check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Nantahala Gorge - Lakefront Mountain Cabin bordering National Forest

12 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 nights


Topton House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms + 1 loft, 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 4-6

Our home is situated at about a 3200 feet elevation. Our yard backs up to National Forest land and Queens Lake, which is said to be one of the cleanest and quietest in WNC, is directly in front of us. The lake is stocked with trout. It’s perfect for canoeing, fishing, and swimming (no jet-skis or motor boats!). While a boat put-in is directly in front of our house, the jumping off and fishing dock is down the road. Also down our road is a forest road that leads down to route 74. When it’s open, this is the short cut to the NOC and all points East. When it’s closed, it’s a lovely hike with waterfalls, mountain vistas and rock faces. Winding Stairs road was built and named in the late 1800s by the residents of Nantahala to improve their access to goods and services. To build the road, they used dynamite to blast out the sides of the mountain.

Day activities include walking, hiking, biking along the lake and down the forest road, swimming and boating, and fishing in the lake and at nearby rivers, streams and at nearby Otter Creek trout farm. We are close to several trail heads, waterfalls and rivers. We are also close to the NOC and other rafting and outdoor adventure outfitters. If you choose to venture farther away, easy day trips are to Bryson City, Cherokee and Franklin.

Our house has extensive covered porch area - useful for enjoying the outdoors in case of rain - and a nice grassy lawn area. We have a lower porch down the yard with its own grill closer to the lake which is a perfect place for drinks or lunch. We have a fire pit for making Smores or just sitting around. We think our cabin is the perfect mountain escape. The location is extremely peaceful and remote, truly 'away from it all.' We intentionally do not have television so that we can enjoy the many activities of being outdoors and in the mountains. However we do have a Bose iPod dock for playing music. We hope you will enjoy our unique find in the mountains as much as we have.

The house has been remodeled and feels new inside with original hardwood floors throughout. All of the interior furniture is also brand-new.

Sleeping Arrangements: We have 2 bedrooms and a loft sleeping area upstairs, and a futon couch downstairs. The upstairs Master bedroom has a queen size bed, and the guest bedroom has a full size bed. The loft area has a daybed that converts to sleep one or two (full size). The full bath is upstairs.

Home Amenities: We have a fully-stocked kitchen with both a french-press and electric coffee maker, utensils and dinnerware, a dishwasher, gas stove and refrigerator/freezer. There is a wood-stove in the living room that does a great job of warming the house in cold weather, and also electric heating. Though the home does have air-conditioning units, we open up the windows and enjoy the fresh air during the day, and cool air at night. The Master bedroom has its own porch. And finally, we do have a child-proof gate and pack-n-play for families with small children. We do offer sheets and bath towels for our guests' use.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to write and thank you SO MUCH for sharing your beautiful home with us. We absolutely loved it and had a wonderful time. I think I slept the best there than I have on any vacation yet! The fresh air (and no TV and internet and cell service) really helped, I know. The girls and my husband and I really loved swimming in the lake and paddling around and going fishing and for long walks. We stayed up late catching fireflies and read a ton of books and got to go to the trout farm and NOC for some day trips. Honestly, it was just nice to have some unscheduled time to play and enjoy each other and that beautiful spot.

We left Saturday and locked everything up. I hope that you find it in order; please let me know if there were any problems.

Thank you, again, and I hope that we may be able to come back!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1


based on 12 traveler reviews

Nantahala Gorge - Lakefront Mountain Cabin bordering National Forest
average rating of 4.5 based on 13 reviews
Fort Myers, Florida

Peaceful mountain retreat, great for family

  • 5 of 5

My family and I loved our stay here. The cabin had everything we needed and enough room for our family of five to be comfortable. Victoria and Rob were wonderful at communication and we had no trouble finding the cabin thanks to their detailed directions. We spent quite a bit of time at the Nantahala Outdoor Center, went whitewater rafting, and ate a few meals at their restaurants, which were great, especially the trout and sherpa rice at River's End. We also spent a day picnicking and tubing at Deep Creek which was a lot of fun.

There was no internet or much cell reception at the cabin, which was good because it forced us all to put down our phones and tablets for a few days. We spent most of our down time exploring the area, playing in the yard, making s'mores in the fire pit, and playing games with the kids at night. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking to get away from it all and spend some time enjoying nature.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind and detailed review of our mountain cabin. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Best, Victoria, Rob and Alaina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay.

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time and not having internet was the best we could have wished for as our 20 year old kids were just so much more 'present'.

Loved waking up to that nice view.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome place. Quiet and snuggled away. Beautiful scenery and comfortable lodging!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting. Greatly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs some repairs

  • 2 of 5

We rolled up 4 miles of gravel mountain road in the dark. The house number is missing a number so we were not sure if it was the right house. We were able to get in the gate with the code so we figured it was right.

We followed the instructions up the drive and we're able to unlock the house.

In the fridge were some every old items and not stocked like promised.

We found ants all over the counter.

The stairs are very very steep u had to lean against the wall the get down safely.

The deck is starting to rot. You can not see the lake due to all the trees.

the look over deck is broken down and covered with trees.

the roof in the upstairs is leaking. Black mold on ceiling this is in the main bedroom.

The owners gave us a hole 50 bucks off our stay for it.

Towels and sheets smelled of cigar smoke.

The bed in the spare room was so hard not even our kids would sleep on it.

The master bedroom is almost resting on the floor.

We booked last min not options.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Christine, We are sorry to see this hurtful review posted, especially after we had corresponded at great length throughout the reservation process and after your stay to address your concerns, in addition to providing you an extra refund on top of your military discount. I hope that your comments do not put off future renters, as we have never before heard such negative feedback about our mountain cabin! We wish you all the best. Victoria, Rob and Alaina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful spot, relaxed, out in the country

  • 4 of 5

The place was beautiful The boat put in was right at the bottom of the driveway. Thanks guys!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Best, Victoria, Rob and Alaina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and enjoyable

  • 4 of 5

This was our first getaway since our new born son. Needless to say, we were overdo for some alone time. The property was so peaceful and relaxing. Queens lake was beautiful. We enjoyed taking both our kayaks out on the water, and to our pleasure had the lake to ourselves. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable time together

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our mountain cabin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Best, Victoria, Rob and Alaina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Nearest Golf
27 Miles
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Great Smoky Mountain Express
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Maggie Valley
Car: recommended

We are situated in the Nantahala Gorge within the Nantahala National Forest. The area is rich in natural beauty with splendid waterfalls, stunning overlooks, and pristine nature. We are located on Queens Creek Lake, a small, quiet, stocked lake perfect for quiet moments fishing, rowboating and swimming in the summer, and are just 10 minutes away from Lake Nantahala with motorboats and more summer fun. We are also within a short drive to the Nantahala Outdoor Center (NOC), the renowned outfitter and whitewater rafting center. There, you can enjoy guided trips down the Nantahala River, eat at one of their many restaurants, go kayaking, mountain biking, and more. We are near a trout fishing farm, the Nantahala River put-in, an AT trailhead, Wayah Bald, Wesser Bald, the Bartram Trail, fly fishing on the Wayah River, and great hiking and biking right out of our backyard. Day trip to Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, Franklin, Sylva, Dillsboro, Fontana Lake, and Tsali

Other Activities: hiking, canoeing, fly fishing, freshwater fishing


Rates & Availability

Topton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
refundable pet deposit $25
Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning $80
Pet Fee $10 + Tax

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Topton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Baby Gate
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Upstairs bath - toilet , shower
    Downstairs bath - toilet
  • The upstairs bathroom is bright and cheerful with ceramic floors and sink. It has a stand-up shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Guest - 1 double
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Master bedroom enjoys a private covered porch with view over lake and neighboring mountain. We call the lovely guest bedroom the 'tree house room' since it is so quiet with views directly in the surrounding national forest. Our loft is an open space at the top of the stairs with a new CB2 daybed that comfortably sleeps 2. The downstairs living room also has a futon that can sleep up to 2. We do provide bed linens for our guests' use.
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • MP3 Dock
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Inflatable Boat
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Raft
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • pond
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Housekeeping is included in the rate for full week stays. We provide bed linens and towels. Fresh breads, muffins, or catered meals available upon request.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties