Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tropical Oceanfront Estate with Pool, Spacious, Private, on 2/3 acre

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome


About the property

House and apartment, total 6 Bedrooms, 6 baths + 3 sleeper sofas (Sleeps 12-17)

This large, 3.500 sq ft. oceanfront estate home sits on 2/3rds of an acre and has 5 bedrooms and 5 baths (sleeps 12). In addition, It also features an expansive (1,100 sq. ft.) covered ocean view terrace with a large seating and dining area, including a new Weber gas barbeque. If you have a larger group you may also add our (1,000 sq ft) apartment on the grounds which has another bedroom and bath, sleeping up to 5 more, bringing the total to 17. This apartment offers you a great deal of flexibility as it is optional, and may be added later if your group becomes larger than originally planned. If you don't use it the apartment will go empty to maintain your privacy. You will always have exclusive use of the property.

If your group gets even larger we also have a beautiful 1,080 sq ft two bedroom two bath beachfront condo available just down the beach from our house which can accommodate up to 6 guests. It is apartment G-10 at the Maalaea Surf Resort and photos of our condo are included on their website. Contact me for reservations.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This home is a legal vacation rental property, and has been officially approved and licensed by the County of Maui. A significant number of Maui vacation rentals are not licensed and operate illegally to avoid paying the 13.42% tax due on rental income . The County of Maui Enforcement Division is aggressive in shutting down illegal vacation rentals.

Our home is located on the south-west coast of the beautiful tropical island paradise of Maui. The house was originally built as a beach getaway for a wealthy Maui family living on the slopes of the nearby Haleakala volcano. Built on 2/3 of an acre, and fronting the beach and ocean, the house has the feel of old Hawaiiana with its lava rock walls and fireplace, high beamed ceiling, large covered lanai, expansive lawn, private pool, and beautiful tropical landscaping, which includes a wonderful old Banyan tree, large Monkeypod tree, tropical fruit trees, and 11 palm trees. With its expansive grounds and sleeping capacity, it is perfect for extended family groups, reunions, anniversaries, and other celebrations.

The moment you walk through the double door entry you will be treated to an expansive, 180 degree ocean view with the white sand beach just 50 feet from the front of the property. We face West and you will enjoy amazing sunsets and during the whale season lots of whale sightings from you lanai. Our home offers everything you could want in a large, luxury beachfront vacation rental.

With its lava rock wall, and electronic entrance gate, you'll enjoy complete privacy and security. There is secure off-street parking for up to 6 vehicles. The home is perfect for extended families, and a great place to host celebrations and other events, however we want to stress that this is not a party house, and we do ask that, in respect to our neighbors, noise levels be kept moderate at all times, and that quiet hours are maintained from 11 pm to 7 am. All events and special celebrations must be approved in advance by the owner, and in some cases there may be a special event fee included.

In the main home the large master bedroom has a king bed and a queen sleeper sofa. There are also three bedrooms that have queen beds sleeping 2 each, and one bedroom that has twin beds sleeping 2. The (optional) apartment on the estate is large (1,000 sq ft) and includes a living area, dining area and kitchen. The bedroom has an en-suite bath and a queen bed. A queen sized sleeper sofa and a one-person sleeper sofa are in the living room of the apartment bringing the apartments sleeping capacity to 5. Our house is really one of a kind... you will be hard pressed to find another oceanfront luxury vacation rental that sleeps this many people comfortably at this price level. As you can see from our busy reservations calendar, others agree as well! You may view all of our available dates by clicking on the availability calendar on the top of this webpage.

PLEASE NOTE... We do not list our home on Craig's List. If you see our house listed there it is fraudulent. We also do not request payments via wire transfer. Any requests for payments via wire transfer for our home is an indication of fraud.

Our Estate Home has a full laundry room and two refrigerators to handle the crowd. A third refrigerator is in the apartment. There is a huge entertainment size living area (31' x 23') and three large dining tables.... one inside and two on the covered ocean front terrace. This shaded terrace is 23' x 47' adding an additional 1,100 sq ft of outside living space and also has a comfortable outdoor seating area. The inviting private pool is solar heated.

We've added many upgrades in the last few years including a 55 inch HDTV, all new major appliances in the kitchen, new outdoor dining tables with 12 chairs, an outdoor lounge seating area, six pool lounges, and new bedspreads and drapes in the bedrooms. Outside the landscaping has been upgraded as well.

The white sand beach in front of the house is one of the best swimming beaches on the island, with gentle waves, and is very child friendly with no undertows or currents. And if you like to walk the beach, there's over four miles of uninterrupted sand, all the way to Maalaea Harbor!

Our service staff will be on the property from time to time during your stay, but will be as unobtrusive as possible. Our caretaker will drop by to remove the trash on Sunday and Wednesday night, and our landscaping service and pool service is scheduled for every Friday morning. Our cleaner uses the laundry room in the garage weekly to wash and dry towels and bedding, and occasionally other service people will arrive to make repairs, etc.

Keywords: Beautiful, spacious, luxurious vacation rental home, tropical holiday villa, beachfront, ocean front house, waterfront, kihei maui, hawaii. sandy beach, private pool, swimming, snorkeling, windsurfing, whales, wireless internet, washer, dryer, gated retreat.

More Details

Robert Austin
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

Why Robert Austin chose Maui

I've been vacationing on Maui most of my life and while I've traveled extensively, I have always found Maui to have the best of what I'm looking for.... great weather, a relaxed atmosphere, friendly people, and the tropical beauty and diversity of the islands. It's easy to understand how Maui has been voted time and time again as the top island destination in the world!

What makes this house unique

This house was originally built as a beach getaway for a wealthy Maui family living on the slopes of the nearby Haleakala volcano. Built on 2/3 of an acre, fronting the beach and ocean beyond, the house has the feel of old Hawaiiana with its lava rock walls and fireplace, high beamed ceiling, large covered terrace, expansive lawn, private pool, and beautiful tropical landscaping, which includes a wonderful old Banyan tree, large Monkeypod tree, fruit trees, flowering plumeria trees, and lots of coconut palms. With its expansive grounds and sleeping capacity, it is perfect for extended family groups, multiple families, reunions, anniversaries, and other celebrations. Our guests include many extended family groups and the large (optional) apartment on the property provides guests lots of flexibility as they may add the apartment to the rental at any time if the size of their group grows.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good morning Rob, I just wanted to drop you a note and tell you what a wonderful time we had in your property. It truly felt like a home away from home. All of the amenities made it so comfortable. We lacked for nothing. Everyone had a great time in the pool, playing bocce, lounging, going to the beach and just spending time together as a family.

We appreciated Yanu's help along the way too. We left a large bowl and platter which we hope make a good addition to your other beautiful things. We would all like to come again some day !! Thanks for sharing.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 10


Kihei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 17
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Secure Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Solar Hot Water
  • Solar Panels
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 22 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , ensuite bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , ensuite bath
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , ensuite bath
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , guest bath off the living area
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower , ensuite bath located in apartment
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , master bedroom has separate shower and deep soaking tub
  • There is also an outdoor shower next to one of our lanais that may be used to shower off the sand and salt water after returning from the beach.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , sleeps two and has an ensuite bath
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , sleeps two and has an ensuite bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , sleeps two and has an ensuite bath
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , sleeps two and has an ensuite bath
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , sleeps two and has an ensuite bath. (located in apartment)
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , This master bedroom sleeps four and has an ensuite bath
    Convertible bed(s) - 3 sleep sofa /futon , 1 sleeper sofa in master bdrm - 2 sleeper sofas in apt.
  • Three bedrooms have queen beds and ensuite bath. One bedroom has two twin beds with ensuite bath. Master bedroom has king bed and queen sleeper sofa.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
This tropical Hawaiian Estate home sleeps up to 12. If you need more room, there is a large (1,000 sq ft) one bedroom, one bath apartment on the property that will sleep 5, bringing the sleeping capacity to 17. The apartment's kitchen has a refrigerator and cooktop but no dishwasher and is designed to be used as additional space, rather than a stand alone apartment While this large home is perfect for family groups, reunions, retreats, or small company meetings, I need to emphasize that it is not a party house. There are ceiling fans in all bedrooms and public rooms. The estate is completely private, surrounded by lava rock walls with an electronic entry gate. It enjoys a wonderful western facing ocean view of the whales and amazing sunsets. Our beach also offers some of the best windsurfing and kite surfing conditions on this side of the island and on a windy day the colorful sails and kites are quite a sight!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Tropical Oceanfront Estate with Pool, Spacious, Private, on 2/3 acre
average rating of 4.85 based on 50 reviews

A little piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

This house property lived up to all our expectations. There was 11 of us staying here and we never got in each others way. My 3 small children spent there days in the pool, running around the fenced in property or across the street swimming and building sand castles. Our vacation wouldn't have been the same without this gorgeous home. We were all able to gather for meals and sit out on the patio in the evenings. The house is older but well maintained. The property manager was very friendly and helpful. We hope to return one day! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice, spacious, and relaxing house

  • 4 of 5

House is in a nice location just across the street from the beach. Close to grocery stores and shops. Spacious inside, nice, big lanai. Nice pool. Manicured backyard. Great for big groups with kids. Downside is it has no A/C. Even A/C just in the rooms would have been nice. Also, if you cook a lot, the lighting in the kitchen is not enough. Overall a nice vacation home.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind comments on our oceanfront vacation home. I'm happy to hear you had a good trip! You mentioned the kitchen light being a bit dim, something that we had not noticed. The kitchen light has an on/off switch which is also a dimmer, and perhaps it was adjusted to a low level without you realizing it. We will check it out in February and see if we can't improve it a bit. Our home is advertised as having no air conditioning and that is not uncommon for houses right on the beach as the ocean breezes are constant and keep the house relatively cool and comfortable even in the warmest months. Our high ceilings and ceiling fans in every room also help a lot.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Vacation in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My family and I want to Thank Mr. Austin and his Property Manager Ryan for a fantastic stay and vacation. The house was as described in the listing with 5 Bedrooms and 4 1/2 baths in the main house, plus we utilized the downstairs apartment, which added a 6th Bedroom and a 5th full bath. With 16 family members staying in the same house, we had more than enough room. The large dining and living areas were great. The oversized covered patio area, with the additional table and chairs, provided more than enough table space and seating room for everyone. The views of the ocean and sunsets were spectacular. Between the pool on the property and the quick access to the ocean beach area, only a short distance from the house, we spent numerous hours in both.

The house was already stocked with many of the common household items needed, which reduced the number of things we needed to purchase; i.e.: paper towels, toilet tissue, hand soap, coffee filters, laundry detergent, etc. Centrally located in Kihei, we found ourselves with easy access to the major roadways and all areas of the island.

Upon our arrival we found a couple of minor issues, which Ryan was quick to resolve. Ryan was very friendly and outgoing; and, was easy to reach if we had any issues or questions. The house does only have one television; but, has a great cable channel listing available.

The house is a little older; but, has been well maintained. Overall, we highly recommend it and hope we have the opportunity to revisit in the future.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful wedding venue, beautiful home, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Great place for a destination wedding and large family vacation- the house is spacious with a beautiful view of the water and the beach across the street, as well as meticulous grounds, both front and back yards. Open floor plan that lead out to the lanai and pool was great for entertaining. It was a wonderful setting for our small wedding. Our families loved the location- easy to find, access to bus stop right in front, great parking on the property and nearby, and friendly neighbors when taking morning walks. The property manager, Ryan, was more than helpful. Ryan kept in touch with us via text, answered all our questions and gave us great tips of local places to go during our stay. We would definitely come back here for our next family get-together in Kihei!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great for a family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect home for our family reunion which included three generations of past Maui residents. Centrally located, we enjoyed trips to Haleakala, Lahaina, and Makena, as well as early morning walks on the beach and swims in the pool. It was wonderful to have breakfast on the lanai enjoying the view of the islands. The property manager, Ryan, did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unreal location, awesome house for a large group

  • 5 of 5

The location really is great - you're in Kihei which is the 'locals' town with plenty of grocery stores and good, cheap places to eat. Cross the street and you're at a beautiful beach. Go away from the beach a couple blocks and there's a gas station with soda, beer, snacks, cheap ice, hot food and a huge clothing store. It's about 15-20 mins from the airport (which is close to Costco, Walmart, Kmart). It's also 2.9 miles from Maui Brewing and a 15 minute drive to Ocean Vodka/Rum plantation and distillery. You're in the middle of the 2 mountains, one being West Maui where you can visit Lahaina and see the turtles and beautiful fish. The other side features the road to Hana and the 10,000+ feet summit at Haleakala. Beaches line this whole area of Kihei with light waves and places to walk or park. There's no better place to rent a house in Maui.

The property is really nice, I miss having coffee looking at the ocean and West Maui.

The pool is nice to have, sometimes you want to cool off without getting sandy and salty.

The house was very clean when we arrived, all linens freshly washed and dishes cleaned and put away.

There was a lot of spices and cooking utensils. Blender, Crock Pot, Coffee maker (traditional).

Everything was in perfect working order. The printer was missing ink but the airport isn't like most - there was plenty of staff and automated kiosks to print boarding passes. WiFi was weak, Internet wasn't fast but you're in Hawaii.

The fridges don't seem to get cold enough and our beer/bottled water was never really cold. I worried about food safety but nothing stayed in there more than a couple days. The water heater is solar heated. I stayed on the South side and with the cloudy weather (and lots of people) the water was never very warm and cold at some times. The people staying on the North side said their water was hot first thing. The pool was hazy - I'm not sure how often they clean it or balance the water. It was heavily used so I'm sure we didn't help. Shower curtains were cheap and had mold on them. Again, the price you pay for this property is for location and lodging - I didn't expect fancy linens or turn down service but a new $15 curtain from Amazon or Wal Mart would be nice. It is an older house and gets used hard, some outlets were loose and wouldn't hold a phone charger but I'm really just complaining about little things at this point.

5 stars, amazing place, no regrets, would highly recommend to anyone for any occasion!!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Rates & Availability

Kihei House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Standard Rate
Mar 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Low Season
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
Standard Rate
Oct 1 2017 - Dec 18 2017
5 night minimum stay
Holiday Rate
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
Standard Rate
Jan 4 2018 - Aug 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
Low Season
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
Standard Rate
Oct 1 2018 - Dec 18 2018
5 night minimum stay
Holiday Season
Dec 19 2018 - Jan 3 2019
7 night minimum stay
Standard Rate
Jan 4 2019 - Aug 31 2019
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $600 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 13.42%

There is also a large one bedroom one bath apartment that rents for $195 per night and sleeps five. The cleaning fee for the house is $600 and $250 for the apartment. This apartment may only be rented to guests who are also renting the home.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Our home is an official Maui vacation rental... approved and licensed by the County of Maui. A significant number of vacation rentals on Maui are operating illegally without a license to avoid paying the 13.42% tax on rental income and the County Enforcement Division is aggressively shutting down illegal vacation rentals. Our licenses are listed below.

Transient Accommodations Tax License #TA-035-056-0256-01
General Excise Tax License # GE-035-056-0256-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului, HI (Maui)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Piilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Across the street
Car: recommended

We are located in quiet residential neighborhood, directly across the street from a beautiful white sand beach. It offers great swimming, fishing, boating, snorkeling, and beach walking. Our home is in N. Kihei, extremely convenient to beaches, shopping, restaurants and activities. 30 minutes to Lahaina, 20 minutes to the airport, and 15 minutes to Wailea.


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties