Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Sea Eagle - FREE Crayfish & Champagne

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Winter Special – simply book 2 nights or more to stay before the end of September and receive a FREE bottle of champagne and crayfish.

Do you have a special birthday coming up? Well Sea Eagle Retreat is perfect for your intimate getaway with family or friends.

RACV 4.5 Star Rating. Sleeps 12. Sea Eagle Retreat is a unique property tucked away amongst 68 acres of spectacular bush land surrounded by national parks and secluded beaches . This property has unsurpassed views of Bass Strait, Point Franklin and the world renowned Cape Otway Lighthouse.

If you are looking to spoil yourself in complete luxury, this is the property for your memorable stay in a world heritage location. Ideal for 2 families, small corporate gathering, small weddings, a special birthday or a group of friends this beautiful 54 square 2 storey home has 5 bedrooms, king size beds, 3 bathrooms, open plan living with a formal dining room for 12, heated indoor pool and a pool side spa bath.

Visit Maits Rest, near Apollo Bay, take the 40 minute self-guided rainforest walk.

Visit Melba Gully, a cool temperate rainforest near Lavers Hill.

Explore the Great Ocean Walk.

Visit the Otway Fly tree top walk.

Or just go for a short stroll around our property, you may get a glimpse of the local Wallabies, Possums, and Koalas, and (in winter) Southern Right Whales are visible from the balcony.

Take a tour of the Cape Otway Lighthouse. Visit the cafe located in the Assistant Lighthouse Keepers cottage.

Ideal for a small corporate event.

Only 25 minutes to Apollo Bay

Beach . walks . surfing . bikes . fishing . bird watching. Experience the shipwreck coast at it's wildest during winter!

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2017

Map

Other Activities:

Spectacular Ocean Views

Amenities

Cape Otway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 4 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sea Eagle - FREE Crayfish & Champagne
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
Singapore
3

Great and amazing place, but....

  • 3 of 5

This place is really awesome with great breathtaking views... the jacuzzi and spa iso so relaxing and nice... but the horrified thing is those worms crawling all around the house!!! I'm amazed that nobody write about this.. hahaha... perhaps cos we are used to staying in the city... all these crawlies just make us feel so uncomfortable.

Another awesome thing is the great fireplace.... but unable to enjoy it fully cos of the worms crawling. oh yes, there are worms in the rooms as well.. which really freak us out.

And if you are thinking of staying at the lower floor, you can walk footsteps of those living on the 2nd storey very clearly... which actually cause my sister unable to sleep well... so in the end all of us got to sleep on the 2nd storey instead.

In conclusion, for such pricing that we are paying, we are actually expecting much more.. no crawlies (if a few we wouldn't mind.. but its really quite a lot)... and basic soundproofing would be good :)

But i like that their have baby high chair there as well, thanks for this ;)

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: These are millipedes and are prevalent in South West Victoria. They are harmless but very hard to eradicate during the colder months. No matter how much cleaning you can never eradicate them all in such a remote setting.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
4

Fabulous location

  • 4 of 5

Truly wonderful location and a great family holiday.The house was spacious, comfortable, and very private, with a driveway about 1 kilometer long through coastal scrub full of koalas and wallabies. From most of the rooms there was a 180 degree view of coastal heath-land running down to the ocean. the only building in sight was the old Cape Ottway lighthouse in the distance. Just great!

The one disappointment was the lack of internet. We had several kids from our family traveling in S.E.Asia who we needed to keep in touch with, and also had a medical emergency for which we needed to be in contact daily with family in Melbourne. We could have used mobiles but they only work intermittently in that area, and the house phone was for local calls only. For us it was a real problem, and one we would have appreciated knowing about before we booked the house. We assumed that in booking a premium property such as this that internet would just be part of the package.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Disappointing!

  • 3 of 5

Cape Otway is amazing! However I came away from this holiday a disappointed.

As you can imagine we were excited about this special holiday and an opportunity to relax for two weeks. Unfortunately on the first day we realised that the spa did not work. After dealing with the stressed out owner and plumbers (for two days), it was out of action for the entire two weeks. The spa and pool were the reasons we decided to rent this house and outlay a little more in rent.

Another worry was the state of the pool fence, unlikely to meet Australian standards, with parts of the poles rusted through at the base.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: The spa broke down during the guests stay and as you can understand during the weekend you cannot get anyone to fix the spa. However the pool was fully functional and was used for the entire 2 weeks during the stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What an Awesome house!!Who needs summer when you have this lovely winter get away, Log fires burning

  • 5 of 5

What an Awesome house!!Who needs summer when you have this lovely winter get away, Log fires burning, heated pool to have great fun in and a lovely hot spa to finish with a glass of fine wine.This is the ultimate get away with great serenity, wonderful views and just all round great.Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic house with us and we will 100% return here in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amber really put alot of work into this place. It is super clean and ready for use as you would hav

  • 5 of 5

Amber really put alot of work into this place. It is super clean and ready for use as you would have your own place. Everything is working and ready for you. I would recommend this house for anyone wanting to get well away from citylife in a house that reflects how you would keep your own house.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2010
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

'The house was fantastic. It is not pretentious, just an oversized beach house. Completely surrounde

  • 5 of 5

'The house was fantastic. It is not pretentious, just an oversized beach house. Completely surrounded by nature. We had Koalas visit the house and surrounding trees too. The only civilisation you can see is the Lighthouse.The 180 deg view of the ocean is beautiful regardless of what the weather is like. The ultimate retreat to relax with a family or friends. Everything you need is there... and it is only 20 minute drive back to the township of Apollo Bay.'

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2009
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night��� refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 4 guests. Property has 8 beds and can sleep a maximum 12 guests

    Mandatory Costs
    Bond Deposit: $2000 per stay

You might like these similar properties