. The patio(s) are perfect for enjoying drinks and meals outside. The house is well laid out and accommodated 3 couples easily. The kitchen is equipped with every appliance imaginable.

The only down side was the numerous set of instructions on the use of appliances, showers, heating, etc. Since we were all "rule followers", it was a little intimidating.

But I would definitely stay at this home again!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Holly Thank you for your nice review. I guess I need to figure out a way to go over the letter left for renters to make it less of a rule list and more of information about how everything works in the house. Sometimes things are so complicated. However we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You left the property in perfect shape and we would be happy to host you again in the future. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was situated beautifully in Sonoma with a view of the bay.

  • 5 of 5

The home was immaculate!

Everything was well equipped and in working condition. Felt like "home".

Beautiful plants everywhere.

My son especially enjoyed the neighbors' chickens, rooster and goat.

Area information was in abundance.

The owner was so helpful and available to us.

Outside living was exceptional, alas weather too cool for our visit, but appreciated non the less.

Hope we can do it again!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Barbara We are so pleased to picked our place for your birthday week. Thank you for your nice note. You also left the place immaculate!! We so appreciate people enjoying the property. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtaking house with amazing views!!!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved staying here! The house is gorgeous and great for entertaining. Sandy was great and very accommodating! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!. We are always pleased when people enjoy our property. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iowa City, IA
5

Much more than we dreamed!

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic property situated in the hills above Sonoma. Beautiful views of the valley, a spacious backyard with all of the amenities (Outdoor kitchen, firepit, heaters, more than ample seating) and a pinot vineyard bursting with grapes all contributed to making this visit to wine country something special.

The house is stocked with everything! And more... You could not ask for an easier turn key experience. If I had one complaint it would be the water pressure and temperature in the two BRs adjacent to each other. Believe me, this was an easily overlooked inconvenience considering everything else.

I might mention that Sandy was VERY prompt in returning our damage deposit. This is significant as I have had situations in the past with other owners that resulted in months going by before we received our deposit.

This is a great property and a great value!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Mike and thanks for your glowing review. Yes we wish we had great water pressure - but unfortunately we are on a well. The pressure works great if only one shower is going at a time. I should put that in the information I leave for you. Also thank you for the very nice bottle of sparkling wine you left for us. We enjoyed it last night sitting out on our deck with friends. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Amazing view, beautiful property, private outdoor seating

  • 4 of 5

Three couples stayed here in early August. The home is spacious with oriental/asian themed artwork. Kitchen was fully stocked with pots/pans/dishes/spices and open layout so you can cook and socialize. Beds were very firm. Water was hot but water pressure is low (on a local well). The best part is the outdoor seating areas and amazing view. You can see the Sonoma Valley and Napa River in the distance. The home is bordered by their private vineyard, we were gifted a bottle of the pinot noir and it was wonderful. The neighbors have a rooster, chickens, and a goat that may chat to you when you're sitting on that side of the yard. It's about a 10 minute drive to Sonoma town square. Booking the property was easy and Sandy was very responsive to the few questions we had while staying there.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello and thank you for your nice review. Of course I had expected 5 stars as we all do. However I understand your issue with having to put the umbrellas down when not at the house. We do have winds that come up from time to time and during a previous rental the large umbrellas broke two large glass tables including 3 umbrellas. It was rather costly to replace all the deck furniture. However we only learn from experience. Thanks again for your rental and we would be pleased to have you stay again. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Wineries, beaches and quaint towns all within minutes or day trips.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sonoma House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 15.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties