check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Helena Stevens

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Pat's Place - Secluded 3 Bedroom w/Marsh/Lake View & Pool Access * Dock Space

28 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ocracoke House Rental Photos and Description

2 Story, 3 Bedroom, 3 bath, with Private Lake/Marsh, Playground & Pool Access

Attractively decorated and comfortable, this house is perfect for a relaxing Ocracoke Vacation. Enjoy the serenity of the marsh by kayaking, taking in the wildlife (great bird watching). Relax on the screened in porch taking in the spectacular sunset. First offered as a rental in 2011, this cottage is conveniently located in Ocracoke Village, walking distance from Variety Store and Howards Pub, beach access (half a mile each way), walking distance to grocery store, good restaurants and shopping.

Downstairs: Living Area (1) King Bed and Full Bath with tub/shower, (1) Queen Size Futon / Game Room with (1) Full Bath with tub and shower across the hall.

Upstairs: (1) Queen in one bedroom; (1) Full and (1) Twin in third bedroom; (1) Full Bath with tub/shower in hallway.

Amenities include central air/heat, ceiling fans, wireless internet access, Direct TV, DVD player, stereo w/CD player and tape player, microwave, dishwasher, telephone, and washer/dryer. After a day at the beach, the kids can play on the private playground. The exterior offers large screened porch with chairs and table and deck with views of salt marsh and lake. There are spectacular views of the sunrise and sunset.

Linens provided. Renters have access to Blackbeard's Lodge outdoor pool and game room with pool table/air hockey and fooseball table. Maximum 8 people, including children. Limit of 3 vehicles. Inquire about boat slip rental.

Keywords: Secluded, Sleeps 8, Panoramic Views of Marsh & Lake, Playground. Screened in Porch, Access to Blackbeard's Lodge pool and only Game Room on Ocracoke

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Helena Stevens (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Helena Stevens

We have had this lovely cottage since 2003. We also have a second home in Virginia Beach, VA. We love the ocean and bird watching and the nature in this area is breathtaking.

Helena Stevens purchased this house in 2003

Why Helena Stevens chose Outer Banks

This remote area is perfect for relaxation and meditation. The cottage itself is very centrally located, but far enough off the beaten path to get away from it all when you want.

What makes this house unique

The cottage is 5 minutes from the beaches, walking distance to Variety Store, Howard's Pub. Private Playground and unobstructed 360 view of marsh and pond.

Reviews

4.3
based on 28 traveler reviews

Pat's Place - Secluded 3 Bedroom w/Marsh/Lake View & Pool Access * Dock Space
average rating of 4.285714 based on 28 reviews
2

Needs work.

  • 2 of 5

The carpets were filthy.

The water was most foul, couldn't even use it for dishwashing or laundry. Had to drink filtered water (On-site)

No outside water to wash beach sand off.

Very slow to non-working internet.

No sheets for fourth bedroom (futon).

Worn, dated furniture.

Rusty kitchen sink.

Broken dishwasher.

Clogged shower heads.

Would I go back? NO.

Especially since we left it cleaner than it was when we arrived yet they seem to be stiffing us for our deposit.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. If given the opportunity, we would have gladly tried to accommodate any request you had to fix things, but you never contacted us during your stay. Please let this be clear: any money owed would be refunded. Again, so sorry for your negative experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family reunion

  • 5 of 5

We had a week long family reunion on the island. Six of us were lucky enough to be able to stay at Pat's Place . Our group ranged in age from 5.5 yrs to 87 yrs old.Convenient to any thing we wanted to do. We utilized the pool as well as going to the beach. Everyone had a greally time. Would rent Pat's Place again. Thank you, BRENDA

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice stay

  • 4 of 5

The property is in a great location. Secluded yet Short distance from everything including the variety store which is right down the street. House is large with three bedrooms and three full baths making it nice for groups. The house is OK nothing fancy but it was clean and that's important. Water is light brownish but assume that's an issue with island living and you deal with it. Water cooler provided for drinking which was nice. We love to eat (out and in)! But weren't really impressed with any of the places we went to. Next time we come, we'll load up on groceries on mainland and cook in. Suggestion to add some wine glasses to the kitchen :-). Will definitely rent again when looking to chill out and beach it for the week. Can't beat these beaches - they are outstanding!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

A big (bug) disappointment

  • 1 of 5

The layout of Pat's Place was great. It was also a private location. But unfortunately those are about the only positives I can report from our week log stay.

The water throughout the house was rust colored and undrinkable. There was a water cooler but it ran out on day two and refills we're not included.

The carpets were gross and kitchen floor had a brown residue upon arrival. Owner sent house cleaner who recleaned.

The upstairs had a bug infestation in one bedroom - bugs all over the bed, wall and ceiling. The owner's answer was to bring us a can of bug spray.

I would not recommend this house without significant improvements to water , cleanliness and pest control.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay at Pat's Place did not meet your expectations. In your letter, you state that the place was not clean. We tried to meet your expectations and sent a house cleaner over again. She said you stood over her while she recleaned the floors. We were in touch with you every day when you reported the bug issue on one of the rooms. Those are bugs that are found outdoors. This house is situated on a marsh and lake. The only time bugs are seen indoors, are if doors and or windows are left open. We apologize for this inconvenience. The water is completely safe. It is well water that goes through a purification system. As was pointed out to you, we provide a Le Blue 5 gallon bottle in addition to the stand alone filtered water system in the spicket on the kitchen sink for drinking water. Water discoloration can happen when the water system is overwhelmed and needs time to cycle. We tried to compensate you for your inconvenience. You were not charged for the 2 dogs you brought without informing us or for the bikes you rented without paying for them. Please accept our sincerest apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great time at Pat's Place

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Pat's Place. The location is perfect for getting to the beach driving access. The mosquitos were a bit ferocious but to be expected. Nice view from the house. The owners responded to our questions in a timely fashion. The house is perfect for vacationers.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house on Ocracoke

  • 5 of 5

Pat's Place worked perfectly for our family of five. There was plenty of space and it had everything we needed. The location is lovely, and we especially enjoyed spending time on the two porches. It was so quiet at night that all we could hear were the frogs, but very convenient to the village stores/restaurants and to the beach. The one down side is the low water pressure, even by beach standards. Otherwise it's a really wonderful place to spend a vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Ocracoke Lighthouse
Ocracoke Coffee Co
"Great coffee Nice inside with couches and porch outside with swings and games. Fun for whol..."
Back Porch
"Wonderful dinner! Opens at 5:30 for dinner. Eat dinner on the porch and enjoy a glass of wi..."
Jason's
"All the locals go to Jason's. Great seafood, pizza, pasta and salads. Casual atmosphere wi..."
Flying Melon
"Excellent restaurant for brunch, lunch or dinner. Crab cakes and fried green tomatoes with ..."
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Howard's Pub
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Ocraocke
Car: necessary

Kayaking on the lake, bird watching, bike riding

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocracoke House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 3 2016
2 night minimum stay
$209
 
 
Pirate Jamboree
Oct 27 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$289
$950
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$279
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Administrative Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocracoke House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Qeen Sleeper Sofa in living room
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Playground with slide and swing set; Le Bleu filtered water system;

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties