Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Akoonah Cottages - Pet Friendly

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

If you are seeking beautiful, high quality accommodation and the best value for money - your search is over. Akoonah Cottages offer luxury, comfort and beauty - regardless of your budget. Our rates and accommodation options make it possible for everyone to visit this part of Australia and share in what makes this part of the world unique.

We offer two holiday accommodation options:

Akoonah Cottage - A one bedroom (loft style) cottage suitable for couples and small families.

Akoonah Studio - A large open plan studio suitable for 2-3 people.

All our properties are pet friendly.

Surround yourself with 25 acres of beautiful sub-tropical landscape, experience nature and the sounds of the forest just minutes from Byron's beaches and cafes. Rejuvenate and relax in the beautiful Byron Bay Hinterland.

You can view pictures of both properties using the Photo Gallery at the top of this page. The first property pictured is Akoonah Cottage and then Akoonah Studio.

NOTE: Neither property is suitable for schoolies.

Perfectly Situated

Rejuvenate and relax in beautiful Byron Bay. Akoonah Cottages provide luxurious accommodation at a very affordable price. For the cost of a hotel room or apartment you can have complete luxury and privacy in your own tropical oasis. Surrounded by 25 acres of beautiful sub-tropical landscape, minutes from the beaches and attractions of Byron Bay and Bangalow. Perfect for enjoying Byron and its surrounds from your own luxury retreat.

Enjoy Byrons beaches and cafes in the morning, explore the heritage village of Bangalow and relax in your hammock overlooking the rainforest in the evening.

Beautiful detailing and furnishings in a quiet bush setting make Akoonah Cottages an oasis to relax in.

Features include:

Fully self contained

Open plan living

Fantastic views

TV/DVD/Stereo

Covered BBQ's

Secured deck

Fully equipped kitchenette

Gas Heaters

Ceiling fans

10 minutes to Byron Bay and Bangalow

Private, beautiful bush setting

Quality furnishings

Linens etc. provided

Akoonah Cottages are NOT suitable for schoolies.

More Details

Owner
Stayz
-
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

Amenities

Coorabell Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • forests
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing

Reviews

4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Akoonah Cottages - Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
5

Beautiful relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

Hi Leonard and Cathy,

We had a beautiful weekend away at the Akoonah studio. It was exactly what we needed, Cathy and Leonard's property was so surreal. We thoroughly enjoyed the natural surroundings and wildlife, it was absolutely peaceful. Our dogs had a ball, they thought they were rainforest royalty at Akoonah. Very refreshing to have a getaway where our furbabies are just as welcome as we are. Perfect holiday for the husband and I and our two furbabies.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Dog Friendly Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Really lovely cottage! Extremely friendly and welcoming! Would highly recommend, especially if travelling with pets!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
5

Awesome property!

  • 5 of 5

Loved every minute. Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely be coming back. Can highly recommend as a base for exploring Byron Shire.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane
5

Beautiful location and pet friendly

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely (too short) break in the Byron Bay Hinterland with our Rotty "Lucy Lou". We had a great time exploring nearby Bangalow, Newybar and Byron, but it was lovely to come back and relax in the cottage, which was beautiful in its simplicity. We particularly enjoyed the hammock on the deck and all the bird calls. It was great to be able to stay in such a lovely location, and best of all pet friendly. Lucy enjoyed her walks on the property and the lovely beaches close by (Belongil). The owners were welcoming, but also just left you to it to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Australia
4

Perfect paradise for pooches (and people!)

  • 4 of 5

I stayed in the studio with my two small dogs.

The studio is very clean, very comfortable, and has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. There are no odours or evidence of dogs staying there!

It is lovely to hear all the frogs and birds, just surrounded by nature.

It is also a TRUE dog friendly place to stay! A pooper scooper, dog bowl, pet linen, and dog treats are provided. There is a secure deck (although a chihuahua and other very very small dogs would be able to get out). The best part though is that you are actually allowed to leave your dogs alone in the studio while you head out shopping/exploring. It was fantastic to be able to do that, and I doubt anywhere else would ever let you do that.

Location is good - just a 10-15 min drive away from the hustle, bustle, and crowds of Byron.

There is a fantastic dog beach close by (Belongil beach I think it was called). My dogs had an absolute ball! To get to the dog beach -as you drive into Byron you will eventually see a large service station on the right (think it's a BP) and you turn left there. 10 min drive at most. If you just want to exercise your dogs at the accommodation itself, there is a little rainforest walk or you can walk to the top of the driveway and turn left for a nice walk in the countryside.

I was not able to get my Optus phone reception at the property, but that didn't bother me. If you really need it coverage returns at the top of the driveway.

This was a fantastic place to stay. I will state the tiny negatives, but only to be informative and not to complain. The little freezer wouldn't keep my food frozen. The gas that the hot water and heater runs on must of been running very low as it ran out after my first night. However, to fix that all I had to do was call the hosts and it would have been rectified immediately as advised, it was just my own choice not to as I'm lazy and I wasn't that bothered by it. I also recommend bringing your own pillow if you don't like the fancy neck support ones.

I would recommend this property to anyone seeking a quiet getaway, even if you don't have a dog, but especially if you do!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Stayz
Owner's Response: Hi Katrina, Thanks for taking so much time and effort to review us. Being in a rural area, we are on bottled gas here, we have to wait until the gas is out completely and then guests normally inform us and we switch the tanks over to the full ones. If we don't know about it then we can't switch over. Sorry that you had no hot water. The Optus network does not have a wide coverage in the country, so sorry nothing we can do about that. As regards to keeping big freezer compartments, the property runs on solar power and as most guests prefer to eat out or take away while here for short stays, we found it wasteful and unnecessary to have large fridge/freezer units. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Other Activities:

Rainforest Retreat

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • For this property:
    ‘Weekend Night’ refers to Friday night and/or Saturday night (per night)
    The ‘Nightly’ rate refers to Sunday night through to Thursday night (per night average)
    The ‘Weekly’ rate is for a full 7 day week
    Rates listed based on 2 guests. Property has 2 beds and can sleep a maximum 3 guests

You might like these similar properties