check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

An enchanting farmhouse overlooking the Tiber Valley just 45 minutes from Rome

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
farmhouse
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Collevecchio Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

A beautifully renovated farmhouse near Rome, sleeps 8

Villa Poggio Sommavilla is a beautifully renovated farmhouse in the lovely Sabina region of Lazio. The property is situated on the crest of a hill near the village of Poggio Sommavilla and has magnificent views over the Tiber valley. It is just a 15-minute drive to the Ponzano-Sorrate exit on the Rome/Florence motorway , and therefore within 45 minutes you can be in the centre of Rome, either by car or (advisable) by train from the station of Stimigliano, a 10-minute drive from the house. Ideally situated for excursions to Umbria, Tuscany and the rest of Lazio.

Villa Poggio Sommavilla consists of the main house, 250 sq.m., almost entirely air-conditioned, and a small guest cottage (27 sq.m.) , air-conditioned, surrounded by a private property of 14 hectares. The beautiful garden slopes down to a large swimming pool, (15m x 6m), and is filled with a harmonic blend of roses, cacti and olive trees.

Access to the property is from the small village of Stimigliano by means of a quiet secondary road

The main farmhouse has direct access to the garden and a panoramic terrace with a pergola equipped for pleasant outdoor dining (with a barbeque and outside pizza oven).

The ground floor has a large living room with fireplace and satellite TV with a large plasma screen.

The main house has air-conditioning or fans in most rooms and is furnished with cosy country-style furniture. the guest cottage is air-conditioned and there is central heating through-out.

The top floor of the farmhouse can also be accessed from an external staircase typical of Italian farm properties.

There is another TV with plasma screen in the master bedroom.

A large SMA supermarket with all kinds of food and basic shopping is near Stimigliano - a 10-minute drive from the house.

LOCATION: 5 km from Collevecchio (food shops and offices of all kinds), 50 km Rome (can easily be reached in 30 minutes also by a train from the Stimigliano station) and the Bolsena and Bracciano lakes, 60 km Viterbo, 65 km Orvieto, 90 km Tarquinia (Etruscan city) and 100 km Assisi.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 1, 2016
Call Manager

What makes this farmhouse unique

This property is very flexible for numbers of guests. It can basically sleep 8 in the main house.

However there is also an annexe which will sleep another two guests, in a twin bedroom with a bathroom. The vharge of the use of this annexe is 300 euros per week.

Reviews

An enchanting farmhouse overlooking the Tiber Valley just 45 minutes from Rome
average rating of 2.0 based on 1 reviews
Norway
2

Not value for the money

  • 2 of 5

We were 11 people - small and big visiting this villa.

Positive;

The villa has a big a beautiful garden and the pool area is also very nice.

A nice caretaker met us, unfortunately did not speak a word of English and thus was not able to assist us with problems that arised

Negative;

The aircondition in the small house did not work so we were not able to use this.

The electric output in the villa was not large enough to service the aircondition. Many times day and night we had to switch the fuses back in position

One evening the water supply broke down and it took hours to get it back.

The villa is remote and there is nothing around. You need a car for shopping, restaurants etc.

The rooms are small, the kitchen is too small for more than one chef.

The WIFI was extremely unstable and not trustworthy for working.

Conclusion;

Price much too high.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reviews are always helpful, even if they are negative because this gives you a chance to improve your service. I was expecting this review. This Norwegian family stayed at our house for a couple of weeks, and to all intents and purposes it seemed they were having an enjoyable holiday, but the moment they returned home they listed a number of complaints and requested a reimbursement; as most of the complaints were unjustifiable (see below), we refused; however I am sure that if I had paid them some money back, I would have got a good review, or at least avoided this negative one. This means that in fact you can pay for a good review or to avoid a bad one and this does not seem right to me. I mean I too could book a holiday through this web-site, have a perfectly good holiday and then list a number of probable complaints and request of refund and then, what the heck, if I don’t get it I’ll leave a stinging feedback. Poor holiday-home owners, on top of all the many other problems they face, are now subjected to this form of blackmail. To get back to the actual complaints:- the kitchen is 30 sq.m., anyone can come with a tape measure to check; no way is this a small kitchen; the electrical power output is 12 kilowatts, which is enormous (most private houses have an output of 3kilowatts, this is 4 times as much); obviously is you have all the air-conditioning units on on full and then switch the oven and the dishwasher on, the system will cut off (it would in any house !); the air-conditioning in the annexe works perfectly well, unfortunately the battery in the remote control had run out – it just needed a new battery !. As to our really nice caretaker Luigi, no, he does not speak more than a few words of English, but if you rented a house in France, would you expect the caretaker to speak English or……… French !!! A few words of the language of the country you are visiting or a phrase book solve lots of problems. The house is advertised as a country house and that a car is necessary to get to Stimigliano (3Km); having said that there is a restaurant just down the road (100 metres) and another 1km away. I am anyway glad that you enjoyed and pool and lovely pool area and the beautiful garden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Kilometres
Rome (Fiumicino and Ciampino)
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Stimigliano
Nearest Ferry
75 Kilometres
Ostia
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Stimigliano
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Ponzano Soratte
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Stimigliano
Nearest Beach
75 Kilometres
Ostia
Car: necessary

Poggio Sommavilla is 10Km from the Ponzano-Soratte exit on the Rome to Florence A1 motorway. This exit point on the A1 is the nearest to Roma Nord toll barrier; this means the property is just 45 minutes drive from the centre of Rome. Alternatively, if you wish to avoid Rome traffic, you can take a train to Rome from Stimigliano Station which is just 10 minutes drive from the farmhouse. Being to close to the motorway also means that the house is ideally situated for excursions to Umbria, Tuscany and the rest of the Lazio region:- Perugia, Orvieto, Viterbo, Bomarzo, Lake Bolsena just to mention a few !

There is an excellent small restaurant / pizzeria just 2 Km from house called 'Da Lina' . Just off the secondo exit on the A1, Magliano Sabina, at Frangellini there is the famous restaurant La Pergola (1* Michelin).

Rates & Availability

Collevecchio Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
All Year
Jan 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,240
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,240
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $533

This basic rate of 2.100 euros for the week is for 8 guests using just the main house.
For larger groups of up to 10 guests, there is an annexe with a twin bedroom and bathroom; the charge for the annexe is an extra 300 euros per week.
A damage deposit of 500 euros is required on arrival and will be returned on departure date less cleaning charges and damage incurred.
There is a final cleaning charge of 110 euros which will be deducted from the damage deposit.
Linen and towels are provided.
Electricity is not included in the rental rate and will be deducted from the deposit according to the meter reading.

A deposit of a third of the total rent is required to confirm a booking.
The balance is due at least 10 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Collevecchio Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 280 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Farm Holidays
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 twin/ single
  • On the ground floor of the farmhouse there is a small twin-bedroom with an en-suite bathroom and a small service bedroom and bathroom. On the first floor there is the master bedroom with a double bed and en-suite bathroom with a bath, a double bedroom and a twin bedrooms which share a bathroom with a shower. The fifth bedroom is in the guest house and has a small double bed and an en-suite bathrooms. There is now air-conditioning in ll the bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Notes:
The guest cottage is completely independent and is on a lower level to the main house. The is 27 sq.m. and has a small double bed, bathrooms, dining area with kitchenette and small fridge. The swimming pool is large (15 x 6 metres), has a whirl pool device and is fully equipped with sun umbrellas and sun beds. Near the pool there is a shady rose-covered harbors for relaxing out of the sun. There is Wi-Fi internet connection.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties